We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is THE Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This Is THE Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Tortuga Bay. This was our second visit within a 15 month period. We can't say enough wonderful things about this place.

From the location to the privacy, you will enjoy every minute. We visited the spa this time, which was heaven. The one thing that separates TB from the rest is simply the staff. Antonio, Beddy, Victor (all 3!), Jinidal, Francisco, Roselin, Cesar, and so many more wonderful people make this an unforgettable experience.

You won't make a wrong choice by choosing TB as your vacation spot!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Rlp,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on TripAdvisor ! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience .

Sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Tel. (809) 959-8229
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    39
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
113
239
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just returned from a 6-day visit to Tortuga Bay with husband and 13-year-old daughter. The hotel is great for couples and families who want to relax, have some privacy, and don't need a lot of planned activities.

We spent time at the beach, the pools and the lagoons in the eco park. The pool nearest to the Tortuga Bay villas is tiny. There is a larger pool at the Golf Center and an even larger one that you can use at the Punta Cana hotel.

Because there are only 30 rooms to the resort, the beach feels like its your very own.

The service was terrific. Our villa managers were extremely helpful and the waiters in all the restaurants we tried were friendly, accommodating and professional.

My teenager loved driving the golf cart everywhere and we also had bikes that we used to tour around.

We tried three restaurants - Bamboo, La Yola, and Coccoloba. Bamboo was very good but also very pricey. At LaYola, we had a few Dominican dishes, including a Shrimp Gumbo that was very tasty. We did go off-resort one night to a french bistro in the nearby mall but that meal wasn't very good. Figuring out what all the different dining options was is a bit of a mystery and a little more descriptive information could be provided to help guests make their choices.

We tried the pool at the Puntacana hotel but the music was thumpingly loud and it felt a little shabby so we made that a quick pit stop. This is the only disconnect in the whole Tortuga Bay experience -- when you use the facilities of the adjacent hotel. You can see from the reviews of the Puntacana hotel here on TripAdvisor, that even for its lower price point, it's got some issues. I was glad to have read them in advance.

The whole arrival/departure VIP experience sure does add to what is a terrific overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs.Gal,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on TripAdvisor ! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience .

Sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Tel. (809) 959-8229
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noble, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our villa manager's were Laura and Giovanni, they were wonderful. My husband and I traveled with our 5 year old and they made us feel right at home. Everyone we encountered at the resort was happy to honor any request we made. The resort is so relaxing and quite, this is not a place for people that want excitement. The only negative I have is the bed was very hard, we called Laura and they brought a overlay. We will be returning in the future, this was one of the most relaxing places we have traveled to. Thank you so much for the stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 614, upstairs. The view is unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Bob,


On behalf of our team members & myself , thank you for taking the time to write to me and comment on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay on Tripadvisor It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests. I will share your comments with my team members!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a "a one - of a kind Leading Experience''.



Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went to Tortuga Bay with our 20 month old son for a quick getaway and weren't sure what to expect. We read many reviews prior to going and have been to some of the best resorts in the Caribbean, so we have a high bar set for resorts. We were NOT disappointed.

I can say that the rooms are clean, large, decorated nicely and comfortable. We had a 2 Bedroom Beachfront Suite which was perfect. It allowed us to hang out on the patio or the lawn while our son played in the grass. Then when he was ready to go to the beach, just a quick walk about 50 feet and we were in the sand!

The staff was unbelievable. The VIP service at the aiport was great, they got us ahead of a line of 300 people and had us in our villa in under 25 minutes. The maids, waiters, villa managers all had our comfort and happiness as their #1 concern. They all paid attention to our son, made him smile, said hello, etc...

The only thing that we felt could use some upgrading was the food. We were happy with the restaurant Bamboo, but the restaurants on the Puntacana Hotel property were not the best.

We enjoyed the golf carts, bicycles, and the beach.

Thanks for a great vacation for our family!

Room Tip: Beachfront suites definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Gabriel ,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests. I will share your comments with my team members!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “a one – of a kind Leading Experience’’.

Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Tel. (809) 959-8229
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

For 3 years in a row I have been rating Tortuga Bay. The hotel is better every day, due to the careful eye for perfection of its owners and its service that is better and better without loosing what has made the Dominican Republic been known as the main destination in the Caribbean: The cheerfulness and spontaneity of its people.
To start, the hotel is a boutique of only 30 rooms (each of them with its private golf cart) set in villas of 3 and 4 rooms, all of them beach front(first and second row). The rooms are top notch with all the amenities you can imagine and more, a canopy bed and a mattress and pillows that you feel you are in heaven, some of them with private jacuzzi outside of the room where you can see one of the most beautiful sky on Earth.
The beach is a gorgeous white sand beach in a quiet caribbean sea due to the coral reef.
The surroundings are immaculate gardens. The golf courses have improved as I heard golf players giving it great accolades this weekend.
The restaurant is set in a simple casually elegant atmosphere and is getting better year after year.
I found my wife and I love nest becoming more lovely every year, good reason to come back year after year.
Congrats to Tortuga Bay and its people that makes the every day "experience" a lovely one.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. De Marchena,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience .

Sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a long overdue review. We were there last summer for the second year in a row, and i can not emphasize enough how wonderful this place is for a family vacation. The quiet, beautiful setting, the nicely appointed villas, the fact that your yard is one of the most beautiful beaches in all the caribbean and a wpnderful garden....the food has improved since the last time, it just needs more variety in the adjacent restaurants because the one at the clubhouse is not up to the level of Tortuga, so you have to take a ride to the small town nearby to get more variety...but apart from that, the experience and the place shines. I forgot to mention how attentive and good spirited the people of the hotel is.....i could return to this place every year

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Barranq


On behalf of our team members & myself , thank you for taking the time to write to me and comment on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay on Tripadvisor It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests. I will share your comments with my team members!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a "a one - of a kind Leading Experience''.



Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We agree with the chorus of TripAdvisor members, whose reviews sent us here, that this is an utterly lovely, luxurious property, impeccably kept and professionally run in a part of the world not known for its consistent upkeep and service. Even the smallest room available, a junior suite, which we booked for five nights, is graciously appointed and palatial with an entry vestibule, kitchen, huge bath with double sink, soaking tub and, in our case, two terraces not thirty feet from an uncrowded, quiet Caribbean shore, e.g., no high-rises and only 35 guests who share a half-mile-plus coast that is raked of seaweed constantly. And yes, the airport welcome and send-off is exceptional since you skip the lines and are out of there and in your room within a few minutes of landing. The vibe here is a little more institutional than the kind of mom-and-pop establishment that many people seek out in the Caribbean. You don’t get to meet the owners (who include Oscar de la Renta and Julio Iglesias), nor do you readily form bonds with staff; but this in itself has advantages if you relish your privacy. HOWEVER, there are a few things to keep in mind before you book. 1) The final cost of your stay will be at least 30% greater than the stated cost of the room (18% sales tax plus an automatic 10% gratuity charge on everything). 2) Breakfast is the only meal included in the price. The food is good but not great and very expensive. Two people will generate at least $125 per day for lunch, dinner and drinks, and that’s in the low range. (The best restaurant is called La Yola and should be visited more than once.) 3) Tipping is manageable but awkward, and an all-inclusive rate would address the challenge. Otherwise, a stack of five- and ten-dollar bills brought from home will go a long way since dollars are accepted and the staff is apparently paid little and benefits greatly from our generosity. 4) There isn’t a whole lot to do beyond golf, the beach, an informal aquatics center (snorkeling, diving and so forth) and a delightful nature preserve with fresh-water plunge pools, a must-see. Snorkeling, for example, was well-managed, cost $100 cash for 90 minutes but is subject to a rough ocean swell that caused sea-sickness. So please, please, please work out your differences in advance and go as a loving, talking and book-reading couple since that’s mostly what you’ll be doing if you don’t play golf. That said, the setting is the best I have ever seen for families with young children who delight in an uncrowded beach with calm surf just a few feet away from their parents’ chaises-lounges and the lovely manse-like guest houses. There were many such families in residence during our visit, in addition to well-behaved teens who delighted in driving the golf-carts given to every guest. In selecting a room, you might first consider villas at either end of the property, i.e., numbers 622 (where we stayed) and 610, which are more private since they abut golf courses rather than other peoples’ rooms. But they are all nice, without exception, and even those few not directly on the ocean still have views of the water and are separated from the sand by a just few more feet of lovely, green lawn (see pics).

Room Tip: Villas at either end of the property, # 622 or 610, offer a bit more privacy but all rooms, even off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Nice,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on TripAdvisor ! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience .

Sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.