We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Bavaro to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thank You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The employees were incredibly friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful time!! The restaurant and room service were unexpected and incredible. Although, the weather was windy and overcast throughout most of the trip. We were able to warm-up in the jacuzzi. We can not wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,900
    982
    374
    122
    101
See reviews for
203
2,572
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We flew down with sunwing and had no problems at all. Make sure you get there the full 2 HRS ahead of time as the lines are long!!! They get you through quickly but its long and you don't want to be stressed at the start of your vacation!

Transfer to the hotel was great as this resort was only about 20 mins from the airport and you never heard the planes!!. We had never been to the Dominican before but Loved it We had been to Jamaica and Mexico before and didn't care for either. We didn't feel safe in Mexico and found although the atmosphere was relaxed the workers in Jamaica had a lot of attitude! We WILL definetly be going back to Dominican and will most likely head back to the Catalonia Royal as we loved it! The" other " Catalonia was much much larger and was just across the path. Its worth it to walk around the whole resort on the first day! Theres a lot to see.

DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR... go down to the beach on the first day, have a glass of champagne and get a message by the wonderful ladies down there that work for the hotel but in the hut by the juice bar! They are amazing, and we loved every minute of the reasonable amount we paid!

FOOD: I am a picky eater and found something at ever restaurant! The food could have been improved a bit but the service at all of the restaurants was just amazing! 24HR Room service was great! The buffet on the other side has nice lunch stuff especially if you just want a salad. Sea Blue was great though all the time! Order the Lobster at Thalassa! Take advantage of the premium liquor and make sure you ask for it!

ROOM: Our room was great. Nice and beachy! The beds were fantastic and comfortable! I'm a very light sleeper and literally slept through every night so that says something. The pillow menu is a nice touch! It did need a bit of a TLC but you expect that at all of the all inclusives. the furniture was all very nicely taken care of. DO NOT DRINK TAP WATER!! we even brushed our teeth with the bottled water! you can even order bottled water at the bars. We were in building 38 and loved it because we were half way between the beach and the lobby area.

BEACH/POOL: Marijimama's (or however you say it) are awesome but have one, wait a bit, then have another because they will hit ya! snorkeling was fantastic!!! Take your own stuff down if you have it because its well worth it! We took our own stuff down but there is stuff to rent. Butler service on the beach/pool was great. They could have come around a little more then they did but in all fairness it was very busy on the beach! The infinity pool was beautiful! You can walk for literally hours if you wanted to which we loved! They cleaned the beach everyday literally 4 or 5 times!

ENTERTAINMENT/DISCO: The people were so nice there but the entertainment needed some improvement. The cirque de soliel inspired night was great though. Disco needed a better DJ in my opinion but we still had fun. Beach party's were a lot of fun!!

SERVICE; We had no problems with anyone on this resort. We found everyone to be so nice! We literally didn't walk by anyone that didnt say "hola!". It was refreshing after Mexico and Jamaica! It looked as though this resort provided accommodation for the employees in buildings that were a short walk from the hotel. you only saw them on the way out. We really loved this as it looked as though they actually took care of the workers! I think that's why all of the workers looked genuinely happy!

Room Tip: we were in building 38 and liked it as it was central to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mr./ Mrs. cpw170,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your holidays in Punta Cana.

We are content to receive your valuable comment on Trip Advisor! It’s a pleasure to confirm you had an excellent holiday experience from start enjoying you spa services; we appreciate your overall comments regarding our F&B services and room accommodations, providing always the best tool for improvements.

We are content to know our staff was always friendly and attentive for your holidays creating unforgettable memories.

Once again thank you and we do hope to welcome you back for your next holidays in Punta Cana.

Kind regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from 5 Days in Punta Cana. We chose this resort because it is Adults Only and we were not disappointed! It was very quiet and never too crowded. We did go venture over to the other side a few times and enjoyed everything over there too, but we were happy to get back to our side. The rooms were really nice and kept clean! The staff works so hard to keep this resort looking great. We went Scuba Diving and used the staff on site (ScubaAquatic) and it was an amazing experience!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Mr./ Mrs Vernclement,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your holidays. We are delighted to read you found in our services a relaxing setting as well enjoying the best of both worlds at our sister resort. It was our staff pleasure to always provide an excellent service.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

not long got back from an 11 night stay at the Catalonia royal, this was mine and my partners first time visiting the DR, what can I say it was amazing from the moment we arrived till the moment we left. After reading some of the review on here I was worried from the negative comments that kept coming up, such as the rooms not being that great, the food being poor and the beds by the pool being reserved at silly o'clock in the morning. I had none of these problems and I really don't no what people are moaning about, I guess some people have to moan! well firstly all the staff are friendly and willing to help! most of them can speak really good English so its not hard to communicate which I was also worried about as some comments had mentioned on here. The rooms are lovely! there huge! I paid the little extra for the deluxe suite and was well worth the money! there cleaned every morning and every evening there's a turn down service which was really nice. The food was nice, made a nice change from normal buffet style meals that you get with most all inclusive holidays, also when they say all inclusive it really is from the meals, to the mini bars in your room to all the drinks on offer they even did named drinks that I new which was good! the pools are lovely no one gets up to put towels down and its not packed either which is really nice, so u have a good choice of beds anytime of the day. I don't have anything bad to say about this resort! I will defiantly go back but next time get a private pool suite as they looked amazing! defiantly come here if u want a relaxing child free holiday!

Room Tip: private suites are worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Zoe1992,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we are thrilled to receive your comment on Trip Advisor regarding you recent stay with us.

We are content to know we have exceeded you expectation providing you an amazing holiday experience.

Thank you for your greats comments of our striving staff especially from our housekeeping department. It would be of course our pleasure to welcome you back for a second visit!

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week with family and friends for a destination wedding. For the price, it's definitely worth paying a bit extra to stay on this "5-star" resort in the Dominican. My expectations were pretty low since we've already been to Punta Cana and had a mediocre experience on our last resort (poor service and food quality).

Overall, I would recommend this resort if you're staying in Punta Cana, but if you're looking for a Caribbean vacation I would avoid the Dominican altogether and go somewhere else like the Bahamas or Jamaica.

Definitely eat at the Tapas restaurant, Thalasa (main lobby) and Sea Blue (beach bar) for dinner. The buffet on the family side is great for breakfast with tons of selection and variety of breakfast foods. There's a separate section for guests to eat who are staying on the Royal side. Also, room service was amazing! A really nice treat to have when you're away. Fresh DR coffee, juice, tea and a full spread of whatever breakfast you order. A must-have! I mostly stuck to fish, fresh fruit/veggies and tried to keep the sugary alcohol drinks to a minimum to avoid any stomach issues.

We stayed in the Junior Suite Superior and much rather preferred it than the Deluxe rooms, which are more expensive. We had our own separate bathroom with a door for privacy. Yes, we're married, but I still need a door on my bathroom. The Deluxe rooms have an open bathroom with a glass door to the toilet and the shower is basically out in the open. If someone were to come into your room at the right time, they'd get quite the eye full.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 46 which was closest to the main lobby and pool bar and farthest from the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Mr./ Mrs. katgaskin,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your holidays in Punta Cana.

We appreciate your comments on Trip advisor regarding your recent stay, thank you for recommending our restaurant services, we are glad they were of your enjoyment, especially our Room Service.

Once again thank you for your overall feedback being our most valuable tool to improve our services. It would be a great honor to have the opportunity of being your choice once again in the future.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first time to the DR. I thoroughly enjoyed the pool and the beach, the two things I came to the DR to do! The room was nice and clean, the staff was friendly. The food was decent. We stayed for 6 days and of all the food I enjoyed the Dominican buffet at Thalassa the most. We ate at all the restaurants on the adults only side and also tried the breakfast buffet, the hibachi, the Mexican restaurant, and the Italian restaurant on the Bavaro side. You will not go hungry at this place. I really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere on the adults only side, but that we could also venture over to the Bavaro side and participate in activities and shows on that side. The drinks from the juice bar were also very good. There was never any shortage of chairs by the pool or the beach, so it was nice to not have to try to "reserve" seats early in the AM. I would recommend this resort to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Raina D,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your first holidays in Punta Cana.

It’s a pleasure to confirm our accommodations and restaurant services were of your expectations, and that our beach and pool facilities were of your enjoyment.

Thank you for your overall comments and recommendations, we look forward to welcome you for a second memorable holiday.

Best regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

First, you cannot really complain about anything here, you are in a great tropical setting with food and drinks flowing, two pools on the adults only side plus the beach. Nice rooms, friendly staff, the works. Sure, there are little things that could be improved, mainly the food is not the best food ever. It is good food, not great. You will not go hungry. In a six day stay you will probably experience one or two minor mistakes, like they will forget to bring something to you or you will get the wrong drink. If that makes you write a negative review then the problem is you! When I think about the price that we paid for the hotel stay we got MUCH MORE than our money worth. However, I would probably try somewhere else if coming back to the DR just to get an idea of what else Punta Cana has to offer. For all inclusives we felt Excellence Cancun was better in terms of food and overall atmosphere if you are comparing resorts. But comparing this to just about anything else this is much better!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. Jay B,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your recent holidays in Punta Cana.

It’s great to read you found our facilities accommodating and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback regarding the F&B services and apologize for the setbacks presented. We take important attention to your comments to make to improve in these areas.

Once again thank you and we wish to be your choice on your next visit to the Dominican Republic.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.