We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great vacation (Jan.18-Feb.1/2012)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Now Larimar Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Now Larimar Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Now Larimar Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach | Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $350 Air Credit!
Ranked #21 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“another great vacation (Jan.18-Feb.1/2012)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Just returned from another wonderful 2 week holiday at the Now Larimar Resort. Had a lot of fabulous meals at their Ala Carte Restaurants (Asian, French, Steak and Seafood). The Buffet Restaurant has such a large selection to choose from,even better then our previous vacations here. David and Miguel made our meals in the Preferred Club special by their excelent service. The buffet has made their food hotter now as well. We are always treated so well by Marcelino who is Manager of the Preferred Club along with his helpers Vincent,Patricia,Samuel etc If you have a problem just talk to these people and they will do their very best to make your stay the very best they can. If you like to go out on excursions etc book with Carlos Garcia of Sea Pro as he will have all the answers for you as he speaks several different languages and is very nice.(at the beach) All of the actiivity people are so nice and like to get everyone involved with their volley ball games,baseball, exercise and dance lessons (only if you show an intrest) otherwise they leave you alone to just watch.. We enjoy the services of the preferred club pools bartender Junior and buttler Efrain were very nice. We will be back again in April for another 2 week vacation as we know it will be good. Several time guests Deloris and Frank

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,885 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,189
    1,488
    617
    367
    224
See reviews for
1890
2329
82
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We just got back from our trip and for the most part it was wonderful! We did the six star apple deal and didn't know which hotel we would be getting till we arrived at the airport. We were a group of six and we ended up at the Now- which is a great hotel but you MUST know that they may have your room at there new section which requires you to take a shuttle and is very far from the beach and all the restaurants The only reason we knew this is because our shuttle had pulled up at the front of the main lobby 1st then turned aound. We wasted 2 hours trying to get a new room. The manager initally didn't give us an option and tried to convince us how great it was over there, however all we seen were flight attendants and pilots in that lobby. Then he tried to make us upgrade and pay more money!!! Finally we got him to move us at no charge. During all of this our apple rep was no were to be found and when we found him, he told us we were lucky got moved. They need to sale that side as a 4 star. Other than that the hotel was nice, workers were very friendly! The entertainment team were friendly- great job- fabio star, happy face, franklin, smiely!!! Food was pretty good , housekeeping at times was inconsistent-we didnt get enought towels or they forgot to give us towels! The italian and french restaurant were our least favorite and chinese and the blue water grill were awesome! Buffet was pretty average -typical resort buffet.

Room Tip: Make sure u know which section of the hotel you are staying at
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The hotel Now was everything we expected. Food was great, room was superb. Staff was exceptional especially at the pool area. Baby Apple and Miseal took very good care of us. Highly recommend this resort!

Entertainment was fantastic. Fabio Star great entertainer. Modesto took very good care of us in the restaurant!! Come to this resort you will have a FABULOUS Time!

Room Tip: Garden rooms were very nice and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Had a great time in Larimar. Awesome staff, good food, lots of alcohol. Room service always kept room clean, beatiful scenery, and best of all the entertainment team! (look for Fabio)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Perhaps we were just unlucky but we had lots of problems with this resort. Started off when we checked in - I have never been to a hotel where they want you to buy extras, VIP extras or the FREE VIP book worth $250 once you have been over to their sister hotel next door the Secrets , at the Reception Desk!!! It was like being back to Tenerife where you have all the Timeshare reps. lurking about waiting to pounce on you. This is just a scam to get you over there and then they will try and sign you up for holidays to take within their group - a sort of timeshire deal; Heard lots of people moaning about this. Also they will stand at the doors to the Carnival Restaurant in the mornings, again to get you over to the Secrets - I overheard one of the telling a guest that they were on a commission and this is probably why they are so pushy. Didnt like this at all.

This hotel does not provide a Bureau de Change, you have to take the bus to the Shopping Center, this is free) for this. Also I did not realise that you do not need to take Dom. Pesos but US Dollars - so anyone coming to this hotel that do not use $ please remember to take $'s with you.

We were in a Tropical Room - which is short for at the back of the building next to the service road - even the management say the aspect is not good. But if you want a better view than you can pay an extra $30 per person per night for poolside or $50 per person per night for seaview. Our first room was unacceptable, the smell was awful, musty damp smell. The aircon did not work, the safe was broken the fridge was empty, pillows were missing as was the dressing gowns. It took a lot of phone calls to get a room change and then we went to 2228, this was marginally better, the room still smelled, I think this could be the standing water in the whirlpool bath. As this room was situated on the first floor , the view was the same, back up of the Secrets Hotel, but we had everything else - except the dressing gowns, and I really could not be bothered to complain about these.

The rooms themselves were spacious and cleaned really well. We only had one bad experience when we returned to find no clean towels. I rang down at 5.10pm to ask for some replacements and after 6 phone calls they appeared nearly 2 hours later!!

If I am honest I probably did not like the open bathroom concept, although my husband thought lying in the batch watching TV was great.

The food was varied but cold to luke warm most nights - hence both myself and hubby took ill on the same night - 18th January, he was better after a couple of days but I am only just getting better now and it is the 3rd February. I should have listened to the comments on Trip Advisor re. the food not being hot. Did not do any of the themed restaurants because I was ill so I cannot comment on these. I am sure that this hotel would not pass the Health & Safety recommended temp. for keeping food warm - so beware you have been warned.

On a more positive note, I thought the entertainment was good, the resort is beautiful and kept spotlessly clean. The beach is to die for, except for the sand flies, I got bite to death when we went to the beach to watch a movie.

I wont be returning to this hotel, we never got an apology from the Management for the problems when we first arrived. Mind you some people moved 2/3 times before they were satisfied and some of these were in the PREFERRED. So it is obvioulsy a widespread problem that really needs dealing with.

Room Tip: If you want a better view then you will have to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are clean and serve the purpose. prior to vacationing there you should build your muscles in your arms so you can open the patio door, where the jacuzzi/bathtub, is located with NO privacy. Out of the 6 places to eat, If you enjoy your food hot, the best place to eat would be the French restaurant. The food at the Carnival buffet, is good with the use of the microwave to warm it. As far as serving premium, liquor we didn't see or when asked for a call drink they didn't have it. Good luck getting a lounge chair at the pool, didn't matter what time you decided to sit by the pool the chairs had towels reserving them. Found out our last day, the workers put towels on them so you think someone has them reserved, and then they get you one with the hope you will tip. This is not a 4 star resort.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Just spent 7 wonderful days at Now Larimar. We came with a group of 10. When we checked in, we were told our rooms were in the newer building, which has a shuttle every 5 minutes. We were a little put off by this at first but soon realized we were very happy there. It was much less crowded, we got great service from all the staff and there were always enough lounge chairs by the pool. Yes we were further from the beach, but we were treated so special by everyone there. It was no big deal to take the shuttle to the main hotel or we just walked. Food was good. Even for picky eaters, there is always something you can find. Hilario and his staff were very accomodating here and did everything they could to make our stay memorable. We espcially loved the Japanese restaurant and the barefoot grill by the beach. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Now Larimar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Larimar Punta Cana

Also Known As:
Now Larimar Hotel Punta Cana
Now Larimar Hotel
Nh Hotels Punta Cana
Nh Hotel Punta Cana
Edenh Real Arena
Edenh Real
Edenh Real Punta Cana
Edenh Punta Cana
Address: Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach | Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Larimar Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the breathtaking Now Larimar Punta Cana and enjoy a wristband-free, excitement-filled getaway. Far from life’s demands. Back to its simple pleasures. Where sophistication meets understated. And the kids have as much fun as the grown-ups. Located on over 700 yards of picturesque palm-studded white sand beach on the majestic turquoise Caribbean Sea in Playa Bávaro, Now Larimar offers all of the privileges of an Unlimited-Luxury® escape in an exquisite seaside setting. Savor every moment with deluxe accommodations, reservation-free gourmet restaurants, premium cocktails, pampering in our world-class Spa, endless daytime and nighttime activities and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Now Larimar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Larimar Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.