We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Humpback whales :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whales (Las Ballenas)

The Whales (Las Ballenas)
Dominican Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This group of various-sized rocks creates a series of interconnected tunnels for divers.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Humpback whales :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

OH MY GOD!! it was MY DREAM to see a whale..i a realize my dream when I went to see them..I saw 3 of them 2 adults and a baby whale..such a gorgeous and beautiful experience..they were playfull and friendly :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    10
    5
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We chose the Whale Samana tour because it is run by Kim Beddall who guarantees a 'whale sensitive' tour. The crew are marine biologists studying these amazing creatures, so you get a legitimate experience knowing that you're not contributing to an exploitative experience. The tour was less expensive than the resort tours and also on a boat that wasn't over crowded and looked a lot more stable! It was an amazing experience but I wish I had been there a month sooner because most of the whales had already left.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the whales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Although it was a cloudy day, we had the chance to see some whales. I liked it. The security on the boat was good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Humpback whale watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great half-day excursion in Feb. - May. Saw at least 20 whales from Catamaran trip and stopped at Bacardi Island for drink & walk on beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
119 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having seen the sperm whales off Dominica last year I was pleased to find a cruise calling into Samana bay in February while the humpbacks are there, we booked. Going out in the small boat on the excursion was a little choppy to say the least and many of our fellow travellers succumbed to the motion, that made more room for us die hards to take pictures. It was good to see the locals respecting the whales and only 4 boats were close to the creatures at any given time the others waiting their turn. I got some great photos, and was lucky enough to get more from the cruise ship as we sailed in the evening, a really rewarding day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whales (Las Ballenas) also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to The Whales (Las Ballenas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whales (Las Ballenas), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.