We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort, But very large” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #50 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Windsor, ME
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Resort, But very large”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here 03/31/13-04/04/13 and had some mixed feelings. The good, the beach is beautiful! the Pools clean, the rooms EXCEPTIONALLY clean and very nice! The food is great (except for the al la cartes we could get in). We have been to the Domincan before, in a similar resort. The buffet restaurants are fantastic, even better then the ala cartes. Upon arrival we could only get into Two a la cartes, the BBQ & Maikkado. Maikkado was 'ok', the BBQ was'nt even as good as the buffets. If you dont like to walk, dont stay here. There were shuttles going all day every day/night, so you can shuttle back and forth to the beach. We stayed at the "Premier" section building 46 and actually liked it. It was close to the Main Lobby (Go to the Main Lobby buffet! its the best there!) and the pool was never crowded. The Lobby bar was good and the BEST BARTENDER EVER Domingo!! Thanks Domingo! The entertainer there was a RIOT, cant remember the fellas name though... We never had trouble finding chairs at the beach. It is very tight there as well, only because they dont own much real estate frontage. Dont buy anything at the shops on site, 45 min walk down the beach (beautiful) to the shops at the end (you can see the roof tops they are all multi colored) and you can haggle with local merchandise folks, we always do that when we stay there. We tipped a bunch (these folks work SOOOO hard and do such a great job, its nice to give them a little something extra) our room was so clean every day and the grounds are beautiful. All in all it was a nice resort and a great price for the stay, we will try somewhere else next time to try a new experience. We had a great time, All you can eat/drink/sand/sun, whats not to like? Please feel free to ask me any questions, of if you want any tips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We greatly appreciate all feedback, which give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

We are glad your find worth to mention our exceptionally clean premises, fantastic buffet food, and good lobby bar. Please be assured that your positives comments will be forward to Domingo.

We really hope you consider coming back to this Caribbean paradise in the Dominican Republic and enjoy all facilities and services.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    310
    153
    52
    49
See reviews for
420
425
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Palma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stood here in September I went for a wedding it was a wonderful place to stay I really enjoyed everything about this property I couldn't be live how much free stuff we got it was all so worth it one of the best resorts I ever stood at the workers were all so nice at the end I meet a wonderful man who worked there we feel in love and now I am engaged !

Room Tip: the room I got was excellent I have no complains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Jillian,

We feel proud to read that in September you enjoyed of our Grand Bahia Principe Premier services and facilities. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We hope to cater you once again in this tropical paradise!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hi!

The resort is big and have all entertainment and facilities needed to enjoy a nice pleasure time.

However I didn't liked the distinguishable between Bavaro's village and others villages of Grand Bahia Principe Resort. As a Premier Guest it was denied several times to have a drink and the swimming pool's bar from Bavaro's village which is in the center of resort. Either when I was walking on the beach wasn't also allowed to have a drink in others Grand Bahia Principe villages, which force us to walk several meters and wait several minutes to be served. Only one bar is available at Bavaro's beach. Very poor!

The rooms clean up are also very poor at Premier village. For several times were requested towels because someone have forgot...

The "Le cart" restaurants are awesome but the methodology of management the Japanese restaurants are very stupid! You are obligated to joint a group of 12 persons. El Pescador is absolute recommendable.

The trolley bus are acceptable but they wait to much time at the stoppage areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jorge,

We are glad you find worth to mention our entertainment and facilities that made you enjoyed a nice pleasure time with us.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the proper attention.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A group of 4 couples planned a trip 7 months ago to the Dominican Republic at another resort, 1 couple showed up and were upgraded at that resort...3 couples showed up the next day and were 'booted out' of the resort and sent to the Gran Bahia Principe. This is obviously out of the control of the Gran Bahia, however, our vacation started terribly. We all arrived after traveling for 12 hours to the Gran Bahia where we were told our rooms were in the "kiddie section". We had all just left our children at home, most of us for the first time, and we were not prepared to watch other children playing all week. After 3 hours of negotiating, we got rooms in the Premier section. We decided to enjoy ourselves although our group was split up and we were staying in a completely foreign resort. We went and put on our suits, got in the pool and tried to order a drink. By the time all the check in mess was said and done the pool was closed, the bar was closed and we were dripping wet with our pool cards to dry off with (towel hut was also closed). When trying to talk to the front desk, no matter what the question was, you were ALWAYS met with a blank look, followed up with NO desire to try to determine what you wanted or how to accommodate you. We also tried to make dinner reservations the next morning and were told the earliest they had at any reservations available at any restaurants was 9:45. I'm not the first person to complain about this, so my question is, why does the resort continue to hear this complaint from so many customers that are truly disappointed with the way they handle their meals and still not to update the process...it's obviously not working. We also laughed as many others did that when we did go to/walk by the restaurants they were always 1/4 full. We ended up getting into 2 restaurants by wait listing and they were TERRIBLE...seriously, in-eatible. The buffet was really our only choice most of the time and it was just barely OK. But, don't we all expect that when visiting an all inclusive? Our safe did not work for 2 days so when my husband called the front desk they said, 'you didn't pay for it'. We both kind of laughed(again as we had learned to do with all issues here) and he went down to sign for it. She said, 'how would you like to pay?' He said, 'just put it on my room'.... all she said was, 'No'. And that is really how most of the conversations went with the front desk or guest services here...and then they just stare at you...like you're the crazy one asking for a monkey to play the guitar or something! So, when he went up to the room, the safe didn't work. He called the front desk and they were to send someone up. He waited in the room for 1.5 hours and they never showed up. We were all at the pool while he was waiting in the room. Then the next day he waited again and finally someone showed up. Guess who got charged for all of the days when the safe didn't even work. yep...it just got to the point where we just let so many things go because it wasn't worth it to get so frustrated and exhausted when no one was there to help. The island was gorgeous, the weather was spectacular...but the resort and the staff obviously had nothing to do with that. We will not return to this resort and maybe not even return to this country due to this unfortunate stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Kim,

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Regarding your comments about our customer service, we must say that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources and Quality Department. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance. We are sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations.

We really hope to consider coming back to this Caribbean paradise in the Dominican Republic and enjoy all our facilities and services.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a great vacation at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro-Premier in Punta Cana from April 15 to 22, 2013.

The personnel is classy and the service everywhere on the resort is excellent. It is a very big resort, very clean and easy to travel anywhere by walking or by shuttle. The restaurants à la carte as well as the buffet are very very very good for all meals. We stayed in building 43 and our room was always spotless. There are lots of good quality chairs on the beach and at the pool. The spots available on the beach are numerous. However, the best places go faster early in the day. There are always chairs available at any time of the day. The Punta Cana beach is just awesome as usual. By the way, as promised we want to say hi to la Senora Aridia at the reception desk because we simply had a fantastic vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Franky,

We are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program accompanied with our very good restaurants, excellent service, and awesome beach.

Please rest assured that your greetings will be forwarded to Aridia.

Thank you for sharing your experience and photo with others on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our stay was between 4/19-4/22. I normally do not write reviews but this would be highly unjust if I didn't. We had the pleasure of meeting Aridia, one of the receptionist at the front desk who promptly assisted us and took us personally to our room. The room was well decorated with balloons and fruits, t-shirts congratulating us on our anniversary. To top it off, it was in close proximity to the pool. Our anniversary was 4/21 and my husband's birthday was 4/22. Aridia took every opportunity to ask us how was our stay going each day. The buffett restaurant staff was superb especially the young ladies who met us at the door each morning and evening. The hotel has a very organized operation with professional staffing. Each person we met upon greeted us with a smile. The property grounds is well maintained and clean. The activities are well organized. I wish they had some form of transfer from hotel to airport included in cost. The maid who took care of our room did an amazing job of maintaing our decorations in different styles each night to help us celebrate our anniversary. I felt like Bahia took the time to celebrate with us. Thanks to my first point of contact with Aridia and it went smooth sailing since then. Bahia Premier is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room by the pool are excellent and close to shops as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Heather,

We would like to thank you for acknowledging our professional staff, especially Aridia, who contributed in creating you an awesome anniversary and birthday. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your vacation become an unforgettable experience.

Greetings from Grand Bahia Principe Premier!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro from March 30-April 6th. We travelled with our two teenage sons. We had a great vacation. The grounds are stunning you see the workers hard at work maintaining the grounds. The resort is huge as it is one of 5, but the trolley system is great if you need it. otherwise the leisurely walks through the grounds are stunning. Staff where very friendly and helpful (if needed). I was however disappointed at check in as we where put in the principe section furthest from the beach, they would not honor moving us closer to the beach, even though we where a repeat customer with the gran Bahia chain, we travelled to Mexico (gran Bahia Tulum in Dec 2011). However they did give us adjoining rooms which was great.

Food is awesome (I am a fussy eater but always found something to eat). I used the microwave to heat my food up as I do like it hot.

Beach is kept very clean they work hard at removing the seaweed. You do however have to get up early to reserve seating especially if you want an area with shade.

Pools are fun the one by the beach is the busiest. If you want something a little quieter go to the others.

Entertainment was great. Michael Jackson and the Circus show a must see. Poolside entertainment was somewhat repetitive, but still fun.

Overall we had a great time spending time as a family. I would recommend this resort to others just remember it is vast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premier section,Villa 48 at first I was disappointed but you are close to everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

We are very pleased to read that you had a great family vacation thanks to our rich gastronomy, as well as the good service from our employees.

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Regards from the Dominican Republic!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#51 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 8,044 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#68 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 3,927 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana
#61 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 5,209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 Pool 4 Jacuzzis 1 children's pool Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, bicycles, football, volleyball, petanque, darts and mini-golf Water activity centre (snorkelling, canoeing, windsurfing, fishing) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) 1 buffet restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant (exclusive to guests) 4 Bars 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 502 rooms including three types: Superior Family Junior Suite, Family Master Suite and Premier Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and amenities Sofa-bed Sitting area Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Ironing set Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Balcony or terrace WiFi (additional charge) The Family Junior Suites and Family Master Suites also include: Bath robes and slippers for all the family for use throughout your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar for children stocked with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks Two separate and connecting rooms (Master family suite) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 (located in the Grand Bahia Punta Cana hotel) Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11 - 16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (forceliacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Premier Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.