We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Perfect if they could have kept the rain away !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zoetry Agua Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Zoetry Agua Punta Cana to your Saves list
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Uvero Alto, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Santiago, Chile
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything Perfect if they could have kept the rain away !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived at the hotel in torrential rain but were escorted to our room dodging the puddles with umbrellas. We had a beach front junior suite which was very tasteful and had a stunning sea view. Although we had to spend much time watching the wind and rain( which was bad luck as it is very unusual) it was more than made up for by the hotel staff and services. There are 3 restaurants all excellent and 24 hour room service. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are friendly courteous and always showing enthusiasm. There is also an excellent spa and a complimentary 20 minute massage is offered as well as vouchers albeit massage prices are quite expensive. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and the fact it is small just over 50 rooms mean that you have all the intimacy and privacy and don't get swallowed up and lost in a huge complex where you are a number rather than a guest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Is really pleasurable know that you enjoyed your stay in this magnificent paradise, despite the weather...

Our professional Staff will be happy to welcome and serve you again in a future vacation!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    176
    83
    37
    37
See reviews for
122
908
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Zoetry Punta Cana after staying Nov 10-17, 2012. We were in a swim out suite (which was great!!!!). We stayed at Zoetry Paraiso in Riveria Maya for our honeymoon and were thrilled to come back to the Zoetry brand!

Things we loved
- Our favorite staff was Fernando at breakfast. He was so sweet and helpful. We also loved Juan at Indigo, Juan Carlo with room service, David at Amaya and Olena and Flor at Amaya. The staff was one of the highlights of our trip!
- Loved our swim out room! It was great!
-Food was great! So fresh!
- Room service was very fast!
- Loved the quiet of the resort. It was so relaxing.
- Awesome selection of TV channels!
- Bvlgari bath products are amazing!

Things for improvement
- The A/C in our room was very warm. It seemed almost in the night it was shut off. I am not sure if this is something you do to all the rooms, but it did not get very cool in the room.
- Because there was a wedding on Friday and we were there Sat-Sat we missed the beach barbecue
- We were saddened that the ocean was very brown- the staff told me that a local river was overflowed. You could not get in the ocean any day that we were there. It was a red flag everyday and there was tons of debris, and the ocean was very discolored. We were expecting beautiful waters, but we did not see this
- Food was great but a little more variety with breakfast would be good.
- Perhaps notify the guests that 2 of the 3 restaurants are outside- we packed warmer dinner clothes so it was very warm, and also it made for many mosquito bites.
- I did not mind the fumigation, but several guests were taken aback by this, especially with open air restaurants. I have to assume this is non toxic spray, but nonetheless it is a bad impression for guests.
- Gym was great, but if you were the first ones in there for the day the air conditioning was not on. Its on a sensor so it is very hot if you are the first guest of the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlainBERTHELOT, Guest Relations Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Ms. Ashley,

Thank you so much for your review, for taking time to write about our strengths and weaknesses.

We would like to say that we are working to improve it, and we apologize for all these inconvenients.

In the meantime, we invite you to come back for your next anniversary, to experience the best vacation ever.

Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was my first all inclusive experience. Based on what I had heard about other all inclusive properties I expected there to be hidden charges for all sorts of things. Not here... 24 hour room service, all 3 restaurants, pretty much any beverages... they even included a free 20 minute massage. It was great to not have to mentally track my spending.

There is a $10 USD pp entrance tax at the airport and a taxi out to Zoetry is pricey so bring cash - fyi the hotel charges 10% for cash advances charged to your room.

We thought the service all around was superb... everyone was always friendly and seemed generally eager to please. However, they really should add another beach bartender... its just too much space for one person to cover so we frequently waited a while in between drinks. Everyone seemed to be constantly working hard though. The rooms and grounds were immaculate.

Overall I thought it was a beautiful and uniquely designed property.... and I could not imagine a more relaxing vacation. Would definitely recommend Zoetry, with two caveats...
1) Food - I thought it was overall good... some amazing some so so... but by the end of day 6 I was getting sick of the menus. If you are lucky enough to be on a 2 week vacation you might want to split your stay between two resorts. I think Zoetry offers some sort of exchange program where you can dine at nearby resorts... we admittedly were just too lazy to look into it. It would be nice if they added daily specials to help introduce some variety.
2) Price - seems to fluctuate a lot. We got a package deal on Expedia and paid roughly $350 a night. At that price with the ALL inclusive it felt like a STEAL. However, in my browsing I have seen the same place quoted at over $1,000 a night. Of course everyone's idea of expensive is different... but the day I pay that much for a hotel room its gonna be an overwater bungalow in Tahiti. As beautiful as Zoetry was, and as great as the service was... I didn't think it was $1,000 a night great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Zoetry Staff,

Thank you for having choice Zoetry Agua for your stay at Dominican Republic, and for take part of your time to share this review with other, and thanks again for recommend our property.

We would like to welcoming you back, very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently returned from a relaxing 3 night stay Nov 1- 4 2012. We stayed in the Suite Carib room #24 with our private plunge pool. The grounds ar well kept and have a real sense of nature. The beach was nice and not crowded. There was some work on the upper pathways going on during our stay, but it was not a problem. The restaurants were great. The angus beef and the lobster at Amaya was amazing. Lunch at Indigo was always fresh with homemade gucamole,salsa and warm chips. The gluten free design your own pizza option was a nice touch. The Cocco cafe was a great place for coffee drinks throughout the day.
I was dissappointed on the maid service. Our room was not cleaned until 3pm or later each day. And the mini bar was not refilled. I contacted the front desk and Juan Carlo came with in minutes with a tray full of water, wine snacks etc... We also enjoyed the free international calling. There were alot of bugs, but we used off spray at night and the two of us never got a bite. Some people were covered with them. We really enjoyed the layed back feel of the resort. We also enjoyed the complimentary massage which ended up being a 40 minute couples massage. We would return for a future visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Zoetry Agua Punta Cana for your vacations!

We apologize for the inconvenience you got here, and we will serious take care about this doesn't happen again to any guest in our property.

Is good to know you enjoyed anyway the relaxation is provided in this Santuary of peace!

We look forward to welcome back soon, and show our improvements.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Thank you for making our Anniversary Trip so special. Team David made us feel like Kings and Queens for 7 lovely days and Jamie made the activities fun. You were "Over the Top" in meeting all of our expectations. It was a trip of a life time that we will never forget. A perfect place to relax and enjoy each others company.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front Suite was unbelievable. We so enjoyed the deck in the evenings and the ocean breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for take part of your time to share this review with others, and for talking about how grateful was your stay here.

We look forward to see you in your 41st anniversary.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you're just venturing out in life and have never experienced a true 4-5 star resort you may find the Zoetry quite charming however only if you:

enjoy no a/c, inconsistent phone service in your room, calling to have the room cleaned (at a property that touts maid service 3-4 times a day) late in the day and then waiting for someone to show up, never having your mini bar refreshed until the last day of your stay, roof leaks in the dressing room, roof leaks in the closet (we're talking so much water we empited the same trash can 5 different times during one rain shower), rivers of rain water running under deck doors and entry door and through the ceiling lighting shorting out the entire 'villa', no fresh towels - we're talking taking dirty towels and leaving NO towels behind, no napkins at meals, no coffee replaced in the room, upper walkways and stairs in dangerous disrepair (actually touched a handrail and the entire 5 foot section gave way- Bridge over River Kwai anyone???) , and very poor and inconsistent food (we both lost 5 lbs. this trip) then you may find the Zoetry is your cup of tea.

The infinity pool didn't 'infinity' and was 'under repair' although we never saw any repairs being made during our 6 day stay. While the pool was alledegly open 8A,-8PM many mornings after 9:30 we had to ask for cushions for the chairs and hunt down someone for pool towels...service on the beach and at the pool was spotty, inconsistent and the drinks never tasted quite 'right'...

And if there is a wedding while you're there forget getting anyone to assist you with anything...the ability to plan, and pro-actively plan for special events while still taking care of other paying guests is still in the 'what?' stages at Zoetry.

I could go on, and on and on and on and on.....

For us the final and most damning insult was what was billed as a Friday 'Beach Party' for the guests.... Tables are set with china and flatware, chafers out with food in them, bar set up, fire burning and the entire area was SPRAYED WITH MALETHYON during the routine daily treatment at the property. As we sat on our beachfront villa deck surveying the number of guests dining off the the tainted plates, and eating the sprayed food we placed bets on who would succumb first to the effects of this poison....we ordered room service from the same menu that NEVER changed...menus during our entire stay where the same day in and day out with no variety whatsoever.

Our experience was a disaster. Not only did it put us off for anything Zoetry may own it ruined our entire perception of the Dominican Republic...

The staff was friendly yet it was obvious there is little to NO leadership from management, and that the owners either don't wish to or are unable to re-invest in maintaining the property to safe and sanitary conditions.

While the GM did offer a 'free private dining experience or spa treatment' for our 'inconvenience, at the stage it was made, it felt more like a slap in the face than a sincere desire to make our stay enjoyable.

There are NUMEROUS more enjoyable resorts in Punta Cana so we encourage you to explore them and avoid the Zoetry at all costs....I wonder about those who gave this property 4-5 stars....

If you go, may the force be with you becuase you'll need it just to get through your stay....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlainBERTHELOT, Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guests,

We respect each of our appreciated patron's unique opinions.

We apologize for the issues you encountered and advise you that we take all feedback as a favor, in order to accordingly improve our product/services.

Good luck !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This resort is perfect for those wishing to leave life's realities behind and enjoy being pampered, catered too and simply to enjoy your spouse's company. The personal service by the staff is beyond superb! In particular the service provided by Juan-Pina, Flor, Fernando and David warrants recognition. My wife and I celebrated our 25th Anniversry while there and were fortunate to be joined by a wonderful couple we met from Atlanta. That is what this resort offers; a serene peaceful environment and the opportunities to make new friendships. Yes there are limited entertainment venus but if you just want to enjoy life itself, then this is the place. As for the bugs mentioned in prevoius reviews just know that bugs exist everywhere. We didn't encounter any serious issues with that, As for the spa, Olga and Ana were superb and the pricing falls in line with other like resorts. In the end, it is what you make of your visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for take time to share your experience here with others, and for having choice our property for your anniversary

We appreciate your review and for mentioning our magnificent staff.

We look forward to welcoming you soon for your next anniversary!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zoetry Agua Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Agua Punta Cana

Address: Playas de Uvero Alto, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zoetry Agua Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Limited to just 53 exclusive suites, their hardwood floors, cane-thatched roofs and natural stone accents harmonize with the lush, secluded oceanfront setting. Although a mere 24 miles from the Punta Cana International Airport, the spirit here is far, far removed from the hectic tempo of everyday living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Zoetry Agua Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Agua Hotel Punta Cana
Agua Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.