We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Now Larimar Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Now Larimar Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Now Larimar Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach | Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #13 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Marlboro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service and beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a very fun filled time at Now Larimar. We loved our beach server Luis Antonio. He was such a great and helpful man. Ysabel was so much fun with the Entertainment team. She got us involved in many activities. Ramone was a very caring server at the Castaway restaurant. The staff is very attentive overall. The beach activities are amazing. Rosa was a wonderful server at the pool area. The beds were comfortable. The only complaint is the food and drinks were very average. Also, if you are travelling with your family, the lack of privacy in the bathroom area is challenging. The restaurants want the men to wear slacks in the evening and my husband and group we were travelling with only brought one pair. Women can get away with capris or nice shorts. Overall lots of fun especially travelling in a group!!

Room Tip: Get two rooms if you have more then two people in your room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,565
    1,586
    652
    378
    228
See reviews for
2060
2503
87
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,746)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peru, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just got back yesterday 12/29 from a seven day stay at Now Larimar. Overall we were pleased with our stay, but did have a variety of nerve wracking experiences.

Hotel - Overall the hotel was very clean and very well kept. The language barrier was a problem quite a bit especially when asking for specifics. Even though there was a language barrier, the staff was wonderful. So nice and courteous. Several of them went out of their way to please us.

Rooms - The beds were nice but the pillows were very flat. I didn't sleep very well at all. The noise level was pretty bad at times. We could hear chairs scraping the floor above us and the toilet flushing next to us. We upgraded to the deluxe ocean view, but when we got there, all we could see was a little water over the trees. The bathroom was open concept, meaning there was no full wall separating the bathroom from the living area. If one of us wanted to take a shower, the other had to sit outside on the balcony (It was only my Mom and I). The tv was snowy, so there was no point of watching it. The maid service was very well. She cleaned very well and stocked our mini fridge daily.

Beach - The beach was horrible. The hotel is on the Atlantic Ocean and the water was very ruff and full of seaweed. Swimming was impossible. We were only at the beach one day and only for a couple of hours. That night I noticed that my legs were full of bites that were from sand flies. Several other guests I saw, had the same problem.

Pool - The pools were very nice with swim up bars in a couple different areas. We did however have a problem at the "Quiet Pool". One would think going to that pool means quiet with no kids, splashing, or toys. Boy were we wrong!! Every day the pool would fill up with kids splashing and carrying on with water guns that would hit more than each other. Not peaceful at all!!

Food/Drink - The food at the buffet wasn't anything to write home about, however, the a la cart restaurants were wonderful. We ate at the Japanese, Italian, French and Mexican. We ate at the buffet the first two nights and if we had known how good the other restaurants were, we wouldn't have eaten there at all. The drinks were decent. The had a different drink of the day for the Christmas week. My favorite drink out of all was the Coco Loco. They use house spirits, but that was ok with us as long as it was good. The wine selection wasn't the best though

Overall we had a good experience. We left the resort several times on excursions. If we returned to the Dominican Republic, it wouldn't be Punta Cana, we would go on down the the Caribbean to La Romana

Room Tip: Higher rooms may have a better view of the water. Stay in the preferred club if you want to actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you like noisy children and tattoos and thats just on the ladies you will like Now Larimar.

The plus side of Now are the staff and bars and restaurants. All the food and drinks we had during our stay were excelent including the service.

The downside we stayed in room 2255 and all of the rooms this side of the complex were in the shadow all day. Dont believe everything the reception staff tell you Samuel or Davis promised me wine in my room,never arrived.The room had not been cleaned and the shower was in bits on the floor.We never received the daily newspaper.The supposed quiet pool was anything but with noisy unsupervised kids screeming and shouting.

Unlimited Vacations Club dont bother its a time share con and will waste half a day.Check the internet there are over 400 complaints about them.

Best restaurant and pool is Secrets the golf buggy will take you there day or night.

Must mention Alejandu,Allfonso and Sajova for their wonderful service.

Would I go again "NO"

Room Tip: rooms on the left toward the beach get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

First of all, thank you to the amazing staff! We loved so many of you: Yancely, Cinthia, Karen, Isabel, Jorge, Leni, Modesto, Chocolate, JC, Dellanara, Carlos, Danieli, Salome, Ramona, Gabriella! Special shout out to Modesto... fantastic waiter in the International Cafe. Another big thank you to the Entertainment staff, we LOVED YOU ALL... and really enjoyed seeing you throughout the resort and shows. Lastly, Salome was our favorite waiter at the beach, always a smile and great service!

The resort was really wonderful, beautiful and relaxing. The activities, pools, fitness gym and beach areas were very inviting, clean and nicely serviced. The hotel room was nice, although I would have enjoyed a softer/plumper bed. LOVED the bars, nightly entertainment... and the food! All the restaurants were YUMMY and had nice ambiance. Lastly, Leni was the bomb... our favorite bartender (Love the Lemondrops)!!!

We have been to multiple all inclusives (in Punta Cana) and other resorts in Aruba, Grand Caymen, Cancun.... with all those comparisons, Now Larimar ranks right at the top. Thank you for a fun, relaxing, laughter filled vacation!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Now Larimar Dec.4- 11 2012 we had a very good time overall, we did find that the buffet was somewhat the same everyday compared to other resorts we have stayed at on Bavaro beach eg, Palladium, Princess, Majestic. The food was fine could always find something to eat.We did stay in the Preferred Section which turned out great for us as we were travelling with our daughter,son inlaw 14 yr. old grand son ,3yr.old grand daughter and 9 month old twin grand daughters so staying around the preferred pool area with the covered day beds were perfect for all of the grand kids to nap while we could still enjoy the sun, views, and pool bar. Mercedes & Johan took very good care of us,if they saw we were looking thirsty they would be right over.The Preferred room with the jacuzzi tub on the balcony was very nice to bath the little ones after finishing up around the pool. I feel the beach from Grand Palladium Resorts north to the Majestic resorts is the nicest more palm trees and cleaner water just my opinion. We would consider going back to Now Larimar if the price was right as we did have a good time.

Room Tip: We felt the Preferred Section was worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a week at The Now Larimar in Punta Cana! Every team member of the Preferred Club made us feel like old friends and treated us royally. Special mentions go to Marcellino, Samuel, Yulancey, Ramona and Gabriella for making this trip fantastic. We wish everyone all the best and want to say thank you one more time. Also, to the best waiter in the Preferred Club section of the buffet, Modesto, many thanks to you as well.

Our travel agent, Nina from Out of Here Travel, recommended we try The Now Larimar. When we did the initial research prior to booking, we were a little hesitant due to some negative reviews. However, as we have come to find out, some people will never be happy. Many of the positive comments were justified; however, we experienced not one negative experience during our eight day stay. Just because it’s an all-inclusive resort, please remember that the employees work long hours and sacrifice much to make your vacation special. A few dollars here and there for some tips go a long way for them, and you will certainly be surprised how much appreciation you will receive.

Room Tip: Oceanfront Preferred Club Master Suites are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went there as a couple in April this year and as soon as our tired bodies arrived at the hotel we were subjected to a hard sell on their NEW RESORT, luckily I declined everything but I noticed as soon as i set foot in the reception area I was again hasseled to "upgrade".
We noticed lots of weary couples arriving to this same shameful treatment.
Otherwise a fine resort but this left a bad taste in ones mouth.
SHAME ON YOU.

Room Tip: Excellent resort, DON'T UPGRADE, to the lonely private area.....sad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Now Larimar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Larimar Punta Cana

Address: Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach | Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Larimar Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the breathtaking Now Larimar Punta Cana and enjoy a wristband-free, excitement-filled getaway. Far from life’s demands. Back to its simple pleasures. Where sophistication meets understated. And the kids have as much fun as the grown-ups. Located on over 700 yards of picturesque palm-studded white sand beach on the majestic turquoise Caribbean Sea in Playa Bávaro, Now Larimar offers all of the privileges of an Unlimited-Luxury® escape in an exquisite seaside setting. Savor every moment with deluxe accommodations, reservation-free gourmet restaurants, premium cocktails, pampering in our world-class Spa, endless daytime and nighttime activities and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Now Larimar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Now Larimar Hotel Punta Cana
Nh Hotels Punta Cana
Nh Hotel Punta Cana
Edenh Real Arena
Edenh Real Punta Cana
Edenh Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Larimar Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.