We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best trip ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Capote - Cueva Fun Fun Tours

Rancho Capote - Cueva Fun Fun Tours
Bicicentro, Avenida Barcelo. Near Plaza San Juan, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
1 809 299 0457
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #22 of 118 activities in Punta Cana
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This adventure goes beyond the limits of what we know, taking us back to the Stone Age. There, your dreams and reality will be combined to lead you down to Fun-Fun Cave. Climb down, fully equipped, to one of the largest Caves in the world and discover the beauty of darkness, the cave´s colored tunnels, its gigantic corridors, its cave painting art and the enchanted trickling sounds produced by its underground rivers.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best trip ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Sad to see this attraction on the 50th place between all attractions in Dominican. This is definitely should be in top10. Was on this trip back in 2009, and have not experienced anything like that since that trip. The stuff is great, a day full of adrenaline and excitement. Hope to go again one day. Definitely MUST DO!

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margabarcelob, Gerente at Rancho Capote - Cueva Fun Fun Tours, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hi! We are very happy to see that you repeat the experience. Fun Fun Cave staff want to thank you for your comments. If you come to Dominican Republic again, don't forget to come to visit us again :) Thank you and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    5
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I were just there last week and we had an amazing time. The horse back riding, the cave and the hike were really amazing. I did other excursions but this one blew all the other ones out of the water. I felt that this was worth every single cent. The guides were also quite friendly and outgoing. The guides were able to communicate with my husband and other tourists in Russian and German and with me in spanish. Very impressive. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a memorable experience. My only regret is that we didn't get the video.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margabarcelob, Gerente at Rancho Capote - Cueva Fun Fun Tours, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hi! thank you so much for your comments. When did you made the tour? I can see if we still have the video so we can send it to you. Hope to see you again in Fun Fun Cave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Indiana Jones in one day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Fantastic trip! Our rep (First choice) didnt offer this as trip due to insurance policy. I read about it before coming to DR for holiday and me and my friend really wanted to try this one. Our rep recommended to us a local guy working at the hotel who was able to organise us this trip. We booked it $90 per person and set of very early in the morning. After 3 hours of drive in AC mini bus we finaly arrived at the ranch. We were small group, only 8 of us, which turned out to be brilliant, plus you are more often filmed on a camera wich you can then buy DVD for $40 (well worth it). Lovely breakfast to start with, then get the gear on. Once everyone was ready we went on horses for about half an hour. Then it was 45 min trek through the rain forrest with out guide telling us about he plants, trees, and animals. Then it was time to head to the cave - on rope! Brilliant. In caves we spent about 1 - 1/2 hr, swimming in a water which was by the way was very warm, to ride back on the horses (10 min). Then we had a delicious lunch all home made and once in the bus I felt aslepp within minutes! Best trip on my holiday in Punta Cana. One warning: you need to be injury free and a bit fit!

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margabarcelob, Gerente at Rancho Capote - Cueva Fun Fun Tours, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hi! First of all, I'm sorry to answer you so late. We are very happy to see that you ask for our tour at the hotel. How did you know about us? Thanks for your comments and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“one of a kind adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This trip is amazing- but not for the luxury-loving delicate-flower traveler. Be prepared to: drive a couple of hrs., suit up in overalls, boots, helmet, ride a horse for 1/2 hr. through woods, fight major mosquitoes, hike 45 min., then rappel down a narrow opening into a primordial cave, where you'll walk, swim, slip, slide, eventually trekking 60 m. underground. At one point everyone turns off their helmet lights and- total darkness hits you. Wow. guides are great, light breakfast before leaving, great lunch after- everything is fresh & delicious. This is an unusual, once in a lifetime experience. My advice- use the bano before you don overalls, wear a handkerchief under your helmet to absorb sweat & use lots of sunscreen & repellent. Embrace the adventure!!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margabarcelob, Gerente at Rancho Capote - Cueva Fun Fun Tours, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hi! First of all, we are very sorry to answer you so late, but anyway, we apreciate your message so much. Thank you for your comments and your photo. It seems that you really enjoyed the tour, it's a real adventure tour and you described it very well. Fun Fun Cave's staff wants to thank you for your positives comments. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“A great experience, would recommend to everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

This excursion was the highlight of our trip in Punta Cana. It's not for young kids or the elderly, as the trek is a bit strenuous with the uneven terrain and some steep inclines. The guides were fantastic and very nice. I went with my parents (one had knee surgery six months ago, and the other wasn't used to the trek), and one of the guides looked out for them the entire time. The cave was very cool and different than most island activities, and the horseback riding was fun. All in all, it was a very worthwhile, adventurous trip that attracts a lot of the more active tourists.

The only reason I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 stars is because it took us 5 hours to get there from Punta Cana, instead of the 2.5 hours it was supposed to take. It was our driver's first day on the job, and he had to stop and ask for directions every 10 minutes. There was also no tour guide on the bus, as there are on most other excursions. The trip back took 2.5 hours.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margabarcelob, Gerente at Rancho Capote - Cueva Fun Fun Tours, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hi! We are very sorry for the inconveniences that you had to arrive to Fun Fun Cave. Fortunately, we do not have this problem anymore, it was just that day, but we are very sorry for it. Anyway, thank you so much for your comments, we are very glad to read that our guides are doing their job very well, not only explaining you the tour, but helping you if you need it. Fun Fun Cave's staff remain with kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Capote - Cueva Fun Fun Tours also viewed

 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Rancho Capote - Cueva Fun Fun Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Capote - Cueva Fun Fun Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rancho Capote - Cueva Fun Fun Tours to your Saves list