We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highs and lows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highs and lows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from a week at Barcelo Punta Cana and now understand all these seemingly contrary high and low reviews. So much depends on when you go and where your room is located. We arrived late- midnight- so no long wait for check in. Weekends have a special for locals who know the routines, so it was packed: no reservations left at the restaurants, no shade at the pool, super noisy all night. But Monday morning, absolutely empty and tourists only. Our room in main building with awesome view of ocean, but extremely loud all day and night as it was directly over the main cafeteria. Very dated, small, shower leaked everywhere, and air conditioner set to "arctic". Restaurants were great, even the buffet: the kids loved being able to get food and drinks at all times and places. Towel policy is bizarre at best (one a day at a beach resort??) We might consider the larger Barcelo Plaza Deluxe next time- that one is enormous, with a conference center, horseback riding, and dolphin island on the premises.

Room Tip: Main building has best views, but ultra noisy! This is not the place for a quiet getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Gomez Family,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com.
We are happy to read that your recent stay at our resort was overall what you expected and we thank you for your valuable comments.
Be sure that all supervisors have been informed about the recommendations that you have highlighted and we are already fine tuning our hotel operation accordingly. In regards to the towel policy, we wish to inform that this is part of our environmental and Green Globe policy, as we wish to contribute this way (less washing and use of chemicals).
Thanks again and will be a pleasure to have you back.
Sincerely yours,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    989
    1,201
    641
    404
    385
See reviews for
1237
1187
101
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Room was not what I expected, too smal bedroom and poor decoration,
No hot water, very old TV with no cable, poor ilumination and the shower push botton did not worked,

In the other hand, excellent food and personnel service, beautiful and confortable pool areas, night show was very good and the disco was ok.

Play ground for children is excelent, bars are ok.

Would i go back? yes, specially if taking my kids with me, after all, bedroom is just for sleeping after all :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main building area, those are closer to the restaurants pools and bars. Nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Clara,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com.
We are happy to read that your recent stay at our resort was overall what you expected and we thank you for your valuable comments.
Be sure that all supervisors have been informed about the comments that you have highlighted and we are will work on those accordingly.
Thanks again and will be a pleasure to have you back.
Sincerely yours,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are going to want to relax and fell comfprtable on your honeymoon, as all newly weds should want, I do not reccommend this place. Your honeymoon is one vacation you can't redo and ours was ruined by picking this hotel. It is loud with music (rap) pumping all over. The hotel allows vendors to swarm their pool area and lobby to sell you goods. This is uncomfortable since the vendors are extremely pushy and you have to be 'rude' by saying no repeatdly just to get to the elevator to get up to your room. I wish we would have believed some of the other reviews on here and picked somewhere else! Spend a little more to truly get the service you deserve somewhere else. We were counting the hours to get back on the plane.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you to take your time to write and share your review in Tripadvisor. Checking your words we can appreciate you didn’t have a pleasant stay in Barcelo Punta Cana and we couldn’t fill your expectation about our property. We try to keep our quality service to give you our best and we take all guest feedback very seriously. We would like to give you an honest apology for any discomfort you may have experienced. Our main goal is the quality service and this is also a good value of our skills. Thank you very much again to give us your opinion.
Cordially
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Our holiday started a rough when the front desk couldn't find our reservation. And yes believe the the reviews, there is an issue with the front desk. Very disorganized, not very helpful. But by the next day we had everything straightened out by the girls up in the Club Premium.
If you plan on going to this resort pay the extra money and get the premium suite. Trust me. It so worth it. You get a bigger room, better views, and premium suite benefits. Such as club members lounge with bar, games, TV, free Internet, snacks, etc. the kids loved it. The staff was amazing. Thank you Rosa, Yessica and Angela.
They treated our family kindly and were so accommodating. You girls made our trip. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us in general and you will keep a good memory of Punta Cana and our Hotel.
Your special mention of the staff, like Rosa, Yessica and Angela that enhanced the quality of your trip is also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We got here at night, it is a beautiful hotel, but do not judge a book by its cover! It was dirty! Our room had bugs, and our toilet did not flush!!! No one came to look at it either! We only stayed one night and never again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Alyssa,
First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to communicate your opinion about your last stay at Barcelo Punta Cana.
We are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service . Indeed, your well being and entire satisfaction is our primary goal.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your short stay with us.
We will be very glad if you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future!
Regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I am a travel agent and travel all over the Caribbean and check out many hotels. If this hotel was rated a 5 star, I would not give it the best reviews, but it is EXACLTY and more of what you would expect a 3 1/2 star to be, which is exactly what it is rated. For the people that tear it down and have gave it horrible reviews, they must of been expecting a 4 1/2 or 5 star property. Head down to the Bavaro Beach Palace and pay the money if you are expecting a perfect resort.

With that being said, I loved this resort and enjoyed it very much. You can ALWAYS get into the Restaurants, even if you don't have a reservation. The staff is there it make you happy and it shows. The check-in was a little slow and from what I gather is that they move slower in their country than Americans are used to. The place is a little old, but not bad at all. The grounds, pools, beach, restaurants all are well kept and very clean! Our room was older, but the bed was new, the pillows, mattress, blankets, and all the furniture are new and met all of our expectations. Esmer, a waiter was wonderful! If you find him, tip him good and he will smile and take care of you the entire time you are there.

One tip that I have, if you leave the resort and go shopping 2 miles down the road, do not use the first shops that you come to. We learned the hard way. Walk past all of them and head to the back. You get things 60% priced less in each and everyone one of the shops in the middle and back of the shopping village.
Barceló is a great property.

Room Tip: Oceanfront in building 1,2,or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Customer,
Greetings, thanks for choosing Barceló Punta Cana for your holidays. It was a pleasure to have you with us, Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Punta Cana in the future.
With best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We just returned to Dublin after spending the most fantastic two weeks at the Barcelo hotel. We can honestly say it was the best holiday we ever had from the time we checked in until the time we left. Sandy (manager) and all her lovely staff were so welcoming and the treatment we got was very high standard. This was our second time to visit this hotel and it gets better.The restaurants are very high standard, and our favourite was the Mirador . The weather was lovely, the beach is what you imagine the caribbean to be. We can see ourselves returning here again in the near future. Its great value for money and a dollar tip goes a long way, would definately recommend this hotel for all ages. My thanks to Sandy and the hard working friendly staff who made this a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Patrick & Jackie,
We appreciate the time you invested in writing a review of your recent stay and on behalf the entire team at Barcelo Punta Cana we would like to express our gratitude for the kind words you have submitted about us. Also, we would like to sincerely thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements experienced during your vacations. Please rest assured that we will share your comments with the rest of the team.
We are proud in creating memories that last a lifetime, give unforgettable experiences to our guests and pleased to see that we have reached our goal.
You can be assured that we look forward to welcoming you “back home” where your Dominican family awaits you.
Best Regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Cana

Address: Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Punta Cana 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.