We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Margate City, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the first time that my family traveled during the Christmas holiday. The experience was absolutely wonderful. The accommodations, the facility, the food, and the staff were great. The Dominicans did everything possible to make our vacation a success, especially two people who were genuinely sincere in their hospitality and service (Innocencia and Xavier). I highly recommend the Bahia Principe Premier, Dominican Republic to anyone looking to have a relaxing and pleasant vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours without a doubt delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

It is great to know that you had such a wonderful Christmas holiday thanks to our accommodations, facilities, food, and staff.

Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Innocencia and Xavier.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Premier and be assured that we truly thank you for recommending us.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards.

Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    204
    82
    35
    36
See reviews for
263
331
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

If you visit the Grand Bahia Bavaro, you MUST stop in the Club Premier Dining Buffet! Especially, ask for Francisco Beraz, as Francisco by far the best server we met all week. He was always very happy and eager to make our dining experience a great one! It was refreshing to meet Francisco! I hope he is there if we go back. We will make a special effort to say hello to him!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

Thank you for acknowledging Francisco, who will be very happy to learn that he was able to contribute in creating a great experience for you. We are proud to know that our guest had provided our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, and it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting us once again in this tropical paradise called Dominican Republic.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was my first time visiting Punta Cana and first trip to the Gran Bahia Principe and it was a fantastic vacation.The size of the resort was big surprise! Have to give a big thumb up to the Staff (Animation Team ) Alexis,Francisco and Espaguetis Animation Exelente #1 (The reception team) Evelin #1 and all the bartenders, Angel,Martin,Domingos #1 also the cleaning staff for keeping the place running in such good order!This is a first resort that I want to go back sometime in the future. its a real paradise!!!!!! EXELENT Resort

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Premier.

It is an honor to know that our staff has provided our guests with the natural warmth and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to Alexis, Francisco and Espaguetis from the Animation Team, Evelin from Reception, Angel , Martin and Domingos from the bar and also all the Cleaning staff, they will all be delighted to hear such great comments and know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Thanks for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon at our Bahia Principe Premier!

Best regards,


Noemi Lorenzo
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very rude reception staff. Transportation and food staff don't have basic knowledge of English language. It was even hard to communicate room numbers to drivers so it took us 45min after a show to get to our room having my sleeping son on my shoulder. Very bad tasting small selection of food in a small buffet (the only one available to us). No snack-bar for kids between meals. Room cards stopped working a few times and gave us so much headaches in the middle of the night with kids sleeping at door before we can get replacement. A/C very noisy. Poor lighting in the room. Shower not working properly. Broken telephone.

The kids facilities are good in this resort specially water-park and mini-golf. Beach is OK and clean. Pools are good and clean. Shows are entertaining. Casino is a plus.

Room Tip: Stay away from Bavaro Premier section as it only allows you to use one small buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. We would like to inform you that we continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance.

Regarding your comments about the quality of our food, we would like to point out that our menus are composed by carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our first time visiting your country. We chose Punta Cana so we could celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary as alot of people told us it was nice and they were right. We both had a wonderful time the food was good the people were very nice and a special thanks to Xavier he made our trip memorable he works in the lobby at the premier section.

The place was nice and clean and the flowers the psalm trees and banana trees were out of this world and my next visit will be Runaway Bay in Jamaica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that we could fulfill your expectations during your 40th Anniversary.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you a positive experience at Dominican Republic, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years. Thank you for your recent review and for highlighting our great customer service. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forward to Xavier.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was an amazing week in Dominican republic (first stay). We have been to many similar exotic places (Maldives, Seychelles, Virgin Islands, Bahamas, Egypt, Key West, etc.) but this one is truly the best. Beautiful village with more hotels, nice parks, "pueblo principe" square and the theatre for animations. Hotel is at the end of the resort nonetheless it takes just 10-15 minutes to reach beach by walk. If u do not like walking there are trains which cross whole resort to the beach (max 5 minutes waiting).

The room was large and every day perfectly cleaned (whole resort very clean). Bathroom includes whirlpool. Mini-Bar is every day filled with new drinks within the allinclusive package.

Hotel has own nice swimming pool with great bar. Even though the resort is so huge u would be always able to find sunbeds. So u dont have to get up so early to catch ur sunbeds.

Food was incredible. All inclusive restaurants presented to us unlimited options for food variations. Everything was just great. There are some a-la-carte resurants within the resort where u have to make a reservation but its ok.

At the end we would like to point out animation programs. What we saw there in the theatre it was incredibly perfect. Show, every night.

This was our first time there and we have to admit that we became very sad when had to leave. We will definitely come back to Bahis Principe (u know the animators have nice song about coming back to Bahia principe, we are even know two weeks laters singing this song in our minds :)))) Hope next year during christmas season. Christmas theremust be amazing

This hotel or even resort is the best choice for relax iwth nice beach, grear food and drinks.

Room Tip: Well, i dont think we can provide any hint about good rooms because simply there are no good and bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Premier.

Your represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our clean rooms, nice pool, incredible food, and perfect animation.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, and it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting us once again.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our second trip to the resort and we had a fantastic vacation. The resort is vast and there are a number of places to go for breakfast / lunch / dinner, which is always nice. Our first night there we made reservations for our a la carte dinners and were told that although we were limited to 4 sit-down dinners, they would put our name in for the waiting list fo the remaining two nights we would be at the resort. The next morning we received notice that we had reservations booked for every night of the week - a very nice change from having the buffet for dinner. I don't think it matters which buffet you go to for breakfast as they're all pretty much the same. We had made-to-order omlettes or eggs each day, and that gave it a bit of extra freshness that can sometimes lack in a buffet. For lunch, we found a restaurant next to the pool at Club Premiere where you could sit down, be served, and order made-to-order calamari, hamburgers, chicken sandwiches, and a few other things. Again- the made-to-order option ensured that the food was always freshly prepared so we only ate at the buffet for breakfast. The sit down dinner restaurants were pretty comparable in quality - everything was good and service was generally top-notch. I personally liked Le Gourmet the most. You have to wear long pants / appropriate attire as it is the 'fancy' restaurant in the resort, but I would absolutely recommend that it is one of the a la carte restaurants you go to while you're there. The Garden Grill was also very good - they have more of a steakhouse offering and the quality of everything we had there was excellent.

There are a few lobby bars open until 11:30 at night and that is where we spent ever evening. We found that if you find a server that you like, give them a few dollars for a tip at the end of the night and then try to sit in their section of the bar the next night. They'll remember and take extra good care you. We had a the same waitress every night who would recoginize us as soon as we sat down and would bring us our drinks without even having to order - she knew what we wanted and made sure we always had a full beverage without having to ask.

Our room was in the Club Premiere section of the resort, which is as far away from the beach as you can get. It was about a 10 minute trolley ride to get to the beach, but the trolleys ran every 10 or 15 minutes so it was never a long wait. You could walk it, but it was about a 15 minute walk. The rooms were fine and the mini bar was re-stocked every day. The only thing that I didn't like was that our room faced the pool and every morning at 10:00 AM, the DJ would play "The Greatest Love of All" by Whitney Houston loud enough that it became my alarm clock. So, if you want a pool-side room, you might want to make sure that it isn't on side of the pool that the speakers are facing.

Overall, the resort is as nice as we remembered it being the first time there and very well maintained. The service we received from everyone (ranging from the restaurant staff to the housekeeping staff to the beach staff) was cordial and polite and they went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of from the moment we arrived until we departed. I am pretty sure that we'll go there again some day.

Room Tip: The trolleys run from early in the morning to late at night, so try to avoid having a room facing ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy, as well as the good service from our employees.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an fantastic experience, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Premier and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Looking forward to seeing you soon and continue providing the most wonderful vacations!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Premier Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.