We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humpback whale watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whales (Las Ballenas)

The Whales (Las Ballenas)
Dominican Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This group of various-sized rocks creates a series of interconnected tunnels for divers.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Humpback whale watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great half-day excursion in Feb. - May. Saw at least 20 whales from Catamaran trip and stopped at Bacardi Island for drink & walk on beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    10
    5
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
119 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having seen the sperm whales off Dominica last year I was pleased to find a cruise calling into Samana bay in February while the humpbacks are there, we booked. Going out in the small boat on the excursion was a little choppy to say the least and many of our fellow travellers succumbed to the motion, that made more room for us die hards to take pictures. It was good to see the locals respecting the whales and only 4 boats were close to the creatures at any given time the others waiting their turn. I got some great photos, and was lucky enough to get more from the cruise ship as we sailed in the evening, a really rewarding day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Whale safari :-(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Seeing the whales is an amazing experience, but please stay away informal tours with local fishermen unless you want to be hauled around in a small motor boat at top speed each time a whale comes near the water surface, scaring the whales away and perhaps even putting them in danger of being hurt. We came to Samana to see the whales, but the "official tours" (Kim Bedall) were already fuly booked so we let ourselves be convinced - together with 4 other tourists - to take a tour with local fishermen. The hotel owner told us that they had permits and that the tour was basically the same than the "official" one. None of the rules and regulations set up for whale watching were respected as there were 5 motor boats trying to overtake each other and to come as close as possible to the animals to give "their" tourists a better look. Mid-tour, we all said that we'd had enough and asked the capitain to drop us off at the beach earlier than planned. Once on the beach (Playa Fronton), we could actually sight the whales much more frequently and it was much more pleasant (even if further away) from this perspective with the knowledge that we were not disturbing or harming them. Driving back from Las Galeras to Samana the day after, we also noticed several spots along side the road overlooking the sea that would be perfect for more sustainable whale watching. The hotel Vista Mare which has apartments overlooking the sea could also be perfect for that.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best experience in my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

whale watching is by far the greatest thing I've ever experienced... While in Samana, must go to watch these beautiful whales around Samana between January and March

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Whale watching is worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were there in whale mating season. Definitely worth checking out, we saw four or 5 different whales. Those who get seasick should be careful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whales (Las Ballenas) also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to The Whales (Las Ballenas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whales (Las Ballenas), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.