We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for small budget trip!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Club at Grand Paradise Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Club at Grand Paradise Bavaro to your Saves list
The Club at Grand Paradise Bavaro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Arena Gorda | Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for small budget trip!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We came to Grand Paradise Bavaro as a group of 7. The beach and the sea was probably one of the best in Punta Cana. The food was okay, we mainly ate rice, pizza, omelettes, and fries. The pool was is fairly good but not top notch. Rooms were clean.
We really liked the location since it was close to Hard Rock and we could go to the Oro club at there.

My friend got extremely drunk one night, and doctor of the hotel helped us brilliantly. She didn't even had a hangover.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    69
    41
    25
    30
See reviews for
59
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piestany, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

In this hotel we spent New Year's Eve 2009. It was a lovely holiday. New Year's Eve on a beautiful beach under palm trees with pompous fireworks and champagne streams :-) Rooms were clean and spacious (but we recommend rooms of the Club - new redesigned rooms) on the beach while further-safe train goes there. But all I neriešilaže is also because of the beach walk to the beach and back is beautiful magical path surrounded by beautiful nature :-) I do Club Hotel is beautiful. Bar which is outside looks exotic-it's a big ship. Surely there is more beautiful than the beach section. Food was excellent :-) Everyone there his. All inclusive program is great there. The staff is polite and helpful. On the long beach you can walk endlessly long walks and can be clarified in large waves in rough but beautifully clean and warm sea. Punta Cana and this hotel is in the district where the Caribbean Sea meets the Atlantic Ocean. The water should be 28-29 degrees. It was amazingly hot. We had almost all trips. It was an awesome experience! I would like to go back there again!
I highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal Cove, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My second time visiting this resort, service has definitely gone downhill in the past three years. Food was delicious, Sunwing rep, Louise, was a great help. The highlight of the trip was the time spent in the sport's bar with bartender Simone. We spent hours each day talking to him and learning the way of life of the Dominican people. If i ever return, i hope he is still working there, he made my trip an unforgettable one.

Room Tip: Avoid any room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Jerome, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place is ffering excellent food, the beach is just awesome. The place itself is great but there is no pool bar at the club. You have to go to the Grand paradise section. Animation is great but nothing special. When they say "casino" we talk about a few slot machine.. not more than 10.... Would go back but not for the price they ask. I think it is exagerated.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Club section from Feb. 29th to March 7th and had a good time except for a few hiccups.. Check in was quick even though we didn't get our room for a few more hours but that was ok as we went exploring and then had a drink and lunch at the buffet and then returned and our room was ready. So you know, check out is at 1pm and check is at 3pm.

The resort complex is huge so we found it hard to see everything or find everything that we wanted and sometimes found places or activities by chance while exploring.

The club section is about a 10 minute walk from the beach which was ok as it was a good daily morning walk. Coming back at the end of the day from the beach we would take the tram unless it just left then we would just walk as we would be back to our room before it showed up again. There were 2 trams that came by about every 10 minutes or less during the day and only 1 during the overnights.
The room was fine and the maid did a good job keeping us stocked up with drinks in the mini fridge and towels in the bathroom and made cute towel art or art from our pjs that were on the bed. It was the first time that we had a second floor room and i must say i liked it as you could see a lot of activity below. We were in building 6 which had 86 rooms in it and was actually a pretty quiet building.
The only bars in this section was the Manglar bar which you could hang out on the patio and enjoy a drink and chat and the pool bar which i didn't see too many people at whenever i walked by.
The buffet was about a 2-3 minute walk from our building and was ok and had a variety of foods daily . Some items you wondered what they were so we stuck to what we knew and were ok and didn't go hungry. Enjoyed the omelett/egg station every morning but took about 5-10 minutes before it was our turn depending on how many were in the line up.

You have access to all 3 sections of the resort (Club, Premier and Beach) which all have their own pool and activities throughout the day at each section but i found that most people could be seen at the beach section near the pool or beach bar.

i found the bar staff friendly in all sections and didn't wait too long for our drinks whether you tipped them or not. Lots of choices but found it funny that some days they would run out of beer or rum which made me giggle when i heard that so just ordered something else.

Entertainment staff go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay. Yes, the Club section crew speak mostly in French but the other sections speak, English, Spanish and many other languages. If you are not in the mood to participate in the games or activities when they ask just say 'no thanks' and they move on. We didn't participate but enjoyed watching some of the things that they did.
Night time shows start at 9:45pm. Some were entertaining and some not so.

The beach and ocean is beautiful and that's where we spent all of our day time. Most days we were there by 9:00am so didn't have trouble finding a lounger but if were any later, sometimes we had to search a bit or ask to find some but it all worked out.

The weather was great except for a few showers during the day that came in and left just as quick.

There are vendors that roam up and down the beach trying to sell you items or excursions but not one of them bothered us which was good. If you want to walk to the flea market, go to the right and walk about 30-40 minutes down the beach. It's right after to the Iberostar resort. they all pretty much have the same stuff but will each say their price is better. Remember whatever price they tell you, go 1/2 of that or more otherwise you are paying too much.

Now the not so good times: The air conditioning did not work the whole week and we called and even went to the reception to tell them about it and they said they would have it fixed but they didn't. The toilet stopped working after a couple of day (the water just stopped filling up in the tank) so again we called and they had someone there in about an hour to fix it but the next day the same issue happened and they were called again. This went on every day for the rest of the trip. My travel buddy and i got sick starting day 3 and 4 and we are actually just starting to feel better a week after being home. Not sure what is was that made us sick as we have been eating and drinking the same things for about 10 years without ever getting sick before. We had booked an excursion with our Sunwing rep and when i asked where we meet, he said at the main resort which is where we showed up the next morning at 7am for a fun filled day but after 1.5 hours of waiting for the bus to come and get us, we found out we were supposed to go to the 'meeting point' down the road. I must say that Greg and Flash were accomodating and refunded our money since we couldn't go the next day so a big thank you to them for that.

All in all we did enjoy our trip and made the most of it except for the few hiccups and would actually return if the price is right. Go there with an open mind and you will enjoy yourself too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our 4:30PM Sunwing flight out of Kitchener/Breslau airport January 11 2012 was delayed three hours due to technical difficulty with the plane. We wondered why they didn't FLY a technician in from Toronto instead of having us all wait while he drove to Kitchener However, we finally took off around 7:30PM.
Sunwing flights are always pleasant. They serve a glass of champagne to get you in the holiday spirit and wine with the hot meal a little later. The flight is four hours and our hotel was another 45 minute drive. With the one hour time change we arrived at our hotel in the wee hours of the morning. The van dropped us off at Grand Paradise Bavaro and then scooted away after he got his tip. But we were told by check in we were at the wrong area of the resort. This is a really big place and its actually in three parts. A shuttle runs between the three different areas 24 hours a day. Its quite confusing after a long day and no one around to help you. The first check in clerk just dismissed us by telling us to go to the other area... A bell boy took us in a golf cart part way through the resort and then dragged our luggage over cobblestones quite a distance until we reached our area which was the Superior Garden View, right at the entrance and the longest distance from the beach. After expressing our disappointment in our location we were upgraded to the Select section, in the middle of the resort and not far from the shuttle service and about a ten minute walk to the beach. Our third floor room was clean, nicely decorated with two queen beds, plazma TV, bath and shower, and a balcony. Our maid was friendly and spoke a little English. We tipped her a little every day and she kept us supplied with bottled water and toilet paper (no kleenex). I don't know why they don't have contoured sheets at these resorts. The mattress pads and the bottom sheets are too small to tuck in so if you like a smooth bed to sleep in... forget it. : ) : )

In hindsight if we had waited until the next morning after a nights sleep we would have seen that each section has its own pool/pools, buffet, and ammenities and its all really quite beautiful and well kept.
I think a second visit at this resort will be more enjoyable since it takes quite a while to get your bearings and find where you want to go and how to get there. They give you a tiny map and there are maps posted along the walkways. After a few days you'll know where you are.

There are six al a carte restaurants at this resort and they are all excellent. You have to wait in line after breakfast each day to sign up for your choice for the next day. We tried them all. Steak House, Fish House, Dominican, Italian, International, (but not the Asian since they wanted another $10.00 for this one). The food was really delicious. Even in the two buffets.. There is nothing more you could ask for. The desserts are extra special. Each day there was a different theme and they decorated accordingly. The shows take place a little late at night but the few we did see were excellent. Especially the Zodiak show. Costumes, dances, and pantomine singers put on quite a spectacle.

The pools at this resort are the best ever. Not just round or rectangular but winding around little islands of plants, with little inlets here and there to swim in. There are about six in all, so each section of the resort has its own pools, but you can go to any of them. There are signs on some saying adults only, no children allowed, but somehow people never think this means them and there were little ones with water wings and youngsters splashing about a good deal of the time.
There were lots of families with little children at this resort so if you are looking for a place to take the family this is it.

The resort says a four star.. I think its more like a three star... but the beach is a five star. Its beautiful. I have never seen a more crowded beach both in the water and out. We witnessed about eight weddings in our two weeks and took pictures of them all. The water is rolling and beautiful. The sand is fluffy and white, packed down just enough to make walking a pleasure. There is parasailing right from a little boat, and lots of photographers with cockateils or snakes for you to pose with.
The chairs.... that's another issue. We always said we'd never put a towel on a chair to save it but guess what.... we did.... we had to or we'ld never have sat down. If you didn't get down to the beach or pool before 8AM you were out of luck. People saved four chairs all tied together with one towel. Some saved their chairs by putting a sandle on each one, or a book, or a coconut.. We sat by chairs at the beach under a much coveted lapa (for shade) and no one was there all day until after 4PM. People save their chairs at the beach and the pool and then go on a side trip. It's not the resorts fault.. its the tourists.. There would be enough chairs for everyone if people would move on when they are finished using them.

One last thing to mention... Even Paradise is difficult to endure if you get sick. There were a lot of us who went through those flu like symptoms for a few days on this vacation. I don't know why. We spent a good part of the week almost wanting to go home and leave this wonderful place. We're home five days now and I'm still suffering with a cough and cold. Talking with people on the plane going home, who stayed at different resorts, were sick also. This is the first time we have ever gotten sick on a holiday.
Anway, all in all, it's always nice to get away, but "There is absolutely No Place Like Home". : ) : )

Room Tip: If you really don't like your room or location go to the check in desk, when they are least busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

I must say this trip was worth every single penny. The customer service was fantastic ! One of my favorite staff members from animation was Blacky! He was very entertaining, friendly, and out going. Also he spoke good english which made it much easier for me considering I no more then two words of spanish. If you visit this resort make sure to ask for blacky!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Club at Grand Paradise Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club at Grand Paradise Bavaro

Address: Playa Arena Gorda | Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Club at Grand Paradise Bavaro 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Club at Grand Paradise Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Club At Grand Paradise Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Hotel At Grand Paradise Bavaro
At Grand Paradise Bavaro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Club at Grand Paradise Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.