We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Bavaro to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Waverly, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our third trip to this resort in the past 12 months.....twice on the Royal side and once on the family side. Great resort with grilled lobster for no additional fees which was available every night but one while we were there. Rooms were great, housekeeping was great, food was great, and groundskeepers are constantly working on pools, landscaping, etc. Beach has eroded considerably since last year at this time but it's still beautiful! Room service available 24 hours a day. All rooms are suites and mini fridge is very well stocked. Leave a couple of dollars a day and the housekeeping staff will go above and beyond for you. There isn't a restaurant on the property that we can say anything negative about. Buffet is varied, fresh, and very good! Try the wonderful Catalonia Royal for a quiet and children-free vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,799
    923
    341
    112
    98
See reviews for
191
2,418
52
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I liked the hotel. The resort, like some of the resorts, is actually two different hotels. We were in the Adults only and we get to share the facilities with the other side which is family oriented. They could NOT use our side which was nice to not have kids running around. I liked the peace and relaxation without hearing kids crying and screaming. The adults side there seemed to be two "areas" that people gravitated. The resort is long and narrow and there was a "half" that seemed to gravitate towards the pool and pool bar. Then there was the beach area that had it's own bar, too. The area was separated by a nice reflecting pond.

It is an all inclusive with food and drink included. I found that the drinks were NOT that weak like some of the reads I had seen. The different bars were varied. There were 5 different "casual elegant dress" and one large buffet place. This is where I did not give the 5 stars.. we went to the American Steak House themed restaurant and the food sucked there. The rest of the locations were great.

People who worked there... VERY NICE. Everybody would smile and say hi to you.

I would recommend it for those who like the all inclusive types of places.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are facing the pool... try to get those... nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

From the beach to swimming pool, restaurants and bars, everything is beautiful and the staff is great! Service is fast and always with a smile! I recommend it highly. My special thanks to Ruben Bento, Jorge Salas, Ernesto, Rigard Cruz, Julia de la Rosa, Julio, Dominga Payano, Moise Coronado, Ambrocia Santana, Stephanie Guerrero, Jeison and Maximo, our "mayordomo".

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Gonçalo B,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your holidays, we content to read you had the best holiday experience. our staff was delighted to provide an excellent service, especially Ruben Bento, Jorge Salas, Ernesto, Rigard Cruz, Julia de la Rosa, Julio, Dominga Payano, Moises Coronado, Ambrocia Santana, Stephanie Guerrero, Jeison and Maximo, we assure you they will be congratulated! We look forward to your second visit.

Best regards.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is a good hotel . We only stayed five days at the beginning of our trip but we should have stayed longer. Not that the hotel is excellent, far from it . It is a fair 4 stars Hotel. Nothing more . Nothing less. As all the reviews have already spoken , the beach isn't great. True, it is not as pretty as the Bavaro Beach. Do not worry, though. It is pretty enough. Will probably be one of the nicest you will visit anyway . Great food and you can eat grilled lobster without addicional fee almost any day at the beach restaurant .

Some tips : 1 ) try the tapas restaurant ONE a day , 2) If you can, stay in a bagalô; 3 ) do not pay the additional 20 USD per lobster (at the beach restaurant you can eat without additional fee and you can eat it grilled, the tastier way; 4) try the juice bar near the beach (sensacional!); 5) bring notes of USD 1 (the front desk really makes hard to change and tipping is essential.


Negative : 1 ) it is not safe to run on the beach outside the confines of the hotel (though very beautiful) - the guards themselves will persuade you to stay confined to the Hotel Zone; 2) Room is not as comfortable and it shoul be and may be lacking a bit privacy, especially if you stay near the pool area, as in our case; 3) two blackouts during our stay - not sure if this is common or if it was just bad luck; 4 ) breakfast is good but gets boring after third day.

Despeite that, Hotel is very good. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area and please try to get a private residence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Pardal_Brasil,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your valuable feedback; we take important note for consideration. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our restaurant and bar services, especially Cata Tapa and Maloo Bar. Once again thank you, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a second visit.

Best regards.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelhurst, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just returned from 8 glorious days. After reading so many neg. reviews went with low expectation and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms where big, grounds beautiful, food excellent, drinks wonderful, very quiet and relaxing. We ate at the Japanese and Steakhouse twice and had good food, steak and lobster at Sea Grill was excellent as well as there lunches. Indulged in a 2 hour spa treatment and was wonderful. Found a new favorite drink "dirty monkey" if you like chocolate and banana you must try. The piano bar and Japanese bartenders make them the best.

The major neg that may hinder me from ever returning. Free rides to cigar and chocolate factory. I called front desk to set up ride and we where taken to this scary market not the correct place we asked driver to take us to correct place and of course he didn't understand. We had been at factory on a tour and knew we where at the wrong place. Finally made it to the right place but cost $30 to get back to hotel. Here's where it got worse. Asked to speak to GM everyone acted like what's that, finally got them to understand manager on duty. Well that person was not available but was asked to write down what happened, which I did, and no one ever got back to me. That really set me off. I wasn't asking for anything or expecting anything just wanted to make sure it was completely understood what happened. Being that my brother is a GM at a huge hotel and has been around to many place and filled in as a GM around the world I know I should be able to request to speak to GM or manager on duty anytime day or night and get a quick response especially when a person feels there safety has been compromised. This completely turned me off.

Couple of tips: ask for upper floor, if you go to market off resort they can be pushy but the lady that gives massages for $30/hour is wonderful. We went 4 days for massages. Much cheaper than resort.

For those that say little English spoken need to think where they are at and realize everything isn't centered around USA. We are in their country where Spanish is primary language. Maybe you should learn their language. The hotel had 1/2 European guest that don't speak English so why should everyone else. Never had trouble communicating our needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Mjc12771,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro, and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. It’s wonderful to read you were surprised with our services and enjoyed our facilities to the fullest. We are sorry to read the inconvenience presented with the “cigar and chocolate factory”, but we must clarify the resort does not offer transfer services, upon guest request our staff will gladly arrange a taxi pick up, we apologize for this inconvenience and ensure you we are always at your disposal for assistance. We are glad overall you had a pleasant holiday, it would be a great honor to welcome you back for a second visit, being our main goal to exceed your expectations.

Best regards.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We booked a spontaneous, last minute trip to Punta Cana staying at the Royal. We did little research before coming here so I was a little nervous. Our main goal was to escape our jobs, the brutal minnesota winter & relax.
Our thoughts:
- We received a free upgrade upon arrival, which was really nice. We stayed on a second floor with a nice view of the fountains. The rooms are huge and we loved the shower. Our room did smell a little musty, but the maid service did a wonderful job cleaning our room and making it smell fresh.
-The service is outstanding. Kind, wonderful wait staff. My husband and I never had to wait for a drink, which was surprising traveling during spring break time:) People were yelling from the pool asking for waiters to serve them- so rude in my opinion. It's pretty easy to walk 15 feet to the uncrowded bar and get it yourself & jump back in the wonderful pool. The front desk also called our room x2 asking about our stay and if we needed anything, which I thought was very kind.
-The grounds are so beautiful. The infinity pool is gorgeous. The pictures on tripadvisor do not do justice.
-Always easy to get a great spot at the pool or the ocean front. It was very easy to get a cabana- just get out of bed a little early
-We love having access to the Catalonia family side and I would have no problem staying on family side except during spring break. The pool on the family side reminded me a crazy MTV Cancun spring break episode. I felt bad for families and couples hoping to relax- the family side was taken over by obnoxious spring breakers. It did make for some fun people watching tho but I was more than happy to walk back over to the Royal.
- The food was a hit or miss. We loved the fresh fruit and pancakes served at the breakfast buffets. The smoothie place by the ocean was delicious. The piano bar served yummy cappuccinos. Sea Blue had nice lunch options- loved the cali roll. However, many times our food was served cold or it was tasteless. It was hard for me to complain because the wait staff were so nice. We ordered room service twice. The first time our food was cold and soggy. Second time it was very tasty & warm, Truthfully, we didn't come to Punta Cana for the food- we came for the sun, beach & fruity drinks:) But improving the food would be a huge plus.
-The people selling excursions on the beach are so rude & pushy. "no thank-you" does not work for them- They followed my husband and I down the beach pushing excursions many times. It was very uncomfortable.
Overall, I would recommend this resort to my family, friends and those wanting to get away from it all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

You have to know Spanish! There are no English speaking here. The rooms are nice and the grounds are well kept. The food is not great and the restaurants are just okay. They are not guest focus - don't expect to be catered too. I heard NO more than I cared for and was very disappointed. Poor service and food was horrible. Not a good first impression of DR.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Keekoo F,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your comment on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed to read we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We apologize for the language barrier; we inform you staff strives to continuously improve their language skills, being always our main goal to provide a one of a kind service for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to prove ourselves in the future.

Best regards.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.