We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Punta Cana to your Saves list
Barcelo Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #64 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over priced for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went for New Years. The beach was beautiful and you could walk forever which was the highlight of the trip. BUT the resort was older, rundown and lacking. When we arrived the Check In staff were rude and grouchy. Long wait if you went back to ask questions. The resort was very busy with lots of families and children, lots to do for them, so great for families...not a good time of the year for couples. This is definitely a resort for Europeans and mostly French so we found it difficult to make friends with other tourists. Food was very bland and the wine was horrible lol, have to spend some dough for decent tasting wine. A la carte's were ok. Our Premium Room was basic so nothing special. Must of been lower quality rooms there too because within 2 days we had a note under the door that they were running out of Superior Rooms and were offering a free excursion if we moved to a standard room....so was not worth it. No hot water at times so had to take a cold shower on our last day before we left. Also water dripping from the ceiling lights in the bathroom. Long waits for drinks, constantly ran out of beach bar foods like fries and burgers....I could go on about the poor quality but all in all never will go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, warm greetings from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests.
Please feel sure that your observations are taking into great consideration for their analysis, in order to improve the points you mentioned.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Barcelo Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.
With kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    1,363
    699
    431
    409
See reviews for
1,333
1,308
119
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you love the beach, you will love this hotel!
If you love swimming and jumping in waves this resort is for you.
There is nothing around the resort except a very small market type area called "Plaza Blanca" and another store accessible by a free bus called "Chez Nicole".
There is no "town/city" area once you get to the resort you are pretty much stuck there.
That being said..
Our room was acceptable it was clean and it had a functioning toilet and shower- it was a basic room- the fridge was stocked daily with drinks which was helpful.
The buffet had lots of variety. I am a picky eater- don't eat many types of meats and I found something to eat nightly whether it be fish pasta or something else.
We were in the Dominican Republic so it is to be expected that we are not used to all the vegetables and methods of cooking we are used to in Canada - that is to be expected.
The a la carte restaurants were great. I HIGHLY recommend the Japanese restaurant- TOKIO it was excellent and the Dominican Restaurant- CONUCO.. they were by far the best.
If you want to make reservations for the restaurants be at the desk before 9:00 am because they are packed nightly.
For lunch the best restaurant was the snack bar called MIRADOR- nice salad bar and sandwiches instead of grill with burgers/hot dogs and fries.
All in all good experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Receive warm greetings from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We also are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage.
Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our F&B staff, especially to the staff at the Tokio and Conuco. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.
We thank you once agai for taking your time sharing your opinion. Looking forward to welcoming you once again!
Best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not the most beautiful hotel, but it was o.k. Clean, service was correct not spectacular. Great for the kids since everything was close. There are ramps for diseable persons and family with kids cart. Good food. Someday, we will go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Barcelo Punta Cana at Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you with us, Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services,
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Punta Cana in the future.

With best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Happy New year and welcoming 2013 to all travellers that indeed read these reviews.
First off I would like to tell people, we were there last year in Feb, loved everything about this resort. The staff yes are slow but do remember that is how Dominican staff operate, they are not a fast pace country like ours. The staff are easy going and very friendly and cater themselves to all ages.

Yes, the check in line ups are a bit long, but I am sure that your airport was the same.
The food is not what you cook at home, so keep an open mind. You are in Punta Cana!
The rooms are not the best but, you are there to sleep and change and shower. The bugs are here at home as well, Brng insect repellant, no biggie, you have bugs at home and use bug spray.

The al la carte time you can change the time, if its later at night, no big deal, eat later lunch to satisfy your time. There is always food and drinks through out the day, you will not starve. Keep an open mind when you get there to know where everything is located. they do have people to help you. If you spend a few extra dollars to the ppl that work there, they will indeed cater to you always.

The pool are always clean, its the travellers that make the mess by not picking up after themselves, that is why you see plastic cups in the pool, not always, lets not be picking, remove it your self, theres plenty of pool space and ocean to swim at.

The food is very good, but you will definitely never go hungry.
We loved the resort and will be going back Feb 2013.
I do believe ppl have to keep an open mind when travelling to any resort or country that is not your very own.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get the prestiage class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Laura,
Thank you for writing such positive comments about your last stay with us, it is always great to read reviews from our repeat guests.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation and we definetely hope to see you again in February, It will be our pleasure to welcome you again! Please do not hesitate contacting us prior to your visit!

Sincerely
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

As long as you aren't a princess, this is a great place. Start with the "could be better": hot water is off almost daily but we always managed to have one when needed. Communication was the biggest drawback. I have been to plenty of resorts in the Caribean and every spoke English. It was difficult to communicate your needs. Now for the goods stuff: beach is awesome, wide long and sandy. Only drawback was the waves. Never had a green flag day. Don't bother bringing your snorkel as you won't be able to use it on the beach here. Waves are great to play in with the kids though, as long as you don't let them go out too far. Food was great. Had 4 a la carte reservations. All were awesome. Buffet was great too. Eggs to order, cereal, everything. Kids club, specifically Bella, was great for our 8 year old. He loved her, as did we. Great experience at this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays. In the name of our entire staff, we want to thank you for taking time to share your review with other travelers.

We are very pleased to hear that our gastronomy offer at our restaurants did fulfill your expectations and also appreciate you nice comments regarding our Barcy Club and Bella.

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. Most of our employees have good knowledge on many languages, such as English, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, Russian and so on; and our Human Resources Department is constantly offering courses to all our staff to reinforce the level of conversation, especially to those in direct contact with our guests. However, please be reminded that Spanish is our mother tongue and our knowledge and/or pronunciation of a foreign language might not be perfect.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Kind regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This trip was a sudden decision to get away over the christmas holidays, so at the time there wasn't to much available. For the price I was expecting a lot better. The beach was sandy like the others in Punta Cana. There were lounge chairs available most of the time which weren't bolted down by the pool areas. The food was ok with a pretty good variety, but the tables are spread out quite a bit including the grills at the buffet so check it out. This is a family resort so there were lots of young kids around which bothered a few guests, so if you want no kids or strollers around book an adults only. Front desk service was great and anytime we needed assistance with the room safe as the battery died a few times, assistance was there within minutes. The room was ok but the matress should of been replaced as the bed sheet kept sliding up we could see it was stained and torn. Most days the room was made late and on our final evening the room wasn't even made, so leaving a couple dollars a day for the maid made no difference. As far as the hot water for showers go, hope you enjoy cold showers because I don't. The bar soap and shampoo was not replenished either, so bring some with you. As far as the bars go there was no problem there as they were spread out and the service was excellent even with service by the pool with a token of course. One thing I really hated was the sand flies at night outside, I got hundreds of bites on my legs and arms so take some bug spray as the grounds aren't sprayed at night like some other resorts. Overall though the resort was ok and if a deal came up l would go back and I would be asking for better maid service. I personally felt the maid service was understaffed as the maids were there from early morning to late at night each day which the hotel management should be looking into.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays. In the name of our entire staff, we want to thank you for taking time to share your review with other travelers.
We deeply regret to hear that our Housekeeping services didn’t fulfill your expectations.
We thank you for your feedback and your suggestions, as this helps us to improve our standards of service.
Please feel free to contact us, in case you decide to visit us again.
Yours Sincerely,

Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As there are fancy neighbordhoods also there are fancy resorts in Punta Cana.Well, BPC isn't one of them, but if you're thinking on a beach holiday on a budget This place is perfect! Right next to the Hard Rock Hotel you can enjoy the same turquoise warm water and the endless white sand for 80 bucks a day. I also used the 1 dollar tip rule and it's amazing how fast the attitude change. Stayed in bldg 7 partial ocean view in front of the wet bar in the pool.
If you travel with young kids I guess bldg 2 or 3 will be better as the Barcy club is on the main floor.
If you get the chance to eat at one of the restaurants with reservations go for Tokio as fresh shrimps and generous portions are served here.
Not one complaint regarding the cleanliness of the place however, the stories about lack of hot water written here are true. Best time to get a decent shower with warm water from head to toes are between 7 to 9 pm

Room Tip: Many say bldg 3 but it's located in the main part of the hotel to me it's busy and noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Barcelo Punta Cana, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all thank you for having chosen Barcelo Punta Cana as you Holiday destination. We are happy to read that your recent stay at our resort was overall what you expected .
Please accept our sincere appologies for the hot water issue; we did indeed had a technical shortcoming with our pumping system, which is fixed by now..
Thanks again and will be a pleasure to have you back.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Cana

Address: Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Barcelo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.