We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Premier

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Cana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Bahia Principe Premier
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at Premier Feb 11 to 18th 2013. I would recommend it. The pool was a lot of fun - activities were going on all the time. Leonel at the swim up bar gave us great service. The Premier buffet is smaller but not as crowded and the food is excellent. Buffet staff were also great. On the whole I would say all the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Our room was situated close to the pool / buffet and lobby - it was nice being handy to everything. Only downside was noise at night from the band and entertainment at the Pueblo Principe situated nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy, as well as the good service from our employees.

Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our Grand Bahia Principe Premier staff, especially to Leonel.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Regards from Bavaro!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    183
    66
    32
    36
See reviews for
230
300
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The resort was huge! It was beautiful and the rooms were huge. I went with 45 family members for a wedding. We all had a great time. The place was very clean and the staff was amazing. The pools were great. 3 of the staff members, Jaoqin, Espagueti, and Alexis, made the trip so much fun. I recommend this place to anyone. And I will be going back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for recommending us and for highlighting our beautiful premises, huge rooms, and amazing staff. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forwarded to Joaqin, Espagueti, and Alexis.

We are very pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we were in the club premier section block 40,close to pool,plus our own lobby,bar and sitting area.had a great waitress we met her name is Inosecia,when we came in to lounge she had our drinks already on their way to us,she is the BEST.our room was great king bed balcony hot water for shower all day every day cool air in room no problem.10 min walk to beach or 3 min trolley ride we did both which was fine,beach is fine,yes get there @ 7:00am to save chairs as it get full quick,breakfast at beach mostly as we had our own buffet 1min from our room,pool was great by the room as was the pool swimup bar as was bartender MANUAEL he was GREAT.great activites at all pools as we went to them all,2 pools in middle of resort not as busy and have poolbars,resturants are good japnese best,mexican bad,did 2 trips,boogie buggies/saona island great trip for 10 days,all people that work here are great,grounds people and up,lots of shops on site also fridays vendors come in lots of good items for sale.shows at night very busy and entertaining lots to do and see great beach for walking,this resort is right in front of shipwreck,water is GREAT,would go again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Premier Hotel . We are proud to hear that you had an excellent stay due to the friendliness of our staff members, especially because Inocencia and Manuel. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to them.

We appreciate guest comments and suggestions, now that is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

So, I'll start out by saying that other people that we talked to at the hotel really like it. We on the other hand did not. We did no realize that there are 5 other resorts on the same property. Well the "Principe" is the lowest, so you cant go to a lot of places because they are all for the "VIP" guests. I don't like going on vacation and feeling lowest class. You also have to take a trolly to get to the beach or late night food because it is about 2.5km away. I like to walk, but you takes up too much time. I make 3 five minutes phone calls home, and they cost me a total of $75 dollars. I cant believe they would ripe off their guest like that! The food was very plain, even at the A LA CARTE places. We were only aloud 3 reservations, and of course, we got the last pick because the VIP guests get to pick all the good times. My rating system is based on other resorts for the same price or CHEAPER!
ROOM - 4/10
FOOD - 5/10
BEACH - 10/10
POOLS - 7/10
FRIENDLINESS - 10/10
NIGHT CLUB - 9/10

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Regarding your comments about you’re a la carte experience, we would like to let you know that, due to internal policies and operational reasons, dinner reservations are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request. Concerning your point of view about the food in our resort, we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires.

Please allow us to remark that we inform to our guests’ the calls rate before use. It may be the case that the clients use a toll free call, so the amount will be charged directly to the credit card, but not done by the Hotel.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, especially either of our Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Edge, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I just returned from a week vacation at Grand Bahia Principe Premier in Punta Cana. Service was excellent, rooms were very clean and entertaintment first class. I had a great time and even though the beach seemed a little crowded it was a great place and had room enough for everybody. All my inquires were friendly addressed by Yeimis from guest service and Sergio, the assistant manager, was more than happy to make you feel great. Both have a first class customer approach and as stated before extremely helpful going the extra mile to help you. The place is huge and has a lot of opportunities to entertain and do activities of your choice. Food was great and restuarants excellent. I would recomend to anyone that wants to spend a getaway to relax and spend time on the beach.

Room Tip: Even though we were located facing the pool, and there were daily activities I still think it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Customer,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the courtesy and excellent service from our staff, our rich gastronomy, and the fantastic entertainment. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahía Príncipe Premier and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Best regards!!


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

First of all, I'm extremely late writing this review. My husband and I travelled to Punta Cana July 7 - 13, 2012 and met another couple there that we travel with each summer. We arrived at PUJ airport early in the morning and made it to the resort (small city) well before check-in. We booked our trip through CheapCaribbean.com and had no issues with airport transfers. We were, however, completely confused regarding which section of the resort in which we were staying. We had reserved our room for the Bavaro section of the hotel, but had selected a Premier room, because we were under the impression it was closer to the beach, and we checked in at the Bavaro Lobby. All of our paperwork from CheapCaribbean.com said Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro. We were then given our room assignments and bracelets for the Premier Club. We didn't notice this until we tried to find a place to eat lunch. We were turned away from restaurant after restaurant and told we could only eat at the "Premier Buffet". After being given bogus directions multiple times (from both patrons and staff) on how to find this buffet, we finally found it on our own. It was very close to the Premier Pool and our room, so this was convenient, but we were exhausted after just trying to find a place to eat lunch.
Once we were allowed to enter our rooms, we were very pleased with the size and quality of the rooms. We had requested to be near our friends' room and were graciously accommodated, only one other room in between us.

I'll start with the Pros:
1. There were plenty of options for food and entertainment. We made restaurant reservations online a few weeks prior to the trip, and we ended up eating at 4 of the ala carte restaurants. By far, the Japanese restaurant was our favorite.
2. The rooms were very comfortable and air conditioner worked well.
3. The pool bar was amazing, we especially enjoyed the hospitality and drinks prepared by Miguel.
4. There was free wifi that worked well in the lobby.
5. Maid service was excellent and drinks were restocked in refrigerator daily.
6. Grounds are breathtakingly beautiful.

Cons:
1. Resort is entirely too large for my taste. I was prepared from reading other reviews, but I was under the impression we could hop on a tram and traverse the resort easily. This was not the case. The trams were most always full, so we ended up walking a lot!
2. The beach is nice, but there was always a lot of seaweed and we had a difficult time finding beach chairs. We also had our chairs taken from us several times while we were in the water! We ended up spending most of our time in the pool, which is something we could have done here at home.
3. There are very few Americans or Canadians at this resort, and we found it difficult communicating with guests and staff, and I even speak Spanish.
4. I ended up getting sick on days 3 thru 6 and one other person in our group also fell ill. We had visited Punta Cana the year before and stayed at Majestic Colonial, and none of us got sick there.
5. The men in our group signed up to receive our free welcome gift, which ended up being a 1/2 day timeshare presentation. They specifically asked if thi as was going to be a timeshare presentation and were told no. This was upsetting, because we did not want to spend 1/2 of a day listening to this.
6. We were denied entry into the buffet one day for lunch, because we were told we were too wet. We had all changed out of our swimsuits, so we were definitely confused by this, but left anyway.
7. There is a charge for the safety deposit box in the rooms, which we were aware of prior to booking. This is the first AI resort where we have been requred to pay for this. In my opinion, this should be standard.

We will definitely not be going back to this resort anytime soon or to Punta Cana for that matter. The stomach issues we had, along with the tales of many other travellers experiencing the same, will prevent us from visiting the Dominican Republic again. It is far too risky. We have travelled to multiple places in Mexico and Jamaica and have never had stomach illnesses there, so we will stick to those destinations instead.

If you are not afraid of getting sick, and you like the options provided by a massive resort (small city), then this is the place for you. Otherwise, I recommend Majestic Colonial or Elegance instead.

,

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in the Anbar or Esmerelda sections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. Please be assured your comments have been forwarded to the General Manager and will be taken into the highest consideration.

Regarding your comments about the food in our resort, we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. We assured you that we continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any misperception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our family - two adults, three teenagers - recently returned from the Grand Bahia Principe. The Club Premier was phenomenal and definitely met all our needs. Our stay was just fabulous! Clean, well looked after, interesting and fun animation, close to the main attractions (main lobby, theatre, boutiques) and the pool was simply exceptional.

The complex is great and all of us really enjoyed ourselves. The service, the food and the quality of the premises were just excellent.

Room Tip: Second floor, balcony facing the pool was quiet and just perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy, clean & quality premises, fun animation, exceptional pool, as well as the good service from our employees. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again to our Grand Bahia Principe Premier!

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Premier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Premier

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Premier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Premier Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Premier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Premier to your Saves list