We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Wedding Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a family wedding at Tortuga Bay. Every detail was thought of and planned for. Some credit goes to the bride, groom and their families but the rest goes to the management of this wonderful resort. The property is gorgeous. The staff is helpful, kind, resourceful and friendly. The management couldn't be nicer. The rooms/villas are superb. And what a wedding! Facing the ocean with local musicians playing as the bridal party walked down the aisle. Followed by cocktails, dinner and dancing in a spectacular space around the pool.
Bottled water is advised at Punta Cana and the hotel makes sure that you are never without.
The beach is perfect and I highly recommend this resort to lovers of luxury and low-key elegance.

Room Tip: Either end unit villa on the beach gives the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Frequent - Tripper,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your weeding at Tortuga Bay!

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience .


Vincenzo Calcerano

General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    84
    37
    22
    15
See reviews for
162
321
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I have made 7 visits to TBH over the past several years. On all of these 7 trips, the entire staff has maintained the highest level of service. That is what makes it so easy to come back here! Plus sunny 88 degree weather helps!
Quick additions for anyone considering going to this special hotel:
There is a new Spanish Restaurant El Tabloa in the PC Village with 2 flamenco dancers performing sets on Fridays and Saturdays at 9PM. This place had a waiting line on the night of long weekend we were there so make resevations with the villa maanger at TBH hotel.
For serious golfers, you can now win the golf trifecta: Play the the Punta Cana resort's great Corales #6, then play at next door's Punta Espada (#1 in Carribean) and drive on the newly opened super highway to Casa de Campo and play Teeth of the Dog #3 which now is just 50 minutes away. All three are like Pebble Beach with many holes played on or over the sea.
We had dinner at the hotels playa blanca and la yola restaurants which are seaside, plus 3 dinners off property at Noah, Acqua Mare and La Palappa...all were nice
If you like super cold beer, and want a true Dominican experience, try YeYa which is a hambuger shack..the staff will laugh if you know about this place which is where they go on the way home.
We had a romantic rose petals and candle bath on our last night by the marvelous Geovanna. Our other VM was Adrianna andshe provided us with great service and knowledge of the greatness of eagles.
Sadly we had to come back to cold, snowy, dark Boston but hope to go back toTBH soon

Room Tip: getocean front and second floor for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Mrs. Doran,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

There are really not enough fantastic words to describe the experience. The VIP airport is amazing - right to the front of the line and private lounge at departure. Your personal representative takes care of everything. 30 minutes after landing, we were enjoying a refreshing beverage by the pool. The seafood is incredibly fresh and we enjoyed every meal we had. We were there before the beginning of the busy season so at times we felt we had the entire resort to ourselves.

More than anything we cannot say enough about the Tortuga Bay team. EVERYONE is incredibly friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make your visit memorable. Our Villa Managers were always there to assist. We were even greeted by the General Manager and had the chance to speak to him a number of times during the stay. This is a place where you can see how much the people care making the experience the best it can be for the customers.


Thank you Tortuga Bay - we can't wait to see you again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel and location is absolutely breathtaking. Spanish is the main language spoken in the Dominican so don't be surprised if it takes a little back and forth to be understood. The food is absolutely wonderful here- I mean absolutely wonderful!! The dive shop "blue vision" is right on the beach and is operated by an English guy who along with his staff are by far the most professional (and fun) divers we've experienced. Although we have chartered bigger boats from bigger operations all over the bahamas and carribean- none have been better. The fresh water pools, also on the property, are unbelievablly beautiful and easily acsessable. We will most certainly be back. P.s. rent a golf cart- this property is massive. Also, the bartender Anulfo makes the most amazing Mojito you will ever enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This resort has some great food and good drinks.

The rooms aren't the greatest as the beds are hard, the pillows suck, and the showers are pretty awful.

However since you won't be staying in the room, the resort itself is beautiful with great white sand beaches, palm trees everywhere, and awesome restaurants.

We were here on a LivingSocial deal which gave us an all inclusive stay for four nights for only $400. Without this deal this hotel would be way too expensive as it's $96/night plus $95 per person per night for the all inclusive. Making it somewhere around $375 per night with the taxes figured in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel was a fantastic experience from start to finish. The pick-up at the airport and whisking thru customs and right to the hotel was amazing! It was truly an experience that we have never had anywhere else. We were at the hotel within 25 minutes of the plane landing and it was stress free and pleasant. This is the way to travel!

The rooms are large and beautiful. Our villa had a great view of the ocean and the beach. Every room has their own golf cart to help get around the grounds which was very cool.

We found the food at the resort to be very good, but not great. There are several reasonably good restaurants in punta cana village which is a free shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the PUNTACANA Hotel 4 years ago, and, when presented with a chance to return, did so without hesitation. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by the staff and driven to our room in a golf cart. The room had air conditioning and a nice bed, it was clean and refreshing. Our only room complaint was that the safe needed a big, clunky key, and a hefty deposit.

We had the continental breakfast plan. The dining room for breakfast is right on the beach, with a gorgeous view. The breakfast is very good, with many choices. For the other meals, we ate at a couple of their restaurants and found them to be way too pricey for the food quality and quantity. in other words, the food was perfectly good, but very, very expensive.

We appreciated the free Wi-Fi in the lobby area, as well as the overhead fans to keep the air movie. We love walking through the resort, from the beach to the ecological area, to the nature preserve across the way. The staff was awesome and accommodating.

We would definitely recommend the PUNTACANA Hotel to friends, and have, in fact, done so!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with queen or king sized bed, as there are rooms with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
4.4 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana
Sanctuary Cap Cana
#14 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 2,659 reviews
10.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach
Secrets Royal Beach
#7 of 98 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 5,035 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
6.3 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#4 of 98 in Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the jewel of the Caribbean. The only AAA Five Diamond Awarded property of the luxury Dominican republic hotels, Tortuga Bay offers responsible luxury, impeccable service and villas with interiors designed by the world-famous Oscar de la Renta. As a Tortuga Bay guest, our friendly, professional staff has every detail taken care of from the moment you touch down at our own Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ). Our VIP Service will whisk you through customs to a private car that has been awaiting your arrival. After a brief ride through the lush and vibrant Dominican scenery, your personal concierge will welcome you, check you in at your villa and provide you with your own golf cart for convenient travel throughout the resort. Located in a private enclave within the resort, this boutique hotel includes 13 luxurious beachfront Dominican Republic villas offering unrivaled luxury, privacy, security and five-star service. Guests may choose from a variety of accommodations: 1 bedroom junior suites, 2 bedroom suites, 3 or 4 bedroom villas, all situated along a private white sand beach, with every convenience within easy reach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.