We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT for couples; issues for younger children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Save Saved
You added Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“GREAT for couples; issues for younger children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family stayed at the Tortuga Bay in Punta Cana in late July of this year. Tortuga Bay is ideal for a quiet couple’s getaway, but not ideal for a family vacation with younger children.

First, there are different levels of accommodations at this resort. We stayed at Tortuga Bay, which is comprised of approximately 16 units and separated from the rest of the resort. We loved the rooms, the beach, the service and the food. Because we were with children, we had two bedroom suite and were blown away when our “room” was a 1,500 square foot room with two separate gorgeous bedrooms and a large comfortable living area in the middle. The suite was ideal for a couple with two children. There was a nice kitchenette, French doors that opened onto the lawn which then led to the beach, and the décor was incredible. The room was so nice that we had dinner in the room twice because the room and setting were so special.

Though you would not need a room this large for a “couple’s get-away,” I would highly recommend Tortuga Bay for a couple’s get-away.

For the adults and children, the “Kids Club” was not really the type of Kids Club that we were looking for. By this I mean that the facility was not geared for anything other than a small number of very young (4 years or less) children. While there were many other activities which older children COULD enjoy, the resort is set up in a way that necessitates that the parents are with the children during the activity. While we don’t want to avoid our children during holidays, we do like to stay at a resort where there is a Kids Club or some supervised activity that can keep the children occupied and happy independently, without the necessity of us being present at all times. Unfortunately, that was not the case at Tortuga Bay. In other words, there were things the kids enjoyed, but you had to be there with them. Perhaps there is a more extensive kids’ club “in season,” but not so during July.

We went fishing from the resort and had a wonderful time. The boat was booked right at the resort and left from the dock at the water sports center. The Captain, mate, boat and fishing were EXCELLENT, albeit expensive.

We also did a segway tour. I’ve always wanted to ride a segway, and it took just one time to get it “out of my system.” Riding a segway is pretty cool, but not without risks. A rather large fellow who chose to ride a segway wearing only a speedo in our group “wiped out” and had some pretty significant cuts and scrapes. It’s worth doing once, but I would not make it the centerpiece of a trip.

There are fresh water lagoons on a nature preserve in the middle of the resort. The larger one is approximately a 15-minute walk into the preserve from the resort, and it was a wonderful experience. Our only regret is that we did not take snorkeling gear with us when we went to this lagoon. I would describe a visit to the lagoon as a “must do.”

I took the kids (ages 6 and 8) to the Macao Surf Camp, which is about a 50-minute drive from the resort. If you’re interested in surfing and are a beginner, I highly recommend the trip to the Macao Surf Camp.

I was not golfing on the trip, but the golf facilities looked incredible. If you’re a golfer and/or looking for a couple’s get-away, Tortuga Bay is just what the doctor ordered.

We were VERY impressed with the food. The breakfast buffet was extremely good, and the fresh seafood dishes were OUTSTANDING throughout the day and all restaurants at the resort.

Here are the only “negatives” that I observed:

- “Kids Club” limitations as noted above.
- Service in the restaurants can be SLOW, which is okay since you’re in the islands.
- Water skiing lessons for our children consisted of one person taking our kids out in a boat with me tagging along. I do not water ski, but I was “drafted” into handling the boat while the instructor was in the water with the kids. Frankly, I was not that comfortable operating a boat in unfamiliar waters, so I would describe the “water skiing lessons” as a misnomer. I would suggest that you go water skiing there only if you already know how to ski.
- Not really a “negative,” but you need to be very careful to avoid glitches due to the language barrier. I rather like the fact that not everyone speaks English well, as it adds to the sense of exotic travel, but it can result in getting 3 omelets instead of one. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    38
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
112
232
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our first visit to the Dominican Republic. This resort had high ratings with regard to travel.

Not Good:
Difficult overcoming language barrier - we should have worked harder to learn Spanish before we went. Most guests spoke Spanish so with our limited ability it made it difficult to communicate with staff or guests. (If we went back we would both learn to speak more fluently)

Waiters didn't know menu - Waiters in the restaurants didn't seem to have a good knowledge of the menu.

No night pool

Jacuzzi broken

The resort provides a property map that is extremely confusing.

- The food was okay
- The Ecological Park was definitely worth visiting. The freshwater lagoons are beautiful and there is nice wildlife to observe.
- We did a Segway Tour one day and enjoyed it. There is a short hike afterwards where they bring you to a lagoon which we could have done without. Riding the Segway's was nice and give you a nice tour of the property.

Good/Excellent:
VIP Airport - Staying at Tortuga bay provides you with VIP status at the airport. This meant that we didn't wait in any lines. We were escorted in an out of the airport in record time. When leaving we bypassed all lines and had our own security line. We were able to stay in the resorts lounge (air conditioned) and they came and got us when the flight was leaving.

The property is beautiful and expansive. Lots to explore and beautiful areas to take in.

Our beach was beautiful and was cleaned everyday so it was clear of seaweed. The beach service was excellent, they are extremely attentive to your needs without ever being intrusive.

We ate at Acentos Bistro off the property one night. They specialize in Spanish, French and Mediterranean infused cuisine. The food was unbelievable. The resort made reservations for us and brought us there and back. The meal and atmosphere were perfect. This was the best meal we ate all vacation!

The spa was exceptional - we went for a couple's massage and enjoyed every moment.

A special thanks to Victor Ramon ad Julio Angel who made our stay wonderful.

Overall we had a beautiful, relaxed vacation. It was quiet and we wanted for nothing. This was a great place to unplug and unwind.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of a villa with an ocean view. The view was spectacular and our room was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
July 31st , 2012

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Santucci,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your last stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay. At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.


We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.


Your sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a great and relaxed time, service was great all around. The idea was to have a private and relaxed vacation with my wife and 4 kids, not a super market all inclusive one.
We had friends at Punta Cana resort so we had the best of both worlds, resident and tourist. Even though the Tortuga Bay is sometimes too quiet, there are several options to choose from in the neighboring places. Golf in Cap Cana's Punta Espada is the best. Corales is also astounding. Well, in our case, we had a great and relaxing family vacation.

Room Tip: All cabanas are first class...of course that first line is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. M. Francisco,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Tortuga Bay is a paradise and my entire family was spoiled since the moment we landed in Punta Cana Airport with the VIP Service, as the lines when we landed for custom, will make anyone not visit a paradise like this one again.
This was our 2nd trip back to Tortuga Bay and we loved it more that the first time, as it is so nice to be remember by your last name, the moment you arrive there and being remember by everyone around the resort. Everyone seemed to be wonderful and on top of their duties at all moments.
We requested the same two bedroom ocean front villa, as we loved it for its location and perfect view. The beach was very nice, not the pristine that i will have liked, as the algae was a big problem, but those are small things that won't make a vacation to be perfect, as they stayed in top of it daily, cleaning it constantly. The privacy makes it so nice, we fell we had the beach for ourselves all 7 days. The beach staff, is the best i ever seem, from being there always to fast service and always having our stuff ready by the time we reached the beach. The entire staff is amazing could not have been more friendly to us and our kids. They had bicycles for them to ride from the moment we arrived and kayaks for us to use daily at the beach.
During our stay it was my daughter 17th birthday during our stay and they prepared an incredible BBQ on our beach villa, with Birthday decorations all over the villa, it was an incredible occasion to remember and the food was excellent. The chef and waiter, when out of their way to make this occasion the best for our daughter and feel like being home.
We can wait for next summer to go back again and enjoy another week of relaxation at Tortuga Bay Villas.

Room Tip: All Rooms with Ocean View are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. J. Castillo,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

you have the most terrible service ever! they have NO interest in anything, and they are totally not nice. when we arrived the porter wanted 15 bugs tip for bringing our suitcases to our room, while it is his job. it's definitely not worth this much money. it's unbelievebale and I complained about the service, and they sent such a fake mail bag. Also the food is very bad! If you go, you can better go to a cheaper resort, which is much cheaper. The price is way too high for such a price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Tim,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Tortuga Bay on Tripadvisor!!!

However, you have not stayed at our Hotel as we have further investigated.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Leading Experience

Yours sincerely,

Have a great Day



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We picked Tortuga Bay as one of our stops on our two week vacation and spent 6 nights there. I agree with all reviews about the VIP service both to and from the airport. You really do feel like VIP from zipping thru customs when you get in to sitting in the private lounge before you board to go home (and leaving for the airport two hours instead of three hours before).

The grounds are beautiful and we had an oceanfront villa to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary with a jacuzzi on one of the balconies. The service is amazing. When we arrived we asked to be driven to the supermarket to purchase some things for the room (note: no need to buy bottled water as you can ask that they bring as many as you want to your room for free (we did not know that). They also provided a mini fridge for our room. The breakfast at Bamboo was quite good. The night of our anniversary we came back to the room and were surprised by candlelight and chocolate covered strawberries. We had all our lunches at Francos which was both reasonably priced, very good and rather large portions (you can share one of their sandwiches or pizza, the pizza was very delicious)

We loved having the golf carts to zip around to the driving range and also taking the bikes for long rides thru the beautiful houses that surround the golf course.

I think the only cons I can think of was that even though they are constantly cleaning the seaweed from the beach by the villas there still was quite a bit all the time. Playa Blanca was much cleaner and very shallow you can swim/walk out for quite a distance. Also (although while no fault of the Tortuga Bay) it was extremely quiet, not just during the night. Many times we spent the day at the sister property's pool and we were the only ones there or walking along the beach and not see anyone. In the evening at the lobby bar of the sister property we were the only ones there too.

A few other points about the sister property (again not a fault with Tortuga Bay but just pointing it out if you tour around) the pool was sort of dirty and they really need to skim it as there were a lot of bees floating and due to the fact a lot of birds were flying around quite a bit of you know what floating too. We did get bitten by mosquitoes badly at the lobby bar even though they were spraying. Not quite sure how healthy it was but we saw a truck with a huge pipe billowing out spray around 6 in the evening, didn't want to get caught in that.

Overall, it was a nice stay, perfect if you are looking to get away from everyone and just spend time with the people you go with. While the villas are stunning the pool at the property itself is very small, not right on the beach and at the foot of the Bamboo restaurant.

We are glad we went and tried it as with the majority of place you go there are tradeoffs. Here you get outstanding accommodations and service while I feel the tradeoff was an ok pool and beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Tinytee,


On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club & myself , thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience


Yours sincerely,



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Thank you for this amazing place on earth; my vacations were simply the best the good care and service were outstanding Alberto and Karina top class. Thank you very much!!!

Room Tip: Front Ocean view is awesome do not miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Sir,


On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience


Yours sincerely,



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.