We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th Wedding Anniversary Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zoetry Agua Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Zoetry Agua Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Uvero Alto, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #7 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Olathe, KS USA
1 review
“40th Wedding Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Thank you for making our Anniversary Trip so special. Team David made us feel like Kings and Queens for 7 lovely days and Jamie made the activities fun. You were "Over the Top" in meeting all of our expectations. It was a trip of a life time that we will never forget. A perfect place to relax and enjoy each others company.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front Suite was unbelievable. We so enjoyed the deck in the evenings and the ocean breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for take part of your time to share this review with others, and for talking about how grateful was your stay here.

We look forward to see you in your 41st anniversary.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    873
    167
    83
    36
    37
See reviews for
122
865
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you're just venturing out in life and have never experienced a true 4-5 star resort you may find the Zoetry quite charming however only if you:

enjoy no a/c, inconsistent phone service in your room, calling to have the room cleaned (at a property that touts maid service 3-4 times a day) late in the day and then waiting for someone to show up, never having your mini bar refreshed until the last day of your stay, roof leaks in the dressing room, roof leaks in the closet (we're talking so much water we empited the same trash can 5 different times during one rain shower), rivers of rain water running under deck doors and entry door and through the ceiling lighting shorting out the entire 'villa', no fresh towels - we're talking taking dirty towels and leaving NO towels behind, no napkins at meals, no coffee replaced in the room, upper walkways and stairs in dangerous disrepair (actually touched a handrail and the entire 5 foot section gave way- Bridge over River Kwai anyone???) , and very poor and inconsistent food (we both lost 5 lbs. this trip) then you may find the Zoetry is your cup of tea.

The infinity pool didn't 'infinity' and was 'under repair' although we never saw any repairs being made during our 6 day stay. While the pool was alledegly open 8A,-8PM many mornings after 9:30 we had to ask for cushions for the chairs and hunt down someone for pool towels...service on the beach and at the pool was spotty, inconsistent and the drinks never tasted quite 'right'...

And if there is a wedding while you're there forget getting anyone to assist you with anything...the ability to plan, and pro-actively plan for special events while still taking care of other paying guests is still in the 'what?' stages at Zoetry.

I could go on, and on and on and on and on.....

For us the final and most damning insult was what was billed as a Friday 'Beach Party' for the guests.... Tables are set with china and flatware, chafers out with food in them, bar set up, fire burning and the entire area was SPRAYED WITH MALETHYON during the routine daily treatment at the property. As we sat on our beachfront villa deck surveying the number of guests dining off the the tainted plates, and eating the sprayed food we placed bets on who would succumb first to the effects of this poison....we ordered room service from the same menu that NEVER changed...menus during our entire stay where the same day in and day out with no variety whatsoever.

Our experience was a disaster. Not only did it put us off for anything Zoetry may own it ruined our entire perception of the Dominican Republic...

The staff was friendly yet it was obvious there is little to NO leadership from management, and that the owners either don't wish to or are unable to re-invest in maintaining the property to safe and sanitary conditions.

While the GM did offer a 'free private dining experience or spa treatment' for our 'inconvenience, at the stage it was made, it felt more like a slap in the face than a sincere desire to make our stay enjoyable.

There are NUMEROUS more enjoyable resorts in Punta Cana so we encourage you to explore them and avoid the Zoetry at all costs....I wonder about those who gave this property 4-5 stars....

If you go, may the force be with you becuase you'll need it just to get through your stay....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlainBERTHELOT, Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guests,

We respect each of our appreciated patron's unique opinions.

We apologize for the issues you encountered and advise you that we take all feedback as a favor, in order to accordingly improve our product/services.

Good luck !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This resort is perfect for those wishing to leave life's realities behind and enjoy being pampered, catered too and simply to enjoy your spouse's company. The personal service by the staff is beyond superb! In particular the service provided by Juan-Pina, Flor, Fernando and David warrants recognition. My wife and I celebrated our 25th Anniversry while there and were fortunate to be joined by a wonderful couple we met from Atlanta. That is what this resort offers; a serene peaceful environment and the opportunities to make new friendships. Yes there are limited entertainment venus but if you just want to enjoy life itself, then this is the place. As for the bugs mentioned in prevoius reviews just know that bugs exist everywhere. We didn't encounter any serious issues with that, As for the spa, Olga and Ana were superb and the pricing falls in line with other like resorts. In the end, it is what you make of your visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for take time to share your experience here with others, and for having choice our property for your anniversary

We appreciate your review and for mentioning our magnificent staff.

We look forward to welcoming you soon for your next anniversary!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

As we arrived, we were greeted with a cold cloth and the comment "Welcome Home". This became the obvious theme for the remainder of the holiday. For starters, the rooms are absolutely beautiful and cleaned 3 times/ day as they claim. The property is flawless and very well maintained due to staff that may possibly go unnoticed by guests such as the men raking the seaweed every morning from the beach area. The staff here are the kindest, warmest people you could ever encounter on a vacation. I will list them later. The food is all specially prepared for you as you like and if not on the menu, just ask, because we were always accommodated when possible. Now for the true strength of this resort.....their employees. Lets start with David, the first person we met, this guy would bring a smile to your face every morning, afternoon and evening you saw him. His english is fantastic and he was always trying to improve on it. If you book this resort you will know him immediately by his warmth. Then there was our pre dinner and post dinner favourite, Joaquin the Lobby Bartender. This gentleman was always laughing and having a great time with fellow staff and all the vacationers. He had that very approachable personality that made him comfortable to be around. Joaquin is a great student of the english language, always asking so nothing was lost in the conversation. Now our friend from every breakfast and dinner Fernando, I would love to keep in touch with this gentleman. He is a relentless worker whom never took a breather while serving tables. It was very difficult to say goodbye to this guy. While in the restaurant, we need to mention Juan Pina And Flor. Juan is a sincere person who truly wanted to get to know about you and your family and seemed to help establish a great working environment for all his co-workers. Flor was our favourite lunch time worker whom not only brought us our food and drink, but served as our Spanish Teacher. She is such a joy to be around and you always felt like you became a little bit more proficient in Spanish after each meal and her in English. Lizandro, is a very versatile employee, you would see him at the bar mixing or in the restaurant helping serve tables. This guy was continually working to improve his command of the English language. The coined saying in this resort is Over the Top or as we were taught in Spanish, Por encima de todo (excuse the spelling). This saying we attempted to replace for Lizandro by teaching him "great" or "awesome", we think he should stick with great. To end this review it would be a dis-service to leave out Alain. He is the Hotel Manager and was always looking out for the guests and asking if they had any concerns. We have been to dozens of resorts in the caribbean over the years and this is a first. The only time you meet with a manager is when you have complaints. We felt we had to meet him on arrival due to his personalized response to reviews which is a rarity in todays world. The resort itself is stunning, but that alone would not set it apart from other world class resorts. the difference maker here is the staff. It would be a true shame to see the nucleus of this staff not stay together for years to come. I hope this review helps others book a vacation here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing this wondrous hotel for your Over the Top vacations!

We appreciate your review, and we also want to thank you for all these great comments about employees, services, beach, food, and everything else you experienced here!

Thanks for recommend our property,

Our Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnborough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just returned from Zoetry , reading the reviews we thought we had chosen well but it turned out to be a mistake . My husband had more than 250 mosquito bites and several others were suffering too. The hotel did start to fog the grounds but ti was too late . The food was a disappointment unless you like lobster and steak for every meal. The breakfast room had many flies in it and there was a general hit and miss affair with what we were offered to eat and drink.We were given a complimentry $250 meal but frankly , we only ate a tiny bit as it was prettty poor . Maybe the other resorts are better ? Expensive for such a basic holiday . Mainly American clients who have signed up to a sort of time share deal .

Room Tip: Take a ground floor room as the top floor ones were complaining of bugs and one couple had a rat in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlainBERTHELOT, Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guests:

We thank you for your comments and are truly sorry about the inconveniences you were subject to.

FYI - again, BTW -, we fumigate daily year-round; we just reinforced it when you were here...So, aside from the fact that insects are more attracted to certain types of people than to others i.e. nature, the rest of the said inconveniences really surprise us at this point in time…especially, as when our honorable patrons timely and sincerely converse with us during their stay - and even afterwards -, we are usually pretty much able to ultimately solve their issues, etc., in a mutually-satisfying manner...Please rest assured that our Menus & daily specials ensure a wide variety of food and that on top of it, we can even gladly prepare fish & chips !

Regarding price/quality, we respect your opinion, yet know our value is high, trust us...

Anyway…Thanks again, best regards and good luck !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We came here in October 2012 for a quick getaway. I wished we had stayed longer. We truly felt at times we were the only couple there. Only downside was alot of construction building a wooden walkway around the 2nd level of the hotel. Very loud. Spa was completely overpriced but the pools and water treatments were free and what a nice treat! 2 thumbs up overall :)

Room Tip: away from construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for share your comment with others.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we apologize for the inconvenience with the construction, and the Spa prices.

We look forward to welcome you back and show you our improvements after the walkway renovations.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Zoetry in February 2012 and had a lovely experience. We had a room on the first floor adjacent to a pool. The room was lovely and we enjoyed the patio area. We found the staff throughout the resort to be friendly and accommodating. We had one or two minor language mishaps but the staff were quick to address the errors. Aside from that the property was well kept and attentive to our needs.

I would recommend this location if you just want to get away and relax. It's not a spot where you can easily explore as the entire area is fenced in. You are able to take long walks along the beach which was quite nice.

We participated in several of their "event" type dinners and enjoyed all of them. Overall the food was good but as with any all inclusive by the end of the week the menu starts to repeat itself. Don't get me wrong the food was delicious and the presentations were lovely.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: While you might have a better view from the second floor I would caution that the walk way might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for this review, and for choosing Zoetry agua Punta Cana for your vacations.

We feel so glad knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us, and all the activities, including the dinners, restaurants and services.

We look forward to see you again very soon!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zoetry Agua Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Agua Punta Cana

Address: Playas de Uvero Alto, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zoetry Agua Punta Cana 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Limited to just 53 exclusive suites, their hardwood floors, cane-thatched roofs and natural stone accents harmonize with the lush, secluded oceanfront setting. Although a mere 24 miles from the Punta Cana International Airport, the spirit here is far, far removed from the hectic tempo of everyday living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Zoetry Agua Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Agua Hotel Punta Cana
Agua Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.