We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Departure Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Save Saved
You added Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $150 on select meals
Ranked #2 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
New York City, New York
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Departure Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Had the most pleasent experience at your wonderful property except for the last 30 minutes. While departing our room we were joined along with the individuals helping us with our luggage by 2 people from the hotel reception staff who swept through the room much like authorities looking for drugs or contraband. In the lobby awaiting our airport transportation we were timidly asked if we took the property's laundry bag and I said we did as there was no plastic bag in the room to accomodate our worn garments and I was not about to unpack to return the bag. I said do what you need to do and I would pay for the item, upon which I was charged $25 to my Amex. My wife was then asked where was the hair dryer bag as it was not in the room. She responded there was no hair dryer in the room when we checked in and we immediately called to have one brought to the room and when delivered it came with no cover. The whole experience of physically checking out was an embarrassment and an affront and could have been handled mush more discreetly or more appropriately nothing should have been said at all! I hope this review is helpful to your organization when future guests check out!!
Thank you, "Experienced Travelers"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Mr / Mrs. Barry E,

Ref: Your comments 22/11/2011.
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced at the check out!

At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We deeply regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations in the last 30 minutes of your stay!

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    38
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
111
226
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a family wedding at Tortuga Bay. Every detail was thought of and planned for. Some credit goes to the bride, groom and their families but the rest goes to the management of this wonderful resort. The property is gorgeous. The staff is helpful, kind, resourceful and friendly. The management couldn't be nicer. The rooms/villas are superb. And what a wedding! Facing the ocean with local musicians playing as the bridal party walked down the aisle. Followed by cocktails, dinner and dancing in a spectacular space around the pool.
Bottled water is advised at Punta Cana and the hotel makes sure that you are never without.
The beach is perfect and I highly recommend this resort to lovers of luxury and low-key elegance.

Room Tip: Either end unit villa on the beach gives the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Frequent - Tripper,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your weeding at Tortuga Bay!

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience .


Vincenzo Calcerano

General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I have made 7 visits to TBH over the past several years. On all of these 7 trips, the entire staff has maintained the highest level of service. That is what makes it so easy to come back here! Plus sunny 88 degree weather helps!
Quick additions for anyone considering going to this special hotel:
There is a new Spanish Restaurant El Tabloa in the PC Village with 2 flamenco dancers performing sets on Fridays and Saturdays at 9PM. This place had a waiting line on the night of long weekend we were there so make resevations with the villa maanger at TBH hotel.
For serious golfers, you can now win the golf trifecta: Play the the Punta Cana resort's great Corales #6, then play at next door's Punta Espada (#1 in Carribean) and drive on the newly opened super highway to Casa de Campo and play Teeth of the Dog #3 which now is just 50 minutes away. All three are like Pebble Beach with many holes played on or over the sea.
We had dinner at the hotels playa blanca and la yola restaurants which are seaside, plus 3 dinners off property at Noah, Acqua Mare and La Palappa...all were nice
If you like super cold beer, and want a true Dominican experience, try YeYa which is a hambuger shack..the staff will laugh if you know about this place which is where they go on the way home.
We had a romantic rose petals and candle bath on our last night by the marvelous Geovanna. Our other VM was Adrianna andshe provided us with great service and knowledge of the greatness of eagles.
Sadly we had to come back to cold, snowy, dark Boston but hope to go back toTBH soon

Room Tip: getocean front and second floor for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Mrs. Doran,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

There are really not enough fantastic words to describe the experience. The VIP airport is amazing - right to the front of the line and private lounge at departure. Your personal representative takes care of everything. 30 minutes after landing, we were enjoying a refreshing beverage by the pool. The seafood is incredibly fresh and we enjoyed every meal we had. We were there before the beginning of the busy season so at times we felt we had the entire resort to ourselves.

More than anything we cannot say enough about the Tortuga Bay team. EVERYONE is incredibly friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make your visit memorable. Our Villa Managers were always there to assist. We were even greeted by the General Manager and had the chance to speak to him a number of times during the stay. This is a place where you can see how much the people care making the experience the best it can be for the customers.


Thank you Tortuga Bay - we can't wait to see you again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel was a fantastic experience from start to finish. The pick-up at the airport and whisking thru customs and right to the hotel was amazing! It was truly an experience that we have never had anywhere else. We were at the hotel within 25 minutes of the plane landing and it was stress free and pleasant. This is the way to travel!

The rooms are large and beautiful. Our villa had a great view of the ocean and the beach. Every room has their own golf cart to help get around the grounds which was very cool.

We found the food at the resort to be very good, but not great. There are several reasonably good restaurants in punta cana village which is a free shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were looking for a quiet place to relax and celebrate our 30th Anniversary. Tortuga Bay exceeded our expectations and provided a perfect place to enjoy paradise. The VIP Airport experience was everything we had read about. How nice, to be escorted through a hot, busy airport during both arrival and departure. THANK YOU. The villa, food and overall hospitality is 1st class, we never got tired of the beautiful view! We visited the spa several times, it is a must. The surprise Anniversary touches in our villa will always be remembered. Acentos Bistro in the village was delightful too. The ecological park was a nice change from the beach, very refreshing swim! Hopefully, all is ok after Isaac's arrival, we have missed everyone at Tortuga Bay, and wish them safety from the storm. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all, and be pampered at the same time, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I am truthful to say I was a bit hesitant to visit Tortuga Bay, Punta Cana for low level of service. I guess I have been spoilt over the years by visiting top properties and locations in the world hence I have a very high level of expectations.
However my wife twisted my arm so we booked Tortuga Bay for a 10 day visit with our two (teenage) children in July 2012.
I cant be thankful enough that my wife kept her foot down as we had a GREAT time.
Property was EXCELLENT, food was great (especially the Dominican food night at the Bamboo restaurant which is similar to African food we are used to) and service by all staff was excellent, prompt and non intrusive.
Tortuga Bay is very private and therefore quiet which was just perfect for us to spent quality time with our children and swim, play frisbee on the lawn, ride bikes, drive the golfcart etc.
Visit to the natural springs are a must (terrific cool and refreshing water) and we visited almost every day for a quick dip. We also took the Segway tour, jungle gold cart drive (all within 5 mins drive from the hotel) and a zipline tour (about 1 hour drive from hotel). All great and well organized. Although during our stay, Tortuga Bay's beach had a substantial algae "invasion", staff were on it around the clock to clean as much as possible away. It was no real issue for us as this is nature. Playa Blanca on the property is only a 10 mins buggy drive away which has beautiful white sand beach with shallow see through water and no algae.
Again, we had a great time and would definitely return.
No reason for me to write about very small issues encountered during our stay which are simply no match for the overwhelming return of a very high level of service and a great holiday experience throughout !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.