We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERRATED” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Save Saved
You added Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Dammam
2 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“OVERRATED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed in the resort for 2 days, thinking that I will get an experience of a lifetime. In contrary, it wasn't nothing but a disappointment after all the fuss we heard about it, we were shocked by how it doesn't deserve any of the praise. We welcomed with a fruit basket that was surrounded by ants. The food was below average to average and did not come close to my expectations. The staff was not well trained and don't look professional. We ask them for house keeping and we don't get the service till 2 hours after when we need the room for ourselves. Also the beach is so shallow and full of corals and rocks. The only good thing about staying here was the ecological reserve couple of minutes away by the gulf cart. If you are looking for world class service go to eden roc and thank me later!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Isvdr ,


First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay. At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.


Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    38
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
113
234
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just returned from 5 nights at Tortuga Bay and with the exception of one or two minor things, this place is perfection.

It's been mentioned in every review, but you cannot put a price on the VIP airport experience. You truly cannot even appreciate it until you leave, because that's when you realize the value. The check-in lines are long, the line for customs is even longer, and the airport is hot (no A/C) and loud. If you are staying at Tortuga Bay, you are whisked through the airport on pathways no one else is allowed to use, you are lead to the front of every line and you wait for your plane in a quiet, air conditioned lounge with drinks, snacks, free wifi and private bathroom. Again, until you are there and see everyone else, you cannot fully appreciate this, but trust me- it's a game changer.

The resort is beautiful and extremely clean. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated and quiet. The bathrooms are huge, and full of Oscar de la Renta toiletries. The grounds are impeccable and the service is stellar.

We started each morning with coffee in our room. There is an illy coffee machine and you have 4 coffee pods in your room. There is plenty of cream, sugar, etc. provided as well. They leave you Evian water to make the coffee b/c you cannot drink the tap water.

Next we headed to Bamboo for breakfast. This is the only restaurant at Tortuga Bay, but you won't run out of breakfast options. There is a large buffet and you can order off of the menu if you want your eggs a certain way. The offerings range from yogurt, bacon, sausage, waffles and pancakes to sushi, cold pasta salad, various cheeses and sliced meats. Don't miss the fresh orange juice or the chocolate croissants.

For lunch you can order to the beach, eat at Bamboo again, or take your golf cart to any of the restaurants at Puntacana Resort. We liked the bar area at La Cana Golf Club- similar to a 19th hole at a golf course, for lunch. They have burgers, salads, quesadillas, etc. We ate lunch at Bamboo one day and Playa Blanca another. Both were good, just depends what you want. We were going for more casual, quick bites. Bamboo is a lot of things- but it isn't quick.

One of the highlights of our trip was chatting with the bartenders at Tortuga Bay during happy hour. Drinks are 2 for 1 during that time, so it's a nice time to have a drink or two before getting ready for dinner. They'll bring you plantain chips with salsa & guacamole while you enjoy your drinks. Talk to the bartenders. They are friendly and happy to chat. Rafael and Beddy were two of our favorites in the lounge.

For dinner, we ate almost everywhere on the resort. If you're looking for a great view, head to LaYola. Great seafood, great service and a spectacular venue. If you're a foodie, Bamboo is your spot. Get the ceviche appetizer. Again, fabulous food and exceptional service. The service all over Tortuga Bay is phenomenal. La Brassa at The Westin was also very good and they give you lots of food- almost too much food. The whole fried red snapper was delicious! We ate at Playa Blanca one night for dinner, but decided it was more of a lunch spot. Good ceviche there as well.

So, the "one of two minor things," I mentioned earlier: Our package came with a picnic lunch that could be set up at either the beach or in your room. We opted for our room to get a little break from the sun. Our villa manager asked me what time and I said 1:00. She called me at 1:15 to to tell me the kitchen was behind and that it was coming in 5 min. At 1:30 the picnic arrived. Not a big deal, just not the norm at Tortuga Bay. Another time we ordered a salad and a hamburger to our room and they delivered the hamburger, but not the salad. The person who took the order thought the "salad" was the lettuce, etc. on the hamburger. I will say, while many people speak English- there is a bit of a language barrier over the phone sometimes.

There was a ton of seaweed on the beach when we were there, but it's seasonal, and one lady told me it always seems to happen in July. Another traveler told me it had to do with El Nino. Who knows. Either way, they cannot control it, and they do a good job getting it off the beach with tractors and wheelbarrows. So, if you are the type that would be bothered by a tractor going back and forth while you're laying on the beach- maybe check the seaweed report.

Lastly, there were quite a few children there while we were there, mostly with one large extended family. This surprised me, but Tortuga Bay is not an adults-only resort. Personally, I would not bring my children, but that's more out of lack of activities for small children. Again, not an issue, just something to note if you are interested in something adults-only.

Obviously, those minor incidents were not enough to warrant a rating of less than excellent. This property is equal, if not better, than most Four Seasons & Ritz Carltons. The views from the rooms are stunning. The rooms themselves are so nice and spacious. I never heard our neighbors or the family below us- which is rare for any resort. This place is just really wonderful. If you're going to Punta Cana don't look elsewhere. The airport service alone is worth staying at Tortuga Bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Land,



We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your vacation with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.


On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you for your kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you again to Tortuga Bay and give you another" One- of a- kind Leading experience".


Your sincerely



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
1 829 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just AMAZING experience , really good resrot especially the first class treatment and the staff is very attentive.

The food was excellent and they also make really nice drinks !!

For a family vacation or honeymoon is one of the best sites to go.

5*

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sunny Holidays,


We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.

Have a great day!

Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have been to many resorts in the Dominican Republic and this is hands down the best! My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and we were treated like royalty. First class all the way. From being met on the tarmac when we landed, to being taken to the plane when we left, this was an amazing experience. Our room was absolutely beautiful and ocean front. We had everything we needed and if we needed anything else (like when we locked ourselves out of the safe) we just used the personal cellphone we were given and they were more than happy to help us. The food was excellent! Room service was also prompt and delicious. We couldn't get enough of the ceviche! La Yola and Bamboo were our favorites. One evening, after coming home from dinner, we had candles all around our hotel room, chocolate covered strawberries, and the most sweet note about love for our honeymoon. The tub was also surrounded by candles and filled with rose petals. The beach was beautiful. Turquoise, calm, warm, and not crowded at all. Again, anything you wanted while you were on the beach you could have. One of our favorite things to do was take our golf cart to the ecological park and swim in the fresh water lagoons along the trails. This was an unforgettable experience and was absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Mr./ Mrs. Amy,


We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience on your first weeding anniversary .


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My Husband and I spent our honeymoon at Tortuga Bay and we couldn't have stayed a better place. The staff took the time to talk to us and ask us questions and it really showed that they care about their guests. The amenities that the hotel and the resort group provides are incredible. The food is delicious, the rooms are gorgeous and the views are spectacular. The beaches are gorgeous, TB provides you with kayaks to get out and explore the water and amazing lounge chairs to relax on the beach. The entire experience was 5 star. We loved having VIP assistance through the airport on our way into Punta Cana and VIP assistance through the airport on our way out of Punta Cana. Our favorite part about Tortuga Bay was the privacy - we were able to really spend time and relax together without being disturbed. TB also provides you with a golf cart to use to travel to the other hotels and restaurants in the resort group- making everything so convenient. Tortuga Bay truly was paradise and we had a honeymoon we will never forget. We are already looking at planning our trip to come back, soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Mackenzie ,



We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your Honeymoon at Tortuga Bay!

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience on your first weeding anniversary .


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I had been thinking about visiting the D.R. for many years. My niece and husband, who is Dominican, live in Santo Domingo. When we told them we were coming, they said that Tortuga Bay was the only place to stay. From our arrival at Punta Cana airport, we were treated like VIP's. We were met on the tarmac and were escorted though customs and at Tortuga in 25 minutes from landing. We were escorted to our room and given a tour of the property. The beach was private and long with soft, white sand. There was some seaweed, but it was meticulously cleaned everyday. Our breakfast, which they called Continental, was anything but. It was simply wonderful and extensive. The service, especially Ramon, Francisco, Juan and Antonio were friendly and professional. Our room was a second floor Ocean Front Villa. It was clean, spacious and beautiful. The dining was very good to excellent at all the restaurants, including the Westin. La Yola, at the marina, was our favorite and the best. Dining was expensive, so be prepared. But if you want the best, you would expect to pay more for it. It was worth it. Finally, on a side note, Maria, who was at our beckon call with a cellphone that they gave us upon registration, noticed that my birthday fell on one of the days we were staying there. I didn't tell anyone. Well, my birthday arrived and everyone I saw that day wished me a Happy Birthday. After dinner, we arrived back at our villa only to find balloons, a Happy Birthday banner and a Birthday cake. How wonderful was that! All in all, a fabulous trip that we will remember and look forward to our return. By the way, the weather was wonderful, just one afternoon of thunderstorms, which actually gave us a break ffrom the sun. I didn't play any golf, but I will next time. The courses looked great. Also, we used the Spa, Six Senses, which was also nice.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Mr./ Mrs. Sleeper longlsland,

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to Tortuga Bay, and give you a "Leading" Experience.


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Tortuga Bay for our honeymoon during the first week of June 2014 and we cannot stop thinking about our time in paradise. The first class treatment started with the airport pickup. The ease of getting from the plane to the resort was amazing. The villa itself was gorgeous. We were on the second floor of a unit just slightly back from the beachfront. The views were spectacular and we loved having two bathrooms.

Everyone on the staff was so pleasant and friendly. We enjoyed breakfast each morning at Bamboo (amazing fresh squeezed juice!!) and then spent much of our time on the beach. It was almost like having a private beach, with everyone spread across the sand. We ordered drinks and appetizers on the beach most afternoons and enjoyed all of the dinners that were scheduled for us. Our villa manager made sure we had plans each night and transportation to dinner each night was prompt. We loved dinner so much as Brassa (in the Westin in Punta Cana), that we went two nights in a row!

The golf cart and bikes were well loved. We enjoyed biking the resort. Our favorite activity was snorkeling, which we set up through the aquatic center. We boarded a boat with a captain and tour guide and the 4 of us enjoyed a great experience. The water was perfect and our tour guide pointed out many fish as we swam happily.

All in all, it was a perfect trip. My husband wants to spend every anniversary at Tortuga Bay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Lindsay ,



We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your Honeymoon at Tortuga Bay!
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience on your first weeding anniversary .


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.