We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not want to go home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Save Saved
You added Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“You will not want to go home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned home from our second trip to tortuga. I didn't think the service and property could have been any better than the first time, but I was sooo wrong. The welcome at the foot of the plane was once again perfect. The villa is in a perfect location, on the beach, but close to bamboo, where breakfast is served with a choice from the large buffet and eggs and smoothys made to your requirements.

Ismail from bamboo requires additional recognitian for his dedication to customer service. By the 3rd day we didn't need to request breakfast tea with cold milk and banana smoothys. They just appeared thanks to ismail.

Louis and Daniel do a very good job of heading up the team in bamboo, always ready with a smile and suggestion of delights to eat.

Yalola (marina restaurant) was excellent as always, the only negative being the lack of light to see the menu. But we were ready for that with our iPhones for light. The team do a very good job of welcoming us by name ( they had been advised by the villa mangers we were coming)

We had many treatments at the spa whilst staying all of which were fantastic. I can recommend the Thai massage for anyone who needs the knots removing from their shoulders and back.

Tortuga is now very close to the capital, thanks to the new highway. The journey to la ramana is 35 mins and santo Domingo will be 1 hour 40 once the whole road is open, that will make dinner in the capital a possible with return the same night.

The villa managers and admin staff also deserve recognition for the hard work, smiling faces, consistent high service. Tortuga is a very slick, but not pretentious resort, they encourage you to be part of the family.

My only negative is that the punta Cana hotel next door should be closed, it reflects badly on the service provided in tortuga. The pool was dirty, francos pizzeria is terrible and the buildings need a lot of work. I am sure once the westin had been built the hotel can be retired.
I must give a final thanks to Fernando from the punta Cana estate team for showing us some beautiful properties during our stay.

I wish I was back at tortuga bay now.
We love tortuga bay so much we are even looking to buy our own house on the complex to be part of the punta Cana family.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    38
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
113
234
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you step off the plane you are greeted by a staff employee. They whisk you away(and they were nice enough to take my husbands daughter and family and friend thru), to a private area to get thru airport. note it is a 10 dollar fee per person to enter country. They take you to a VIP exit with a hotel shuttle waiting. We got in at 12 noon and no problem. They check you in inside your room. We had an oceanfront one bedroom suite. Room great, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies(one with jacuzzi). Dinner at bamboo fantastic the largest lobster I have ever seen. Staff could not be any better. Pool is quiet and relaxing. Beach was a bit windy so we only went one day and they do make every effort to keep up with the seaweed. Take your golf cart and cruise the property. We don't play golf but it looked like a beautiful course. Take the Segway tour, it is a blast and the kids really enjoyed. They take you to a fresh water lagoon very refreshing. It is about a 15 minute walk so keep that in mind thru the forest. Dinner at Lay ola on property was also wonderful. If you get a chance go to the village and eat at mama Louisas great fish. Overall would def go back to this gem

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family stayed at the Tortuga Bay in Punta Cana in late July of this year. Tortuga Bay is ideal for a quiet couple’s getaway, but not ideal for a family vacation with younger children.

First, there are different levels of accommodations at this resort. We stayed at Tortuga Bay, which is comprised of approximately 16 units and separated from the rest of the resort. We loved the rooms, the beach, the service and the food. Because we were with children, we had two bedroom suite and were blown away when our “room” was a 1,500 square foot room with two separate gorgeous bedrooms and a large comfortable living area in the middle. The suite was ideal for a couple with two children. There was a nice kitchenette, French doors that opened onto the lawn which then led to the beach, and the décor was incredible. The room was so nice that we had dinner in the room twice because the room and setting were so special.

Though you would not need a room this large for a “couple’s get-away,” I would highly recommend Tortuga Bay for a couple’s get-away.

For the adults and children, the “Kids Club” was not really the type of Kids Club that we were looking for. By this I mean that the facility was not geared for anything other than a small number of very young (4 years or less) children. While there were many other activities which older children COULD enjoy, the resort is set up in a way that necessitates that the parents are with the children during the activity. While we don’t want to avoid our children during holidays, we do like to stay at a resort where there is a Kids Club or some supervised activity that can keep the children occupied and happy independently, without the necessity of us being present at all times. Unfortunately, that was not the case at Tortuga Bay. In other words, there were things the kids enjoyed, but you had to be there with them. Perhaps there is a more extensive kids’ club “in season,” but not so during July.

We went fishing from the resort and had a wonderful time. The boat was booked right at the resort and left from the dock at the water sports center. The Captain, mate, boat and fishing were EXCELLENT, albeit expensive.

We also did a segway tour. I’ve always wanted to ride a segway, and it took just one time to get it “out of my system.” Riding a segway is pretty cool, but not without risks. A rather large fellow who chose to ride a segway wearing only a speedo in our group “wiped out” and had some pretty significant cuts and scrapes. It’s worth doing once, but I would not make it the centerpiece of a trip.

There are fresh water lagoons on a nature preserve in the middle of the resort. The larger one is approximately a 15-minute walk into the preserve from the resort, and it was a wonderful experience. Our only regret is that we did not take snorkeling gear with us when we went to this lagoon. I would describe a visit to the lagoon as a “must do.”

I took the kids (ages 6 and 8) to the Macao Surf Camp, which is about a 50-minute drive from the resort. If you’re interested in surfing and are a beginner, I highly recommend the trip to the Macao Surf Camp.

I was not golfing on the trip, but the golf facilities looked incredible. If you’re a golfer and/or looking for a couple’s get-away, Tortuga Bay is just what the doctor ordered.

We were VERY impressed with the food. The breakfast buffet was extremely good, and the fresh seafood dishes were OUTSTANDING throughout the day and all restaurants at the resort.

Here are the only “negatives” that I observed:

- “Kids Club” limitations as noted above.
- Service in the restaurants can be SLOW, which is okay since you’re in the islands.
- Water skiing lessons for our children consisted of one person taking our kids out in a boat with me tagging along. I do not water ski, but I was “drafted” into handling the boat while the instructor was in the water with the kids. Frankly, I was not that comfortable operating a boat in unfamiliar waters, so I would describe the “water skiing lessons” as a misnomer. I would suggest that you go water skiing there only if you already know how to ski.
- Not really a “negative,” but you need to be very careful to avoid glitches due to the language barrier. I rather like the fact that not everyone speaks English well, as it adds to the sense of exotic travel, but it can result in getting 3 omelets instead of one. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our first visit to the Dominican Republic. This resort had high ratings with regard to travel.

Not Good:
Difficult overcoming language barrier - we should have worked harder to learn Spanish before we went. Most guests spoke Spanish so with our limited ability it made it difficult to communicate with staff or guests. (If we went back we would both learn to speak more fluently)

Waiters didn't know menu - Waiters in the restaurants didn't seem to have a good knowledge of the menu.

No night pool

Jacuzzi broken

The resort provides a property map that is extremely confusing.

- The food was okay
- The Ecological Park was definitely worth visiting. The freshwater lagoons are beautiful and there is nice wildlife to observe.
- We did a Segway Tour one day and enjoyed it. There is a short hike afterwards where they bring you to a lagoon which we could have done without. Riding the Segway's was nice and give you a nice tour of the property.

Good/Excellent:
VIP Airport - Staying at Tortuga bay provides you with VIP status at the airport. This meant that we didn't wait in any lines. We were escorted in an out of the airport in record time. When leaving we bypassed all lines and had our own security line. We were able to stay in the resorts lounge (air conditioned) and they came and got us when the flight was leaving.

The property is beautiful and expansive. Lots to explore and beautiful areas to take in.

Our beach was beautiful and was cleaned everyday so it was clear of seaweed. The beach service was excellent, they are extremely attentive to your needs without ever being intrusive.

We ate at Acentos Bistro off the property one night. They specialize in Spanish, French and Mediterranean infused cuisine. The food was unbelievable. The resort made reservations for us and brought us there and back. The meal and atmosphere were perfect. This was the best meal we ate all vacation!

The spa was exceptional - we went for a couple's massage and enjoyed every moment.

A special thanks to Victor Ramon ad Julio Angel who made our stay wonderful.

Overall we had a beautiful, relaxed vacation. It was quiet and we wanted for nothing. This was a great place to unplug and unwind.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of a villa with an ocean view. The view was spectacular and our room was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
July 31st , 2012

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Santucci,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your last stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay. At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.


We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.


Your sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a great and relaxed time, service was great all around. The idea was to have a private and relaxed vacation with my wife and 4 kids, not a super market all inclusive one.
We had friends at Punta Cana resort so we had the best of both worlds, resident and tourist. Even though the Tortuga Bay is sometimes too quiet, there are several options to choose from in the neighboring places. Golf in Cap Cana's Punta Espada is the best. Corales is also astounding. Well, in our case, we had a great and relaxing family vacation.

Room Tip: All cabanas are first class...of course that first line is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. M. Francisco,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Tortuga Bay is a paradise and my entire family was spoiled since the moment we landed in Punta Cana Airport with the VIP Service, as the lines when we landed for custom, will make anyone not visit a paradise like this one again.
This was our 2nd trip back to Tortuga Bay and we loved it more that the first time, as it is so nice to be remember by your last name, the moment you arrive there and being remember by everyone around the resort. Everyone seemed to be wonderful and on top of their duties at all moments.
We requested the same two bedroom ocean front villa, as we loved it for its location and perfect view. The beach was very nice, not the pristine that i will have liked, as the algae was a big problem, but those are small things that won't make a vacation to be perfect, as they stayed in top of it daily, cleaning it constantly. The privacy makes it so nice, we fell we had the beach for ourselves all 7 days. The beach staff, is the best i ever seem, from being there always to fast service and always having our stuff ready by the time we reached the beach. The entire staff is amazing could not have been more friendly to us and our kids. They had bicycles for them to ride from the moment we arrived and kayaks for us to use daily at the beach.
During our stay it was my daughter 17th birthday during our stay and they prepared an incredible BBQ on our beach villa, with Birthday decorations all over the villa, it was an incredible occasion to remember and the food was excellent. The chef and waiter, when out of their way to make this occasion the best for our daughter and feel like being home.
We can wait for next summer to go back again and enjoy another week of relaxation at Tortuga Bay Villas.

Room Tip: All Rooms with Ocean View are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. J. Castillo,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

you have the most terrible service ever! they have NO interest in anything, and they are totally not nice. when we arrived the porter wanted 15 bugs tip for bringing our suitcases to our room, while it is his job. it's definitely not worth this much money. it's unbelievebale and I complained about the service, and they sent such a fake mail bag. Also the food is very bad! If you go, you can better go to a cheaper resort, which is much cheaper. The price is way too high for such a price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Tim,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Tortuga Bay on Tripadvisor!!!

However, you have not stayed at our Hotel as we have further investigated.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Leading Experience

Yours sincerely,

Have a great Day



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.