We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they really mean ALL inclusive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoetry Agua Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Zoetry Agua Punta Cana to your Saves list
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Uvero Alto, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“they really mean ALL inclusive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was my first all inclusive experience. Based on what I had heard about other all inclusive properties I expected there to be hidden charges for all sorts of things. Not here... 24 hour room service, all 3 restaurants, pretty much any beverages... they even included a free 20 minute massage. It was great to not have to mentally track my spending.

There is a $10 USD pp entrance tax at the airport and a taxi out to Zoetry is pricey so bring cash - fyi the hotel charges 10% for cash advances charged to your room.

We thought the service all around was superb... everyone was always friendly and seemed generally eager to please. However, they really should add another beach bartender... its just too much space for one person to cover so we frequently waited a while in between drinks. Everyone seemed to be constantly working hard though. The rooms and grounds were immaculate.

Overall I thought it was a beautiful and uniquely designed property.... and I could not imagine a more relaxing vacation. Would definitely recommend Zoetry, with two caveats...
1) Food - I thought it was overall good... some amazing some so so... but by the end of day 6 I was getting sick of the menus. If you are lucky enough to be on a 2 week vacation you might want to split your stay between two resorts. I think Zoetry offers some sort of exchange program where you can dine at nearby resorts... we admittedly were just too lazy to look into it. It would be nice if they added daily specials to help introduce some variety.
2) Price - seems to fluctuate a lot. We got a package deal on Expedia and paid roughly $350 a night. At that price with the ALL inclusive it felt like a STEAL. However, in my browsing I have seen the same place quoted at over $1,000 a night. Of course everyone's idea of expensive is different... but the day I pay that much for a hotel room its gonna be an overwater bungalow in Tahiti. As beautiful as Zoetry was, and as great as the service was... I didn't think it was $1,000 a night great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Zoetry Staff,

Thank you for having choice Zoetry Agua for your stay at Dominican Republic, and for take part of your time to share this review with other, and thanks again for recommend our property.

We would like to welcoming you back, very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    261
    116
    44
    42
See reviews for
170
1,290
33
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently returned from a relaxing 3 night stay Nov 1- 4 2012. We stayed in the Suite Carib room #24 with our private plunge pool. The grounds ar well kept and have a real sense of nature. The beach was nice and not crowded. There was some work on the upper pathways going on during our stay, but it was not a problem. The restaurants were great. The angus beef and the lobster at Amaya was amazing. Lunch at Indigo was always fresh with homemade gucamole,salsa and warm chips. The gluten free design your own pizza option was a nice touch. The Cocco cafe was a great place for coffee drinks throughout the day.
I was dissappointed on the maid service. Our room was not cleaned until 3pm or later each day. And the mini bar was not refilled. I contacted the front desk and Juan Carlo came with in minutes with a tray full of water, wine snacks etc... We also enjoyed the free international calling. There were alot of bugs, but we used off spray at night and the two of us never got a bite. Some people were covered with them. We really enjoyed the layed back feel of the resort. We also enjoyed the complimentary massage which ended up being a 40 minute couples massage. We would return for a future visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Zoetry Agua Punta Cana for your vacations!

We apologize for the inconvenience you got here, and we will serious take care about this doesn't happen again to any guest in our property.

Is good to know you enjoyed anyway the relaxation is provided in this Santuary of peace!

We look forward to welcome back soon, and show our improvements.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Thank you for making our Anniversary Trip so special. Team David made us feel like Kings and Queens for 7 lovely days and Jamie made the activities fun. You were "Over the Top" in meeting all of our expectations. It was a trip of a life time that we will never forget. A perfect place to relax and enjoy each others company.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front Suite was unbelievable. We so enjoyed the deck in the evenings and the ocean breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for take part of your time to share this review with others, and for talking about how grateful was your stay here.

We look forward to see you in your 41st anniversary.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you're just venturing out in life and have never experienced a true 4-5 star resort you may find the Zoetry quite charming however only if you:

enjoy no a/c, inconsistent phone service in your room, calling to have the room cleaned (at a property that touts maid service 3-4 times a day) late in the day and then waiting for someone to show up, never having your mini bar refreshed until the last day of your stay, roof leaks in the dressing room, roof leaks in the closet (we're talking so much water we empited the same trash can 5 different times during one rain shower), rivers of rain water running under deck doors and entry door and through the ceiling lighting shorting out the entire 'villa', no fresh towels - we're talking taking dirty towels and leaving NO towels behind, no napkins at meals, no coffee replaced in the room, upper walkways and stairs in dangerous disrepair (actually touched a handrail and the entire 5 foot section gave way- Bridge over River Kwai anyone???) , and very poor and inconsistent food (we both lost 5 lbs. this trip) then you may find the Zoetry is your cup of tea.

The infinity pool didn't 'infinity' and was 'under repair' although we never saw any repairs being made during our 6 day stay. While the pool was alledegly open 8A,-8PM many mornings after 9:30 we had to ask for cushions for the chairs and hunt down someone for pool towels...service on the beach and at the pool was spotty, inconsistent and the drinks never tasted quite 'right'...

And if there is a wedding while you're there forget getting anyone to assist you with anything...the ability to plan, and pro-actively plan for special events while still taking care of other paying guests is still in the 'what?' stages at Zoetry.

I could go on, and on and on and on and on.....

For us the final and most damning insult was what was billed as a Friday 'Beach Party' for the guests.... Tables are set with china and flatware, chafers out with food in them, bar set up, fire burning and the entire area was SPRAYED WITH MALETHYON during the routine daily treatment at the property. As we sat on our beachfront villa deck surveying the number of guests dining off the the tainted plates, and eating the sprayed food we placed bets on who would succumb first to the effects of this poison....we ordered room service from the same menu that NEVER changed...menus during our entire stay where the same day in and day out with no variety whatsoever.

Our experience was a disaster. Not only did it put us off for anything Zoetry may own it ruined our entire perception of the Dominican Republic...

The staff was friendly yet it was obvious there is little to NO leadership from management, and that the owners either don't wish to or are unable to re-invest in maintaining the property to safe and sanitary conditions.

While the GM did offer a 'free private dining experience or spa treatment' for our 'inconvenience, at the stage it was made, it felt more like a slap in the face than a sincere desire to make our stay enjoyable.

There are NUMEROUS more enjoyable resorts in Punta Cana so we encourage you to explore them and avoid the Zoetry at all costs....I wonder about those who gave this property 4-5 stars....

If you go, may the force be with you becuase you'll need it just to get through your stay....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlainBERTHELOT, Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guests,

We respect each of our appreciated patron's unique opinions.

We apologize for the issues you encountered and advise you that we take all feedback as a favor, in order to accordingly improve our product/services.

Good luck !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This resort is perfect for those wishing to leave life's realities behind and enjoy being pampered, catered too and simply to enjoy your spouse's company. The personal service by the staff is beyond superb! In particular the service provided by Juan-Pina, Flor, Fernando and David warrants recognition. My wife and I celebrated our 25th Anniversry while there and were fortunate to be joined by a wonderful couple we met from Atlanta. That is what this resort offers; a serene peaceful environment and the opportunities to make new friendships. Yes there are limited entertainment venus but if you just want to enjoy life itself, then this is the place. As for the bugs mentioned in prevoius reviews just know that bugs exist everywhere. We didn't encounter any serious issues with that, As for the spa, Olga and Ana were superb and the pricing falls in line with other like resorts. In the end, it is what you make of your visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for take time to share your experience here with others, and for having choice our property for your anniversary

We appreciate your review and for mentioning our magnificent staff.

We look forward to welcoming you soon for your next anniversary!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

As we arrived, we were greeted with a cold cloth and the comment "Welcome Home". This became the obvious theme for the remainder of the holiday. For starters, the rooms are absolutely beautiful and cleaned 3 times/ day as they claim. The property is flawless and very well maintained due to staff that may possibly go unnoticed by guests such as the men raking the seaweed every morning from the beach area. The staff here are the kindest, warmest people you could ever encounter on a vacation. I will list them later. The food is all specially prepared for you as you like and if not on the menu, just ask, because we were always accommodated when possible. Now for the true strength of this resort.....their employees. Lets start with David, the first person we met, this guy would bring a smile to your face every morning, afternoon and evening you saw him. His english is fantastic and he was always trying to improve on it. If you book this resort you will know him immediately by his warmth. Then there was our pre dinner and post dinner favourite, Joaquin the Lobby Bartender. This gentleman was always laughing and having a great time with fellow staff and all the vacationers. He had that very approachable personality that made him comfortable to be around. Joaquin is a great student of the english language, always asking so nothing was lost in the conversation. Now our friend from every breakfast and dinner Fernando, I would love to keep in touch with this gentleman. He is a relentless worker whom never took a breather while serving tables. It was very difficult to say goodbye to this guy. While in the restaurant, we need to mention Juan Pina And Flor. Juan is a sincere person who truly wanted to get to know about you and your family and seemed to help establish a great working environment for all his co-workers. Flor was our favourite lunch time worker whom not only brought us our food and drink, but served as our Spanish Teacher. She is such a joy to be around and you always felt like you became a little bit more proficient in Spanish after each meal and her in English. Lizandro, is a very versatile employee, you would see him at the bar mixing or in the restaurant helping serve tables. This guy was continually working to improve his command of the English language. The coined saying in this resort is Over the Top or as we were taught in Spanish, Por encima de todo (excuse the spelling). This saying we attempted to replace for Lizandro by teaching him "great" or "awesome", we think he should stick with great. To end this review it would be a dis-service to leave out Alain. He is the Hotel Manager and was always looking out for the guests and asking if they had any concerns. We have been to dozens of resorts in the caribbean over the years and this is a first. The only time you meet with a manager is when you have complaints. We felt we had to meet him on arrival due to his personalized response to reviews which is a rarity in todays world. The resort itself is stunning, but that alone would not set it apart from other world class resorts. the difference maker here is the staff. It would be a true shame to see the nucleus of this staff not stay together for years to come. I hope this review helps others book a vacation here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing this wondrous hotel for your Over the Top vacations!

We appreciate your review, and we also want to thank you for all these great comments about employees, services, beach, food, and everything else you experienced here!

Thanks for recommend our property,

Our Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just returned from Zoetry , reading the reviews we thought we had chosen well but it turned out to be a mistake . My husband had more than 250 mosquito bites and several others were suffering too. The hotel did start to fog the grounds but ti was too late . The food was a disappointment unless you like lobster and steak for every meal. The breakfast room had many flies in it and there was a general hit and miss affair with what we were offered to eat and drink.We were given a complimentry $250 meal but frankly , we only ate a tiny bit as it was prettty poor . Maybe the other resorts are better ? Expensive for such a basic holiday . Mainly American clients who have signed up to a sort of time share deal .

Room Tip: Take a ground floor room as the top floor ones were complaining of bugs and one couple had a rat in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlainBERTHELOT, Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guests:

We thank you for your comments and are truly sorry about the inconveniences you were subject to.

FYI - again, BTW -, we fumigate daily year-round; we just reinforced it when you were here...So, aside from the fact that insects are more attracted to certain types of people than to others i.e. nature, the rest of the said inconveniences really surprise us at this point in time…especially, as when our honorable patrons timely and sincerely converse with us during their stay - and even afterwards -, we are usually pretty much able to ultimately solve their issues, etc., in a mutually-satisfying manner...Please rest assured that our Menus & daily specials ensure a wide variety of food and that on top of it, we can even gladly prepare fish & chips !

Regarding price/quality, we respect your opinion, yet know our value is high, trust us...

Anyway…Thanks again, best regards and good luck !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.9 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach
Secrets Royal Beach
#8 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 5,053 reviews
28.8 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana
#14 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 2,668 reviews
26.5 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
14.6 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
1.0 mi away
Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana
#12 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 9,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Agua Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Agua Punta Cana

Address: Playas de Uvero Alto, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zoetry Agua Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Limited to just 53 exclusive suites, their hardwood floors, cane-thatched roofs and natural stone accents harmonize with the lush, secluded oceanfront setting. Although a mere 24 miles from the Punta Cana International Airport, the spirit here is far, far removed from the hectic tempo of everyday living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Zoetry Agua Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Agua Hotel Punta Cana
Agua Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.