We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Now Larimar Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Now Larimar Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Now Larimar Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach | Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #14 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Carroll County, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Sorry, but we were not wowed by this resort. My daughter and I went last week to celebrate her 30th birthday. We upgraded to Preferred Club but didn't really see much value. The room was OK, but nothing I haven't seen at many mid-range chain hotels. We did not get any maid service until after we complained on our second day. No robes or pool towels were in our room as advertised. They appeared after we questioned it, but then discovered you only get pool towels in your room once upon check in. (One pool towel for all week, really??)

I am not a picky eater but the food was pretty bad - most hot items were not served hot, buffet food was scary and unappetizing. My "fettucine with wild mushrooms" had canned button mushrooms. Ordered room service pasta with chicken and peas and they delivered pasta with ham and peppers. The French restaurant was a good meal and good burgers at the Castaway Grill.

We did get good service on my daughter's birthday - the room was decorated, the butler found us on the beach and brought her a special drink and they had a nice cake for us for dessert at dinner. The rest of the week service was spotty and inconsistent.

One bright spot was the spa - it is very pretty and the spa manager was very accomodating. We got a spa package and she allowed us to mix and match services. Nicest day we had!

The beach is fairly well maintained, although when we went out one morning we saw our dirty dishes still out there from the day before. The pool areas are well kept and the Entertainment staff is high energy. They do their best to be sure that the visitors have a good time.

Overall, our biggest disappointments were the food quality and lack of a sense that a Preferred Club room was a luxury experience. We expected an upscale experience and it definitely was not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident Manage... A, Manager at Now Larimar Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Now Larimar Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Trip Advisor following you recent stay with us in Punta Cana. While we are obviously disappointed with your comments regarding the lacking service you received, we genuinely appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service timings are up to the usual Now standards.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Now Larimar Punta Cana and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to show you we can do better.

Sincerely,

Now Larimar Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,574
    1,588
    652
    378
    228
See reviews for
2067
2507
87
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,751)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had the opportunity to visit this resort for a close friends wedding. Overall we has a good experience; the hotel was nice and clean and the food for the most part was good. The pool bar service was a little slow and they kept running out of champagne. The restaurant selection was good, and I liked that you didn't have to make a reservation. You could also go as many times as you wanted, which was a nice feature. The house wine was terrible but we were able to order a la carte for an additional charge, however they didn't have half the wines on the menu so by the time we found a wine that was in stock we were almost finished our meals. We enjoyed sipping on the small bottle of Rum that was in our room when we got there, but when we tried to order another one through room service we were denied:( We also payed extra to be part of a preferred club...but I'm not sure exactly what the difference was because no one checked who was preferred and who wasn't so the extra amenities were enjoyed by all. The staff were pleasant and helpful and there were very little disturbances from beach peddlers. The roof top nightclub was decent, but lacking in bathrooms, and again the service was a little slow. When you did manage to get a drink they were often too strong and undrinkable, this no doubt contributed to the slowness, as people had to reorder constantly. At the end of the day we did enjoy our stay, but there is room for improvement. If we wanted to return to Punta Cana we would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The perfect place for a family fun trip. We all met there and spent a wonderful vacation. Good and fast service, very nice and helpful people from the front desk to the cleaning lady. Food was very good and with a large variety. If you ask for a mimosa at breakfast, you get it inmediately. I loved the coffee stand where one can get from spresso to capuccino made in front of you. The beach was beautiful. I will definitely go back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I returned just over 3 weeks ago from one of the best trips I've ever been on. I was the tour director for a group of 270+ people. I have been with this group for 13 years and this was by far the best trip yet.

From the moment we arrived, the staff was at our service to take care of any need we had. Marcelino, Beatriz, and Victor provided service that I have never experienced before. They made sure everything was perfect for my group.

From the seamless group check-in, to the inviting welcome cocktail party, amazing dance party at Eclipse, out of this world pool-side dinner and our grand finale, the dance party on the beach, everything was perfect. Oh, and who can forget how the management team played in our beach volleyball tournament.

The entertainment staff kept things exciting. From joining our parties and dancing with the group to making sure no one was ever bored during the day poolside.

The rooms were pristine, the meals were incredible, the drinks strong and plentiful, and the service out of this world.

I highly recommend NOW Larimar to any group, couple, or family.

Thanks again for the best trip ever and for making my job a tiny bit easier!

Room Tip: All the rooms were great, but the preferred club rooms are definitely the best value. Extra amenitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned from a 7 day/6 night trip to Punta Cana - had a great time! The weather luckily was was very nice, only one day of rain. The food is great - restaurants are good, selection is great, a la carte restaurants were great because doesn't require reservations and is on a first come first serve basis, room service was convenient!

The service though was what impressed me the most - Jose Osvaldo in Carnival International Buffet is a smiling face that I won't forget. He greeted our party every day for lunch or dinner and by the end of the trip, he was almost part of the family!

Overall, great experience and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pool side is probably best bang for your buck - ocean view doesn't really give you much of a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Six couples from New Jersey went to Now Larimar on November 4, 2012. It could not have come at a better time after Hurricane Sandy hit us all. It was total devastation around us and we didn't even know if we would be able to go. Fortunately for all of us we were on our way and couldn't have made a better decision. Now Larimar has the nicest staff I think I've ever encountered. Modesto in the buffet dining room was fabulous. So personable and genuine. Junior, our bartender at the pool bar was fantastic. Smiling all the time, dancing for us and always there with our drinks. These guys work very long hours and always are there to greet you with a smile. The beach was clean and beautiful and the pool was just gorgeous. The only thing I can say negative is that they need to offer more then Presidente beer. But Junior helped us with that and made us Banana Monkeys which were to die for!!!!!! All 12 of us had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend this resort. It's all inclusive with a buffet everyday and 4 restaurants for your dining pleasure. The casino was small but we had a ball in there everynight. I can see myself absolutely coming back to Now Larimar in the future. Thanks to all the staff for letting us forget about the devastation we left in New Jersey if only for 5 days. I think we all needed that break.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tropical Garden room. It was very quiet and a very nice room with a huge tub, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Fourth trip to Punta Cana-2 to Dreams Palm Beach and 2 to Now Larimar. Just returned from a 10 day trip booked thru West Jet Vacations. Enjoyed the Preferred club upgrades: free wifi, breakfast at castaway seaside grill, preferred beach area, special lounge. Nice variety of restaurants, we like French (adult only) and Italian, but have tried them all. Special thanks to "my son" Arimende for excellent service and Jerameel at Castaway.
Travelled with friends who stayed at the Upper part of the resort. Rooms nice, quiter pool area. A bit far from beach for us, but they enjoyed.
This resort has something for everyone. Plenty to do if you like shows, activities, small casino, disco,kids club and more.
Would definitely go back. Excellente!!

Room Tip: Nicer views of water on 3 and 4 floor looking toward pool in 1st and 2nd buildings from beach. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach
Secrets Royal Beach
#10 of 100 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 3,566 reviews
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel
Luxury, Free Br...
Show More
3.9 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#23 of 100 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 5,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Pool...
Show More
16.0 mi away
Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana
#11 of 100 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 8,166 reviews
Beach, Romantic...
Show More
5.1 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
#17 of 100 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 12,056 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
13.6 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana
#46 of 100 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 5,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Larimar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Larimar Punta Cana

Address: Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach | Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Larimar Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the breathtaking Now Larimar Punta Cana and enjoy a wristband-free, excitement-filled getaway. Far from life’s demands. Back to its simple pleasures. Where sophistication meets understated. And the kids have as much fun as the grown-ups. Located on over 700 yards of picturesque palm-studded white sand beach on the majestic turquoise Caribbean Sea in Playa Bávaro, Now Larimar offers all of the privileges of an Unlimited-Luxury® escape in an exquisite seaside setting. Savor every moment with deluxe accommodations, reservation-free gourmet restaurants, premium cocktails, pampering in our world-class Spa, endless daytime and nighttime activities and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Now Larimar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Now Larimar Hotel Punta Cana
Nh Hotels Punta Cana
Nh Hotel Punta Cana
Edenh Real Arena
Edenh Real Punta Cana
Edenh Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Larimar Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.