We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Blanca Golf Course

Punta Blanca Golf Course
Carretera Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
809.468.4734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 46 Attractions in Punta Cana
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
Alabaster, Alabama
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The golf course was beautiful and not very busy. The golf cart worked well and my husband loved playing in such a beautiful, peaceful setting.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    78
    27
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not cheap but worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Myself a 3 friends played. It cost $180. This included the Callaway razr clubs. Buggy, balls, glove. Was a really good day. All the courses looked good to be fair but this was closest to my hotel.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The ground keeper sells golf balls on the course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

well kept course, included in the golf fees is water and snacks. pay the extra and to to Hardrock Golf club, any kind of drinks is included and a snack.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun course that's a little rough for the cost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

All 18 holes were open but 2 of them were under repair. The course was in decent shape. The rental clubs were not in great shape and I would recommend bringing your own. The staff was very friendly.

The course overall was decent but not worth the $160 a piece.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Punta Blanca is an enjoyable and consistent golf experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My son and I played the Punta Blanca course four times during our recent stay in Punta Cana. We stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe resort which is right next door. We corresponded with the course by email at teetimes@punta-blanca.com prior to our visit and had a confirmed tee time at 10 am each day. Angelina Taveras, Pro Shop Manager, was very helpful. We were picked up at the lobby by golf cart 30 minutes before our tee time and brought back to the resort following our round. Our experience at this golf course was consistently positive.
The pro shop was efficient at checking us in, understood English and accepted all credit cards. The starters and other golf staff were very friendly getting us started and cleaning our clubs at the end of the round. I did not get the sense that they expected a tip, but we provided them anyway. The deal we had with our hotel package was US $55 per person which included the cart and the use of the driving range. It also included water or soft drinks at the start and a sandwich at the turn or completion of the round. We received 4 waters in a cooler of ice but never tried the sandwich. There is a drink cart that came around occasionally. I recommend stopping at the turn to refresh your ice and water. Sunscreen is a must.

On the first three days, the early morning crowds had gone so we were able to walk right on and play as a twosome. We usually caught up to a group on the fourth hole, causing us to wait, but we expected that playing as a twosome. Pace generally speeded up on the back nine. The course is not particularly challenging, but diverse enough to keep it interesting. The par fours and fives feature wide open fairways with some reachable fairway bunkers. Waste areas line some of the fairways. Bunkers come into play around the greens. The Par threes were somewhat challenging. The greens were in perfect shape, soft and well maintained. There was not much water on the course. The back nine was recently reopened. Holes 10 through 16 are on the other side of the Bahia Principe resort so you have a bit of a drive. The drive provided a nice breezy respite from the heat. The groundskeepers were ever present on the course and frequently approached us offering "pro V” and “Callaway” balls found on the course. We did not buy.

You can probably find courses that are prettier, more challenging, or have ocean views. But if you want to play an enjoyable round of golf at a good pace for a reasonable price on a well maintained course that favors players of any skill level, Punta Blanca is an excellent choice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punta Blanca Golf Course also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Punta Blanca Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Blanca Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.