We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Mixed Feelings"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Bavaro to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Wirral, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Mixed Feelings"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Good

Travelled with Thompson from UK. No problems, all as expected. Bought tourist cards ahead of travelling (ordered online at DR Embassy, arrived the next day). We completed our immigration cards on the plane, no queuing to buy a toursit card at DR airport, went straight through passport control and found rep. First on the bus, no hassle. Yes, there are lot of coaches in the car park but you get given a number, just ask if you can't find it. 20min transfer to hotel. Going home equally good.

Room- no complaints. Booked a Superior Junior Suite (least expensive). Perfectly nice, everything you could want. Shower bases could do with updating. Cleaned well, couple of days no towels and drinks but all you had to do was ask. Air con broken on arrival, was fixed of sorts but we just got on with it, we weren't in the room much anyway.

Beach, pool, drinks, resort, most of the service, Felix the Thompson rep, trip to Saona Island, weather and time with each other- all great.

The OK

Arrival- Lobby is nothing special but OK. Checked in, welcome drink, welcome talk, golf buggy to room, got dropped off, someone pointed to the room. Not overly friendly first impressions but OK.

Tipping - we tipped as we would at home when we thought service was good, especially the guys at the Piano bar in the evening who looked after us. We also took pens, pencils and crayons which we gave to staff who said they had children as they told us they were very expensive in DR. Some appreciated the gesture, some didn't.

Entertainment- nothing to write home about, but that said we knew this before we went and were there to relax, enjoy the sunshine, sea, pools and time with each other. We normally just enjoy having a meal and some drinks, chatting to each other and other couples. To be honest, that leads me onto the bad...

The Bad

The Food. I don't think we are fussy but in my our opinion this was by far the worst aspect of our holiday. Breakfast in Thalassa was good, you could find something to please everyone. However, apart from a couple of good snacks at Sea Blue, my husband and I only ate 4 evening meals out of 11 nights and enjoyed just one of these.We gave up after this and just had breakfast, and a salad late afternoon. Some of those we talked to had no issues with the food and some did, so it may just be personal preference.

However, we were hit by very bad sickness and diarrhoea on day 5 of our trip which lasted for the rest of the trip and beyond. As we had not been off the resort until the next to last day of our trip, we have to attribute this to something in the resort. Maybe we were just unlucky, but others were suffering too. As frequent travellers we know heat, dehydration, travelling and different countries can cause upsets but this was far more than this!!! Obviously this spoilt our holiday to a degree and we would not take a chance on returning.

However, make up your own mind and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Basic level rooms are perfecly nice, Deluxe slightly newer bathroom not worth paying extra, Pool su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,738
    879
    323
    106
    90
See reviews for
184
2,324
46
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We travelled to this hotel from Leeds, West Yorkshire on the 25th October, we finally arrived at the Hotel and was rather shocked to see it in nearly complete darkness, very dismal looking front desk, anyway we were greeted with a small welcome drink and after check in a porter took us and our bags to our room. We tipped the porter 2Dollars he didn’t look happy!!
Let’s start with our room
As we walked into our room no 4421 we did notice a damp musky smell, on Inspecting our room we noticed that the wooden walk boards in the shower were rotten and had a large dangerous broken hole directly under the shower, we reported this to reception and was eventually changed the shower area was very dirty and in need of some maintenance, poor shower, ceiling mouldy, tiles were very grubby looking and dirty. The air-conditioning worked well although a bit noisy. Our VERY large bed was very comfortable, fridge was well stocked with soft drinks and a couple of beers over the 11 nights the maids kept our room clean and tidy we did notice when we left a tip we got extra drinks in the fridge and flowers all over our room and towels and clothes arranged in the shape of Swans and Hearts, we gave the maids a couple of dollars every couple of days. Our room was on the first floor of a small block of about 12 rooms 6 front and six at the rear ours was at the front looking over the pool was a nice position, although a bit noisy in the afternoon. Oh and the remote in our room didn’t work but eventually got it changed.
Food
The first night we ate at the Thelessa Restaurant did not seem bad although I did notice that the food seemed a bit cold. We ate here a few nights one night my partner had an extremely large hair in her soup. She complaint about it and the staff were very apologetic the restaurant manager even came over to apologise.
We ate at all the Restaurants Although I didn’t eat much after our 3rd day!!!!!
Mexican - food cold
Tapas – food very nice
Italian – food not that good but ok, staff miserable
Steakhouse – food cold and slimy, steak cold and tough
Japanese – this was ok (entertaining) well worth a visit but food very average
The buffets were ok but food quality just ok
There is a bar restaurant near the Infinity pool the food there was very nice on a lunchtime
Pool
On first impression the pool outside our room looked great but upon first inspection it did look in need of a good clean and some maintenance on the tiling and grouting and a spot of paint hear and there, in all seemed reasonably nice, it had a lovely swim up bar with endless supply of drinks all the staff worked very hard we spent our first day in the pool and all seemed nice, one thing I did notice after a couple of days was the pool was never PH checked like they normally do at swimming pools!!!! Also bird dropping were also noticeable in the pool. I was also concerned that there was no Lifeguards, I am aware its an adults hotel but with an ever lasting supply of Alcohol at the swim up bar and actually seeing drunk people in the pool I can only see an accident about to happen!! There is also an Infinity Pool down at the bottom end looked nice but there were a lot of Mosquito’s down there
Entertainment
Not much available to shout about, pretty poor really…well the piano bar was ok for a coffee but the piano music was far too loud for the size of the room.
Surrounding areas to the Hotel
The gardens are kept neat and tidy although everywhere does flood when it rains.
3rd Day
Woke up with mild stomach cramps couldn’t manage breakfast went to see Felix our Thomson Rep who was very helpful he went and ordered a special concoction from the bar think it was some local remedy, tasted awful but did manage to settle thing a little. He couldn’t understand what could have caused this, over the next few days I had three of these but I was not getting any better I finally was feeling so bad I had to visit the Pharmacy for some tablets; a few other guests also had problems similar to mine. I had three very very bad days nearly called a Doctor, one of which was during a visit to the dolphins thank god for Imodium!!
We have been back a week now and I am still poorly with stomach cramps and diarrhoea. I took a trip to the doctors this morning and have had to hand a stool sample in so will keep you posted on that one!!!!
We rate this Hotel a good 3 Star

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all please know we appreciate your time invested in this comments.

Your comments and feedback are most important. We are sorry to read the setbacks presented our sincere apologies for the inconvenience.

It would have been a pleasure to be aware of this issue to assist you best in this matter; we appreciate your overall comments of our Resort, please know it will be an honor to have the chance to be your choice in the future, with the goal to exceed your expectations.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Lovely hotel, nice staff, great weather, nice pool, good beach. So far we have enjoyed our stay but just wish someone had told us some of these tips to make our stay more enjoyable:
1. Bring insect repellent - you will need it for the mosquitos and it is $17 USD in the mini market!!!
2. Dont rely on having free WIfi within the rooms - streaming or skype is nearly impossible if not in reception.
3. There is NOT a DVD Player in every room as stated on the website, You have to 'borrow' a DVD player from concierge with a deposit - we have been here for 4 nights and there hasnt been one available the entire time
4. Dont leave anything on your patio if you are on the ground floor. we had our $17 bottle of insect repellent stolen off our patio
5. The italian restaurant is lovely and def worth the wait for a table.
6. The airport is completely mental!! so disorganised (bring a pen as you have to fill in lots of different forms) try not to stress about bags - they do come eventually!! and car park is just a maze of buses - can be quite intimidating in the dark particularly if your alone or a small group
We have really enjoyed our stay so far and would def recommend the resort to friends! If you like cocktails, beer or wine you can literally drink all day for free and staff are always available to serve.

Room Tip: Most expensive rooms i.e. pool villas look incredible if you can afford the extra approx $300 per ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind words regarding our grounds and staff, we are sorry for the setbacks presented we will make sure reinforce in these areas.

Once again thank you for recommending us; it would be an honor to be your choice in the future.

Best regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

we chose Catalonia Royal Bravo for our honeymoon
When we arrived the staff were very friendly and explained everything to us,
Our room was fab, it didn't have a damp smell like some people have said,
Always cleaned perfect by the maids,

Tips- We couldn't get over how big "tipping" is over their but giving a tip does give you better service, only downfall was on our first few nights the maids would knock on our door early evening asking for tips this stopped as we put the "do not disturb" sign up after we got back from the pool/beach.

Food- Food was amazing in the royal side, even enjoyed the sea blue food in the afternoon for a little snack,
We tried all the restaurants over the other side to
Mexican-great
Steak house-ok but nothing special.
Italian-disgusting
Japanese-amazing,great food and you get to sit around the table watching the chief cook and serve your food.

Drinks- great drink (very strong measures) defiantly try a strawberry daquari and chocolate mud slide also watch out for them putting 151 rum in your drinks if you see them do this tell them not to as its a very strong rum, as we witnessed a few people very very very drunk after 2 or 3 drinks of it.

Staff- very friendly all had a smile on their face, some didn't understand English that well but you was able to work your away around talking to them.

Beach- Beautiful but watch out for people selling you things.

Pool- lovely, but needed cleaning a bit more regular in the day.

Entertainment- no live entertainment in the royal side apart from a piano player, their is over the other hotel but its more for kids.

Trips- we went on the outback safari it was really good worth a day out. And we also went on luxury boat trip with a luxury beach, snorkling, 3 course lobster and champagne dinner and free bar all day, DO NOT go on snower island trip its crap.

remember you have to pay $10.00 to get in the country and $20.00 to leave the country.(per person)

Overall i would recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor and for choosing for your honeymoon holidays!

We are delighted to receive your valuable feedback and comments of your recent stay; regarding the misunderstanding with the room cleaning staff we would like to clarify the visit at early evening was for the Nightly turn down service.

It’s a pleasure to know overall you had a great holiday with us, thank you for your recommendations!

Kind regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just returned from the Catalonia Royal and were very pleased with the resort. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food on the Royal side was outstanding. What we really appreciated was the peace and quiet. The Bavaro side was only 2 mins away and we popped over there when we felt the need for a little more lively action. We stayed in Villa 36. The room was great and was always cleaned to a high standard.We have stayed at other adult only resorts in Punta Cana but have paid a much higher price. In summary, very good value and a restful and fun vacation ! We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you found our services outstanding and enjoyed a restful and Fun Vacation at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just returned from a week at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. This is an adult only hotel and the service was outstanding. We had the best front desk experience that we have every had, were always greeted in English with a smiling face and the phrase 'My pleasure" is frequently heard throughout the resort.

We stayed in building 38,. It was very quiet, clean and there are lots of english TV stations at night. The turn down service was a nice change and we always were provided with lots of towels.

There were two restaurants open with no reservations required. As well there is an open air restaurant for lunch which was good. The food is excellent and the service better. It is obvious that they really spend time in the interview process as everyone seemed genuinely eager to please.

My husband went snorkelling twice, lots of grass outside the barriers and few fish. The beach is very sandy and easy to get in and out. Lots of beach chairs available but you need to get there early to get a palapa.

they have 2 pools on the resort, one with a swiim up pool and the other is an infinity pool with day beds surrounding the pool. Easy to get in and out of both and no problem getting a lounger. It was great to have light music and no splashing and carrying on with kids.

We visited the sister resort several times which is right next door. They have nightly entertainment, and there are many activities if that is what you are looking for., We made the mistake of eating at the Rodea Steak House and left before we finished the meal. The food was terrible as well as the service. The Italian restuarant was good for food, but the service was nothing like service at the Royal. Loved the open air buffet for lunch and there is a pizza place there as well.

We contacted the GM Joseph prior to our stay with a room request and the email was responded to immediately and the request accomodated. We spoke to him on our last day and it is obvious that he has great pride in his staff and his resort. Great job!!!

Room Tip: Deluxe suites in building 38 and 36. There are several rooms with private infinity pools. It is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your holidays. We are content to read we achieved our goal of exceeding your expectations and earning you trust in our services.

It was our pleasure to welcome you! We look forward to your next stay!

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just got back from Catalonia Royal Bavaro. It was our first trip to Punta Cana. I have mixed feelings about the experience. I went with my wife, and we were both looking for a trip where we could just lounge about, enjoy the beach and nice weather, and spend some time together away from the kids. The trip succeeded in that regard. The beach was beautiful. We don't get up super early, and most days we had no problem finding a spot under one of the huts on the beach. Service was excellent and friendly, and the staff kept us well-supplied with drinks throughout the day. The room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable. There were intermittent problems with hot water, but given the weather that wasn't really an issue.
As good as the good parts were, the bad parts were horrible. Words can't describe how awful the food was. I'm not a picky or a snobby eater by any stretch of the imagination. I'm perfectly happy to take the kids to Golden Corral for dinner or to eat at a cafeteria. The food here fell woefully short of even that low standard. I can't stress this enough: it wasn't just "not good;" it was actively bad. Consistently and unacceptably so. Also, the evening entertainment was disastrous. The "shows" were laughably amateurish and the casino may literally be the saddest place I have ever been.
It wound up being a good trip: we fell into a pattern of getting up to watch the sunset, spending all day at the beach and a little bit of time at the pool and then falling asleep early. We ate mostly at the buffets, where we could pick around to find a few things that were edible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor, we appreciate you choosing us for your first visit to Punta Cana.

We would like to apologize for the discontent presented and the inconvenience this caused you, please know your comments are very important for our services.

It would an honor to have the chance to prove the excellent service we know.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.