We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a freat Resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Punta Cana to your Saves list
Barcelo Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #65 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Still a freat Resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Just got back from this Resort for my 3rd time staying there for 1 week! Once again the Barcelo Puna Cana it is as beautiful as I remembered from my last visit! The weather was great every day and not 1 day or night of any rain. All of the staff people were very friendly and went out of their way to a help in any way possible! The resort is a good 4 star Resort. The ala carta restaurants that I used are rated by the place of order. Tex -Mexican, Paris, and Italian, the meals are not huge but tasted very good. I had a salad, corn soup, seasoned Ribs, with small baked potato and vegs. The white chocolate bottom, with 3 small brownies covered in frozen chocolate syrup was very tastety. I had a shrimp salad, very good duck seasoned pieces with seasoned potato and vegs cooked in wine In the Italian Salad, pumpkin soup, seasoned breast of chicken and ice cream crepes. The buffet was very good and a lot of varieties of meats pasta and fish beef and all the exras too. We had a Steak dinner on the beach for our honeymoon with all the trimings and service was extra nice and kind, also had music playing for our enjoyment only at the beach. Als the Resort gave as a final dinner for repeat customers of steak and lobster special drinks and all the trimings once again!! We had an oceanfront room with great view of beach area and ocean. The shows were fairly good by I would say normal for all inclusive Resorts. Yes Michael Jackson made an appearance 1 night. Only lost $10. on the slots, but went next door to the Hard Rock Casino AND HIT $250.00 on a .18 cent play on the penny machine. Gamble around 3 hrs straight came out $220 still ahead too! The beach is 1 of the best in Punta Cana at the Barcelo Resort always a lot of seating and clean area too. There are no cabanas but plenty of shade under the large and small tree areas at the beach It was cooler because of the moving of the branches and leaves of the trees. There also is great brick oven pizza above the outside Restaurant at the pool with the swim up bar. Heard some peple complain but I really couldn't figure out what they meant. The Resort is not a 5- 6 star Resort so don't expect ratings that you may get at 1 if it is a 4 rated Resort only This is a great place to stay rooms are right at the beach you don't need a shuttle to get there. Food and services were of a high quality by my standards and I travel a lot as I have been to 4 Resort in the last 14 mos. Barcelo's Resorts are a very excellent choice for you money well spent. Got our trip for under $900 per person with everything included (taxes insurance etc. ) A 5-6 star Resort will cost you around$300-350 extra per person ($600-700) a couple MORE!! If that much money means nothing to you then why go to a lower rated Resort then. THIS IS A GREAT RESORT WITH EXCELLENT FOOD. I have been here 3 times out of my 7 trips to Punta Cana.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    1,368
    700
    435
    410
See reviews for
1,336
1,313
119
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had an ocean view room in the prestige class - loved it - our first time ever that we did go to A la carte meals and loved every one of them - Nothing negative to say about this place!! Check in was fast - but no bell boy to bring you to your room - make sure to get the proper instructions to your room at the desk - others had the same problem - a very minor problem in the least. The beach is super - with plenty of shady areas. Staff was very polite - and they have quiet pools as well as pools with activity. About 20 minutes walk from the nearest flea market but venders came to the hotel at least twice during our stay. The merchandise in the boutiques below the hotel have very decent prices - check those out b-4 you check out the vendors. All in all - cannot go wrong with this choice of accomodation. for more info on the location go to the www.guidepuntacana.com

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This isn't the fanciest of hotels but for what you pay, this place was a steal. Its a great location on the beach with plenty of amenities at your finger tips. And its walking distance to the flea market area as well. The food is decent, not award winning, but you wont go hungry, there is plenty to choose from so even the pickiest of eaters will find something to eat. The drinks are plentiful and the staff goes out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. What more can you ask for? Upon check in there is an option to upgrade your room, from other reviews I did read that not all the other rooms have been renovated yet. We did not pay extra and we ended up in a newer room. So you might want to get your room first before opting to spend more just in case. Another con that I found about the hotel was there wasnt a late night snack option. If you missed dinner, then you were hungry until the next day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

make sure you print everything your print confirmation letter and bring it. book everything far in advance you will get a good rate

Room Tip: ocean view , its worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for a few days at the end our trip. We enjoyed the beach and the pools, our room and view were fantastic and the restaurant Paris was very good. Check-in was chaotic and I think they need more staff, the buffet was not great, but I am not a fan of buffets in general. Overall I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The people who complain about this hotel will complain about everything. We went with friends that we often travel with and all four of us agreed about the hotel. Starting with check-in, one room was ready but we got there at 12:30 so had lunch and walked the Beautiful and CLEAN grounds, then took a walk on one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen. When we came back a little later, our rooms were ready. Both of our rooms were directly on the ocean with magnificent views, no problems here.
By the way, one moronic person complained about only hearing Spanish spoken here.
Number one it isn't true, two, your in the Domincan Republic. Last I checked it is a Spanish speaking country. The staff were very friendly at all times!!
This hotel hasd 6 different restaurants and a buffet for those who want to pig-out all day.
The restaurants all had very good to excellent food. We were lucky enough to eat at all of them during our stay. Make sure to get in the Dominican, Paris and Italian restaurants.
We walked the beach 1-2 times every day, it was immaculately clean and no one bothering you (like in Jamaica)
My friend and I took a 4 hour dune-buggy trip. Quite an experience and lots of fun, but only go if you can deal with being covered in mud.
Overall, we all rated the Barcelo Punta Cana a 10 out of 10. Sure you can spend more for fancier places but we found this hotel perfect in every way.
Thank you to the staff at Barcelo Punta Cana for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for oceanfront in buliding 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We've traveled all over the islands and this is the worst resort we have EVER stayed in. Yes some staff members are nice but they don't have much to work with to help you solve problems or issues. We had problems after problems and we are quite easy going travelers!!! All we need is the beach and a clean room. Bottom line...the hotel is filthy dirty...never been really maintained even with the renovated rooms...so you constantly feel like you need to bathe. Here are some problems we had...my husband ate a raw meatball, the cleaning lady had put someone elses toothbrush with ours on the counter (I still don't understand how that could happen), no water to bathe, I got sick from the food and ate nothing but rice and grill cheese sandwiches (the hotdogs are even stale and rubbery!!!) The whole place should be shut down and cleaned-up.

I understand that it is a reasonably priced hotel however I personally prefer to pay a bit more and stay at a place that is clean...this place would never pass a government inspection on food safety and hygiene if it were in North-America!

redeamable points: great views from ocean-view rooms and a fun kids pool when it's not packed with kids on teh weekends!!!

We switched hotels for our second week...we are niow at the Hard-Rock next door and it's night and day in comparisson!!!

do yourself a favor...pay more stay and at a better place...vacations are for FUN and not for problems we have enough of those in our daily lives!

Room Tip: prestige deluxe ocean-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Punta Cana

Address: Arena Gorda Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.