We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really bad hotel. Old rooms. Bathroom is a mess with leaks. Food is average, and im being generous. Service is slow, but friendly. Only good points: Pool and Beach. To eat, sometimes you need to get in a line (really), i've never seen this in any hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Joan,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Barcelo Punta Cana at Tripadvisor.
We are very so sad to read that we couldn’t fill your expectations regarding our hotel. We always try to keep our quality service, in order to satisfy the needs and expectations of all our guests.
We take all guest feedback very seriously; therefore we appreciate all your comments and will ensure that those are worked on.
Thank you to give us your honest point of view about our hotel. On behalf of the entire Barcelo Punta Cana staff, please accept our apologize.
Kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    976
    1,185
    633
    399
    380
See reviews for
1206
1171
98
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Barceló Punta Cana for 9 days for our honeymoon in June. We had read mixed reviews on the internet but wanted to give it a try because the pictures of the resort were so beautiful and the price was right up our alley. We were incredibly disappointed in so many aspects of the trip.

Food - this was THE most disappointing part of our stay at the resort. While the resort offers a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the food is mediocre at best and birds fly into the dining area and land on the food. The pizzeria is only open two days a week for lunch and we could never get a definite date/time of when it would be open (in some cases being told three different times in one day). For dinner we ate at the Italian, Dominican Republic, Japanese, and Surf and Turf style restaurants and the food was very good and had a big selection of items to choose from. The Japanese restaurant is tepinyaki so if you’ve never had it before, it’s a fun experience. While the restaurants were good you can only make a reservation at 9am that same morning. My husband waited in line at Guest Services every single morning for over 20 minutes just to make us a reservation. They resort has 8 restaurants but they are not all open every night. There is a mini market at the resort but unless you want to pay $6.00 for a bag of chips I wouldn't suggest going there for food. There were no snacks available to eat during the day even with the all inclusive package. There is a burger/hot dog grill open daily for lunch but after three days of eating a burger for lunch you start to get sick of it.

Room - our room was the deluxe ocean view and thankfully, it did have an actual view of the ocean. The shower is half open with a glass enclosure and our water pressure was terrible. On more than one occasion while in the shower, the water pressure completely shut off. Our room had a constant presence of small little bugs everywhere. Our mini fridge was dirty and our curtains did not close all the way. The television had a few channels in English which was nice but there weren't any numbers on the remote so you had to use the up/down arrows to get through all the channels. Our room was located next to the main pool so it did get loud at times as the staff does events and games in the main pool area (playing loud music etc). If you want a quiet room we suggest you ask to be by the kiddies’ pool. The walls are awfully thin in the rooms and we were woken up most nights because we could hear the people in the rooms next door.

Beach/Pool - the beaches were nice with picturesque water and there were always plenty of lounge chairs. There is a towel station where they give you two towels a day and on our third day there, we were given attitude by the towel lady who said we needed a card in order to check out towels. By then we had already been there three days and this was the first time we had heard about any such card. It seemed like there was not a lot of consistency between the staff and the rules that they followed. The pools were nice and big and offered a swim up bar which was nice.

Aside from all that, we didn't get an overly friendly vibe from most of the staff. The language barrier was very difficult for us. On our last day there, I went to use the ATM at the resort (the only one on site) and right when the money was about to spit out, the worker who was cleaning it hit some button and the machine turned off. He took off and my husband and I were told by the manager there was not much she could do to get our money back. We were leaving for our flight in a couple hours and by the time the bank sent someone over to fix the machine, we were long gone.

We didn't have a terrible vacation by any means, but we wish we would have known about these issues before we booked at the Barceló Punta Cana as it would have made an impact on our decision to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.
Concerning your comments about the quality of our food, we would like to point out that our menus are composed by carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations. Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been shared with the Executive Chef of our Resort for their analysis.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.
Kind regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from a week at Barcelo Punta Cana and now understand all these seemingly contrary high and low reviews. So much depends on when you go and where your room is located. We arrived late- midnight- so no long wait for check in. Weekends have a special for locals who know the routines, so it was packed: no reservations left at the restaurants, no shade at the pool, super noisy all night. But Monday morning, absolutely empty and tourists only. Our room in main building with awesome view of ocean, but extremely loud all day and night as it was directly over the main cafeteria. Very dated, small, shower leaked everywhere, and air conditioner set to "arctic". Restaurants were great, even the buffet: the kids loved being able to get food and drinks at all times and places. Towel policy is bizarre at best (one a day at a beach resort??) We might consider the larger Barcelo Plaza Deluxe next time- that one is enormous, with a conference center, horseback riding, and dolphin island on the premises.

Room Tip: Main building has best views, but ultra noisy! This is not the place for a quiet getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Gomez Family,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com.
We are happy to read that your recent stay at our resort was overall what you expected and we thank you for your valuable comments.
Be sure that all supervisors have been informed about the recommendations that you have highlighted and we are already fine tuning our hotel operation accordingly. In regards to the towel policy, we wish to inform that this is part of our environmental and Green Globe policy, as we wish to contribute this way (less washing and use of chemicals).
Thanks again and will be a pleasure to have you back.
Sincerely yours,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Room was not what I expected, too smal bedroom and poor decoration,
No hot water, very old TV with no cable, poor ilumination and the shower push botton did not worked,

In the other hand, excellent food and personnel service, beautiful and confortable pool areas, night show was very good and the disco was ok.

Play ground for children is excelent, bars are ok.

Would i go back? yes, specially if taking my kids with me, after all, bedroom is just for sleeping after all :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main building area, those are closer to the restaurants pools and bars. Nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Clara,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com.
We are happy to read that your recent stay at our resort was overall what you expected and we thank you for your valuable comments.
Be sure that all supervisors have been informed about the comments that you have highlighted and we are will work on those accordingly.
Thanks again and will be a pleasure to have you back.
Sincerely yours,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are going to want to relax and fell comfprtable on your honeymoon, as all newly weds should want, I do not reccommend this place. Your honeymoon is one vacation you can't redo and ours was ruined by picking this hotel. It is loud with music (rap) pumping all over. The hotel allows vendors to swarm their pool area and lobby to sell you goods. This is uncomfortable since the vendors are extremely pushy and you have to be 'rude' by saying no repeatdly just to get to the elevator to get up to your room. I wish we would have believed some of the other reviews on here and picked somewhere else! Spend a little more to truly get the service you deserve somewhere else. We were counting the hours to get back on the plane.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you to take your time to write and share your review in Tripadvisor. Checking your words we can appreciate you didn’t have a pleasant stay in Barcelo Punta Cana and we couldn’t fill your expectation about our property. We try to keep our quality service to give you our best and we take all guest feedback very seriously. We would like to give you an honest apology for any discomfort you may have experienced. Our main goal is the quality service and this is also a good value of our skills. Thank you very much again to give us your opinion.
Cordially
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Our holiday started a rough when the front desk couldn't find our reservation. And yes believe the the reviews, there is an issue with the front desk. Very disorganized, not very helpful. But by the next day we had everything straightened out by the girls up in the Club Premium.
If you plan on going to this resort pay the extra money and get the premium suite. Trust me. It so worth it. You get a bigger room, better views, and premium suite benefits. Such as club members lounge with bar, games, TV, free Internet, snacks, etc. the kids loved it. The staff was amazing. Thank you Rosa, Yessica and Angela.
They treated our family kindly and were so accommodating. You girls made our trip. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us in general and you will keep a good memory of Punta Cana and our Hotel.
Your special mention of the staff, like Rosa, Yessica and Angela that enhanced the quality of your trip is also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We got here at night, it is a beautiful hotel, but do not judge a book by its cover! It was dirty! Our room had bugs, and our toilet did not flush!!! No one came to look at it either! We only stayed one night and never again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Alyssa,
First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to communicate your opinion about your last stay at Barcelo Punta Cana.
We are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service . Indeed, your well being and entire satisfaction is our primary goal.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your short stay with us.
We will be very glad if you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future!
Regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Cana

Address: Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#66 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Punta Cana 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.