We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punta Cana Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Punta Cana Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Wife and I visited this resort in July. We read all of the reviews and were really excited about this trip. From the moment we were greeted by (on the Tarmac) while all the other passengers from the plane were herded like cattle onto a hot bus- we could only say wow. Never have we bypassed a long customs line before! We were brought to the front of the line and in 10 minutes we had our luggage and were off. Resort was fabulous. Our villa was perfect- two baths overlooking the beautiful ocean. We visited the spa every day and the treatments were fabulous. Food was great but the Dominican people really made this place awesome. Loved La Yola restaurant at the marina. Awesome fishing charters, perfect beach service and housekeeping was top notch. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with an oceanfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Savananblue,


We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.

Have a great day!

Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    38
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
113
233
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My partner and I were looking for a relaxing, rejuvenating week long trip. We certainly found it!
Every need was taken care of at Tortuga Bay. I have never had such phenomenal service from such welcoming and authentically kind staff. From the moment we stepped off the plane, we were greeted by a representative who whisked us through customs (major perk as the lines were otherwise very long). We were then taken a short 5 min drive to the resort, where we were welcomed by our Villa Managers, Belkys Ventura and Gisselle Saldedo. We were given our own golf cart for the stay, as well as cruising bikes to tour the property. Our room was beautifully appointed and the air-conditioning was fantastic (important in such a hot climate). The room overlooked the ocean with multiple windows (with shutters to close at night), and two large balconies, one with a jacuzzi.

I can't say enough about the Villa Managers - they went above and beyond. At one point, my partner needed Tums, and Belkys sent someone into town to source them. We also had a romantic evening planned, and returned home from dinner to rose petals and tea lights decorating our room, a bottle of champagne, and our tub filled with bubbles.

The food was best at the Tortuga Bay property restaurant "Bamboo". Not a huge selection, but fantastic, and again, service was amazing! We also loved the beach service, with cold water and anything you want to eat or drink.

In all- it was a vacation to remember and we will be back!

Room Tip: Splurge a bit more and select the ocean front junior suite! You won't regret it! You will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Mrs. Stacey,


We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.

Have a great day!

Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Never have I experienced such warmth and VIP treatment while on vacation. From the moment we stepped off the plane, the staff of Tortuga Bay was there, and the kindness thereafter was never ending.

Not sure who thinks this place is overrated - really, it isn't. Before going anywhere now, I read comments too. So glad I decided to focus on the positive ones. Definitely a decision I do not regret.

Gorgeous suites, beautiful ocean views, complimentary golf carts for sightseeing, complimentary shuttle to local market, fine dining, pristine resort grounds...seriously, my positive comments are endless.

I cannot say enough about how amazing the service was. This vacation was my gift to my husband for his 50th birthday, and he has been talking about what a great time he had since the day we left Tortuga Bay. On the day of his celebration they hung balloons in our suite and baked him a cake. Until I go elsewhere - next to heaven - I cannot think of a more lovely place on earth.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view. When the sun rises, the view is amazing! Also, considering staying on
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Qdeepie,



We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your Honeymoon at Tortuga Bay!

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience on your first weeding anniversary .


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The structure is perfect for those who want entertainment and being with friends. After an intense day you can enjoy fine dining in the resort complex.
Well trained and helpful staff, provides a pleasant stay in a beautiful location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Mr./ Mrs. Ricardo,



First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.



Yours sincerely,




Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed at the Tortuga Bay Hotel for - unfortunately only - tree nights during our recent visit to The Dominican Republic. We wish we could have stayed there many more days. You can only use superlatives to describe this place:

Beautiful setting, charming well decorated rooms (all suites), the most gorgeous private beach, a very friendly and service minded staff. So nice and quiet and do you want to get pampered and do something good for yourself, you should not miss out on this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Manuel,


We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam
2 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed in the resort for 2 days, thinking that I will get an experience of a lifetime. In contrary, it wasn't nothing but a disappointment after all the fuss we heard about it, we were shocked by how it doesn't deserve any of the praise. We welcomed with a fruit basket that was surrounded by ants. The food was below average to average and did not come close to my expectations. The staff was not well trained and don't look professional. We ask them for house keeping and we don't get the service till 2 hours after when we need the room for ourselves. Also the beach is so shallow and full of corals and rocks. The only good thing about staying here was the ecological reserve couple of minutes away by the gulf cart. If you are looking for world class service go to eden roc and thank me later!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Isvdr ,


First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay. At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.


Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just returned from 5 nights at Tortuga Bay and with the exception of one or two minor things, this place is perfection.

It's been mentioned in every review, but you cannot put a price on the VIP airport experience. You truly cannot even appreciate it until you leave, because that's when you realize the value. The check-in lines are long, the line for customs is even longer, and the airport is hot (no A/C) and loud. If you are staying at Tortuga Bay, you are whisked through the airport on pathways no one else is allowed to use, you are lead to the front of every line and you wait for your plane in a quiet, air conditioned lounge with drinks, snacks, free wifi and private bathroom. Again, until you are there and see everyone else, you cannot fully appreciate this, but trust me- it's a game changer.

The resort is beautiful and extremely clean. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated and quiet. The bathrooms are huge, and full of Oscar de la Renta toiletries. The grounds are impeccable and the service is stellar.

We started each morning with coffee in our room. There is an illy coffee machine and you have 4 coffee pods in your room. There is plenty of cream, sugar, etc. provided as well. They leave you Evian water to make the coffee b/c you cannot drink the tap water.

Next we headed to Bamboo for breakfast. This is the only restaurant at Tortuga Bay, but you won't run out of breakfast options. There is a large buffet and you can order off of the menu if you want your eggs a certain way. The offerings range from yogurt, bacon, sausage, waffles and pancakes to sushi, cold pasta salad, various cheeses and sliced meats. Don't miss the fresh orange juice or the chocolate croissants.

For lunch you can order to the beach, eat at Bamboo again, or take your golf cart to any of the restaurants at Puntacana Resort. We liked the bar area at La Cana Golf Club- similar to a 19th hole at a golf course, for lunch. They have burgers, salads, quesadillas, etc. We ate lunch at Bamboo one day and Playa Blanca another. Both were good, just depends what you want. We were going for more casual, quick bites. Bamboo is a lot of things- but it isn't quick.

One of the highlights of our trip was chatting with the bartenders at Tortuga Bay during happy hour. Drinks are 2 for 1 during that time, so it's a nice time to have a drink or two before getting ready for dinner. They'll bring you plantain chips with salsa & guacamole while you enjoy your drinks. Talk to the bartenders. They are friendly and happy to chat. Rafael and Beddy were two of our favorites in the lounge.

For dinner, we ate almost everywhere on the resort. If you're looking for a great view, head to LaYola. Great seafood, great service and a spectacular venue. If you're a foodie, Bamboo is your spot. Get the ceviche appetizer. Again, fabulous food and exceptional service. The service all over Tortuga Bay is phenomenal. La Brassa at The Westin was also very good and they give you lots of food- almost too much food. The whole fried red snapper was delicious! We ate at Playa Blanca one night for dinner, but decided it was more of a lunch spot. Good ceviche there as well.

So, the "one of two minor things," I mentioned earlier: Our package came with a picnic lunch that could be set up at either the beach or in your room. We opted for our room to get a little break from the sun. Our villa manager asked me what time and I said 1:00. She called me at 1:15 to to tell me the kitchen was behind and that it was coming in 5 min. At 1:30 the picnic arrived. Not a big deal, just not the norm at Tortuga Bay. Another time we ordered a salad and a hamburger to our room and they delivered the hamburger, but not the salad. The person who took the order thought the "salad" was the lettuce, etc. on the hamburger. I will say, while many people speak English- there is a bit of a language barrier over the phone sometimes.

There was a ton of seaweed on the beach when we were there, but it's seasonal, and one lady told me it always seems to happen in July. Another traveler told me it had to do with El Nino. Who knows. Either way, they cannot control it, and they do a good job getting it off the beach with tractors and wheelbarrows. So, if you are the type that would be bothered by a tractor going back and forth while you're laying on the beach- maybe check the seaweed report.

Lastly, there were quite a few children there while we were there, mostly with one large extended family. This surprised me, but Tortuga Bay is not an adults-only resort. Personally, I would not bring my children, but that's more out of lack of activities for small children. Again, not an issue, just something to note if you are interested in something adults-only.

Obviously, those minor incidents were not enough to warrant a rating of less than excellent. This property is equal, if not better, than most Four Seasons & Ritz Carltons. The views from the rooms are stunning. The rooms themselves are so nice and spacious. I never heard our neighbors or the family below us- which is rare for any resort. This place is just really wonderful. If you're going to Punta Cana don't look elsewhere. The airport service alone is worth staying at Tortuga Bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Land,



We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your vacation with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.


On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you for your kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you again to Tortuga Bay and give you another" One- of a- kind Leading experience".


Your sincerely



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
1 829 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.