We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent trip back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Bavaro to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Kensington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another excellent trip back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We made a return trip in December 2014 to Royal and again, we were not disappointed. The staff went beyond our expectations with the service they provided. It started from the time we arrived till we left. The Exclusive Concierges and Butlers were asking if we needed anything before we could even request. They always asked if they could do anything to make the stay better. The restaurants (in which we didn't get to eat in all them yet) provided us with excellent food and service (Was great seeing Nilza again, as always your service was beyond.The variety of restaurants to pick from was vast with options to suit every taste. Foods from burger and fries, pizza to fine dining are available. The minor problem in our room was quickly taken care off,with apologies for our inconvenience. The room was cleaned every day, with the staff arriving at least twice a day to tidy up with turn down service done during the evening. We felt totally safe walking throughout the whole resort day or night. There was always a choice to listen to music at night, whether it was in the piano bar or at the beach bar and often live entertainment was provided. You can stay on the Royal (Adult) side to relax or go over to the Bavaro (Family) side of the resort to take part in the planned activities for the day/night. We had a Romantic dinner planned one night on the beach, from the settings overlooking the water to the waiter providing the service, we couldn't ask for anything more. I have no trouble at all returning to Royal and have full intentions of going again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,768
    900
    332
    108
    93
See reviews for
185
2,367
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our trip was from December 6 to 13, 2014

This was our fifth trip to this resort and upon arrival at Catalonia Royal Bavaro we were warmly greeted by Luis Cedano, Food and Beverage Manager and his assistant Ruben. We were escorted to the reception area where checking in was quick and painless with Angela! We received a welcome cocktail and a nice cold cloth to refresh our face and hands. Our room was not available as we arrived at noon so we went to have lunch at the Thalassa Restaurant and received a nice welcome from the hostess Dominga. She was very pleased to see us return and had big hugs for us! Nilza, Naiki, Milados, Yenzi amongst others were very pleasant and took great care of us and any of our requests whenever we were in the Thalassa or the piano bar of an evening.
We were escorted to our room where we were assured it would be perfect as it was being painted. I thought that this was a joke…alas, it was true! We were in Villa 36 in a deluxe junior suite facing the fountains which we requested when booking our trip with WestJet.
Once we settled in, we headed for the beach. We passed Sea Blue where we saw Franklin, Francisco and Lorenzo who made sure to come and say hello and welcomed our return. On the beach, loungers were plenty and there were numerous palapas that had been added since we were there last year, so more shade for those that enjoy it. Zulaney, Yasani, Amarily and Hector were all very pleased to see us arrive on the beach and were very attentive with the service.
Dinner was at Sea Blue where the bbq lobster was delicious. Franklin and Blanca were very pleased to have us visiting again and provided excellent service. Food at all the restaurants on the Royal side was al a carte and wonderful with a lovely presentation and portions were perfect and not spilling off your plate!. We never made it to the new restaurant Tao Cat which served Tai food, but will make sure to try this next trip!
Our first evening we went to the piano bar as we knew Roberto would be working at the bar. When we arrived, he was so happy to see us again! We were introduced to another bartender Andy who was also very pleasant. Jorge Pina was also surprised to see us sitting at the bar and stopped to talk to us too.
Our days consisted of watching the beautiful sun rises and relaxing on the beach taking in the fantastic weather. Our friends here made sure we had the perfect week and were constantly checking to make sure we had everything we needed. There was only 2 issues…neither of which CRB has any control of…one … mother nature has taken a toll on the beach since September of this year where they have lost approximately 50 to 60 feet of beautiful white sand, the ocean has risen which brings in a lot more sea weed and the swimming area is quite rocky and hard on the feet! The second issue was that we were only there 7 days! We did not want to leave this wonderful place we consider our second home. I was reminded of something by Luis Cedano as I was leaving…”if you never leave, you won’t return”.

I read reviews regarding timeshare sales people bothering the guests but we were never approached nor bothered by them but I did see some guests talking to them

We will most certainly be returning to visit our Dominican friends…our second home, Catalonia Royal Bavaro…this is the place to visit if you want a quiet, relaxing all inclusive vacation with wonderful food and excellent service.

Room Tip: Villa 38 and 36 are closest to the beach. The delux rooms with their own pools are spectacular also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed 10 days here. The staff was excellent, especially my room cleaning staff and Grismary in the rear restaurant. I thought the hotel's website photos were an accurate display of the property. Staff spoke English well enough for me. More than half the guests were from Europe (Italy, Spain, Germany etc), so there was a nice international feel to the place.

Usually, the food was excellent. And, I loved that they served it individually rather than buffet style like other resorts. So, dinner was always hot and freshly made. That said, the lunch hamburgers and Cajun chicken sandwich (some other menu items) in the rear pool restaurant were of very poor quality (processed meat like McNuggets) and almost inedible. They should work on standardizing the food quality which was typically very good. Also, when sushi items were served in the hotel’s front restaurant, it was very very bad and made with mostly rice and vegetables and almost no fish (canned muscles and thin smoked salmon if lucky). If they can’t make it well, then they should just keep it off the menu. Guests would have a better food experience as a consequence. Its a shame, since there is so much on the menu among the four restaurants which is really very excellent and tasty. Fortunately, staff was always pleasant and willing to serve multiple items on the menu without a second thought. So I was able freely experiment and enjoyed my dining experience. Again, I found most of the menu was really great (like the fresh fire-grilled lobster).

While the restaurant waiters were friendly (exuberantly), in my 10 days they never once ensured that my water glass was kept topped up at any meal. Once they took an order (a too slow process) and served, waiters generally completely ignored guests. Better tips didn’t improve the level of attentiveness, either. So, restaurant staff really needs additional training in at least keeping water glasses full, not to mention the wine. But again, they were very friendly and dining was enjoyable.

With respect to the bars: I was impressed that they stocked top shelf liquor and the drinks menu was eclectic and every drink was always well made. But, is there a tonic shortage in DR? If I would ask for two plain tonic waters I would be told they could only give me one! Bizarre. But bartenders were generous with serving multibles of anything else and always with a smile. (A vodka or gin and tonic would earn a frown, though.)

My room was spacious and cleaned several times daily. Wonderful. The hot water and water pressure was superb. Soap and hair cleaning products were always kept well stocked. The air conditioner worked well and there was even a wifi router in myroom! Room mini bars were kept well stocked with beer and usual mixers Pepsi, 7-Up and Fanta (of course, no tonic).

The pool was keep meticulously clean as were all the grounds. Gym weight training equipment could be modernized. Nice golf course which was not at all crowded like other resorts.

I had a beautiful and relaxing holiday and would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool- or fountain-facing room. From what I could see, the rear rooms got little sun and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our vacation. There some little problem when we got to the room. The phone are not working . We ask a lot of people for help , they will tell you 5 to 10 minutes but nothing happen . So I decided to go to front desk and they will fix it but didn't happen that day. The following day after we spoke to our Expedia representative. Mr. JOSE he spoke to the front desk and they fix it right away. We really appreciate the help he did to us. The people who want you to be a member , they really pushy and wasting our time . The restaurant are very good especially the Thalassa restaurant and staff there are very nice , but the thai restaurant i order pad thai but it was salty and taste bad .We really enjoy especially the beach area. Over all, even we got the small problem encountered, I'm still coming back.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro from december 13th to december 20th. We were in the villa 3402 with a private pool. The room was fantastic. We didn't have any problem with the A/C or with cables hanging from the ceiling. The private pool was awesome, the bed was good,but the pillows were a little too soft for my taste. The staff was FABULOUS. The bartenders Andres, Edward and Daniel were the best. Go see Daniel at the Sea Blue Bar and ask for a ``Daniel Love`` cocktail, it's so good!!! We had a great time with Stalin & Anderson at the Thalassa for the breakfast. For lunch, the snack bar at the Sea Blue was the best. A special thank you to: Blanca, Malenny, Grismery, Cecilia, Juan, Jose, Franklin, but especially to Leonel and Rony. All the restaurants were good, but the Cata Tapa was my favorite. The food was excellent and the staff was attentive to our request. Keep up the good job: Enmanuel, Victor, Lenin, Carlos, Luis and the beautiful Angelica. The beach was nice, with a lot of chairs to relax, but the water was awful due to the seaweeds. If you want to relax by the pool, the infinity one is the place to be. We had a great time and hope to see everyone soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are in day 2 of a 14 day "vacation". We are so disappointed. From the aged Lobby with furniture picked from the garbage dump to the totally non English speaking staff and food handlers sticking their fingers in their mouths and the disgusting beaches with seaweed blocking the entrance to the ocean, we are going insane! Some staff are very sweet. But others are not so much. It is a very poorly run resort and NOT the 5 star hotel we had paid for. We will never return to this hotel. We paid a premium for an adults only experience but there is nothing to do here. We find ourselves gravitating to the family section which, by the way, is much grander than ours.
The golf course is fine. Nothing special.
Don't bother with this one. Keep looking. The grand Bahia principe in Jamaica was our last trip a few months ago. Catalonia management please take note...that was a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitchener,ontario,canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have been coming here for five years and the staff is amazing.

The welcome with a fruit drink and cold towel never gets boring. Our room was ready and so was our dryer sheets that we stuck in the vents. No matter where you go you need these on the islands.

We tried 3/4 restaurants and all were good. The ribs at the tapa cata restaurant are great. We usually went to the other family side for breakfast as the selection was better. Anytime you order fish it's always great tasting at any restaurant.

We went on the adventure buggies and you need to wear a swimsuit. You will get covered in mud but it's fun. Bring a small bag for your towels and a waterproof camera. There are lockers for free on site. There are showers at the end of the ride as well. They also stopped at bavaro beach and the waves were great

CONS

It's getting loud as more younger people are coming here. Listening to them yell and scream from the hot tubs is not good.

Having the spa beside the hot tub and getting a massage makes no sense.

PRO

Food was great and the chef at the Japanese restaurant was entertaining. Luis Ramirez was his usual amazing self at the Italian Restaurant. This guy never stops and is always smiling. Not sure why Catalonia is not using this man in a better way. He would be an awesome supervisor. Cecilia is now working at the sea blue and she is so funny. Again she is always smiling

We liked coming to this hotel but the quiet feel is no longer an option on the adult side anywhere near the pool.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.