We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Seven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
boston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Lucky Seven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I have made 7 visits to TBH over the past several years. On all of these 7 trips, the entire staff has maintained the highest level of service. That is what makes it so easy to come back here! Plus sunny 88 degree weather helps!
Quick additions for anyone considering going to this special hotel:
There is a new Spanish Restaurant El Tabloa in the PC Village with 2 flamenco dancers performing sets on Fridays and Saturdays at 9PM. This place had a waiting line on the night of long weekend we were there so make resevations with the villa maanger at TBH hotel.
For serious golfers, you can now win the golf trifecta: Play the the Punta Cana resort's great Corales #6, then play at next door's Punta Espada (#1 in Carribean) and drive on the newly opened super highway to Casa de Campo and play Teeth of the Dog #3 which now is just 50 minutes away. All three are like Pebble Beach with many holes played on or over the sea.
We had dinner at the hotels playa blanca and la yola restaurants which are seaside, plus 3 dinners off property at Noah, Acqua Mare and La Palappa...all were nice
If you like super cold beer, and want a true Dominican experience, try YeYa which is a hambuger shack..the staff will laugh if you know about this place which is where they go on the way home.
We had a romantic rose petals and candle bath on our last night by the marvelous Geovanna. Our other VM was Adrianna andshe provided us with great service and knowledge of the greatness of eagles.
Sadly we had to come back to cold, snowy, dark Boston but hope to go back toTBH soon

Room Tip: getocean front and second floor for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Mrs. Doran,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    38
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
113
233
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

There are really not enough fantastic words to describe the experience. The VIP airport is amazing - right to the front of the line and private lounge at departure. Your personal representative takes care of everything. 30 minutes after landing, we were enjoying a refreshing beverage by the pool. The seafood is incredibly fresh and we enjoyed every meal we had. We were there before the beginning of the busy season so at times we felt we had the entire resort to ourselves.

More than anything we cannot say enough about the Tortuga Bay team. EVERYONE is incredibly friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make your visit memorable. Our Villa Managers were always there to assist. We were even greeted by the General Manager and had the chance to speak to him a number of times during the stay. This is a place where you can see how much the people care making the experience the best it can be for the customers.


Thank you Tortuga Bay - we can't wait to see you again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel was a fantastic experience from start to finish. The pick-up at the airport and whisking thru customs and right to the hotel was amazing! It was truly an experience that we have never had anywhere else. We were at the hotel within 25 minutes of the plane landing and it was stress free and pleasant. This is the way to travel!

The rooms are large and beautiful. Our villa had a great view of the ocean and the beach. Every room has their own golf cart to help get around the grounds which was very cool.

We found the food at the resort to be very good, but not great. There are several reasonably good restaurants in punta cana village which is a free shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were looking for a quiet place to relax and celebrate our 30th Anniversary. Tortuga Bay exceeded our expectations and provided a perfect place to enjoy paradise. The VIP Airport experience was everything we had read about. How nice, to be escorted through a hot, busy airport during both arrival and departure. THANK YOU. The villa, food and overall hospitality is 1st class, we never got tired of the beautiful view! We visited the spa several times, it is a must. The surprise Anniversary touches in our villa will always be remembered. Acentos Bistro in the village was delightful too. The ecological park was a nice change from the beach, very refreshing swim! Hopefully, all is ok after Isaac's arrival, we have missed everyone at Tortuga Bay, and wish them safety from the storm. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all, and be pampered at the same time, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I am truthful to say I was a bit hesitant to visit Tortuga Bay, Punta Cana for low level of service. I guess I have been spoilt over the years by visiting top properties and locations in the world hence I have a very high level of expectations.
However my wife twisted my arm so we booked Tortuga Bay for a 10 day visit with our two (teenage) children in July 2012.
I cant be thankful enough that my wife kept her foot down as we had a GREAT time.
Property was EXCELLENT, food was great (especially the Dominican food night at the Bamboo restaurant which is similar to African food we are used to) and service by all staff was excellent, prompt and non intrusive.
Tortuga Bay is very private and therefore quiet which was just perfect for us to spent quality time with our children and swim, play frisbee on the lawn, ride bikes, drive the golfcart etc.
Visit to the natural springs are a must (terrific cool and refreshing water) and we visited almost every day for a quick dip. We also took the Segway tour, jungle gold cart drive (all within 5 mins drive from the hotel) and a zipline tour (about 1 hour drive from hotel). All great and well organized. Although during our stay, Tortuga Bay's beach had a substantial algae "invasion", staff were on it around the clock to clean as much as possible away. It was no real issue for us as this is nature. Playa Blanca on the property is only a 10 mins buggy drive away which has beautiful white sand beach with shallow see through water and no algae.
Again, we had a great time and would definitely return.
No reason for me to write about very small issues encountered during our stay which are simply no match for the overwhelming return of a very high level of service and a great holiday experience throughout !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned home from our second trip to tortuga. I didn't think the service and property could have been any better than the first time, but I was sooo wrong. The welcome at the foot of the plane was once again perfect. The villa is in a perfect location, on the beach, but close to bamboo, where breakfast is served with a choice from the large buffet and eggs and smoothys made to your requirements.

Ismail from bamboo requires additional recognitian for his dedication to customer service. By the 3rd day we didn't need to request breakfast tea with cold milk and banana smoothys. They just appeared thanks to ismail.

Louis and Daniel do a very good job of heading up the team in bamboo, always ready with a smile and suggestion of delights to eat.

Yalola (marina restaurant) was excellent as always, the only negative being the lack of light to see the menu. But we were ready for that with our iPhones for light. The team do a very good job of welcoming us by name ( they had been advised by the villa mangers we were coming)

We had many treatments at the spa whilst staying all of which were fantastic. I can recommend the Thai massage for anyone who needs the knots removing from their shoulders and back.

Tortuga is now very close to the capital, thanks to the new highway. The journey to la ramana is 35 mins and santo Domingo will be 1 hour 40 once the whole road is open, that will make dinner in the capital a possible with return the same night.

The villa managers and admin staff also deserve recognition for the hard work, smiling faces, consistent high service. Tortuga is a very slick, but not pretentious resort, they encourage you to be part of the family.

My only negative is that the punta Cana hotel next door should be closed, it reflects badly on the service provided in tortuga. The pool was dirty, francos pizzeria is terrible and the buildings need a lot of work. I am sure once the westin had been built the hotel can be retired.
I must give a final thanks to Fernando from the punta Cana estate team for showing us some beautiful properties during our stay.

I wish I was back at tortuga bay now.
We love tortuga bay so much we are even looking to buy our own house on the complex to be part of the punta Cana family.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you step off the plane you are greeted by a staff employee. They whisk you away(and they were nice enough to take my husbands daughter and family and friend thru), to a private area to get thru airport. note it is a 10 dollar fee per person to enter country. They take you to a VIP exit with a hotel shuttle waiting. We got in at 12 noon and no problem. They check you in inside your room. We had an oceanfront one bedroom suite. Room great, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies(one with jacuzzi). Dinner at bamboo fantastic the largest lobster I have ever seen. Staff could not be any better. Pool is quiet and relaxing. Beach was a bit windy so we only went one day and they do make every effort to keep up with the seaweed. Take your golf cart and cruise the property. We don't play golf but it looked like a beautiful course. Take the Segway tour, it is a blast and the kids really enjoyed. They take you to a fresh water lagoon very refreshing. It is about a 15 minute walk so keep that in mind thru the forest. Dinner at Lay ola on property was also wonderful. If you get a chance go to the village and eat at mama Louisas great fish. Overall would def go back to this gem

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.