We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week of R&R” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Bavaro to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful week of R&R”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I visited Catalonia Royal Bavaro December 1-8, 2013 with my husband and parents. We went to celebrate my father's 60th birthday. We arrived around 2pm and our room was not ready so we had lunch at the buffet. The food was decent. We were then taken to our room (4004) which was located near the spa and pool. We were right in the middle of the resort which was great. It was a short walk to the lobby, pools, beach and restaurants. The staff was always friendly and the food in the restaurants was delicious. I found that the buffets were the least satisfying, but lunch and dinner were always top notch. We ate at Cata Tapa, Sea Blue (lunch and dinner) and the Mexican, Japanese and Steakhouse next door. I was satisfied and full after every meal! I did not drink much alcohol so I cannot comment much on those drinks, but the fresh juice from Maloo (the juice bar on the beach) was incredible as well as the banana juice at breakfast. I was truly afraid after reading food reviews that I would also be disappointed, but I wasn't the least bit! We ordered room service one night and it was there in a timely manner.

Our room was always clean and comfortable. We used the pillow service and our pillows were delivered right away. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioner worked well. The only warning I have about the rooms is that there didn't seem to be any hot water. The water would get warm and stay warm throughout my shower, but it never got hot. I think that is just something I'm spoiled with and was okay not having that luxury for a week.

The beach was incredible! I was afraid the seagrass would be an issue for me, but it wasn't. The beauty of the beach was so breathtaking that the seagrass didn't bother me at all. It was EXTREMELY windy every day so there was a lot of sand being blown around. We were always able to find loungers, regardless of what time we arrived, and there was plenty of shade for everyone. Once the sun went down, the mosquitoes came out and they were viscous. My husband & I went to the beach our first night there and were eaten up so we didn't go at night the rest of our trip, but the sky was full of so many stars that it was worth it. I took some homemade bug spray that I hadn't used before we went but used the rest of the trip and it seemed to work well while we walked around at night.
We walked down the beach to the shopping center and the shop owners were pretty persistent, but I didn't mind too much. They had quite a few shops but most of them had the same items for sale.

If you're considering an excursion, the Outback Adventures Safari was extremely educational and an absolute blast! I recommend this to anyone who's interested in learning about culture and seeing the beautiful country. I posted a review here: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g147293-d2001143-r187277303-Outback_Adventures_Outback_Safari-Punta_Cana_La_Altagracia_Province_Dominican_Re.html

The resort next door was nice and much larger than CRB. We enjoyed the atmosphere of a family resort a few nights but also enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of adults only at CRB. This trip truly couldn't have been better. If you're debating this resort based on some of the negative reviews (I was), give it a chance and decide for yourself. If you're interested in a relaxing couples vacation in absolute paradise, CRB is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear sunshine_valle,

Thank you for your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we appreciate your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to confirm you had a great time for the birthday celebration enjoying our room accommodations and F&B services, especially our Maloo Bar. We extend our apologies for the inconvenience in the room; we assure this matter will be revised with your maintenance team. Once again thank you for your excellent recommendations, it would be an honor to welcome you back soon for your next holidays.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    941
    353
    116
    101
See reviews for
192
2,455
54
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very nice first experience in the Dominican Republic! There were some minor points, but overall we really enjoyed it.

First, the grounds are very nice, the garden is well maintained and the pool areas, reception area and the villas are very clean.

Second, the room itself. Although the room was very clean and well-serviced (towels, mini-bar, fresh flowers daily), we found it was quite dark and a bit damp. For example, after taking a shower, the floor was damp from the condensation. That's probably why many people also complained about the smell..

We thought the food was good, we liked the variety and the fact that no reservation had to be made in advance. Top choices would be the steakhouse and the Spanish restaurant.. Also, loved the juice bar at the beach!! Probably had 5 or 6 of these every day..

In terms of service, we got a very nice welcome and our room and luggage got sorted in 5 minutes, we really didn't have to worry about anything. Overall the staff is friendly, although in the morning it looked like most of the staff working the restaurant are a bit grumpy. Special thanks to Jorge who served us during lunch times at the beach pool restaurant. Very nice guy who gave us the best service we could want!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Laurent S,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, we are glad to read in regards of your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro. We appreciate your valuable comments and suggestions of our room accommodations and facilities. It was our staff pleasure to provide a one of a kind service for your holidays. We look forward to have the opportunity to be your choice in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

What an absolutely fabulous hotel. It was breath taking and the staff are the most friendliest and helpful people we have ever known on any holiday we have ever had. A few people I would like to mention are Nilza Castillo, Bernie, Alfred Louis, Eddie and Domingo our Thomson rep. These are just a few people who made our holiday so easily relaxed and wonderful

Excursions were wonderful and the tour guide George on the Outback Adventure was an absolute HOOT!! A laugh a minute and so full of information. Drinks flowed like water from a tap.The people were so kind to us we felt like royalty!!

Dolphin fantastic again is another wonderful memory and again the staff were very kind and helpful. we will definitely be going there again!!

Room Tip: Don't believe all the negative comments. This place is outstanding!! We stayed on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Angel579,

Thank you for your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro; it’s a pleasure to receive your excellent review. We are honored to read you were impressed with our staff and services, especially from Nilza Castillo, Bernie, Alfred Louis, Eddie and Domingo. Thank you for recommending us, we look forward to your next visit!

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

One year ago and getting the same Villa 3405, thanks to the reservation organizer.

Again we loved the hotel and, sure, the villa, a pity that last day, was negative affected by a very arrogant reception man, unwilling to get and give information about already half day taking reparation of the watersupply from the villa.

I reported you separate about this via an e-mail to Yanire Ramirez.

I hope you will explain the meaning and the importance of the word "Service" to this employee.

Coming back to the good items.

We were happy to see that the situation in the Thalassa bar is now better than a year ago, very friendly and a lot of people are enyoing it.

Compliments for the Cata Tapa restaurant, excellent food and service.
Also in the Sea Blue, were we got the best grilled lobster ever, the service was very good.

Thalassa restaurant:
Here we met again with Carlos Aquilera, really excellent serving, always correct and attent, a real Gentleman.
You knows he is a lookalike with Remy Bonjasky a world champion K1 kickboxing, who,s also called a Gentleman fighter??
And now we met with Julia De La Rosa, also to be mentioned always in a good mood, serving and looking for your needs. We really loved her attitude.
So Thalassa breakfast , lunch and dinner, very good.

One general remark, the beef in your hotel is good but not the excellent quality melting in
your mouth.

So we were happy to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Martinus R,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro. We are delighted to confirm you had overall a nice stay. please receive our sincere apologies for the inconvenience presented, and assured you we will look into this issue to prevent it to occur In the future, being our main goal guest satisfaction. Thank you for your kind words in regards of our restaurant and bar services, especially from Carlos Aguilera and Julia De La Rosa. We look forward to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

It was our first trip after 31 years of marriage! We were so impressed with all the staff !!
We had a ten day stay at this wonderful resort where the staff was so attentive! We enjoyed the food at all restaurant although our favorite was the Toscana (Italian)!! We really appreciated the fruit juice bar on the beach. Yummy mixes made with fresh tropical fruits. That was such a nice touch, especially for me since I do not drink any alcool. My husband also enjoyed it, but is favorite drink was the "Presidente". The only complaint for us non-smokers: there is not a place for us to have a drink, coffee or a meal outside without the second-hand smoke...We wish that a designated seating area (farther away from the entrance/restaurant) would be established so we too as non-smokers can enjoy eating or drinking outdoors.

Catalonia Royal Bavaro has set the standard pretty high for us first timers...

Room Tip: We loved the villa 38. It was midway between the beach and the main building. Our room was 3856, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Firstimers20132013,

Greetings! Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your holidays in Punta Cana. We appreciate you sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor; it an honor to confirm you had such a great experience in facilities. We appreciate your valuable suggestions! We hope to be your choice for your next holidays.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Unfortunately we were very disappointed with our stay at the Catalonia Royal. We stayed from 22/11 to 06/12 and could not wait to leave.

The hotel grounds are fantastic and very well looked after as are the pool areas. The rooms are ok, not 5* standard but very spacious and have a good feel to them.

Now the down side is the staff, we found most of them unapproachable and very rude. Seating in the main restaurant could take up to 40 minutes as half the restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner service. The evening menu did not change once in the 2 weeks we stayed. The service we received at the restaurant by the beach was very slow with all staff watching a baseball game when we ate there and not interested in serving us. We had a waiter very rude to us when we requested water one night in the main restaurant something that was quite astonishing considering water should be filled regularly anyway.

The floor in the room was never swept or washed once in the 2 weeks. We regularly had towels not replaced and some missing. We had bed bugs during the second week and had to have the sheets changed 4 times in 2 days. The hairdryer broke on teh 2nd day which was fixed for it then to spark a few days later, when we reported this to reception they were not interested at all.

We had 2 hot showers during our stay the rest of the time the water was barely warm, a problem that was very evident with most guests.

It took 20 minutes on several occasions to get served at the hotel bar and the clearing service was appalling, we had a coffee cup on our table for over 3 hours before staff cleaned the table.

We made several complaints during our stay all acknowledged by the hotel but nothing was done to correct any of the issues.

All of the issues we had were easily fixed but the staff seem to not be interested. There was a lot of people trying to promote the hotel as a timeshare and this meant that the hotel was pretty much open to the public with many visitors a day wandering round the hotel. I believe that the hotel will not be open to tourists for much longer judging by the big sell for timeshares.

Overall our experience was very poor and we would definitely not return. If you are expecting a 4-5* hotel you will be very disappointed, this is a 3* at best. We met several people with similar complaints and some were worse with leaking ceilings and bigger issues with their rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Bellsham,

Thank you for your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we appreciate your valuable time in posting your review. We extend our sincere apologies for the setbacks presented during your holidays and the inconvenience this has caused you. We ensure you the comments will be revised with the departments involved with high importance to make sure they are corrected. Please know we are committed to exceeding our guest expectations, we hope to have the honor to prove ourselves in the future.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boisbriand, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This Hotel is apart of the other strip, but so more quiet and can be party animal too!!

The employees always smiling and ready to give the best service ever!

The animation team work really hard and always there for you with a big smile.

The room and all the toilette, restaurant, area are very clean.

Room Tip: In the middle, 4242 is good, near the beach and the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Eric S,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor, what a pleasure to confirm you enjoyed our facilities and received the best service from our staff! Thank you for choosing us, we will be waiting for your next visit at Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.