We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews with poor ratings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Punta Cana to your Saves list
Barcelo Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #63 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Believe the reviews with poor ratings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our group first started traveling together last year for our 30th birthdays to Jamaica, we decided to continue with your destination vacations and have expanded to include more friends in our travels. Prior to selecting the Barcelo Punta Cana in DR as our hotel destination, we reviewed the ratings on this hotel and while many were rated as poor, we looked at the good ratings as well. We decided we weren't the type that needed every single thing to be perfect on our stay, we usually create our own fun and the room is basically to sleep in anyway. The package we purchases included an All-inclusive Plus Plan, offered through our travel agency, we were to get VIP treatment, however everytime we tried to explain to the hotel we were to have unlimited A la carte dining, upgraded amenities, turn down service and beach towels in our rooms. Non of this happened, everytime we tried to explain that we weren't getting what we were suppose to, they igonored us. Finally our travel agent representative was able to get us most of things we were to have. (The pool towels was a definite perk, they never had enough, nor any clean ones, lucky a couple of us were early risers, we would switch them out with the towel hut by the pool for "clean" dry towels as they resort never brought us pool towels to our rooms.

First off the good. The beaches are beautiful, it looks like they are making steps to upgrade the hotel, so it is what it is, comfortable beds, hot showers(a few ants in the bathroom) and the mini fridge(if it worked) was restocked(sometimes we had to ask for more items as it would be late evening before they got around to it), if we tipped them restocking the fridge we got extra beverages, which was nice. The bar staff were very friendly for the most part, if you tipped(which wasn't required but we always have/will, we know they work hard for very little), we would be ignored or they would take our drink orders after they helped others, even if we were there first waiting patiently. It was obvious they were ignoring you when they looked right at you with an empty glass in your hand and then they would help the person that came up behind you who happened to be a person of certain nationality.

The restaurants are sub par as well as the buffet, just like the other reviews, I tried telling the cook at one of the grill stations in the buffet that the tomotoes had bugs crawling on them, they just waved me away, did nothing about the bugs, or the birds that were flying around sitting on tables and eating unattended food from people getting drinks(as they wait staff would rather talk to each other than fill the glasses or bring water to the tables).

At the Italian restaurant the first time (we ended up with 2 reservations for this restaurant), the food was pretty good, however half way through our salads, one of our friends found under his lettuce a hair that wasn't all that long and wasn't all that straight. It was rather gross to see, and even worse when we told the waiter, who didn't do anything, just took the plate away and never came back to the table to offer any type of apology or acknowledgement of the incident. The 2nd time was even worse at this restaurant, we waited over 2 hours for our meal, while other groups came in, ordered, were served, and left. We tried asking for a "Manager" but were ignored, we finaly went back to the kitchen doors and asked for our food which came out cold, and only half our group got what they ordered. When we asked for the remainder of our groups food, we were again ignored, to the point we just up and left, we complained to the front desk guest services, but they only give you a piece of paper to fill out to give to the restaurant.(totally pointless)

The Japanese restaurant was absolutely the best if you do end up staying there, get all your reservations for this restaurant, or the Tex-Mex, that was good as well.

The pools were nice, until they stopped filtering them specifically the swim up bar(they need to advertise where the bathrooms are close to this pool, just saying). After the weekend crowd left, the pool was a nice yellow color, so murky and gross you couldn't see the bottom of the pool. We weren't sure if the filtration service broke or if it had something to do with the power outages, nobody would say.

The excursions were a lot of fun, the booze cruise, Safari, and snorkel trips we went on, were everything we expected, and the people chartering them were very nice and made you feel welcome. Billy and Sammie from BavaroRunners were a blast, if you have the chance, take a trip with them, you won't be disappointed, just don't choose this hotel. Otherwise, DR was beautiful, warm and even though we didn't get what we paid for the poor reviews we read prior to our stay were pretty much spot on(unfortunately), so if you don't mind what I just stated(or repeated), then have at it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Barceló Punta Cana during your trip to the Dominican Republic. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services and standars.
We especially appreciate you nice comments regarding the bar staff, the Tokio and Mirador restaurant, as well as the comfort of our beds and the beach.
Please rest ensured that we will take your comments regarding our Italian restaurant back to our F&B Manager for corrective actions. We are sorry that in that occasion we were not able to fulfill your expectations.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Punta Cana in the future.

Kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    1,362
    697
    432
    410
See reviews for
1,334
1,308
118
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I can't say it loud enough...DON'T BOOK HERE. I am not a picky traveler and I have traveled to many resorts. We should have left within minutes of arriving and I actually called my travel agent within the hour. This resort is gross, unsafe and you are better off without a vacation then coming here.
We were premium with ocean-view room...The rooms were dirty, the air-conditioning did not work in any of the 3 rooms we were moved around in. The elevators worked when they wanted to which was about half the time and the urine and vomit that was in the elevators, stairwells and walkways was left for hours and days as there were so many drunk people at the resort.

The staff is rude. The staff is sneaky, steals (as we saw them at the bars) and they are nasty and pretend not to speak any english, all the bartenders, front staff and managers. The food is not properly prepared and the milk and cheese was bad by 9 am every morning. The glasses were always dirty and this is due to them rinsing them in dirty water and placing them for use ( I witnessed this)

The shows are loud and boring.....the nightlife won't shut up prior to 11 PM and when you feel awful from the gross conditions and poor quality of a resort this is most frustrating.

I witnessed at least 10 people complaining about being deathly sick to staff and medical who ignored them and told them to go to the ER by cab...

UNSAFE! We got moved to another resort by Thursday and this was after requesting it for 4 days....
Gorgeous gorgeous beach...100% the best I have ever seen....

Such a waste...

Room Tip: Stay at another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Receive a warm greeting from Barceló Punta Cana.
Customer’s feedback is very important to us. We have reviewed your comments regarding your recent trip to our hotel and we are deeply sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay, because customer satisfaction is our top priority. It seems that you
didn´t have an entirely pleasing holiday, although we work really hard in order to guarantee a worry free vacation and are always checking and verifying especially all the safety and hygiene standards. In fact, we wish to inform you that we have a third party Hygiene Consultant company that checks our standards every month and every year we are obtaining the certificate for obtaining very good results in those checks.
We are very sorry that you did not received this impression that we wish to project.
Please don´t hesitate to contact me for any further comments.

Kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked before reading the reviews or wouldn't have. Upgraded to Prestige.

Check in went well as there was only one other couple on our airport transfer. Saw many huge lines at the check in desk almost always. Staff at the desk are as rude and unfriendly as everyone says. Room was good, with ocean view. Had to call down to desk to get housecoats & slippers, mini bar fill. It took 2 days to get the bottle of Rum that was supposed to be in the room. One lamp had a broken lightbulb, I called the desk 5 times about it. Even left the bulb on a $5 bill on the bed. Finally on the 4th day I brought a housekeeping supervisor into the room and showed her the missing bulb and it got fixed.
We left $5 each day for housekeeping.

Beach is spectacular, sand like flour. Waves were strong, we never did go in the Ocean. Pools were good. Could usually always find a pair of chairs so there was no need to get up early to rush down and reserve a couple with your towels.
We were unimpressed to see one couple take the Diaper off their Baby and take her in the pool. Another couple were seen changing a Diaper and dipped the kid in the pool to wash her off before putting on a clean one. We stopped swimming.
Food was OK. Only one Buffet always busy. The Al La Carts were better. At Conouco we noticed it didn't matter what appy you ordered everybody got the same 3 dough balls, at every table. If asked about it the Waiters laughed and pretended they didn't understand.
One day in the Buffet the Omlet Chef was chatting in Spanish to a guest and he made some rude comments to my Wife, laughing at her because she didn't speak Spanish.
After check out we were allowed to use a courtesy room before our flight. This was one of the rooms everyone is complaining about. Lumpy beds, broken curtain rods etc. we wanted to shower but their were no towels.

Took a van to Chey Nicole to shop and see more than the resort. This was a total waste of time. Don't go. Cost $30 Taxi to return.

Pay for the room upgrade. Better rooms, better check in, our Al La Carts were pre booked for us so we didn't have to line up for reservations.

Didn't see much of the true Dominican and felt we were isolated to the resort. In the Myan Riv we made several trips to Playa Del Carmen and Cozumel but here we felt there weren't those options. We found the people less friendly than in Mexico.

Several reviews say 'for the cheap cost it was OK'. We spent over $5000 for a week at peak season. It was very expensive. It was just OK. We will not return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from the Dominican Republic. Thank you for choosing Barceló Punta Cana for your past holidays.It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Punta Cana in the future.

With best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

As never being to a AI in DR I don't have anything to compare this resort too. Having said that we have travelled to many other destinations and stayed in other AIs. We heard both good and bad from others that had visited other AI resorts in DR.

The rooms were sufficient. We travelled with our 2 children and did spend time in the evening watching movies before bedtime. The tv had a lot of channels in english. Beds were ok. Not luxurious but not terrible. We did have bugs of all kinds come in from the patio or if the door was left open. We come to find that can happen in any country though. There is Mosquitos at night so bring your repellant. We tipped our maid $2-3 dollars a day and got enough towels and our beds made (but not the bedding changed the whole week we were there). It is a different person that comes in to stock your mini bar so leave their tip in the fridge ($1-2) and you will get extras. We had one night where we didn't have any hot water to shower but otherwise it was fine.

We used the complimentary safe for all documents and valuables and it was good except one day we got timed out for putting in our code wrong and security came (not in a timely fashion), plugged in his iPad, and reset it in seconds.

We paid for the prestige upgrade with Transat holidays and there was no point because all the little extras didn't happen like the rum in your room at arrival and your beach towels waiting for you in your room too. We had to chase that all down. We never had a separate check in/check out line either so be prepared to wait! We did have a bus transfer to and from the airport to the resort.

The food was hit and miss. The seafood restaurant was terrible. The Dominican specialties was good. The Japanese was AMAZING and if we would have know it was that good we would have changed some of our reservations for just there. The French was pretty good as well. The pizzeria for lunch is the best and the grill (hamburgers, hot dogs, fries) was very good as well. But the buffet on the other hand was always the miss! We all got sick from the buffet! And some of the things we couldn't even tell what it was. Sunday is the big buffet night and was a little better. The late night food in the theatre isn't worth your time to walk out there! Cut up hot dogs and ham between some bread!

Drinks at every bar are different. We like our vodka but just couldn't drink DR vodka. Tasted like paint thinner! We drank drinks that had ice cubes and were fine and we also drank water from the dispensers at all the bars and were fine. We just didn't use the tap water at all, even to brush our teeth! When you order a drink at a restaurant order 2 or 3 because you can wait a long time for another or not get another one at all by the end of your meal. Especially at the pizzeria. Bring your own bubba mugs for at the pool and beach. A must if you don't want to drink sand!

The resort itself is HUGE! We stayed in building 2 and it was good. Close enough to the pools and beach and restaurants. We were by the theatre which was noisy at night but not for too late! The casino was at the end of our hall and did attract some late night passerbys that wanted to make themselves be heard! We went to the sports bar one night to play pool and it was quiet and fun. The disco was small and smelled terrible! The music is all Caribbean style or bad 90's techno! The nightly shows at the theatre were hit and miss too. We went to the magic show with our daughter and it ended up being dancers in Disney costumes. The circus show was good. The casino wasn't much but ok if your a 3 card poker player. I wouldn't trust the slot machines. They were pretty old.

My kids only did the rock wall and the kids pool. Both were "cool" to them! We didn't bother with the trapeze or kids club because of the times they were open and our routine we got into. Safety is not #1 in DR so there are little things that the kids can get hurt on in the pool and kids area like the filter covers on the ground that I seen several people fall through and get hurt! And the slippery tiles everywhere!

The beach is clean for seaweed and ocean debris but does have a lot of garbage from the guests like cups and cigarette butts. It is always windy and there is always waves. The first day we were there my 8 year old daughter was the in the ocean with her new mask and snorkel and a wave came and took her down and by the time she collected herself the mask was gone from the undertow. It scared her a bit so she didn't go out with mom or dad for the rest of the trip. My 13 year old son loved the waves! Bring lots of sunscreen, you will need it and it is expensive to buy in the resort store.

We bought sand toys at the shop for $18 for a set. It was a bit pricey but she played with them everyday. We had found a body board and some other sand toys on the beach at night and when the kids were done playing with them at the end of our trip we gave them to other kids as we didn't have a way to get them home. Passing it along :)

The resort lets vendors come onto the property and set up tables every second day or so. You can get some better deals on items that you will also find in the stores at the resort. Make sure you haggle with them. I got my kids 2 necklaces with shark teeth that they wanted to sell me for $70 and I got them both for $25. If your going to buy souvenirs there is a mini mall a 10 minute walk down the road that is worth it and I wish I would have gone there instead. I bought all my souvenirs from the resort store. Spent $100 but got some coo stuff that I felt was worth it. DO NOT WAIT TO BUY STUFF AT THE AIRPORT. It is STUPID expensive. The same shot glass I bought at the resort for $3 was $8 at the airport!

The resort store can be expensive for items. I bought the kids a bag of Doritos one night for munches while watching a movie and it was $6 a bag! And chocolate bars were $3 each! Try to avoid having to buy that stuff as you don't really know how long it has been sitting there!


All in all it was a great family vacation. We feel we got what we paid for but we probably won't go back to that particular resort. We met people that went over to Barcelo Bavaro Beach resort and it sounded like that was the Barcelo resort to choose! Worth the little bit extra.

Barcelo Punta Cana is not the worse resort but age is starting to show in the structures. The staff can be friendly but you get the few that will completely ignore you. Especially at the front desk. We didn't find a lot of the staff spoke english and if they did they didn't let it be known. To tell you the truth, we didn't find a lot of tourist spoke english at all. Lots of french and spanish. We love meeting new people when we travel but this trip we pretty much stuck to the 4 of us as a family.

Your vacation is what you make it! We didn't let the little things bother us and stuck to having fun at the beautiful beach!

Room Tip: Most buildings are renovated except building 7. Ask for either building 3 or 4 when checking in. Tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, warm greetings from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback and are happy to read that your experience was in general a good one.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may have experienced during your stay and will ensure that all your comments are discussed with the different department managers.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.
Kind regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have never been one to take these reviews seriously and I wish I did. I decided to take the reviews with a grain of salt and booked a trip. We thought that being rated a 4 star and 4.5 with noli tours it had to be decent.

All I can say is ever negative review is correct. First of the entrance is unimpressive not to mention the entire lobby smells of smoke. I couldn't even stand to sit anywhere with my kids cause it smelled so bad!!!!! The rooms are musty,old with zero water!!!!! We couldnt even shower the first nigth cause there was no water NADA!!!!

Our door did not lock properly and my husband could open it by pushing hard on the door. The lock was all carved out. The up graded rooms r far from an upgrade. They showed us one that was clean and I notice peanuts on the floor!!! Disgusting!!! Basically you got a flat screen tv over a tv from the 80's. the walls are super thin. The hot tub was cold. No towels for the pool for an entire day!!!! Only 2 body towels in our room. There was a line up to get into the buffet then u would litterally line up in the pasta line for over half hour!!! It's over crowded. I could really go on for ages.

We ended up leaving 2 days later and stayed at the barcelo bavaro delux palace which was absolutely beautiful. Fantastic family resort and we would go back again.

Whoever stumbles upon my review please take this review seriously and do not book the barcelo punta cana. Save up and spend the extra money!!!!!! Trust me to even spend what we did the thought of staying there for the entire week would not have been a vacation! The staff were sweet not their fault they are working at a s&$) hole!!! They worked very hard and tried to please many unhappy guests. We all save up for this one week of paradise so make it worth it and do your homework!! Good luck

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all our best regards from the entire team at Barcelo Punta Cana and thank you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday destination.
Checking your words we can appreciate you didn’t have a pleasant stay at Barcelo Punta Cana and we couldn´t fill your expectation about our property. We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and thus achieve to offer our guests a service of the highest quality.
We look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion, in this way show our commitment for service and customer satisfaction, and quality assurance stamp of our family Barceló Hotels & Resorts.
Sincerely,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The only good things I have to say about this place are great beach and nice pool. The staff at the bars/restaurants were friendly, but staff at the front desk were down right rude. There was once clerk running the front desk the entire time (major lines to check in and major lines to check out). The biggest dissapointment in this resort was the food. The food was so horrible it was not even eatable. It got to the point that we wanted to vomit even walking by the buffet due to the horrific smell. We ended up paying for a cab to the hard rock cafe that last two nights of our stay because we could no longer live off the chips we had to buy at the resort store to survive on. The "special restaurants" were always booked (yet completely empty) and impossible to get a reservation at. We did get a reservation one night at the dominican restaurant and were very dissapointed. The pizza place always had an extremely long wait and on the once occasion we did get in I had a long hair embedded in my "freshly made pizza". The other couple we went with both got sick (vomiting/diarhea) from the food. Our room was another issue. Three out of the seven days we were there we did not have hot water. Our tv did not work nor did our fridge. Maintenance had to be called about our in room safe twice during our stay as that also did not work. Our room was not cleaned ( no new sheets/towels/toilet paper) until 5-6pm at night after we would call to complain). There was also not much going on for entertainment as this resort. We are two couples (all in our late 20s) who are very easy to please and were just looking to have a good time. I have never in my life seen anything like this resort. At first glance it appears nice, but dont be fooled. Spend a little bit more money and go somewhere else-- trust me!!! Will never go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Our best regards from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good stuff, such as nice beach, pools, friendly restaurant staff.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced in your room during your stay.
Concerning your comments about the quality of our food, we would like to point out that our menus are composed by carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations. Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been share with our Executive Chef for their analysis.
We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to demonstrate you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have.

Kind regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went for New Years. The beach was beautiful and you could walk forever which was the highlight of the trip. BUT the resort was older, rundown and lacking. When we arrived the Check In staff were rude and grouchy. Long wait if you went back to ask questions. The resort was very busy with lots of families and children, lots to do for them, so great for families...not a good time of the year for couples. This is definitely a resort for Europeans and mostly French so we found it difficult to make friends with other tourists. Food was very bland and the wine was horrible lol, have to spend some dough for decent tasting wine. A la carte's were ok. Our Premium Room was basic so nothing special. Must of been lower quality rooms there too because within 2 days we had a note under the door that they were running out of Superior Rooms and were offering a free excursion if we moved to a standard room....so was not worth it. No hot water at times so had to take a cold shower on our last day before we left. Also water dripping from the ceiling lights in the bathroom. Long waits for drinks, constantly ran out of beach bar foods like fries and burgers....I could go on about the poor quality but all in all never will go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, warm greetings from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests.
Please feel sure that your observations are taking into great consideration for their analysis, in order to improve the points you mentioned.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Barcelo Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.
With kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Cana

Address: Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.