We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Premier

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Cana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Bahia Principe Premier
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
canada
1 review
“super great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

first time at Bahia Premier and not the last.Since day one great service form a to z.. Guest service Pedro at club premier very attentive and gets you all you with out any delay and all the services all around are great and the people here are very friendly and the rooms and the lobby´s are very clean and the food is great and alot of choice. I had to reserve a few things with Pedro in guest service and wow great attnetive service, thanks Pedro and for sure we will be back and i recommend Bahia club premier to all, great vacation,thanks Bahia premier

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Premier Hotel .

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for highlighting the good aspects such as great food and clean premises. We are proud to hear that you had a super great vacation due to the friendliness of our staff members, especially because of Pedro. He will be delighted to learn your comments.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    180
    65
    32
    35
See reviews for
225
295
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the premier from NOV. 19 to Nov. 25, 2012 and we had a great time! The Premier is quiet and less people (comparing to the other section). The guest service and other workers are very friendly. There is a lot of choice for food at the main buffet. My husband and I were felt like we are getting spoiled... No cooking for 1 wk..., The beach is nice, but a lot of people hanging there, we tried to walk to the right side of the beach, and found some beach side stores to buy gift. Rember, we can negotiate the price,,,, 25 to 30% of the original price, and you will get a good deal, Also, There are venders here every Friday afternoon for the Dominic Market. Finally, we can definitely say we had a good time here and we are sure that we will come back again in the future with our family....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises, especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that it is an honor and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon and have the opportunity to continue providing the most memorable experiences.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed five nights in the Premier section of the Gran Bahia and we loved every second of it! The rooms were super clean, the common areas were breathtaking and the food was excellent. The grounds were meticulously maintained. The staff was the most friendly we've ever encountered anywhere on any vacation, ship, etc. Considering that they work 16 hour days, they always smiled and danced and seemed genuinely happy to be there. Among the excellent staff were:
Our concierge, Xavier
Our amazing waiter, Victor
Aridia
Virginia
Paola
Evelin
Pedro
Domingo, our bartender

My apologies if I misspelled any of these names. There were so many more excellent people working there - too many to mention.

The resort is huge but it is divided up into sections to keep overcrowding of common areas to a minimum. Although the beach was far, they have buses and golf-carts to take you anywhere you want to go. I've read some reviews here complaining about the air conditioning in the rooms. There is a simple trick to it - the balcony door has a sensor on it so you have to make sure the door is shut and squeeze the sensor together. Problem solved! The rooms were fresh and the linens always replaced. You could bounce a quarter off the beds once they were made! They also placed fresh flowers on our bed and in the bathroom for us daily - a very nice touch. I would say to go ahead and rent the safe in your room. At $4 per day, it is a good price and gives you peace of mind when you are not in the room. Neither of us got sick, but we followed directions and used bottled water only, even to brush our teeth.

The buffet had a nice variety of foods and they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is a omelet/carving station as well. The ala-cart restaurants (you have to make reservations to go and best to do so your first day there so you don't miss out) were really good too. We went to the Dominican one, the Mediterranean and the French ones. The French restaurant was definitely fine dining and we got to sample lamb, sea bass, fois gras, all kinds of things! It was our favorite, though it is tough to compare.

We also took excursions twice - once on a sailboat and another on a safari around the eastern side of the Dominican Republic. Well worth every penny. A word of caution - avoid the time-share salespeople who go by the Privilege Club. They are rude and obnoxious.

All in all, this was a fantastic place and experience and we will definitely go back again and stay at Premier. We are already looking forward to next time! We feel like we got a very good value for our money and were made to feel comfortable at all times.

Thank you Premier and everyone at Premier! We hope to see you again soon!
Katrina Daoud

Room Tip: Building 40 was perfectly located right in the middle of the restaurants, pool and lobby of Premier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy as well as the good service from our employees. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

Please be assured that it is an honor and a great compliment for us to forward such great comments to all our Grand Bahia Principe Premier staff.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting us once again.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our second trip there ( we liked it so much on our honeymoon we went back). The key is to get your dinner reservations in early, we recommend Don Pablo, the steak house and the Italian restaurant at the esmarelda. You will be greeted upon check in with a cocktail, and shown right to your room. The rooms are large and spacious ( the beds are a bit uncomfortable, but tolerable). We typically go to the lobby bar and spend some time there ( that's where the wifi is) have a few drinks. All of the buffets are really good. I like eating lunch at the outside one by the pool. I did go to the spa this time, it was good but not great. Overall we love going there, one added plus was that the bartenders remembered us from our honeymoon the year before, once someone learns your name, they don't forget.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Regards from Bavaro!


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

After three previous trips ,we decided the family would love the activities, entertainment,food and beach. we were right-they can't wait to go back.14 of us all ages from 60-21 all loved our trip. Thanks to Nicole Moeller,who went out of her way to meet our requests for rooms close together, wonderful recomm. for the restaurants and checking to see we were satisfied.WE WILL ALL BE RETURNING SOON. Apple tours were great-wouldn't go any other way. Food in punta cana is somewhat different than pittsburgh,but with so many choices compared to other resorts, we were aall satisfied-ervice was great as were the personnel.

Room Tip: very big resort-can stay closeto the beach or closer to entertainment and shops-many beautiful pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Nancy,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Premier Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises

Please be assured that we will forward your comments to Nicole.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

Luis Ocampos
Manager Hotel Premier
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Definitely would not recommend "this" to anyone.
Reasons:
** The most terrible service I have ever experienced. Starting from unfriendly personnel on the Reception and Guest relations desks to waiters and waitresses who were more then unhappy that they have to work. We had the feeling all the time that we are not welcome... like that we are bothering the staff when we have ordered something.
- Example: Coming 7 minutes "too early" in one of the À la carte Restaurants, where 60% of the restaurant was empty, and was told to wait outside until, as they have plainly put it, "your time is on".
I would not mention other numerous examples of the inappropriate service as thinking back only makes me terribly upset.
** We had to get up latest at 6 am to find a place on the beach
** Buffet restaurants, and we had access to all hotel complexes, e.g. Bavaro, Punta Cana, Premier, Esmeralda, etc., remind me on the student cantina of the worst kind.
** And, last but not least, the whole place is a perfect example of the mass tourism of the worst kind

The only positive thing is that the whole hotel complex is very clean and the grounds and gardens are really beautiful.

Are we going to come back there again? Never!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luisocampos, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from Gran Bahia Principe Club Premier.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Regarding your comments about the food in our resort ,we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires

Please allow us to inform you that we constantly train our Staff members through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department in order to ensure that we provide our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people.

Your point of view has quite surprised us since it is not normal that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the matters the proper attention and the corrective measures are going to be taken in order to avoid these situations from reoccurring.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth to mention, especially the service provided by entertainment staff.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any misperception you may have about us.

Regards,

Luis Ocampos Arbós
Club Premier Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The resort was very nice and clean, employees were very friendly. Disappointed in the beach and food service. All inclusive does not have the same meaning at this resort. We were not allowed to go to any restaurant that we wanted to. By the time we figured out the system, we were only allowed to dine at one of the other restaurants outside of our designated buffet place. This should of been explained to us during the check in process. Otherwise we enjoyed everything else that we experienced.

Room Tip: Premier is very far from the beach, closer to the front of the resort. They were very quiet rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Premier, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Mrs. Simone,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us as your last holiday destination.

I would also like to thank you for your comments, positive and negative ones as well, because the only way to improved and become better day by day is receiving your feedback, the most important and helpful tool for us.
I will make sure myself that all the departments involved and everybody at Club Premier knows about your comments in order to improved.

I really hope that there are many other visits yet to come and that we will have the opportunity to meet us.

Yours faithfully,

Luis A. Ocampos
Club Premier Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Premier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Premier

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Premier 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Premier Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Premier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Premier to your Saves list