We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT for couples; issues for younger children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“GREAT for couples; issues for younger children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family stayed at the Tortuga Bay in Punta Cana in late July of this year. Tortuga Bay is ideal for a quiet couple’s getaway, but not ideal for a family vacation with younger children.

First, there are different levels of accommodations at this resort. We stayed at Tortuga Bay, which is comprised of approximately 16 units and separated from the rest of the resort. We loved the rooms, the beach, the service and the food. Because we were with children, we had two bedroom suite and were blown away when our “room” was a 1,500 square foot room with two separate gorgeous bedrooms and a large comfortable living area in the middle. The suite was ideal for a couple with two children. There was a nice kitchenette, French doors that opened onto the lawn which then led to the beach, and the décor was incredible. The room was so nice that we had dinner in the room twice because the room and setting were so special.

Though you would not need a room this large for a “couple’s get-away,” I would highly recommend Tortuga Bay for a couple’s get-away.

For the adults and children, the “Kids Club” was not really the type of Kids Club that we were looking for. By this I mean that the facility was not geared for anything other than a small number of very young (4 years or less) children. While there were many other activities which older children COULD enjoy, the resort is set up in a way that necessitates that the parents are with the children during the activity. While we don’t want to avoid our children during holidays, we do like to stay at a resort where there is a Kids Club or some supervised activity that can keep the children occupied and happy independently, without the necessity of us being present at all times. Unfortunately, that was not the case at Tortuga Bay. In other words, there were things the kids enjoyed, but you had to be there with them. Perhaps there is a more extensive kids’ club “in season,” but not so during July.

We went fishing from the resort and had a wonderful time. The boat was booked right at the resort and left from the dock at the water sports center. The Captain, mate, boat and fishing were EXCELLENT, albeit expensive.

We also did a segway tour. I’ve always wanted to ride a segway, and it took just one time to get it “out of my system.” Riding a segway is pretty cool, but not without risks. A rather large fellow who chose to ride a segway wearing only a speedo in our group “wiped out” and had some pretty significant cuts and scrapes. It’s worth doing once, but I would not make it the centerpiece of a trip.

There are fresh water lagoons on a nature preserve in the middle of the resort. The larger one is approximately a 15-minute walk into the preserve from the resort, and it was a wonderful experience. Our only regret is that we did not take snorkeling gear with us when we went to this lagoon. I would describe a visit to the lagoon as a “must do.”

I took the kids (ages 6 and 8) to the Macao Surf Camp, which is about a 50-minute drive from the resort. If you’re interested in surfing and are a beginner, I highly recommend the trip to the Macao Surf Camp.

I was not golfing on the trip, but the golf facilities looked incredible. If you’re a golfer and/or looking for a couple’s get-away, Tortuga Bay is just what the doctor ordered.

We were VERY impressed with the food. The breakfast buffet was extremely good, and the fresh seafood dishes were OUTSTANDING throughout the day and all restaurants at the resort.

Here are the only “negatives” that I observed:

- “Kids Club” limitations as noted above.
- Service in the restaurants can be SLOW, which is okay since you’re in the islands.
- Water skiing lessons for our children consisted of one person taking our kids out in a boat with me tagging along. I do not water ski, but I was “drafted” into handling the boat while the instructor was in the water with the kids. Frankly, I was not that comfortable operating a boat in unfamiliar waters, so I would describe the “water skiing lessons” as a misnomer. I would suggest that you go water skiing there only if you already know how to ski.
- Not really a “negative,” but you need to be very careful to avoid glitches due to the language barrier. I rather like the fact that not everyone speaks English well, as it adds to the sense of exotic travel, but it can result in getting 3 omelets instead of one. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    83
    36
    22
    24
See reviews for
162
314
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I traveled in March 2011. I met a few of my best girlfriends here for my 30th and we really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were clean and a decent size with nice welcome with rose petals in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet and restaurants weren't all that great. The staff was nice...even nicer after tips, but definitely moved on Caribbean time. We signed up to go on a tour that didn't happen, but after we inquired they found someone to take us so that was nice. The beaches were decent and their were random hammocks everywhere which was nice. The spa was phenomenal! Overall, it was a great celebration with friends, we found a great deal and it was just what I needed for a bday and break from grad school. However, at time it did feel a little too "mega-resort-ish" for me and if I went back to the DR, I'd probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Totally outdated room, nearly no hot water, no wifi, breakfast is a buffet thats poor, the italian restaurant is not good, beach is full of weeds. Staff is friendly but laid back. This property needs urgent refurbishing and a strong hand to run it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had the most enjoyably relaxing week at this resort. Went the 2nd week in July so it was not that busy which I'm sure made the service all the better. You can do all inclusive but would recommend not if you don't want to be regimentive to eating times to get all your meals. The food by the way was out of this world good and their pizza is extremely good.

Staff was extremely friendly despite any language barriers. (google translate works wonders). Starting at check-in to concierge to the wait staff.

As a former professional golfer I was extremely anxious to play the two golf courses on site. They are beautiful and worth every penny to play if you love golf like I do. The holes along the ocean are gorgeous and you have to stop and take pictures it's so nice.

The 6 sense spa was great as well. The daily massage was the perfect end of day experience before heading out for cocktails and dinner. First class all the way!

The room I had was a full two story suite. Downstairs there is a couch and and chairs and a beautiful view of the bluest ocean you will ever see. Upstairs is the master bedroom and full bath. Down stairs has a full bath as well. The only oversight that I noticed and felt was the lack of a ceiling fan up stairs. The suites are on the third floor so upstairs will naturally be hotter as heat rises. A ceiling fan would work wonders. You can also request a mini fridge for downstairs. They are on availability basis so make sure to get one upon making your reservation.

Also I would highly recommend renting a golf cart for your length of stay. The resort is spread out so You would need it in my opinion. It saves alot of walking and you can also use it as your cart to play golf.

Tips are automatically included but they are shared by entire staff. Tip rate is 10% so if you want to,leave a little extra some cash to your server go right ahead.

All in all it was a wonderful week long vacation in Punta Cana at the resort and spa and if you are looking for a place to stay in the Dominican, this be the place!

Also when you are departing, it is in your best interest to go to the concierge and ask for airport VIP service. When you arrive at the airport they took us to the front of the checki in line and also to a private security screening with NO waiting in line. They take you right to the gate and you can tip her there because the hassle she saves you on departure is well worth the tip. Service is actually free for resort guests because as I found out the family who owns the resort also owns the airport, which is located five minutes from the resort

Great place!! You will enjoy all they have to offer which is alot!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Beautiful setting, nice restaurants, convenient location. The pool was nice but very shallow (about 5 ft. max depth). Great on site dive shop ... Mark, Mabelle, Paul & the crew will treat you right. Italian restaurant on site was convenient, reasonably priced and had a nice menu. Rooms were good, not great, but reasonably priced for a nice resort in the Caribbean. We were there for 2 weeks (second half of June 2012) and had a nice time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
63 hotel reviews
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our first visit to the Dominican Republic. This resort had high ratings with regard to travel.

Not Good:
Difficult overcoming language barrier - we should have worked harder to learn Spanish before we went. Most guests spoke Spanish so with our limited ability it made it difficult to communicate with staff or guests. (If we went back we would both learn to speak more fluently)

Waiters didn't know menu - Waiters in the restaurants didn't seem to have a good knowledge of the menu.

No night pool

Jacuzzi broken

The resort provides a property map that is extremely confusing.

- The food was okay
- The Ecological Park was definitely worth visiting. The freshwater lagoons are beautiful and there is nice wildlife to observe.
- We did a Segway Tour one day and enjoyed it. There is a short hike afterwards where they bring you to a lagoon which we could have done without. Riding the Segway's was nice and give you a nice tour of the property.

Good/Excellent:
VIP Airport - Staying at Tortuga bay provides you with VIP status at the airport. This meant that we didn't wait in any lines. We were escorted in an out of the airport in record time. When leaving we bypassed all lines and had our own security line. We were able to stay in the resorts lounge (air conditioned) and they came and got us when the flight was leaving.

The property is beautiful and expansive. Lots to explore and beautiful areas to take in.

Our beach was beautiful and was cleaned everyday so it was clear of seaweed. The beach service was excellent, they are extremely attentive to your needs without ever being intrusive.

We ate at Acentos Bistro off the property one night. They specialize in Spanish, French and Mediterranean infused cuisine. The food was unbelievable. The resort made reservations for us and brought us there and back. The meal and atmosphere were perfect. This was the best meal we ate all vacation!

The spa was exceptional - we went for a couple's massage and enjoyed every moment.

A special thanks to Victor Ramon ad Julio Angel who made our stay wonderful.

Overall we had a beautiful, relaxed vacation. It was quiet and we wanted for nothing. This was a great place to unplug and unwind.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of a villa with an ocean view. The view was spectacular and our room was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
July 31st , 2012

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Santucci,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your last stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay. At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.


We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.


Your sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a great and relaxed time, service was great all around. The idea was to have a private and relaxed vacation with my wife and 4 kids, not a super market all inclusive one.
We had friends at Punta Cana resort so we had the best of both worlds, resident and tourist. Even though the Tortuga Bay is sometimes too quiet, there are several options to choose from in the neighboring places. Golf in Cap Cana's Punta Espada is the best. Corales is also astounding. Well, in our case, we had a great and relaxing family vacation.

Room Tip: All cabanas are first class...of course that first line is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. M. Francisco,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the jewel of the Caribbean. The only AAA Five Diamond Awarded property of the luxury Dominican republic hotels, Tortuga Bay offers responsible luxury, impeccable service and villas with interiors designed by the world-famous Oscar de la Renta. As a Tortuga Bay guest, our friendly, professional staff has every detail taken care of from the moment you touch down at our own Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ). Our VIP Service will whisk you through customs to a private car that has been awaiting your arrival. After a brief ride through the lush and vibrant Dominican scenery, your personal concierge will welcome you, check you in at your villa and provide you with your own golf cart for convenient travel throughout the resort. Located in a private enclave within the resort, this boutique hotel includes 13 luxurious beachfront Dominican Republic villas offering unrivaled luxury, privacy, security and five-star service. Guests may choose from a variety of accommodations: 1 bedroom junior suites, 2 bedroom suites, 3 or 4 bedroom villas, all situated along a private white sand beach, with every convenience within easy reach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.