We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service at an all time low” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Premier

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Premier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Bahia Principe Premier
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Customer Service at an all time low”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A group of 4 couples planned a trip 7 months ago to the Dominican Republic at another resort, 1 couple showed up and were upgraded at that resort...3 couples showed up the next day and were 'booted out' of the resort and sent to the Gran Bahia Principe. This is obviously out of the control of the Gran Bahia, however, our vacation started terribly. We all arrived after traveling for 12 hours to the Gran Bahia where we were told our rooms were in the "kiddie section". We had all just left our children at home, most of us for the first time, and we were not prepared to watch other children playing all week. After 3 hours of negotiating, we got rooms in the Premier section. We decided to enjoy ourselves although our group was split up and we were staying in a completely foreign resort. We went and put on our suits, got in the pool and tried to order a drink. By the time all the check in mess was said and done the pool was closed, the bar was closed and we were dripping wet with our pool cards to dry off with (towel hut was also closed). When trying to talk to the front desk, no matter what the question was, you were ALWAYS met with a blank look, followed up with NO desire to try to determine what you wanted or how to accommodate you. We also tried to make dinner reservations the next morning and were told the earliest they had at any reservations available at any restaurants was 9:45. I'm not the first person to complain about this, so my question is, why does the resort continue to hear this complaint from so many customers that are truly disappointed with the way they handle their meals and still not to update the process...it's obviously not working. We also laughed as many others did that when we did go to/walk by the restaurants they were always 1/4 full. We ended up getting into 2 restaurants by wait listing and they were TERRIBLE...seriously, in-eatible. The buffet was really our only choice most of the time and it was just barely OK. But, don't we all expect that when visiting an all inclusive? Our safe did not work for 2 days so when my husband called the front desk they said, 'you didn't pay for it'. We both kind of laughed(again as we had learned to do with all issues here) and he went down to sign for it. She said, 'how would you like to pay?' He said, 'just put it on my room'.... all she said was, 'No'. And that is really how most of the conversations went with the front desk or guest services here...and then they just stare at you...like you're the crazy one asking for a monkey to play the guitar or something! So, when he went up to the room, the safe didn't work. He called the front desk and they were to send someone up. He waited in the room for 1.5 hours and they never showed up. We were all at the pool while he was waiting in the room. Then the next day he waited again and finally someone showed up. Guess who got charged for all of the days when the safe didn't even work. yep...it just got to the point where we just let so many things go because it wasn't worth it to get so frustrated and exhausted when no one was there to help. The island was gorgeous, the weather was spectacular...but the resort and the staff obviously had nothing to do with that. We will not return to this resort and maybe not even return to this country due to this unfortunate stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Kim,

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Regarding your comments about our customer service, we must say that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources and Quality Department. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance. We are sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations.

We really hope to consider coming back to this Caribbean paradise in the Dominican Republic and enjoy all our facilities and services.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    192
    73
    34
    35
See reviews for
247
313
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a great vacation at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro-Premier in Punta Cana from April 15 to 22, 2013.

The personnel is classy and the service everywhere on the resort is excellent. It is a very big resort, very clean and easy to travel anywhere by walking or by shuttle. The restaurants à la carte as well as the buffet are very very very good for all meals. We stayed in building 43 and our room was always spotless. There are lots of good quality chairs on the beach and at the pool. The spots available on the beach are numerous. However, the best places go faster early in the day. There are always chairs available at any time of the day. The Punta Cana beach is just awesome as usual. By the way, as promised we want to say hi to la Senora Aridia at the reception desk because we simply had a fantastic vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Franky,

We are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program accompanied with our very good restaurants, excellent service, and awesome beach.

Please rest assured that your greetings will be forwarded to Aridia.

Thank you for sharing your experience and photo with others on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our stay was between 4/19-4/22. I normally do not write reviews but this would be highly unjust if I didn't. We had the pleasure of meeting Aridia, one of the receptionist at the front desk who promptly assisted us and took us personally to our room. The room was well decorated with balloons and fruits, t-shirts congratulating us on our anniversary. To top it off, it was in close proximity to the pool. Our anniversary was 4/21 and my husband's birthday was 4/22. Aridia took every opportunity to ask us how was our stay going each day. The buffett restaurant staff was superb especially the young ladies who met us at the door each morning and evening. The hotel has a very organized operation with professional staffing. Each person we met upon greeted us with a smile. The property grounds is well maintained and clean. The activities are well organized. I wish they had some form of transfer from hotel to airport included in cost. The maid who took care of our room did an amazing job of maintaing our decorations in different styles each night to help us celebrate our anniversary. I felt like Bahia took the time to celebrate with us. Thanks to my first point of contact with Aridia and it went smooth sailing since then. Bahia Premier is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room by the pool are excellent and close to shops as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Heather,

We would like to thank you for acknowledging our professional staff, especially Aridia, who contributed in creating you an awesome anniversary and birthday. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your vacation become an unforgettable experience.

Greetings from Grand Bahia Principe Premier!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro from March 30-April 6th. We travelled with our two teenage sons. We had a great vacation. The grounds are stunning you see the workers hard at work maintaining the grounds. The resort is huge as it is one of 5, but the trolley system is great if you need it. otherwise the leisurely walks through the grounds are stunning. Staff where very friendly and helpful (if needed). I was however disappointed at check in as we where put in the principe section furthest from the beach, they would not honor moving us closer to the beach, even though we where a repeat customer with the gran Bahia chain, we travelled to Mexico (gran Bahia Tulum in Dec 2011). However they did give us adjoining rooms which was great.

Food is awesome (I am a fussy eater but always found something to eat). I used the microwave to heat my food up as I do like it hot.

Beach is kept very clean they work hard at removing the seaweed. You do however have to get up early to reserve seating especially if you want an area with shade.

Pools are fun the one by the beach is the busiest. If you want something a little quieter go to the others.

Entertainment was great. Michael Jackson and the Circus show a must see. Poolside entertainment was somewhat repetitive, but still fun.

Overall we had a great time spending time as a family. I would recommend this resort to others just remember it is vast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premier section,Villa 48 at first I was disappointed but you are close to everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

We are very pleased to read that you had a great family vacation thanks to our rich gastronomy, as well as the good service from our employees.

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Regards from the Dominican Republic!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Premier from april 14th to 21th and really had a great stay. We went with our 7 months baby and friends and we were uncertain about travelling with a yough baby. We are really please about how they welcomed us everywhere we went on the resort. As we used to stay at Grand Bahia, we had a great surprise : silver bracelet wich gave us acces to the Bavaro and Punta Cana buffets. This little attention was really appreciated.
The pool in the Premier section is reserved for Premier' guest only wich make it a "kind of quiet" place to stay. There's enough Palapas for everyone who wants to be under the shade. Also, a lot of palm tree everywhere on the resort (we really like that!)
The hotel is very very clean. A lot of people cleans everywhere, all the time! We really prefere it that way, especilly when travelling with a baby.
The food was always good in every buffet we went. The Premier buffet is a little smaller than the other (since this section is smaller) and at the same time, it is more quiet. We went to others but we prefered the Premier because of that. Always good service and good food. My baby ate food from the buffet and he liked it.
If I had to find a negative thing to say about this hotel, this is not about the hotel itself, but it's about the beach. Not really my kind of beach. It's beautifull but too much crowdy for me.

We really had an amazing stay and would recommande the Premier.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good aspects, such as great staff, clean premises, and good food. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and to know that you recommend us.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Premier and continue providing the most amazing vacations.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went 4/6-4/13, direct flight was great, resort was ok.
I asked about an upgrade at checkin, they said they were overbooked, come to find out, the resort took several hundred travelers that came from another resort, the upgrade didnt happen.
Service was decent, except at the front desk, where it was subpar at the "Premier" lobby, Europeans walked right up to the desk, around the line of people infront of them. Maid was slow, ususally room not cleaned until afternoon.
We were placed in the "premier" section, this means that you are further away from the beach, nothing premier about it. you take a shuttle to most places as the resort is so massive (long and narrow).
A la Carte dining, BOOK ALL A LA CARTS AT CHECK IN!! two we went to where VERY good (Il carpaccio and Japanese hibachi) and two (Mediterranean/El Pescador and the Spanish/ El Mason) and were so bad that we didnt eat most of our meals and went to the buffet instead. The buffets were decent, however, the bacon and the hamburgers were floating in grease. not a lot of healty options.
negotiate anything you buy in the stores.
Tips: 1) bring a large insulated cup, less trips to bar and save dozens of small plastic disosable cups. 2) if you want an upgrade, get it when you book the trip, dont wait til you check in, 3) get to the beach/pool early if you need shade, signs say no reserving chairs, but everyone does it anyways, got there by 630 and got shaded seats further back, 4) bring ample sunscreen and aftersun lotion ($25 a bottle on the resort) and protect your eyes (my eyeballs burned from the reflection on the water), 5) ask to book a la cart for the week when you check in, 6) lots of Europeans who cut in line and dont wait and act better than everyone else, like one group who "reserved" seats on the beach the night before with water bottles, which were cleaned up when i got there, so i took the seats in the first row closest to the water, they guilted me into leaving and said they had had been reserving the seats for the past 2 weeks,

ATTN MGT AT BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVAOR:
1) the resort should clear all of the chairs at night, removing place savers such as towels, shirts, etc. so the people who get at the crack of dawn get to choose, first come, first serve.
2) Please find a way to limit people from taking cuts, maybe ropes in the lobby, or ticket system, and add more people to the desk at the premier lobby at peak times, took me almost 30m waiting in line to check out.

Room Tip: AVOID PREMIER SECTION if possible, furthest away from beach, get upgraded room when booking if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel and for giving us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. Please be assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in the Premier area on our first visit to this resort(Jan 2006) and wanted to stay there again, but our booking agent only had the Bavaro in their offerings, so at check in we asked if we could change our booking to the Premier. When the clerk, at the Bavaro front desk, heard that we had stayed at the resort before he immediately changed our wrist bands to ones that indicated that we were repeat customers and said, if we would wait until later in the afternoon, they would find us a room in the Premier area. We agreed to wait and had lunch in the buffet.

That evening we found that the Premier buffet was very crowded and the lobby had been set up for Russian vacationers who were in the majority staying in that area. For the rest of our stay we used Bavaro buffet and lounge where the the servers came to know us and gave us royal treatment. In the lounge Ana and her girls made sure we were well looked after. Some of the girls serving us were Udelki, Maira, Yaritza, Brenda, Berkis, Joana, Carmen and Gilda, The staff in the buffet(we did not get all of their names) always ensured we had a nice table and saw to our needs.

Our suite in building 41 was always kept clean and tidy and the maids provided us with different decorations each day. Even Santos, their support man became very friendly and helped the maids to make our stay very enjoyable.

In all we had an excellent vacation so we have decided to return with our family. We have booked four suites and will be arriving with the West Jet flight out of Toronto on the 28th of April 2013. Again our agent does not offer Premier area so it would be great if could get four suites together on the second or third floor of a building near 41.

We are looking forward to seeing all our friends at Gran Bahia Principe.

Sincerely;

Margot and Lou
Kreamer

Room Tip: If you can afford Esmeralda or Ambar(adults only) they are the latest additions. After that the Haci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Margot and Lou,

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

You are welcome to contact us for your next visit with your family to our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort in order to prepare all the details to provide you an unforgettable experience.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Premier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Premier

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Premier 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Premier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Premier Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Premier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.