We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach & Pools! Food & Service not so good.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Now Larimar Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Now Larimar Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Now Larimar Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach | Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #14 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Beach & Pools! Food & Service not so good.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you like a place that has nice beaches and pools and is clean then you will enjoy this resort. The Food and Service not so much. Very inconsistent food and service lacked in both the number of staff around as well as the personal touches. Everything seemed rehearsed and robotic like. The room was ok but had many small maintenance issues such as leaking bathroom ceiling with a huge stain that stood out to the shower door not opening and closing properly. (Room 2134) - We were they for a wedding so the atmosphere and people made our trip fantastic but the Resort was just ok. I would look to try a different Resort next time if returning based on the food and service not being great. When you book an inclusive vacation those things are important to me anyways.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident Manage... A, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Now Larimar Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us here on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy, that you enjoyed the beach and our pools and the cleanliness of our Resort.
However you also mentioned, that you had some issues in your Deluxe Tropical view room 2134, which we would like to apologize for. It would have been an option to change the room, supposed, that we had rooms available.

Likewise we would like to apologize for the lacking service you received and the fact that the food was not to your liking.

There is always room for improvement and feedback of our clients play a key role to show us, where we have to make an extra effort to serve our valued clients better. We deeply regret that in your particular case we were not able to satisfy and surpass your vacation expectations and therefore hope to be able to welcome you back in order to recover the trust into our company.

Best wishes from the Now Larimar Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,516
    1,577
    647
    374
    226
See reviews for
2033
2480
86
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,711)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stated for a week. All staff were eager to greet you and assist you. The Garden View is a distance away from the Main pools and restaurants. You can take their complimentary golf cart ride back and forth. The Garden View pool is great if you like a quieter environment. If you like the more exciting and party environment, take advantage of the other pools. Beach is kept clean. Security ensures your privacy from the outside vendors. All inclusive. Can't beat it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We returned from the Now Larimar January 27 after a weeks stay. We were part of a group of 35 traveling together and stayed in the Bavaro preferred club side of the resort. Three of our rooms had butler service which ended up feeling like our whole group had personal butlers. Davis, Efrain, and Marcileno the preferred club manger were outstanding. We never heard no and were waited on hand a foot. Services far exceeded our expectations. Leaving the resort felt like we were leaving family behind. Even the general manager of the hotel took the time on several occasions to make sure our needs were being taken care of. Some of the dinner services were a little slow but the food was excellent, and the staff were friendly. This is not gourmet but we don't require it and enjoyed the laid back atmosphere. Most restaurants do require men were long pants closed toe shoes and shirts with collars to keep everything a little but classy but still relaxed.Being on vacation and on island time a long dinner was far from anything worth complaining about. Bartenders at the preferred club pool produced almost any drink we desired with top shelf liquor and even let us experiment with our own creations. The grounds were kept immaculate. security was always present on the beach but never obtrusive. It was nice not to have to wear wrist bands.
Entertainment was always available somewhere and the nightly shows were worth seeing. The fire show and the Jeerk show and ones not to miss. The Italian restaurant and the Spice restaurant were two of our personal favorites. The grilled tuna was amazing! The restaurants accommodated gluten free and vegetarian diets without much difficulty at all although a language barrier made explaining gluten free difficult on one occasion. Can't wait to return. Staff greet guests with " welcome home" upon their arrival and we truly felt all of the comforts of home here.
Grisel the hotel group coordinator made arrangements for our group that allowed us to have an incredible vacation. For cigar smokers take a walk down the beach to Vivaldi cigars. They have a cigar lounge on the beach and are a private label that producers a great quality cigar at a great price. Don't buy cigars from theft local vendors. Most are fake and are poor quality.

Room Tip: 1470 has an incredible ocean/ pool view with a huge balcony. Request it if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident Manage... A, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Now Larimar Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to learn, that our main goal of exceeding your expectations was accomplished. The room 1470 a Preferred Club Ocean view room is indeed a very nice room and we are happy, that you enjoyed it.

Please contact our concierge, if you have any food allergy, they will prepare a letter for the restaurants which indicated which food you are able to eat and which not.

We would like to apologize, that you were not informed about this on time and as well about the slow dinner service you received.

Thank you again for visiting us and we cannot wait for our family members to come back home!

Now Larimar Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We just returned last night from an 8 day stay at Now Larimar. It was absolutely amazing and beautiful. Every one there was very nice. Chiquilin was our absolute favorite. We had kids with us and he entertained them every day. We loved the auctions on Monday Wednesday and Friday. Antonio our waiter on the beach provided excellent service to us. Eddie Murphy was very friendly and caring also. The food was great. We loved the guy that cooked the omlets at the carnival restaurant. House keeping was great Cameron was our house keeper..she was great. Now Larimar entertainment was above and beyond we LOVED all of the shows. Our kids enjoyed all of them. Karen was our favorite girl from the entertainment team. The others were kind of rude. Only complaint. It was the BEST vacation ever!! I would reccomend to anyone. We all shed a little tears when we said our good byes to Chuiqi he is an amazing guy who is great at what he does. Chiqui we love and miss you!! See you soon hopefully.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I recently stayed at the Now Larimar in Punta Cana. The resort itself was breathtaking and we had a wonderful time. Especially, the service was perfect. I have to thank the Entertainment team, especially Karen who was wonderful always smiling and talking to everyone, Chocolate Sulito, Chiquilin, JC. Cast way restaurant: Felix, Samuel, Franklin, Roselyyn, Daniel; Chef Anaserio Mateo. Also, I have to thank tamarindo maniger: Kelvin Santara and the manager Carlo. And the last but not the least, the battler, Felix. With their attitude and performance we will always remember this wonderful people from our vacations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

First off, let me say that when you travel to another country you need to remember you are in another country. We are from the United States and have been on cruises, vacationed in Cancun Riveria Maya, and also Punta Cana. I read many reviews before leaving, January 21, 2013, and I was scared by some of the things I read, but kept in mind that some people will make mountains out of mole hills, and some are just impossible to please. I am so glad that we went to this resort. We traveled with a group of 8 adults, all of different personalities and with different expectations. One person brushed his teeth with the water (which they tell you not to AND they even provide bottled water next to your sink daily), and that person was sick for a few hours one day, but was still able to enjoy himself after a little R and R and some immodium:) Now to the good stuff about NOW Larimar: We loved the food in the buffet, Spice, and especially Mercure! We did not have a bad meal, but of course there were some things we didn't like and instead of complaining, we got back up and picked out a different thing to eat! ahhhh the good life where you are not "stuck" with something you do not care for. We went Preferred Club and we had a Tropical view room, which overlooked some foilage and yes a different villa, but it was still very private allowing us to enjoy the outdoor hot tub and to have friends over on our patio without disturbing the pool area, etc. Our friends that didn't go in the preferred club had a nicer view than us, but less privacy so it is all what you want and what you make of it. If you are hell bent on having a misearable time you can no matter where you are. The Preferred Club pool and pool bar were our favorite areas! Norique and the girls who walked around with our drinks to FABULOUS care of us the whole time. Yes, we did tip for good service, and yes they were appreciative of it, and they showed their appreciation again and again. They entertained us, took the time to get to know their "American Friends" and hugs were had on the day we left! Truly, anywhere in the world you go tips for good and great service are a show of appreciation! Our rooms were cleaned daily and very well. I did not notice the musty smell others spoke of. We were in a room on the 2nd floor. Many of the employees speak great English (much better than my Spanish;) One thing that sticks out to me is there were people complaining about the language barrier, but I noticed NONE of them were speaking Spanish, the native language of the Country we were in! Modesto, took Excellent care of us in the buffet and went above and beyond our expectations. They carried many excellent alcoholic beverages unlike a lot of the other all-inclusive resorts we have been too! The Preferred Club lounges were wonderful and they are always asking how they can help in any area of this hotel not just the Preferred. The main pool is busy, active, and loud for the younger crowds and families, but the Preferred Club Pools are quiet, but plenty of drinks, chairs, etc. We loved the sports bar with the pool tables, Xbox, etc. and we even bowled (extra costs but not much) and had a blast!!!!! The Disco was beautiful, but we never made it there other than to check it out. The weddings that took place there nightly looked spectacular and the employees and resort seemed to take a great interest in helping them with their experience! The weather was gorgeous! Way better than OHIO! Check in and check out was easy and effortless with the assistance of the kind employees, and again their English was pretty darn good! The casino is exactly like all the others in Punta Cana, with maybe the exception of Hard Rock - smaller, but a great place for someone who likes to recreational gamble for some fun. They had 3 black jack tables, roulette, Texas Holdem after 10:30 nightly, and Cash and Carry Poker games after the Holdem games, Caribbean Poker, slots, and roulette. Perfect for a fun time, but not for any serious gamblers. The only issue we really had was it could be difficult to get drinks in the ala carte restaurants, but the no reservations policy was wonderful!! No reservations, no wrist bands, what a great great concept. So in closing, if you are looking for a great place to stay in another Country, and you understand that some things are going to be different than you expect, but want a place to relax where there is plenty to do, NOW is a wonderful vacation! We will definitely be back as soon as possible and we are counting down the days to see our friends at NOW Larmimar again! I never thought I could be pulled away from Riveria Maya Grand Sirenis, but I have to say I will probably never go anywhere else again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident Manage... A, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Now Larimar Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience here on Trip Advisor with us.

It is very important to get to know about the country you are travelling to and be aware of the “do and don’t”s, so you are able to enjoy your vacation throughout! We have also a Directory in every room with useful information.

As you say, everyone has different expectation and we are very happy, that we fulfilled your ones, so that you rated us “excellent”!

Thank you for mentioning us the area of improvement in the A la Carte Restaurants!

Modesto and Norique are sending you Hughes as well as the entire Team from the Now Larimar Punta Cana!

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Now Larimar in Punta Cana. The resort itself is beautiful. The beaches and pool areas are very nice. However, we became sick the second day we were there. We had to visit the Clinic on the resort, which is not included with the all inclusive package. After a $464 medical bill to stop vomiting and diarrhea, we returned back to the states after a 3 day stay instead of 7 days. What a horrible vacation. Glad we had the travel insurance. This was our third trip to the Dominican Republic and we never had a problem. Clearly this resort has issues with its food preparation. We only drank bottled water and didn't eat any fruits or vegetables. Buyer beware!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident Manage... A, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Now Larimar Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Now Larimar Punta Cana.

We are very concerned, that you could not enjoy your vacation due to being ill. We have sent you a private message in order to follow up on your vacation experience.

We are looking forward to hearing from you and remain with the best wishes from the Now Larimar Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Now Larimar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Larimar Punta Cana

Address: Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach | Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Larimar Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the breathtaking Now Larimar Punta Cana and enjoy a wristband-free, excitement-filled getaway. Far from life’s demands. Back to its simple pleasures. Where sophistication meets understated. And the kids have as much fun as the grown-ups. Located on over 700 yards of picturesque palm-studded white sand beach on the majestic turquoise Caribbean Sea in Playa Bávaro, Now Larimar offers all of the privileges of an Unlimited-Luxury® escape in an exquisite seaside setting. Savor every moment with deluxe accommodations, reservation-free gourmet restaurants, premium cocktails, pampering in our world-class Spa, endless daytime and nighttime activities and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Now Larimar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Now Larimar Hotel Punta Cana
Nh Hotels Punta Cana
Nh Hotel Punta Cana
Edenh Real Arena
Edenh Real Punta Cana
Edenh Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Larimar Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.