We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IS THE CATALONIA ROYAL, ROYAL ?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Bavaro to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Jackson,NJ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“IS THE CATALONIA ROYAL, ROYAL ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Is the Catalonia Royal, Royal?

Been to the Caribbean 55+ times. Booked with Cheap Caribbean and flew non stop with Frontier Airlines out of Philly at the end of June for 7 nights. Took our own taxi to get to the hotel and back to the airport: which took 20 minuites and cost $30 each way. If you go to a further hotel from the airport it costs $40 and over. Taxi gets you there faster without waiting for other people.

CHECK IN was fast, friendly and informative. We got to the hotel around 11:00am and we checked in our room around 2:30pm. Make sure you take a seperate bag with your swimwear so you can go to the beach and not waste time. The bellboy drove us to our room at 2:30pm with our luggage.
LOBBY...was small and had uncomfortable and worn furniture. no WOW factor here.
GROUNDS..The grounds were bigger than I expected for a 280 room hotel. The grounds were well kept and beautiful. Workers were always working on it to keep it nice.
ROOMS...There were 280 rooms. Building 46 was closest to the lobby and building 36 was closest to the beach. It was a far walk from building 46 to the beach and building 36 to the lobby. They have superior, deluxe, honeymoon suiltes, and villas. The villas have swiming pools outside their rooms. Deluxe and superior rooms have hot tubs in the room. Deluxe is about $200 per person and are closer to the beach. Rooms are big, clean but have a damp and mildew atmosphere....not good for allergies. There is a flat screen TV, DVD player, a clock, a coffee maker and a big shower. All rooms have a balcony with 2 chairs and a table.
HOUSEKEEPING...Room was always cleaned by noon and always did a great job. A pack of Oreos, two packs of peanuts, coffee was left everyday. Only one day clean towels were not left.
PILLOW SERVICE MENU...a nice perk where you could pick different pillow for your liking...for free.
POOLS...2 pools...one with a swim up bar, which was near the lobby. The second pool was an infinity pool, near the beach. Both were big, clean, with plenty of chairs and shade.
POOL BAR......was big, clean and had many tables and chairs and shade. Opened on time, 10am closed at 6pm and had premuim liquor.
BEACH....water was crystal clear with plenty of huts and chairs. No problem getting shade and you don't have to get up to early to get a hut for shade. They also had beach service for drinks on the beach.
BEACH BAR...Suppose to open up at 10am but usually opened up at 10:15 to 10:20am which I found annoying. I'd rather they tell that it opens at 10:20 and open on time. They also ran out of premiun liquor one day and also ice early in the morning ...it took them 20 minuites to get more. Angel, Luis, Yessena and Dominia were friendly, hardworking, and always got your drinks fast.
SEA BLUE RESTAURANT...next to the infinity pool and two steps from the beach. Opens up at 10am for snacks and lunch, only had menu service. The menu had clam chower soup served in a bread bowl, hot dogs, hambergers,wraps, fish with coconut sauce, pork chops, club sandwitches, and different salads. The clam chower was very good. Service was ok and friendly most of the time. Sea Blue dinner starts at 7pm. It was closed while we were there and we were told it would be closed until September because it was because of lack of guests.
SEA BLUE BAR ...Suppose to open at 10am but never opened before 10:15am. Henry needs to be retrained since he left 3 or 4 customers just standing at the bar for 20 minutes at 10am while he was doing something else right in front of them. This bar ran out of premium liquor for 2 days.
TAPPA RESTAURANT...is located near the infinity pool and Sea Blue restaurant. Only open for dinner 7pm to 10pm. No reservation were required. They had 4 seperate groups of tapas and a dinner menu. The pork ribs were great and the veal was awful. They also had grouper and a chicken dish. The chocolate cake was very good.
THALLASSA RESTAURANT...was near the lobby and was open for breakfast ,lunch, and dinner. Breakfast had everything including cavier and smoked salomon. There was a menu for your chioce of eggs. Smoothies and bloody Mary drinks were available. Opened 7am to 10:30am. Lunch was served from 12:30pm to 3:30pm. They had a salad bar plus chef specials on the salad bar which changed daily. The menu consisted of 3 entrees and desserts which changed daily. The steak for lunch was more tender than the NY strip for dinner. Dinner was served from 7pm to 10pm The menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner was posted outside the door for your review. The dinner menu had 2 chef specials and soup each night as well as their regular menu which had steaks, pasta, fish, vegetarian dishes and desserts. You could tell that all the chefs took pride in their food dishes. Most were of good quality ....except for the lobster which cost $20 and my wife got very ill from it and could not eat for the rest of the trip.
ROOM SERVICE... had the best selection of any of the all-inclusive hotels I have stayed in.Breakfast served from 7am to 11am, lunch served from 11am to 11pm. The menu consisted of hambergers, hot dogs, chicken wings, pasta, club sandwiches, soup, salads and desserts. Late night service served from11pm til 7am with a limited menu. All room service was delivered to your room in 30 to 40 minutes by a staff member who got there by bike.
PIANO BAR ...was next to the lobby and the staff was very friendly and fast. Opened up at 10am and on time. Premiun liquor was always available but they run out of Pepsi one night.
ENTERTAINMENT...NONE ,if you want that, you must go next door to the sister hotel.
GUEST SERVICES ...CALLED TWO TIMES DURING OUR 7 NIGHT STAY AND ASKED HOW OR WHAT WE NEEDED AND OFFERED TO BRING SOUP, WATER ,OR SODA FOR MY WIFE WHO WAS SICK IN BED.
MANAGEMENT...was always walking around helping staff and guests. I emailed the GM Joseph C. two times with my request and he answered back with-in 24 hours. He granted all my requests which I want to thank him for that. Louie the assistant manager was all over the hotel watching, helping and making sure everything was running smoothly. I want to thank him for helping me get Pepsi for my wife while she was sick. I would like to the tell the Catalionia upper management that he is ready for his own hotel. The beverage manager Luis, was always around asking if everything was alright. He was very friendly and helpful.

The staff, management, food and beach are above average for an all-inclusive in the DR. Because of some of the flaws with the bar operations and my wife getting sick from the lobster and the mildew, which she is now on medication , I would not stay here unless they get their bar operations in order and only if I could be guaranteed a mildew/musty free room. The Royal is above average but not Royal. I would like to go back so I hope they do so.

If you have any questions please feel free to email me.

Room Tip: Keep your sliding glass open to reduce mildew smell and dampness to a minimum and bring an air fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. foodmanJackson_NJ,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro! Thank you for choosing us for your holidays and for taking your valuable time to share your review in regards of your recent stay.

We are glad to know you were welcome to the resort with an efficient and friendly service; our staff was delighted to assist you. We appreciate your overall comments regarding our different areas and services, we must clarify the upgrade rate for Junior Suite Deluxe is not as mentioned, rates are published at the front desk for any assistance.

We are sorry to read the inconvenience with the opening schedules of the restaurants and bars, we take important note to revise with our F&B manager to make sure it does not repeat.

We are sorry to read the situation presented with our wife, it was our pleasure to always assist you for the better enjoyment and care during your holidays, thank you for your appreciation of our service.

Once again thank you, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future with the goal of exceeding your expectations.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,964
    1,032
    398
    124
    108
See reviews for
215
2,689
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Let me start by saying that we traveled to the Catalonia Royal Bavaro, June 10-17, using Apple Vacations. Let me start by saying that we traveled to the Catalonia Royal Bavaro, June 10-17, using Apple Vacations. We have been going to the Dominican Republic for 10 years now, sometimes twice a year. We love it there!
We flew AirTran, with a straight flight out of Chicago Midway, as it was the only way to get a direct flight to Punta Cana from Chicago. Upon arrival in PC we had no problems at the airport, either picking up luggage, getting our tourist card or going through immigrations. Quick and easy and we were on our way.
Check-in was a breeze, our rooms were ready when we got there, and everyone was so friendly! We were given a refreshing tropical drink when we arrived! Loved it, and drank quite a few throughout our stay but added extra vodka!. Everyone at the front desk, including the concierge, were friendly and helpful. It was about 2:00 PM, at check in, so we stopped for lunch at Thalassa, right next to the main lobby. After lunch we were driven to our room and were quite happy with the accommodations. When we got our things unpacked and went to lock the safe it would not lock, so we called the front desk. 2 people showed up within 10 minutes to fix it, and ended up having to go get us a new one. We were happy with the quick service we received. We also had to request to have our sink fixed as it was draining quite slowly, that was taken care of very quickly also!
Rooms - Large, spacious, and very comfortable. We thought the hammock on the balcony was different but was very relaxing. Now we need one at our house! Loved having the free wifi but did have difficulties with it in our room. One day I took it out on the patio and it worked great, so I just started using it out there. The hammock made it a nice way to relax and stay connected! We did notice that on 4 of the nights, that we were in our room, our power went out between 7-7:30 PM, for about 10-15 minutes. We always have candles with us, (I keep them next to the tub) so I would just light one and wait for the lights to go back on or go outside to walk. We called the first time, to let them know it was out, and after that we just waited for it to go back on. No big deal, but we always wondered why it happened! We did bring an extension cord with, to charge our things, which really helped as there aren't many outlets in the room. Our housekeeper was wonderful and our room was always very clean and decorated beautifully! I hope she knows how much she is appreciated! We did have turndown service also, which is very nice also! Its always great to climb into a freshly pulled up bed!
Food - We ate at Thalassa, and Cata Tapas and loved both restaurants. The only buffet was for breakfast at Thalassa, you ordered your eggs from your server and then went to get the rest of your food. There was also a salad buffet to accompany your lunch, if you wanted it. We loved the Garlic soup with bread and egg, and the Rice and mushroom soup, they were the best soups we have ever had on vacation! Wish we had the recipes. All of the food was great and a real treat! We also enjoyed the 24 hr room service, and wish we had used it more! They were fast and friendly! The Dominican lunch was wonderful! I wish I could have eaten more!
Pools - There are 2 pools, one has the swim up bar and was a little more energetic, and the other was an infinity pool and very relaxing! The best of both worlds. There were no activities at either pool, if you wanted to do that you just go next door to the Catalonia family side. We met alot of nice people in the main pools and in their pool suites walking by!!
Beach - The beach was great! They kept it very clean. We loved taking long walks to the left. One day we saw some beautiful "jellyfish", They had fuchsia heads that looked like a rose bud and bright blue bodies. They weren't real big but did have long tentacles. A few days later while we were snorkeling we saw a much larger one in front of the resort. We were told they were Portuguese Man o'wars. When we looked up jellyfish, on the internet, we couldn't find any pictures of them but when we looked up the Portuguese Man o' Wars, it was what we had seen! Please note that in all of our travels, to the Dominican Republic, we have never seen jellyfish or Portugese Man o'Wars before. We think they probably came from a tropical storm. We usually stick to the pools and walks on the beach, but here the water in front of the resort was very calm and fun to be out in.
We met Marge and her daughter, (informed us about Catalonia on Trip Adviser) at the Managers Cocktail Party we were invited to. That was nice, as we knew we'd be staying at the resort at the same time. Had a nice talk with one of the manager, Adrian. It was really great to have management want to hear your opinions and any concerns. He is fantastic at his job and a great asset to the Catalonia Royal. You can tell that he really cares about his staff and guests.
Drinks - They were never watered down!!! They were very good and had good choices of alcohol. We found the drinks to be much better at the Catalonia Royal side than next door. The bartenders and staff were all so friendly and seemed to really enjoy themselves and had a lot of camaraderie amongst themselves. They were also not selfish with tips, we would tip a bartender and they would say no and who it should go to! That says alot about a persons integrity!
It was nice to not have alot of vendors all around trying to sell us souvenirs and no vacation club sales people.
We did venture over to the Catalonia side a few times to check out the shops and just walk. The shops were nice and the usual resort prices. We saw one show, which we enjoyed. Those people must be given props for all the hard work they do in that heat. They do a good job. We only ate at the buffet for breakfast and the snack bar once. They were fine. The buffet area is huge and crowded. They put us in the preferred dining area, which was nice. Loved the sitting areas at the Catalonia, especially at night. But we loved our quiet side better!!
The Catalonia Royal Bavaro is all about relaxing, from the 24 hr room service to the cheerful employees that work everywhere here. Thumbs up go to the great chefs, the hostess at Thalassa, Dominiga, whose smile brightened our day every time we saw her, Milsa and Yenci, in Thalassa - we loved seeing and talking to you! The bartender Jorge Pina the only one who could make a perfect Caipirina, and all the other piano bar staff, including Manual Fernandez, Yisel Figuereo, Denis Del Rosario, and all of you that I didn't get your names (we did ask them to write their names down for us, but not everyone was able to). The front desk staff, including Jennifer who always stopped to help me, thank you for that! and Jesus and the other yourg lady at the front desk concierge, thanks for helping us! There are so many others that I cannot name but hope that they all know that we appreciated everything. A big thank you must go to the maintenance workers and grounds people also. They do an awesome job keeping everything up.The staff is what makes a resort what it is, without them our vacations wouldn't be so good. And to you Adrian Alonso, Resident Manager - thank you for your time and wonderful staff! And also for that wonderful tropical drink recipe!! I cannot wait to make it. Please make sure your staff knows that we appreciated everything they did for us! I hope I did not miss anything or anyone!
In closing I would like to say that when we booked this resort it was with some trepidation. Once arrived we thought it was too quiet for us, but within less than 24hr we were wowed with the wonderful people we met and ended up wishing we had more time than a week here. It has become one of our favorite resorts! It is not flashy or new but has a feeling of rest and relaxation. It is a hidden gem in Punta Cana! We will be coming back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. conphuzer,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we are glad to read you returned back home with the most pleasant holiday memories.

Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. it was our staff pleasure to provide you a friendly and attentive welcome to our resort and to always promptly assist you with any setbacks presented.

Please receive our apologies for the electricity we had a general problem which our maintenance team worked at soon as possible. We appreciate your overall comments of our services specially the Thalassa restaurant we are glad you enjoyed the variety of meals and fantastic service.

We will be delighted to congratulate and share your comment with our staff! It will encourage them to continue the great work.

Once again thank you, we hope to exceed your expectations once again for your next holidays.
Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Let me precursor this review by saying that my partner and I have travelled a lot for business and pleasure. We chose to take a last minute holiday and absolutely love the beaches in the Dominican, they are bar none, some of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen, so we were quite pleased when I came across the the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. At the time of booking there was no way to book online for one of the private villas in the adults only section. So we took our chances and booked an upgraded suite, knowing full well we would attempt to pay for an upgrade to the villa. Upon arriving, my partner had to sweet talk the lady at the check in desk, and with much persistence, they allowed us to upgrade at the going rate. With all the travelling we have done, we were duly impressed with the overall design and attention to detail. We were the second villa in from the ocean with a beautiful view to the sea on the right, our own private pool and steps away from the adults only pool. The entire space felt luxurious and private, yet available to all the amenities. We quite often would swim in our own pool, or if we felt like meeting other people we would hang out at the adults only pool. The beach was okay, as there was a cement barrier a few yards out there wasn't much movement in the water so that was not the greatest. However the villa more than made up for it. The only reason I would not give this place a five star rating is due to the food. I feel that when travelling food is of the utmost importance, and the food at this hotel was not up to five star standard. Yes I understand that the Dominican is not Mexico and the food is not equivalent to that of North American Standards, however when presenting thematic restaurants with like food one should actually study the area that they are mimicking! We chuckled quite openly when we went into the "Western Steakhouse" restaurant for a steak and they were featuring city pictures of Vancouver and Seattle.... with servers in full Texas regalia....not sure how that relates to Texas but c'est la vie! The food in the buffet was alright, nothing exceptional as well. We did however go to the Italian restaurant twice as it appeared to be the best and most consistent. There was also a very peculiar smell (sewage like) when walking towards the front of the hotel for breakfast, not pleasant at all to say the least! To summarize: the accommodations - villa - were well worth the money at the time (we went in April of 2008) and I felt, that alone was true value for what we paid. The food was mediocre at best, the people and service was always pleasant, and the adults only section was very relaxing. We have quite often stated that if we could build a vacation property near the ocean we would replicate the villas at Catalonia Royal Bavaro as they have truly showcased the Dominican Architectural style to perfection.

Room Tip: Definitely book the private villa, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My boyfriend got food poisoning after dinner at Thassala. Ok, this happens. But there is no excuse for not having a proper door for the bathroom (toilet specifically). We stayed in a deluxe suite, which is large and beautiful, but the door to the toilet stopped several feet short of the floor and the ceiling, providing no privacy whatsoever for bodily functions. How in the world they think this is appropriate for a romantic hotel, I have no idea. I spent a lot of time hanging out on the balcony due to this.

The sheets weren't very nice, not at the level you'd expect from a 3.5 star or higher hotel in the US, not as nice as what you'd get at at a Courtyard Marriott, for example. The pillows were much larger than the pillowcases, so their edges were sticking out. I actually always put double cases on my pillow precisely because of this possibility, so that was my nightmare come to life.

The beach is very shallow, and cordoned off with an underwater pipe, so you couldn't really swim out - and past the pipe, there was serious sea weed growing. Actually, towards the other resort (the non-deluxe side) it was deeper. Some positives: the tapas restaurant was amazing, loved the juice bar (closes at 4pm), liked the lobster, overall very nice and relaxing, the snorkeling (2 hour tour) was great and very worth it, staff friendly and helpful. And I learned a lesson! Before booking a hotel outside the US, make sure you can see a solid door separating the bathroom from the bedroom in the pictures! A small detail like that undoes so much good...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr. Anastasia4412,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, first of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your holidays in Punta Cana and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are disappointment to read we did not achieve your expectations, we are sorry to read the distribution of the bathroom area was not of your preference. Our Deluxe Junior Suites count with a separate toilet area with glass door for our guest’s privacy.

In regards of the room’s sheets and pillows we take note to see with our housekeeping department to provide special attention in this matter.

On Another note we are content to read our Cata Tapa restaurant provided you an excellent dinner experience, as well as our friendly staff.

Once again thank you for your comment; it would be a great honor to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Best regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently returned from a 2 week stay at The Catalonia Royal Bavaro hotel and cannot rate it highly enough. From the moment we arrived to our departure we were treated like royalty by every member of staff we came across. I read a few negative reviews before i arrived and so was unsure of what level of service we were going to receive. However my fears were soon put too rest once i arrived. I have no idea how anybody can complain about this resort. From the drinks to the food to the staff everything is just amazing. I didn't have to worry about any aspect of our holiday and just totally relaxed for 2 weeks.

The staff are some of the hardest working workers Ive ever come across. They will literally bend over backwards for you and they genuinely were one of the highlights of my holiday. The manager should be extremely proud

The resort itself is situated in stunning landscaped gardens which are worked on everyday. It was just beautiful. The room was amazing and had everything we needed. The beach is like something out of a movie. Staff cleaned the beach 3/4 times a day to get rid of any seaweed that had washed up on the shore. I noticed a few people had complained about seaweed on the beach. If you go to a beach resort and find yourself complaining about seaweed on a beach then i think you need to take a long hard look at yourself.

If you want a 5 star holiday featuring bubbly staff, exquisite cuisine, stunning white beaches, great cocktails, amazing swimming pools, luxurious spa facilities all situated in stunning landscaped grounds then look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Carlos B,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, it was a pleasure to welcome you for your holidays!

Thank you for sharing your valuable comment on Trip Advisor. we are delight to read you had an excellent stay from start to end, thank you to our accommodating facilities and friendly staff, we will make sure to congratulate our staff on your behalf.

Thank you for your recommendations! We look forward to create unforgettable memories once again in the future!

Warm regards from the Catalonia Royal Bavaro Team!

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had to think about this review after reading so many reviews from others before I went. We stayed for 8 days in June and had a great time. I'm very disappointed that most of the bad reviews are from Americans who apparently just need to complain about something. For the money you pay for this resort it's a great deal with friendly staff, good service, and good food. Yes, there will always be something you're not happy with but they do the best they can to make you comfortable and happy. I had a bed that was hard but loved my room too much to change it so I dealt with it. Some of the food gives you stomach problems but that's not their fault. yes, one point I agree with everyone that I learned the hard way is don't even brush your teeth with the sink water. The pools are nice, the beach is great and these workers are out there every morning cleaning and tending to the grounds and that is more than I can say for anywhere else. They are very friendly and say hello every time we walked past them. The restaurants of course you are not going to like the food at all of them but you can find something that you can eat at all of them. Never can say you don't get enough food here. Drinks are plentiful and the bartenders are friendly. Our favorites are at the pool swim up bar of course where we spent every afternoon. This is a quiet place and you can go over to the other side for entertainment as we did a few nights. We didn't have a problem with early nights as we were in the sun all day long. There were times you don't find a palapa at the beach or a bed at the beach but you can always find something somewhere. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for 8 nights and met wonderful people both staff and guests. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. lfixmeek,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your holidays in Punta Cana and for taking your valuable time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

We are content to read you had a great time and received a friendly and accommodating service from our staff. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience presented, we are glad to know it did not affect overall the enjoyment of your holidays.

Thank you for your appreciation of our staff work, thank you for your comments, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went to Catalonia Royal Bavaro for a 6 day vacation. This was a nice resort . Wasnt the newest or fanciest by far but it was not bad. It looks a little older, compared to other resorts. Our luggage was unpacked by the doorman and brought to out room. We checked in, someone brought us drinks in the lobby and it was on. Room was in middle section, not too far from pools, restaurants, and beach. But seems everytime we we walking Wimberto was driving by and offered to take us where ever we needed. I mean everytime. All of our servers in the restaurants were on their game. It was different than American dining. You could see their team work. Yenci got our drinks in Thalasa, and then Charlier would take order, and maybe someone else would bring it out. Food was so so . I wanted Dominican food so, we had to go outside into city to find that. But service was great. Then we ate at Sea Blue I think Lorenzo Lizanno was manager and our waiter team was Stalin del Rosario Mejio (long name) and Jeison Buca. Again great service but food kinda sucks. I mean but this was all restaurants. Once at tapas order creme brule that was not chilled so what I got was warm and runny. U know ? Just wasnt there. But I mean the mexican food was good, buffet had some good stuff. BEach was nice . Jennifer the Concierge was nice and Yinna and idk other girl with at front desk.with glasses with tight black pants. You should ask for all these waiters and make sure you see these other people. GOSH ALL Of the staff was sexy. They probably dont even know it. Female staff . Im coming back Free drinks at bar with Denise was cool watching Heat cheat to another championship. Room service was cool too, the maids kept our rooms clean and full of towels. My only complaint was food quality. Hire a company to come in and make that happen and your resort will be top notch. Also maybe an activity person in adult pools. Ummm Humming birds, wood peckers, Coconuts, all sorts or birds to see. and i look to return.

Room Tip: you wont spend all time in room. just get what u need,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. CoreyKHouston_Texas,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we appreciate you choosing us for your holidays in Punta Cana and for sharing you valuable post on Trip Advisor.

We are content to read you had a pleasant stay and received the most efficient service from our staff, especially Winberto, Yensi and Charlie.

We are sorry to read our food services were not of your expectations, we apologize for the discontent, and we do take important note to pass on to our kitchen staff in the restaurants mentioned.

We thank you for your overall feedback and look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.