We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have never been one to take these reviews seriously and I wish I did. I decided to take the reviews with a grain of salt and booked a trip. We thought that being rated a 4 star and 4.5 with noli tours it had to be decent.

All I can say is ever negative review is correct. First of the entrance is unimpressive not to mention the entire lobby smells of smoke. I couldn't even stand to sit anywhere with my kids cause it smelled so bad!!!!! The rooms are musty,old with zero water!!!!! We couldnt even shower the first nigth cause there was no water NADA!!!!

Our door did not lock properly and my husband could open it by pushing hard on the door. The lock was all carved out. The up graded rooms r far from an upgrade. They showed us one that was clean and I notice peanuts on the floor!!! Disgusting!!! Basically you got a flat screen tv over a tv from the 80's. the walls are super thin. The hot tub was cold. No towels for the pool for an entire day!!!! Only 2 body towels in our room. There was a line up to get into the buffet then u would litterally line up in the pasta line for over half hour!!! It's over crowded. I could really go on for ages.

We ended up leaving 2 days later and stayed at the barcelo bavaro delux palace which was absolutely beautiful. Fantastic family resort and we would go back again.

Whoever stumbles upon my review please take this review seriously and do not book the barcelo punta cana. Save up and spend the extra money!!!!!! Trust me to even spend what we did the thought of staying there for the entire week would not have been a vacation! The staff were sweet not their fault they are working at a s&$) hole!!! They worked very hard and tried to please many unhappy guests. We all save up for this one week of paradise so make it worth it and do your homework!! Good luck

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all our best regards from the entire team at Barcelo Punta Cana and thank you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday destination.
Checking your words we can appreciate you didn’t have a pleasant stay at Barcelo Punta Cana and we couldn´t fill your expectation about our property. We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and thus achieve to offer our guests a service of the highest quality.
We look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion, in this way show our commitment for service and customer satisfaction, and quality assurance stamp of our family Barceló Hotels & Resorts.
Sincerely,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    988
    1,199
    640
    404
    384
See reviews for
1226
1180
100
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The only good things I have to say about this place are great beach and nice pool. The staff at the bars/restaurants were friendly, but staff at the front desk were down right rude. There was once clerk running the front desk the entire time (major lines to check in and major lines to check out). The biggest dissapointment in this resort was the food. The food was so horrible it was not even eatable. It got to the point that we wanted to vomit even walking by the buffet due to the horrific smell. We ended up paying for a cab to the hard rock cafe that last two nights of our stay because we could no longer live off the chips we had to buy at the resort store to survive on. The "special restaurants" were always booked (yet completely empty) and impossible to get a reservation at. We did get a reservation one night at the dominican restaurant and were very dissapointed. The pizza place always had an extremely long wait and on the once occasion we did get in I had a long hair embedded in my "freshly made pizza". The other couple we went with both got sick (vomiting/diarhea) from the food. Our room was another issue. Three out of the seven days we were there we did not have hot water. Our tv did not work nor did our fridge. Maintenance had to be called about our in room safe twice during our stay as that also did not work. Our room was not cleaned ( no new sheets/towels/toilet paper) until 5-6pm at night after we would call to complain). There was also not much going on for entertainment as this resort. We are two couples (all in our late 20s) who are very easy to please and were just looking to have a good time. I have never in my life seen anything like this resort. At first glance it appears nice, but dont be fooled. Spend a little bit more money and go somewhere else-- trust me!!! Will never go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Our best regards from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good stuff, such as nice beach, pools, friendly restaurant staff.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced in your room during your stay.
Concerning your comments about the quality of our food, we would like to point out that our menus are composed by carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations. Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been share with our Executive Chef for their analysis.
We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to demonstrate you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have.

Kind regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went for New Years. The beach was beautiful and you could walk forever which was the highlight of the trip. BUT the resort was older, rundown and lacking. When we arrived the Check In staff were rude and grouchy. Long wait if you went back to ask questions. The resort was very busy with lots of families and children, lots to do for them, so great for families...not a good time of the year for couples. This is definitely a resort for Europeans and mostly French so we found it difficult to make friends with other tourists. Food was very bland and the wine was horrible lol, have to spend some dough for decent tasting wine. A la carte's were ok. Our Premium Room was basic so nothing special. Must of been lower quality rooms there too because within 2 days we had a note under the door that they were running out of Superior Rooms and were offering a free excursion if we moved to a standard room....so was not worth it. No hot water at times so had to take a cold shower on our last day before we left. Also water dripping from the ceiling lights in the bathroom. Long waits for drinks, constantly ran out of beach bar foods like fries and burgers....I could go on about the poor quality but all in all never will go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, warm greetings from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests.
Please feel sure that your observations are taking into great consideration for their analysis, in order to improve the points you mentioned.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Barcelo Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.
With kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you love the beach, you will love this hotel!
If you love swimming and jumping in waves this resort is for you.
There is nothing around the resort except a very small market type area called "Plaza Blanca" and another store accessible by a free bus called "Chez Nicole".
There is no "town/city" area once you get to the resort you are pretty much stuck there.
That being said..
Our room was acceptable it was clean and it had a functioning toilet and shower- it was a basic room- the fridge was stocked daily with drinks which was helpful.
The buffet had lots of variety. I am a picky eater- don't eat many types of meats and I found something to eat nightly whether it be fish pasta or something else.
We were in the Dominican Republic so it is to be expected that we are not used to all the vegetables and methods of cooking we are used to in Canada - that is to be expected.
The a la carte restaurants were great. I HIGHLY recommend the Japanese restaurant- TOKIO it was excellent and the Dominican Restaurant- CONUCO.. they were by far the best.
If you want to make reservations for the restaurants be at the desk before 9:00 am because they are packed nightly.
For lunch the best restaurant was the snack bar called MIRADOR- nice salad bar and sandwiches instead of grill with burgers/hot dogs and fries.
All in all good experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Receive warm greetings from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We also are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage.
Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our F&B staff, especially to the staff at the Tokio and Conuco. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.
We thank you once agai for taking your time sharing your opinion. Looking forward to welcoming you once again!
Best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not the most beautiful hotel, but it was o.k. Clean, service was correct not spectacular. Great for the kids since everything was close. There are ramps for diseable persons and family with kids cart. Good food. Someday, we will go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Barcelo Punta Cana at Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you with us, Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Punta Cana in the future.

With best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Happy New year and welcoming 2013 to all travellers that indeed read these reviews.
First off I would like to tell people, we were there last year in Feb, loved everything about this resort. The staff yes are slow but do remember that is how Dominican staff operate, they are not a fast pace country like ours. The staff are easy going and very friendly and cater themselves to all ages.

Yes, the check in line ups are a bit long, but I am sure that your airport was the same.
The food is not what you cook at home, so keep an open mind. You are in Punta Cana!
The rooms are not the best but, you are there to sleep and change and shower. The bugs are here at home as well, Brng insect repellant, no biggie, you have bugs at home and use bug spray.

The al la carte time you can change the time, if its later at night, no big deal, eat later lunch to satisfy your time. There is always food and drinks through out the day, you will not starve. Keep an open mind when you get there to know where everything is located. they do have people to help you. If you spend a few extra dollars to the ppl that work there, they will indeed cater to you always.

The pool are always clean, its the travellers that make the mess by not picking up after themselves, that is why you see plastic cups in the pool, not always, lets not be picking, remove it your self, theres plenty of pool space and ocean to swim at.

The food is very good, but you will definitely never go hungry.
We loved the resort and will be going back Feb 2013.
I do believe ppl have to keep an open mind when travelling to any resort or country that is not your very own.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get the prestiage class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Laura,
Thank you for writing such positive comments about your last stay with us, it is always great to read reviews from our repeat guests.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation and we definetely hope to see you again in February, It will be our pleasure to welcome you again! Please do not hesitate contacting us prior to your visit!

Sincerely
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

As long as you aren't a princess, this is a great place. Start with the "could be better": hot water is off almost daily but we always managed to have one when needed. Communication was the biggest drawback. I have been to plenty of resorts in the Caribean and every spoke English. It was difficult to communicate your needs. Now for the goods stuff: beach is awesome, wide long and sandy. Only drawback was the waves. Never had a green flag day. Don't bother bringing your snorkel as you won't be able to use it on the beach here. Waves are great to play in with the kids though, as long as you don't let them go out too far. Food was great. Had 4 a la carte reservations. All were awesome. Buffet was great too. Eggs to order, cereal, everything. Kids club, specifically Bella, was great for our 8 year old. He loved her, as did we. Great experience at this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays. In the name of our entire staff, we want to thank you for taking time to share your review with other travelers.

We are very pleased to hear that our gastronomy offer at our restaurants did fulfill your expectations and also appreciate you nice comments regarding our Barcy Club and Bella.

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. Most of our employees have good knowledge on many languages, such as English, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, Russian and so on; and our Human Resources Department is constantly offering courses to all our staff to reinforce the level of conversation, especially to those in direct contact with our guests. However, please be reminded that Spanish is our mother tongue and our knowledge and/or pronunciation of a foreign language might not be perfect.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Kind regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Cana

Address: Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#67 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Punta Cana 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.