We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“puntacanadians” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Now Larimar Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Now Larimar Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Now Larimar Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach | Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #14 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“puntacanadians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just return'd fr a 27 day holiday at the Now Larimar Resort. Rec'd a wonderful welcome back fr Marcelino the manger of The Preferred Club and His wonderful staff.. Marcelino could not have done more to make are stay the best. We enjoyed several meals at the Ala Carte Restaurants, The Spice (Asian Restaurant) has a wonderful hostess name Ericka who always greets you with a big smile as she takes you to your table to enjoy some great asian food of your choice fr their menue or you can sit around the area where you can watch the food being cooked.. Calvine can be seen at several of the Ala Carte restauants welcoming many of the guests with a big smile and making sure you are enjoying your stay at this resort. We found all the Ala Carte restaurants served your food to your liking all you have to do is ask (if you want something a little different). The Buffet Carnival International Cafe was excellent ,had a very good variety of foods at any one time,nice and hot, excellent service fr waiters Mr Smith,David and Manuel. Nice restaurant at the beach The Barefood grill served very nice lunch's ,had excellent service fr Jonathin who is very friendly and fast .Bartenders were very nice and gave us excellent service aspecialy Robert at the pool bar.. Bartender Jesus fr the preferred club pool gave us excellent service and was a lot of fun.Efren is a very nice person and nice to talk to. Elizabeth fr the Lobby Bar was extra nice when she served us. Guest Services workers Derluis and his co workers were all very nice when you need to speak with them and all would help you in any way if needed.. We will be returning for our 14th time in January/13. Deloris and Frank
Oct.11-Nov7/12

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,522
    1,578
    650
    374
    226
See reviews for
2037
2481
86
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,715)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

In the past 4 years I have stayed at the Iberostar, Ocean Blue, and Riu resorts in Punta Cana. The NOW Larimar has the best variety and quality of food and the room was not damp or humid like other resorts.

Tupac and Akon of the entertainment staff were fantastic and Daniel, Samuel and Wilton at the Carnival Restaurant were awesome servers. Overall, no complaints except for better liquor selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I am not an all inclusive type guy. Won this trip at a charity auction, but have been coming to the Dominican Republic for 25 years, Rarely to Punta Cana. So with a tremendous amount of trepidation I arrived with my girlfriend on November 12th with low expectations. I had a blast! But it was not the facility, it was the Staff!!!! Led by Ysabel and the Entertainment Staff! The shows were spectacular! They took the extra time to ensure that every guest had an excellent experience! I am a very finicky and picky eater (which is why I hate all-inclusive). I entrusted my unique culinary traits to two waiters, Hipolito (papi) and Juan Antonio! They went above and beyond to ensure My girlfriend and I had the best meals served in the Dominican Republic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Economy, Indiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was our first trip to the Dominican. It is a beautiful place. We stayed at the Now Larimar and were in the garden view. DON'T UPGRADE! The pool at the garden view was never busy, the bar staff was great, the food service was even better. We really enjoyed some of the staff members, Manuel, Pedro, Omar and Orlando were some of our favorites. The facilities were clean. A few bumps occured such as no American liquor, lost electricity a couple times and my husband didn't like to have to dress up to go out to dinner at some of the restaurants. Make sure you bring your own liquor if you like something other than rum, men should bring pants, closed shoes and colar shirt for some of the restaurants. The BUGGY RIDE is a must. Had a great time doing it and would do it again. If you stay at the garden view you have a some what private resort but can use the other facilities.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor. It was very quiet. Another couple we were with was on the 1st floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were a group of 4 ladies on a wives outing while the husbands were hunting. We decided on the Now Larimar Punta Cana for the price, we were very pleasantly surprised at what we received for what we paid. The food was great, the rooms were spacious and clean, the grounds very well kept, the pool (there were several but we only utilized one) was very clean, the beach was great and well maintained. BUT the service was the BEST. We were somewhat worried upon our arrival when we were checked into the garden view rooms at the back end of the resort as we had read reviews about these rooms being somewhat secluded from the main resort area but we decided to give it a chance. It was the best decision ever made, we were told there was a shuttle service to the main areas 24 hrs a day and it was true, we never waited for more than two minutes and the fact was it was only a five minute walk to the main lobby if you felt like walking. The restaurant at this area of the resort was called Windows, we decided on dinner there our first night (buffet style) the food was great and the service amazing. We were treated like royalty, our server Manuel Torres adopted us and entertained us, he was absolutely wonderful. Day after day he would find us (at the swim up pool or wherever) and take care of anything we needed. We spent time at the beach, dined in all of the restaurants, took in some entertainment and enjoyed ever minute of it. We were served at the swim up bar (Manettes Bar) by Demetrio who catered to our every request, which were not always easy to humour) with a smile, jokes and awesome service. We also had the pleasure of fantastic service from Giesla and Justina at the pool area. We were totally impressed with our service including tea delivered by Dominio at the pool at 6am in the morning. Room service is available 24hrs a day and is fast. Patrick ( one of the managers at Windows) was always checking on our service , Wandy, Sandy, Genius, Francisco and that is just to name a few of the wonderful staff that took amazing care of us at our favourite spot to visit at the resort, Windows Restaurant). It is not that we ate all of our meals there but would visit after dinner and be served drinks and catered to as well as endless entertainment from the awesome team of servers. Well the swim up bar was equally fantastic and never crowded. We felt that being put in the garden view rooms was the best thing that could have happened. Our little paradise was at the slightly secluded area of the resort and that was a bonus for us.

Room Tip: The Garden View rooms were quieter, newer rooms on the resort and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I wanted to write a special thank you to a number of staff members that stood out even beyond the excellence of everyone on your staff. Our experience with every employee of Now Larimar was EXCELENTE and a few people stood out even beyond that level.

Thank you to Junior, Mercedes and Johan for keeping a watchful eye on our needs at both the preferred club pool and the preferred club beach area. They took great care of us! Thanks to David and Scalryn for the wonderful service each morning at the International Cafe. Thank you to Fabio from the Entertainment Team for making sure we were enjoying our time to the fullest. And thanks to Elvis from the Security team for personally taking matters into his own hands when an unruly group/family was disrupting everyone else's time at one of the preferred club pools.

Honorable mentions to Ramon (who welcomed us to the property, handled our luggage and showed us to our room), Mixlenis and Ambiori (at the American restaurant), Felix Martinez (at the main/lobby bar). Thanks to these and the rest of the kind and professional staff at NOW Larimar, our experience was EXCELENTE and we look forward to going back next year!

Room Tip: Preferred Club Ocean View rooms are the best - there aren't many that directly face the ocean so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll County, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Sorry, but we were not wowed by this resort. My daughter and I went last week to celebrate her 30th birthday. We upgraded to Preferred Club but didn't really see much value. The room was OK, but nothing I haven't seen at many mid-range chain hotels. We did not get any maid service until after we complained on our second day. No robes or pool towels were in our room as advertised. They appeared after we questioned it, but then discovered you only get pool towels in your room once upon check in. (One pool towel for all week, really??)

I am not a picky eater but the food was pretty bad - most hot items were not served hot, buffet food was scary and unappetizing. My "fettucine with wild mushrooms" had canned button mushrooms. Ordered room service pasta with chicken and peas and they delivered pasta with ham and peppers. The French restaurant was a good meal and good burgers at the Castaway Grill.

We did get good service on my daughter's birthday - the room was decorated, the butler found us on the beach and brought her a special drink and they had a nice cake for us for dessert at dinner. The rest of the week service was spotty and inconsistent.

One bright spot was the spa - it is very pretty and the spa manager was very accomodating. We got a spa package and she allowed us to mix and match services. Nicest day we had!

The beach is fairly well maintained, although when we went out one morning we saw our dirty dishes still out there from the day before. The pool areas are well kept and the Entertainment staff is high energy. They do their best to be sure that the visitors have a good time.

Overall, our biggest disappointments were the food quality and lack of a sense that a Preferred Club room was a luxury experience. We expected an upscale experience and it definitely was not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident Manage... A, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Now Larimar Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Trip Advisor following you recent stay with us in Punta Cana. While we are obviously disappointed with your comments regarding the lacking service you received, we genuinely appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service timings are up to the usual Now standards.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Now Larimar Punta Cana and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to show you we can do better.

Sincerely,

Now Larimar Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Now Larimar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Larimar Punta Cana

Address: Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach | Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Larimar Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the breathtaking Now Larimar Punta Cana and enjoy a wristband-free, excitement-filled getaway. Far from life’s demands. Back to its simple pleasures. Where sophistication meets understated. And the kids have as much fun as the grown-ups. Located on over 700 yards of picturesque palm-studded white sand beach on the majestic turquoise Caribbean Sea in Playa Bávaro, Now Larimar offers all of the privileges of an Unlimited-Luxury® escape in an exquisite seaside setting. Savor every moment with deluxe accommodations, reservation-free gourmet restaurants, premium cocktails, pampering in our world-class Spa, endless daytime and nighttime activities and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Now Larimar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Now Larimar Hotel Punta Cana
Nh Hotels Punta Cana
Nh Hotel Punta Cana
Edenh Real Arena
Edenh Real Punta Cana
Edenh Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Larimar Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.