We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“Great Family Vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro from March 30-April 6th. We travelled with our two teenage sons. We had a great vacation. The grounds are stunning you see the workers hard at work maintaining the grounds. The resort is huge as it is one of 5, but the trolley system is great if you need it. otherwise the leisurely walks through the grounds are stunning. Staff where very friendly and helpful (if needed). I was however disappointed at check in as we where put in the principe section furthest from the beach, they would not honor moving us closer to the beach, even though we where a repeat customer with the gran Bahia chain, we travelled to Mexico (gran Bahia Tulum in Dec 2011). However they did give us adjoining rooms which was great.

Food is awesome (I am a fussy eater but always found something to eat). I used the microwave to heat my food up as I do like it hot.

Beach is kept very clean they work hard at removing the seaweed. You do however have to get up early to reserve seating especially if you want an area with shade.

Pools are fun the one by the beach is the busiest. If you want something a little quieter go to the others.

Entertainment was great. Michael Jackson and the Circus show a must see. Poolside entertainment was somewhat repetitive, but still fun.

Overall we had a great time spending time as a family. I would recommend this resort to others just remember it is vast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premier section,Villa 48 at first I was disappointed but you are close to everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

We are very pleased to read that you had a great family vacation thanks to our rich gastronomy, as well as the good service from our employees.

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Regards from the Dominican Republic!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    204
    81
    35
    36
See reviews for
262
331
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Premier from april 14th to 21th and really had a great stay. We went with our 7 months baby and friends and we were uncertain about travelling with a yough baby. We are really please about how they welcomed us everywhere we went on the resort. As we used to stay at Grand Bahia, we had a great surprise : silver bracelet wich gave us acces to the Bavaro and Punta Cana buffets. This little attention was really appreciated.
The pool in the Premier section is reserved for Premier' guest only wich make it a "kind of quiet" place to stay. There's enough Palapas for everyone who wants to be under the shade. Also, a lot of palm tree everywhere on the resort (we really like that!)
The hotel is very very clean. A lot of people cleans everywhere, all the time! We really prefere it that way, especilly when travelling with a baby.
The food was always good in every buffet we went. The Premier buffet is a little smaller than the other (since this section is smaller) and at the same time, it is more quiet. We went to others but we prefered the Premier because of that. Always good service and good food. My baby ate food from the buffet and he liked it.
If I had to find a negative thing to say about this hotel, this is not about the hotel itself, but it's about the beach. Not really my kind of beach. It's beautifull but too much crowdy for me.

We really had an amazing stay and would recommande the Premier.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good aspects, such as great staff, clean premises, and good food. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and to know that you recommend us.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Premier and continue providing the most amazing vacations.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went 4/6-4/13, direct flight was great, resort was ok.
I asked about an upgrade at checkin, they said they were overbooked, come to find out, the resort took several hundred travelers that came from another resort, the upgrade didnt happen.
Service was decent, except at the front desk, where it was subpar at the "Premier" lobby, Europeans walked right up to the desk, around the line of people infront of them. Maid was slow, ususally room not cleaned until afternoon.
We were placed in the "premier" section, this means that you are further away from the beach, nothing premier about it. you take a shuttle to most places as the resort is so massive (long and narrow).
A la Carte dining, BOOK ALL A LA CARTS AT CHECK IN!! two we went to where VERY good (Il carpaccio and Japanese hibachi) and two (Mediterranean/El Pescador and the Spanish/ El Mason) and were so bad that we didnt eat most of our meals and went to the buffet instead. The buffets were decent, however, the bacon and the hamburgers were floating in grease. not a lot of healty options.
negotiate anything you buy in the stores.
Tips: 1) bring a large insulated cup, less trips to bar and save dozens of small plastic disosable cups. 2) if you want an upgrade, get it when you book the trip, dont wait til you check in, 3) get to the beach/pool early if you need shade, signs say no reserving chairs, but everyone does it anyways, got there by 630 and got shaded seats further back, 4) bring ample sunscreen and aftersun lotion ($25 a bottle on the resort) and protect your eyes (my eyeballs burned from the reflection on the water), 5) ask to book a la cart for the week when you check in, 6) lots of Europeans who cut in line and dont wait and act better than everyone else, like one group who "reserved" seats on the beach the night before with water bottles, which were cleaned up when i got there, so i took the seats in the first row closest to the water, they guilted me into leaving and said they had had been reserving the seats for the past 2 weeks,

ATTN MGT AT BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVAOR:
1) the resort should clear all of the chairs at night, removing place savers such as towels, shirts, etc. so the people who get at the crack of dawn get to choose, first come, first serve.
2) Please find a way to limit people from taking cuts, maybe ropes in the lobby, or ticket system, and add more people to the desk at the premier lobby at peak times, took me almost 30m waiting in line to check out.

Room Tip: AVOID PREMIER SECTION if possible, furthest away from beach, get upgraded room when booking if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel and for giving us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. Please be assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in the Premier area on our first visit to this resort(Jan 2006) and wanted to stay there again, but our booking agent only had the Bavaro in their offerings, so at check in we asked if we could change our booking to the Premier. When the clerk, at the Bavaro front desk, heard that we had stayed at the resort before he immediately changed our wrist bands to ones that indicated that we were repeat customers and said, if we would wait until later in the afternoon, they would find us a room in the Premier area. We agreed to wait and had lunch in the buffet.

That evening we found that the Premier buffet was very crowded and the lobby had been set up for Russian vacationers who were in the majority staying in that area. For the rest of our stay we used Bavaro buffet and lounge where the the servers came to know us and gave us royal treatment. In the lounge Ana and her girls made sure we were well looked after. Some of the girls serving us were Udelki, Maira, Yaritza, Brenda, Berkis, Joana, Carmen and Gilda, The staff in the buffet(we did not get all of their names) always ensured we had a nice table and saw to our needs.

Our suite in building 41 was always kept clean and tidy and the maids provided us with different decorations each day. Even Santos, their support man became very friendly and helped the maids to make our stay very enjoyable.

In all we had an excellent vacation so we have decided to return with our family. We have booked four suites and will be arriving with the West Jet flight out of Toronto on the 28th of April 2013. Again our agent does not offer Premier area so it would be great if could get four suites together on the second or third floor of a building near 41.

We are looking forward to seeing all our friends at Gran Bahia Principe.

Sincerely;

Margot and Lou
Kreamer

Room Tip: If you can afford Esmeralda or Ambar(adults only) they are the latest additions. After that the Haci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Margot and Lou,

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

You are welcome to contact us for your next visit with your family to our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort in order to prepare all the details to provide you an unforgettable experience.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at grand bahia principe premiere resort from April 8 to April 15. It started off a little rocky but met our expectations mid trip. Here is my honest review as follows.
Staff:
Staff at front desk were terrible and I am a pretty easy going person. Check in was disorganized and we were shuffled around. We booked with apple vacations so we had a separate check in and rooms were not ready until 4 30 or so.
Waiters bar staff maides and everyone else were amazing! Especially our maid in building 53. Our card wasn't working to turn on power so we called down and nobody showed up so I went to lobby. They were rude and tolde to go to our roomm and call. I was not impressed. Make sure you shut patio door too or air will not work. Place a plastic card behind door to keep power on while you are put because you only get 2 keys. Eventually they sent 2 people up to our room.
Food:
Food was alright for all inclusive resort. Romaine lettuce is hard to come by for salads, but everyday is a different theme and breakfasts were my favorite part. We ate in premiere las dalias restaurant for most meals but they have a snack bar with buffet and you can order off the menu as well. We booked our al a cartes by email one week prior so we were able to eat at steak( garden grill) , Japanese, and seafood( Mediterranean ) . I would advise emailing prior to book as they fill up quick. Steak and seafood were good.
Pools and beach:
We liked the pool in premiere but we also tried pool by the beach( too busy). Pools and beach were really clean, go early to reserve chairs with shade. The beach is beautiful, very rough and crowded. We went really early one day just to check it out but we prefer the pools.
Grounds and rooms:
Grounds were manicured daily and he staff is always working hard, and compared to other resorts grounds are beautiful. This place is HUGE, so be prepared to walk or take trollies which come around every 5 min. I was lost the first day. I enjoyed the variety of the landscapes and lobbies. We hung out in bavaro and premiere lobbies before shows and brought some games to play. We bought a wifi card 7 days for 45 bucks. It is worth it if you want to surf in room or at pools. Don't loose card because u will need to log on every couple hours on aptilo wireless. Free wifi in lobby too. Rooms are dated but served the purpose. There was only 2 plugs and it was low lighting. There are plenty of shops in bavaro but we bargained and gave half of what they asked.
Overall we had a good time and would return. If you have kids this place has a great waterpark !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of food and beverages.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Dominican Republic,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Gran Bahia Premier from April 1-8, 2013. The resort is absolutely beautiful and so well maintained. Rooms were very clean and updated and cleaned every day, please leave a tip daily as the maids work very hard for very little pay. We went to the beach and beach pool every day, that's where all the action is and afternoon entertainment. We loved our bartenders down there, especially German! We took very good care of them and they showed much appreciation and treated us like royalty, our frozen drinks were made special with fresh fruit. Same as the maids, these guys work hard and don't get paid a lot of money so be generous, trust me it goes a long way! Tip: bring large cups with you, as the drinks are served in small cups and you will need to refill quickly. Pedro, in guest services was great in helping us get dinner reservations at places that were booked.....once again a tip goes a long way! Buffets were very good, different dinner themes every night, we loved Sante Fe for dinner and also Garden Grill (Steak House). The Italian restaurant was just ok, not what we are used to when going to Italian restaurant. We couldn't wait to go to Japanese and have Hibachi but was disappointed, not nearly as good as what we are used to at home. The only negative comment I have is that the resort is too big and didn't like having to take the shuttle every where, especially to the beach. I would have rather giving up a little bit of the luxury of Premier to be closer to the beach. We took our sons (12 and 15) Zip Lining and they loved it, my husband also took them on 1/2 day Deep Sea Fishing trip but unfortunately it was very rough and they got seasick but they still said it was a great day! I had a massage at the spa and it was wonderful, I highly recommend one. We will definitely be returning to see our new friends at Gran Bahia!!

Room Tip: Request to be close to the beach if you want to be by the day action, taking the shuttle is a pain i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Jenn,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor and for mentioning our absolutely beautiful premises, very clean rooms and good buffets. It is delightful to read that you enjoyed a great vacation in our Grand Bahia Principe Premier and to know that you acknowledge the service provided by German and Pedro.

You are welcome to contact us for your next visit.

Regards from Punta Cana!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oka, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent a week (March 31-April 6, 2013) at The Gran Bahia Premier resort. I wasn't quite sure at first which hotel I wanted to be at, there are 5 hotels on the resort...Do I upgrade to Royal Golden ? to I go closer to the Beach ? do I go to Ambar ? I wasn't quite sure...I decided to stay and I was quite satisfied..there are a total of 6000 people on the resort ..HUGE ! but every hotel has it's own pool, and buffet..It all made sense ...The rooms are spotless, the towels and sheets are changed everyday ! they have a very hard working professional staff...when it comes to tips it is all up to you BUT think of this... they make 0.40 cents and hour, they work 16 hour days, they work for 15 days straight and get 3 days off...the evening shows are excellent ! the best one for me is the Michael Jackson Show on monday night it is Fantastic ! the food is quite good at the buffet and at the A La carte restaurants.

Room Tip: all rooms are basically the same it all depends on how close you would like to be to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel, and for mentioning our well-kept premises, very hard working professional staff, excellent Michael Jackson show, and good food.

We hope to cater you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Premier to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and BookIt.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Premier Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.