We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things I wish I knew before I came...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Royal Bavaro to your Saves list
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Things I wish I knew before I came...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Lovely hotel, nice staff, great weather, nice pool, good beach. So far we have enjoyed our stay but just wish someone had told us some of these tips to make our stay more enjoyable:
1. Bring insect repellent - you will need it for the mosquitos and it is $17 USD in the mini market!!!
2. Dont rely on having free WIfi within the rooms - streaming or skype is nearly impossible if not in reception.
3. There is NOT a DVD Player in every room as stated on the website, You have to 'borrow' a DVD player from concierge with a deposit - we have been here for 4 nights and there hasnt been one available the entire time
4. Dont leave anything on your patio if you are on the ground floor. we had our $17 bottle of insect repellent stolen off our patio
5. The italian restaurant is lovely and def worth the wait for a table.
6. The airport is completely mental!! so disorganised (bring a pen as you have to fill in lots of different forms) try not to stress about bags - they do come eventually!! and car park is just a maze of buses - can be quite intimidating in the dark particularly if your alone or a small group
We have really enjoyed our stay so far and would def recommend the resort to friends! If you like cocktails, beer or wine you can literally drink all day for free and staff are always available to serve.

Room Tip: Most expensive rooms i.e. pool villas look incredible if you can afford the extra approx $300 per ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind words regarding our grounds and staff, we are sorry for the setbacks presented we will make sure reinforce in these areas.

Once again thank you for recommending us; it would be an honor to be your choice in the future.

Best regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,771
    900
    332
    108
    94
See reviews for
186
2,370
49
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

we chose Catalonia Royal Bravo for our honeymoon
When we arrived the staff were very friendly and explained everything to us,
Our room was fab, it didn't have a damp smell like some people have said,
Always cleaned perfect by the maids,

Tips- We couldn't get over how big "tipping" is over their but giving a tip does give you better service, only downfall was on our first few nights the maids would knock on our door early evening asking for tips this stopped as we put the "do not disturb" sign up after we got back from the pool/beach.

Food- Food was amazing in the royal side, even enjoyed the sea blue food in the afternoon for a little snack,
We tried all the restaurants over the other side to
Mexican-great
Steak house-ok but nothing special.
Italian-disgusting
Japanese-amazing,great food and you get to sit around the table watching the chief cook and serve your food.

Drinks- great drink (very strong measures) defiantly try a strawberry daquari and chocolate mud slide also watch out for them putting 151 rum in your drinks if you see them do this tell them not to as its a very strong rum, as we witnessed a few people very very very drunk after 2 or 3 drinks of it.

Staff- very friendly all had a smile on their face, some didn't understand English that well but you was able to work your away around talking to them.

Beach- Beautiful but watch out for people selling you things.

Pool- lovely, but needed cleaning a bit more regular in the day.

Entertainment- no live entertainment in the royal side apart from a piano player, their is over the other hotel but its more for kids.

Trips- we went on the outback safari it was really good worth a day out. And we also went on luxury boat trip with a luxury beach, snorkling, 3 course lobster and champagne dinner and free bar all day, DO NOT go on snower island trip its crap.

remember you have to pay $10.00 to get in the country and $20.00 to leave the country.(per person)

Overall i would recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor and for choosing for your honeymoon holidays!

We are delighted to receive your valuable feedback and comments of your recent stay; regarding the misunderstanding with the room cleaning staff we would like to clarify the visit at early evening was for the Nightly turn down service.

It’s a pleasure to know overall you had a great holiday with us, thank you for your recommendations!

Kind regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just returned from the Catalonia Royal and were very pleased with the resort. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food on the Royal side was outstanding. What we really appreciated was the peace and quiet. The Bavaro side was only 2 mins away and we popped over there when we felt the need for a little more lively action. We stayed in Villa 36. The room was great and was always cleaned to a high standard.We have stayed at other adult only resorts in Punta Cana but have paid a much higher price. In summary, very good value and a restful and fun vacation ! We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you found our services outstanding and enjoyed a restful and Fun Vacation at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just returned from a week at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. This is an adult only hotel and the service was outstanding. We had the best front desk experience that we have every had, were always greeted in English with a smiling face and the phrase 'My pleasure" is frequently heard throughout the resort.

We stayed in building 38,. It was very quiet, clean and there are lots of english TV stations at night. The turn down service was a nice change and we always were provided with lots of towels.

There were two restaurants open with no reservations required. As well there is an open air restaurant for lunch which was good. The food is excellent and the service better. It is obvious that they really spend time in the interview process as everyone seemed genuinely eager to please.

My husband went snorkelling twice, lots of grass outside the barriers and few fish. The beach is very sandy and easy to get in and out. Lots of beach chairs available but you need to get there early to get a palapa.

they have 2 pools on the resort, one with a swiim up pool and the other is an infinity pool with day beds surrounding the pool. Easy to get in and out of both and no problem getting a lounger. It was great to have light music and no splashing and carrying on with kids.

We visited the sister resort several times which is right next door. They have nightly entertainment, and there are many activities if that is what you are looking for., We made the mistake of eating at the Rodea Steak House and left before we finished the meal. The food was terrible as well as the service. The Italian restuarant was good for food, but the service was nothing like service at the Royal. Loved the open air buffet for lunch and there is a pizza place there as well.

We contacted the GM Joseph prior to our stay with a room request and the email was responded to immediately and the request accomodated. We spoke to him on our last day and it is obvious that he has great pride in his staff and his resort. Great job!!!

Room Tip: Deluxe suites in building 38 and 36. There are several rooms with private infinity pools. It is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your holidays. We are content to read we achieved our goal of exceeding your expectations and earning you trust in our services.

It was our pleasure to welcome you! We look forward to your next stay!

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just got back from Catalonia Royal Bavaro. It was our first trip to Punta Cana. I have mixed feelings about the experience. I went with my wife, and we were both looking for a trip where we could just lounge about, enjoy the beach and nice weather, and spend some time together away from the kids. The trip succeeded in that regard. The beach was beautiful. We don't get up super early, and most days we had no problem finding a spot under one of the huts on the beach. Service was excellent and friendly, and the staff kept us well-supplied with drinks throughout the day. The room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable. There were intermittent problems with hot water, but given the weather that wasn't really an issue.
As good as the good parts were, the bad parts were horrible. Words can't describe how awful the food was. I'm not a picky or a snobby eater by any stretch of the imagination. I'm perfectly happy to take the kids to Golden Corral for dinner or to eat at a cafeteria. The food here fell woefully short of even that low standard. I can't stress this enough: it wasn't just "not good;" it was actively bad. Consistently and unacceptably so. Also, the evening entertainment was disastrous. The "shows" were laughably amateurish and the casino may literally be the saddest place I have ever been.
It wound up being a good trip: we fell into a pattern of getting up to watch the sunset, spending all day at the beach and a little bit of time at the pool and then falling asleep early. We ate mostly at the buffets, where we could pick around to find a few things that were edible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor, we appreciate you choosing us for your first visit to Punta Cana.

We would like to apologize for the discontent presented and the inconvenience this caused you, please know your comments are very important for our services.

It would an honor to have the chance to prove the excellent service we know.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am writing about OUR experience at CRB the week of November 7-14.

This was our second visit to a Catalonia resort. We stayed at Catalonia Playa Maroma in Mexico. We feel that CRB really fell short in many areas compared to CPM.

Pros:
~Grounds/Landscape
~Pools
~Lounge chairs on the beach and around the pools
~Beach
There is seaweed/seagrass but the staff work really hard all day long to keep it as clean as possible.
~Water pressure/temp in the shower
~Two staff members stand out. Charlier a waiter in Thalassa and Carlos the bar tender at the swim up pool.
~Shade on the beach


Cons:
~Check-In: Manuel was checking us in when another couple walked in. He stopped helping us and asked them if they were checking in. Instead of finishing with us first

~Service: The service was lacking in all of the restaurants.

~Room: We were in villa 42 room number 4242. Horrible mattress, pillowcases are at least 6 inches too small for the pillow, lumpy smelly pillows, holes in the bedsheets, sink leaked and the faucet in the shower was loose. I brought all these issues to the attention of the front desk staff several times. The only thing that was 'fixed' was the mattress issue. I was told they would put a foam topper on the bed. Their idea of a mattress topper is a blanket. We had a dehumidifier in the room to help with the musty smell.

~Housekeeping: The maid exchanged our towels and made the bed daily and thats it. She never cleaned the bathroom or tub.....EVER. I was using clorox wipes to clean the bathroom/tub. The shower area was gross and dirty looking. We had to wear flipflops in the shower. We had a collection of dirty glasses in the room.....all week.

~Restaurants: Thalassa: This is were we ate most of our meals. One night they ran out of soup and salad.
Mexican: Once seated the waiter came over and took our order. After waiting 40 minutes for our drinks and food (which we never got) we walked out.
Italian: I ordered a Pepsi. I asked 4 different people for my drink. The waiter finally brought it over after I was done with my meal. I found this happened in most of the restaurants.

~Dress code was never enforced for men. Shorts and open toed shoes in ala carte restaurants. When I asked about it they told me because of the weather (rain) men can wear anything they want.

Food is very subjective. For the most part we found the food to be bland. Always had to add salt and pepper to everything.

I brought all of these issues to the attention of the front desk several times. I asked to speak to a manager. The girl at the front desk said she is the supervisor and that I had to speak to her.

I would like to thank the concierge (I don't remember her name) for giving us a late check out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor.

Your comments and feedbacks are very important for us to receive. Your positive comments are much appreciated; Charlie and Carlos will be congratulated on your behalf. Regarding the setbacks presented with the room and restaurant services we apologize with for the inconvenience, we will make sure this kind of incident doesn’t repeat.

It would be an honor if you decide to give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards.
Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Catalonia Royal Bavaro for the first time in November 2012.

Pros: Great price for all-inclusive food and drinks. Nice and friendly staff. Beautiful grounds. Nice pool. Good spa services. We were always able to find a front row palapa on the beach or lounger at the pool, and we did not have to wake up early to reserve a spot. We took the hobie cat out and snorkeled right off the beach.

Cons: Food was hit or miss. We found the dinners to be great, but the breakfast and lunches were just ok. We paid for a romantic dinner on the beach, and the lobster was horrible. I have never not finished an entree of lobster, but I could not finish the lobster. Later during our stay Thalassa restaurant served lobster and it was good, so we were annoyed that we paid extra money for a lobster dinner that was bad, then received free lobster that was good. So all in all the romantic dinner on the beach was a bust.

The deal breaker for us were the beds. We stayed in Villa 42, and the beds were very uncomfortable. The mattress was very thin and you could feel the springs. We complained to the front desk on Day 2 and they said they would give us a mattress pad. That afternoon we sat on the bed, and it was still hard. You could not feel the springs anymore, but the bed was still uncomfortable. We informed the front desk and they said they would send someone up. Later that night when we slept, we noticed a slight difference, but the bed still sucked. I slept ok for the remainder of the trip, but the bed was still too firm for my husband.

Overall, the resort was nice, but next time we go to Dominican Republic, we may try another resort. On the last day, my husband woke up sick with stomach issues so he must have eaten something bad that disagreed with his system. We don't know what what dish made him sick, but he felt sick for a few days after we got home.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your kind comments about our grounds and friendly staff. Regarding the stomach issues in some occasions the change of diet and water may cause some stomach disorders.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience we would’ve liked to be aware to assist you during your stay.

We hope to have the chance to be your choice once again in the future.

Kind regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Royal Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.