We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Bavaro to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mississauga, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“1st visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at the Royal from Jan.19th to the 29th and had a very relaxing, enjoyable time. Only about 20 minutes from the airport. My wife is gluten sensitive and allergic to cream and milk. Yet our server on our first night, Carlos Aguilera, made sure we were well looked after for the duration of our trip. (Carlos and Emmanuel were both very helpful. Servers are rotated around the different restaurants but these two were working at the pool side restaurant which was serving thin crust pizza for lunch and tasty Thai food for supper, when we left). We found that all the staff were polite and friendly and if given a chance, would generally go out of their way to answer our requests. Food was very good to excellent at the four restaurants and the barbecue on the beach. We did not try out the variety of restaurants at the sister family resort.

Our room in the 44 block was large and well maintained. They provided bath robes and slippers which was a nice touch. We met a couple from Canada, who was staying at the resort for their 8th time and had plans for future visits.

The beach is nice to walk along as it only borders on two resorts in this area. The beach was not overcrowded in front of our resort.

Golf is included at a nearby 18 hole golf course. Just have to rent a cart. Very good value.

We tried a couple of excursions: the dolphins and the safari outback adventure. Enjoyed both of them.

Room Tip: If one has a favorite location on the beach, you might want to claim it by 7:30 am that day. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear BRB53,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your excellent comments regarding our services, it proves us we have achieved our goal of exceeding your expectations; it was Enmanuel and Carlos pleasure to assist you. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,903
    982
    375
    122
    101
See reviews for
204
2,575
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jarvis
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at the Royal from January 26 to February 2 and once again loved every minute of it. Check in was very quick and the all of the front desk employees were friendly and polite. We had a beautiful room in Villa 38 which is about half way between the 2 pools. There was no musty odour (which others have complained about) and the AC worked very well and our room was very clean.The grounds, as in the past, were immaculate.

We golfed the 18 hole course, which is a short 5 minute drive away, and my only advice to anyone thinking about golfing is to bring your own clubs as the rentals were wore out 10 years ago.

The food at the Royal and at the family side of the resort were excellent with our only complaint being that the service at the Thalassa restaurant, for dinner, was extremely slow.

We found the entire staff at both resorts to be very polite and friendly. We noticed that all staff would always smile and say Hola to you went you met up with them.

From Stephanie, at the Concierge desk, to Carlos,Genoveva and Daniel at the pool bar, to Roberto at the beach bar, we could not have been treated any nicer and had any better service.

If you are looking for a nice, quiet and relaxing vacation then we highly recommend this resort as we are already counting down the days until we return January 2015.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Kim and Gary B,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for your trust in our services. We appreciate you choosing us for the third visit. It’s a pleasure to read our room accommodations and restaurant varieties were of your enjoyment; we take good note about your feedback regarding the Thalassa Restaurant in order to make sure tha we correct this matter. We will make sure Stephanie, Carlos, Genoveva Daniel and Roberto receive your congratulations.

Kind regards

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We arrived on January 31 in mid afternoon. After being dropped off by the airport shuttle bus on the wrong side, we grabbed a drink and were quickly golfcarted to the Royal side.

Check in was quick and easy. We tried for free upgrades (I even brought a copy of my marriage license), but no dice.

We stayed in building 46, the rooms are exactly as they appear on the internet and in the photos. Lovely really. Beds were comfortable, but a king sized bed needs more than 2 pillows, you can call for extras (look in the bedside table for the ext).

Food - WONDERFUL. I seriously, and I repeat, seriously wonder what you eat at home if you complain about the food here.

--------------{(side note - beef - mediocre ask for rare you'll get it medium; lobster - terrible (Caribbean lobsters are NOT maritime lobster)}


Drinks - top shelf, liquor available, Clamato juice Caesars poolside. Wonderful. Presentation of all drinks was equally wonderful and the bartenders put a lot of effort into everything they do.

The weather was wicked hot, so the sandflies/no-see-ums were not an issue and I am usually very adversely affected by them.

My only forewarning to visitors --- We were asked to attend a meeting in the lobby with Estacie. When I got there she tried to book lunch with us and wanted to sell me a 'share' of the resort?!? After politely declining with her it was the only time we were approached... on the Royal side that is.

Later...
We went for a walk around the family side and were stopped 3 times in less than 10 minutes regarding joining the president's club?!?! Yeh. Not impressed. I am anti-timeshare/how to save $ on my next vacation, I do not want to be sold to, if I were so inclined, I would inquire.

Aside from the timeshare piece.. I can't complain about anything, other than the fact that reality set in when we had to come home.

/
Have a great day and happy travels
our family motto... "living for today, tomorrow and our next vacation."

Room Tip: The pool suites are completely overrated, they do not face the sun during the day and you'll nev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Amarillis,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor, we are glad to confirm you had a great anniversary holiday. It’s a joy to read you found overall our restaurant and bar services wonderful; we will share your comments with our Chef. We hope to welcome you back soon at Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Best regards

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Me and my girlfriend planned an all inclusive 2week holiday here back in november 2013, and on arrival we wasnt disappointed, we was greeted with smiling faces and a warm welcome by the hotel receptionists even given a complimentary cocktail while we waited to check in (bonus).
First impressions was good, nice decor in lobby, piano bar in the corner thumbs up we thought! It had a nice evening vibe as that was the time we checked in. check in took about 10mins after that we was given are gold wristbands and shown to are room.
What you get as your room is exactly what you see on the web or brochure if not that little bit better,
Lovely and spacious and that 4 poster bed wow 10/10.
At the hotel you have your swim up pool bar area which we spent afew days at but we just loved chilling on the beach 5mins walk from that pool also by the beach you have another pool area with 4 poster sun beds (nice!).
FOOD was lovely and fresh only downside to the food is its pretty much the same during the day, at night its a different story have to recommend the pork ribs at the tapas restaurant, best we've ever had.
DRINK was ok as its all inclusive dont expect premium alcohol, cocktails where nice but can get too heavy their local beer is average.Wine you have to pay extra, a bottle of red will set you back around $25.
Most of the entertainment is located at the sister hotel next door which you can use, where you'll find more bars&restaurants local markets on a weekend, the good thing is residents of that hotel can't use the facilities of the royal bavaro so expect your stay here quiet if thats how you want it.
All in all staff are friendly and polite
Hotel is well kept had no issues
Food&drink is good
Beach and pools beautiful
We had a great holiday :-) 9/10



Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your holidays. It’s wonderful to read that you were impressed with our services, facilities, staff and restaurants especially the Cata Tapa. We kindly clarify that we do have wine included (Sardasol – a very nice Spanish wine). We also have wines “a la carte” with extra cost. Surely we will be waiting for your next visit!

Kind regards.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have tried a different resort in a different carribean country every year. We stayed at the Royal for a week in January. Positives; loved the beach, never had a problem finding a great spot, loved the pools, usually a good spot available. No need to rush out and get seats unless you want primo spots. We also loved the 24hr room service. Not many resorts offer this. Negatives; the biggy was the AC in our room in bldg. 42. Every day it broke down. It ruined two nights of our stay as we just slept miserable. Maintenance would come every time and fix it everytime only to have it break down again. Finally had to get a room change. Management was very polite about it and tried to make up for it by offering a credit but the damage was done. Its not something you want to deal with when you are only there for a short time.

The people: Jenni, the concierge was spectacular. She made sure we had everything we needed including arranging champagne for our anniversary and a special dinner. Too bad it was ruined by the AC. She was great though. Management made a real effort to make things right once they understood the problem.

The food: really liked the cookouts on the beach. Food was good. Desserts were great. Beef was good for the carribean. Service was very slow. Yes I know its island time but I would rather be sitting by the pool than waiting for our food.

The resort: We thought the grounds were very nice. Had a nice mix of older and younger people. Nice mix of different cultures. Drinks are weak unless you get Eddie. Nice mix of fun atmosphere and quiet relaxation.

All in all it was nice stay just didn't like dealing with the AC issue for 4 days. Should have been done on day one. We actually score it 3.75.

Room Tip: stay on adult side, stay away from bldg. 42. stay on pool side. stay on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Jan. 2014. From the beginning resort staff acted like we were bothering them if we asked a question & with the exception of 2 employees, all were rude. Wi-Fi only worked occasionally, hot water went out a few times & electricity even went out. Bed & pillows smelled like mildew. The robe they put in our room smelled so bad it actually made the entire room stink! Food was fair. We had to stay 2 extra days because of the flight cancellations in Atlanta so we stayed at 2 other resorts in Punta Cana. That's how we know that there are other resorts with food, rooms & staff much better!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We recently stayed for a week at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro with friends having had a 2 day delay in our trip due to a snowstorm in New York City. Our arrival at the Punta Cana airport was much more chaotic than what we experienced two years ago. It took quite some time to get through customs. The Catalonia is close to the airport so that made up for our long wait at the airport. My husband and I have stayed at the Catalonia resorts in Mexico and agree that the Royal Bavaro is probably the nicest. We were given large two bathroom suites upon our arrival (not sure if that was because of our delay or not) but could only stay there for 3 nights. On the 4th day we had to move to the Junior Superior Suites that we originally booked. We were pleased with both rooms. The food was typical all-inclusive fare but we especially liked the Japanese and Sea Blue. We had a great waiter at Sea Blue (Jose A. ?) who was a lot of fun. The beach is beauitful and they have terrific beach service (Hector Ramierez was awesome). My husband and I ordered room service for breakfast one morning and it was great. I also had a massage and was very happy with that, too. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.