We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be wonderful...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Used to be wonderful...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

After a first stay in tortuga bay 2 years ago, we praised it as one of the best hotels in the world.
However, our 15 days stay in August has progressively turned as a nightmare:
- problem with the room air condition: it was freezing or too hot but never good; the kids were always frozen when they woke up
- problem with the internet connection: the wifi worked only intermittently; we've lost time and money because of this
- the sea and the beach were full of algs; it was not possible to go and swim; it stinked like hell and the cleaning was made with the customers behind at 10am rather than 6 or 7 am
- bugs in the kitchen area of the room
- troussants of flies everywhere in the hotel (restaurant, beach, pool...)
- no kids club nor baby club, and need to pay one nanny per kid if you have two (10 dollars per hour each)
- no freshly squeezed orange juice for the breakfast (1st time we've seen this in a leading hotel)
- and many more inconveniences...

During the 15 days, we have complained about all this, we have always been said that the problem was fixed but it was getting worse and worse.

One day left in what used to be a paradise... Very disappointed!

Mr and Ms A.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Mrs Nadia,


On behalf of the Tortuga bay family.

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that you may have experienced at Tortuga Bay. At the same time, you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist at Tortuga Bay and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.

It is my hope that you give us another chance to better serve you in the near future! Please call me directly to make sure you have a great stay!

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,





Vincenzo Calcerano
General l Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
1 829 797 1121
1 809 959 82 29
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    43
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
119
254
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Tortuga Bay was more than we expected,the accommodations ,the private beach, the food,the service,the facilities and most of all the people working there are extraordinary!!!! My husband and i went on June,to celebrate our 30th.Wedding Anniversary for 10 days and we extended it to 14,so you can imagine that we where absolutely in love with this paradise. We went back in August for 9 days , with our 3 children( 27,23,10 years old),to celebrate my husband's birthday,everybody had a blast,there are so many things to do ,or if you wish,just lounge at the beach or pool just relaxing…. We went to the different restaurants in our golf cart,we went bicycling,wake boarding,snorkeling at a beautiful reef and bathed in Los Manantiales Ojos Indigenas,OMG,and there's also horse back riding,the Six Senses Spa(i went twice for a massage in each trip!!),shopping at PUNTACANA Village,etc… Actually,we bought a lot in Arrecife,which is very near to the Tortuga Bay,so we will have our new vacation home built in a year and a half!!! So there you have it,this hotel has everything your heart and soul desires,i recommend it COMPLETELY,GO,GO,GO,i am absolutely sure that you will love it !!!!!Beatriz Santiago Gonzalez de Diaz Canseco.

Room Tip: We stayed both times in Villa# 6121,6122,it's secluded,but you have the beach within 10 steps,al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Beatriz ,


On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “Leading” Experience.

Yours sincerely,



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
1 829 797 1121
1 809 959 82 29
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Wife and I visited this resort in July. We read all of the reviews and were really excited about this trip. From the moment we were greeted by (on the Tarmac) while all the other passengers from the plane were herded like cattle onto a hot bus- we could only say wow. Never have we bypassed a long customs line before! We were brought to the front of the line and in 10 minutes we had our luggage and were off. Resort was fabulous. Our villa was perfect- two baths overlooking the beautiful ocean. We visited the spa every day and the treatments were fabulous. Food was great but the Dominican people really made this place awesome. Loved La Yola restaurant at the marina. Awesome fishing charters, perfect beach service and housekeeping was top notch. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with an oceanfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Savananblue,


We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.

Have a great day!

Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My partner and I were looking for a relaxing, rejuvenating week long trip. We certainly found it!
Every need was taken care of at Tortuga Bay. I have never had such phenomenal service from such welcoming and authentically kind staff. From the moment we stepped off the plane, we were greeted by a representative who whisked us through customs (major perk as the lines were otherwise very long). We were then taken a short 5 min drive to the resort, where we were welcomed by our Villa Managers, Belkys Ventura and Gisselle Saldedo. We were given our own golf cart for the stay, as well as cruising bikes to tour the property. Our room was beautifully appointed and the air-conditioning was fantastic (important in such a hot climate). The room overlooked the ocean with multiple windows (with shutters to close at night), and two large balconies, one with a jacuzzi.

I can't say enough about the Villa Managers - they went above and beyond. At one point, my partner needed Tums, and Belkys sent someone into town to source them. We also had a romantic evening planned, and returned home from dinner to rose petals and tea lights decorating our room, a bottle of champagne, and our tub filled with bubbles.

The food was best at the Tortuga Bay property restaurant "Bamboo". Not a huge selection, but fantastic, and again, service was amazing! We also loved the beach service, with cold water and anything you want to eat or drink.

In all- it was a vacation to remember and we will be back!

Room Tip: Splurge a bit more and select the ocean front junior suite! You won't regret it! You will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Mrs. Stacey,


We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.

Have a great day!

Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Never have I experienced such warmth and VIP treatment while on vacation. From the moment we stepped off the plane, the staff of Tortuga Bay was there, and the kindness thereafter was never ending.

Not sure who thinks this place is overrated - really, it isn't. Before going anywhere now, I read comments too. So glad I decided to focus on the positive ones. Definitely a decision I do not regret.

Gorgeous suites, beautiful ocean views, complimentary golf carts for sightseeing, complimentary shuttle to local market, fine dining, pristine resort grounds...seriously, my positive comments are endless.

I cannot say enough about how amazing the service was. This vacation was my gift to my husband for his 50th birthday, and he has been talking about what a great time he had since the day we left Tortuga Bay. On the day of his celebration they hung balloons in our suite and baked him a cake. Until I go elsewhere - next to heaven - I cannot think of a more lovely place on earth.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view. When the sun rises, the view is amazing! Also, considering staying on
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Qdeepie,



We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your Honeymoon at Tortuga Bay!

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience on your first weeding anniversary .


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The structure is perfect for those who want entertainment and being with friends. After an intense day you can enjoy fine dining in the resort complex.
Well trained and helpful staff, provides a pleasant stay in a beautiful location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Mr./ Mrs. Ricardo,



First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.



Yours sincerely,




Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed at the Tortuga Bay Hotel for - unfortunately only - tree nights during our recent visit to The Dominican Republic. We wish we could have stayed there many more days. You can only use superlatives to describe this place:

Beautiful setting, charming well decorated rooms (all suites), the most gorgeous private beach, a very friendly and service minded staff. So nice and quiet and do you want to get pampered and do something good for yourself, you should not miss out on this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Manuel,


We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.