We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain food, Bad beds, Felt 2nd class” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Premier

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Premier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Bahia Principe Premier
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Belleville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Plain food, Bad beds, Felt 2nd class”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

So, I'll start out by saying that other people that we talked to at the hotel really like it. We on the other hand did not. We did no realize that there are 5 other resorts on the same property. Well the "Principe" is the lowest, so you cant go to a lot of places because they are all for the "VIP" guests. I don't like going on vacation and feeling lowest class. You also have to take a trolly to get to the beach or late night food because it is about 2.5km away. I like to walk, but you takes up too much time. I make 3 five minutes phone calls home, and they cost me a total of $75 dollars. I cant believe they would ripe off their guest like that! The food was very plain, even at the A LA CARTE places. We were only aloud 3 reservations, and of course, we got the last pick because the VIP guests get to pick all the good times. My rating system is based on other resorts for the same price or CHEAPER!
ROOM - 4/10
FOOD - 5/10
BEACH - 10/10
POOLS - 7/10
FRIENDLINESS - 10/10
NIGHT CLUB - 9/10

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Regarding your comments about you’re a la carte experience, we would like to let you know that, due to internal policies and operational reasons, dinner reservations are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request. Concerning your point of view about the food in our resort, we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires.

Please allow us to remark that we inform to our guests’ the calls rate before use. It may be the case that the clients use a toll free call, so the amount will be charged directly to the credit card, but not done by the Hotel.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, especially either of our Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    192
    73
    34
    35
See reviews for
247
313
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
River Edge, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I just returned from a week vacation at Grand Bahia Principe Premier in Punta Cana. Service was excellent, rooms were very clean and entertaintment first class. I had a great time and even though the beach seemed a little crowded it was a great place and had room enough for everybody. All my inquires were friendly addressed by Yeimis from guest service and Sergio, the assistant manager, was more than happy to make you feel great. Both have a first class customer approach and as stated before extremely helpful going the extra mile to help you. The place is huge and has a lot of opportunities to entertain and do activities of your choice. Food was great and restuarants excellent. I would recomend to anyone that wants to spend a getaway to relax and spend time on the beach.

Room Tip: Even though we were located facing the pool, and there were daily activities I still think it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Customer,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the courtesy and excellent service from our staff, our rich gastronomy, and the fantastic entertainment. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahía Príncipe Premier and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Best regards!!


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

First of all, I'm extremely late writing this review. My husband and I travelled to Punta Cana July 7 - 13, 2012 and met another couple there that we travel with each summer. We arrived at PUJ airport early in the morning and made it to the resort (small city) well before check-in. We booked our trip through CheapCaribbean.com and had no issues with airport transfers. We were, however, completely confused regarding which section of the resort in which we were staying. We had reserved our room for the Bavaro section of the hotel, but had selected a Premier room, because we were under the impression it was closer to the beach, and we checked in at the Bavaro Lobby. All of our paperwork from CheapCaribbean.com said Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro. We were then given our room assignments and bracelets for the Premier Club. We didn't notice this until we tried to find a place to eat lunch. We were turned away from restaurant after restaurant and told we could only eat at the "Premier Buffet". After being given bogus directions multiple times (from both patrons and staff) on how to find this buffet, we finally found it on our own. It was very close to the Premier Pool and our room, so this was convenient, but we were exhausted after just trying to find a place to eat lunch.
Once we were allowed to enter our rooms, we were very pleased with the size and quality of the rooms. We had requested to be near our friends' room and were graciously accommodated, only one other room in between us.

I'll start with the Pros:
1. There were plenty of options for food and entertainment. We made restaurant reservations online a few weeks prior to the trip, and we ended up eating at 4 of the ala carte restaurants. By far, the Japanese restaurant was our favorite.
2. The rooms were very comfortable and air conditioner worked well.
3. The pool bar was amazing, we especially enjoyed the hospitality and drinks prepared by Miguel.
4. There was free wifi that worked well in the lobby.
5. Maid service was excellent and drinks were restocked in refrigerator daily.
6. Grounds are breathtakingly beautiful.

Cons:
1. Resort is entirely too large for my taste. I was prepared from reading other reviews, but I was under the impression we could hop on a tram and traverse the resort easily. This was not the case. The trams were most always full, so we ended up walking a lot!
2. The beach is nice, but there was always a lot of seaweed and we had a difficult time finding beach chairs. We also had our chairs taken from us several times while we were in the water! We ended up spending most of our time in the pool, which is something we could have done here at home.
3. There are very few Americans or Canadians at this resort, and we found it difficult communicating with guests and staff, and I even speak Spanish.
4. I ended up getting sick on days 3 thru 6 and one other person in our group also fell ill. We had visited Punta Cana the year before and stayed at Majestic Colonial, and none of us got sick there.
5. The men in our group signed up to receive our free welcome gift, which ended up being a 1/2 day timeshare presentation. They specifically asked if thi as was going to be a timeshare presentation and were told no. This was upsetting, because we did not want to spend 1/2 of a day listening to this.
6. We were denied entry into the buffet one day for lunch, because we were told we were too wet. We had all changed out of our swimsuits, so we were definitely confused by this, but left anyway.
7. There is a charge for the safety deposit box in the rooms, which we were aware of prior to booking. This is the first AI resort where we have been requred to pay for this. In my opinion, this should be standard.

We will definitely not be going back to this resort anytime soon or to Punta Cana for that matter. The stomach issues we had, along with the tales of many other travellers experiencing the same, will prevent us from visiting the Dominican Republic again. It is far too risky. We have travelled to multiple places in Mexico and Jamaica and have never had stomach illnesses there, so we will stick to those destinations instead.

If you are not afraid of getting sick, and you like the options provided by a massive resort (small city), then this is the place for you. Otherwise, I recommend Majestic Colonial or Elegance instead.

,

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in the Anbar or Esmerelda sections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. Please be assured your comments have been forwarded to the General Manager and will be taken into the highest consideration.

Regarding your comments about the food in our resort, we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. We assured you that we continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any misperception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our family - two adults, three teenagers - recently returned from the Grand Bahia Principe. The Club Premier was phenomenal and definitely met all our needs. Our stay was just fabulous! Clean, well looked after, interesting and fun animation, close to the main attractions (main lobby, theatre, boutiques) and the pool was simply exceptional.

The complex is great and all of us really enjoyed ourselves. The service, the food and the quality of the premises were just excellent.

Room Tip: Second floor, balcony facing the pool was quiet and just perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy, clean & quality premises, fun animation, exceptional pool, as well as the good service from our employees. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again to our Grand Bahia Principe Premier!

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went on Jan 21 to Jan 28 2013 to Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Premier, Block 44. Second time returning to this hotel. Really huge hotel site but really well organised with internal transportation. Always on time. For those who wants to get some shadow, be ready to get up early in the morning if you want a nice spot on the beach or at the main pool near the beach area. Italian restaurant is really nice. Really clean grounds. New water park is fun for kids. Night shows are excellent. I would recommend this resort as place with confort, memmories, food and nothing but the last, fun !

Room Tip: Be closed to the theatre, all night live activities are all around the theatre. Block 18 is one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Hotel.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us and it is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and we would like to thank you for recommending us.

We are very pleased you had a very fun vacation thanks to our night shows, food and clean grounds.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Grand Bahia Principe Premier to experience the hospitality of our people, and keep on providing the most memorable vacations.

Regards from Bavaro!!


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was our first time in Dominicana and we definitelly hope to come back - most likely to the same hotel :) Charmingly situated, vast gardens, beautiful beach, great cuisine. I believe it is a place for all people who seek quiet and relaxing time in a magic tropical environment. The staff is very helpful and cherful - the only drawback may be their rather common lack of knowledge of English language. I would recommend this resort as place for unforgetable holiday for all my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your Honeymoon and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. We assured you that we continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance.

We are very pleased you enjoyed our vast gardens, beautiful beach and great cuisine and we are glad to hear that you had a very relaxing vacation.


Thank you for recommending us!

Best Regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the first time that my family traveled during the Christmas holiday. The experience was absolutely wonderful. The accommodations, the facility, the food, and the staff were great. The Dominicans did everything possible to make our vacation a success, especially two people who were genuinely sincere in their hospitality and service (Innocencia and Xavier). I highly recommend the Bahia Principe Premier, Dominican Republic to anyone looking to have a relaxing and pleasant vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours without a doubt delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

It is great to know that you had such a wonderful Christmas holiday thanks to our accommodations, facilities, food, and staff.

Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Innocencia and Xavier.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Premier and be assured that we truly thank you for recommending us.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards.

Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Premier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Premier

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Premier 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Premier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Premier Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Premier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.