We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tortuga Bay, family vacations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Save Saved
You added Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $150 on select meals
Ranked #3 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tortuga Bay, family vacations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a great and relaxed time, service was great all around. The idea was to have a private and relaxed vacation with my wife and 4 kids, not a super market all inclusive one.
We had friends at Punta Cana resort so we had the best of both worlds, resident and tourist. Even though the Tortuga Bay is sometimes too quiet, there are several options to choose from in the neighboring places. Golf in Cap Cana's Punta Espada is the best. Corales is also astounding. Well, in our case, we had a great and relaxing family vacation.

Room Tip: All cabanas are first class...of course that first line is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. M. Francisco,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    38
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
111
227
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Tortuga Bay is a paradise and my entire family was spoiled since the moment we landed in Punta Cana Airport with the VIP Service, as the lines when we landed for custom, will make anyone not visit a paradise like this one again.
This was our 2nd trip back to Tortuga Bay and we loved it more that the first time, as it is so nice to be remember by your last name, the moment you arrive there and being remember by everyone around the resort. Everyone seemed to be wonderful and on top of their duties at all moments.
We requested the same two bedroom ocean front villa, as we loved it for its location and perfect view. The beach was very nice, not the pristine that i will have liked, as the algae was a big problem, but those are small things that won't make a vacation to be perfect, as they stayed in top of it daily, cleaning it constantly. The privacy makes it so nice, we fell we had the beach for ourselves all 7 days. The beach staff, is the best i ever seem, from being there always to fast service and always having our stuff ready by the time we reached the beach. The entire staff is amazing could not have been more friendly to us and our kids. They had bicycles for them to ride from the moment we arrived and kayaks for us to use daily at the beach.
During our stay it was my daughter 17th birthday during our stay and they prepared an incredible BBQ on our beach villa, with Birthday decorations all over the villa, it was an incredible occasion to remember and the food was excellent. The chef and waiter, when out of their way to make this occasion the best for our daughter and feel like being home.
We can wait for next summer to go back again and enjoy another week of relaxation at Tortuga Bay Villas.

Room Tip: All Rooms with Ocean View are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. J. Castillo,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience

Your sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

you have the most terrible service ever! they have NO interest in anything, and they are totally not nice. when we arrived the porter wanted 15 bugs tip for bringing our suitcases to our room, while it is his job. it's definitely not worth this much money. it's unbelievebale and I complained about the service, and they sent such a fake mail bag. Also the food is very bad! If you go, you can better go to a cheaper resort, which is much cheaper. The price is way too high for such a price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Tim,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Tortuga Bay on Tripadvisor!!!

However, you have not stayed at our Hotel as we have further investigated.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Leading Experience

Yours sincerely,

Have a great Day



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We picked Tortuga Bay as one of our stops on our two week vacation and spent 6 nights there. I agree with all reviews about the VIP service both to and from the airport. You really do feel like VIP from zipping thru customs when you get in to sitting in the private lounge before you board to go home (and leaving for the airport two hours instead of three hours before).

The grounds are beautiful and we had an oceanfront villa to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary with a jacuzzi on one of the balconies. The service is amazing. When we arrived we asked to be driven to the supermarket to purchase some things for the room (note: no need to buy bottled water as you can ask that they bring as many as you want to your room for free (we did not know that). They also provided a mini fridge for our room. The breakfast at Bamboo was quite good. The night of our anniversary we came back to the room and were surprised by candlelight and chocolate covered strawberries. We had all our lunches at Francos which was both reasonably priced, very good and rather large portions (you can share one of their sandwiches or pizza, the pizza was very delicious)

We loved having the golf carts to zip around to the driving range and also taking the bikes for long rides thru the beautiful houses that surround the golf course.

I think the only cons I can think of was that even though they are constantly cleaning the seaweed from the beach by the villas there still was quite a bit all the time. Playa Blanca was much cleaner and very shallow you can swim/walk out for quite a distance. Also (although while no fault of the Tortuga Bay) it was extremely quiet, not just during the night. Many times we spent the day at the sister property's pool and we were the only ones there or walking along the beach and not see anyone. In the evening at the lobby bar of the sister property we were the only ones there too.

A few other points about the sister property (again not a fault with Tortuga Bay but just pointing it out if you tour around) the pool was sort of dirty and they really need to skim it as there were a lot of bees floating and due to the fact a lot of birds were flying around quite a bit of you know what floating too. We did get bitten by mosquitoes badly at the lobby bar even though they were spraying. Not quite sure how healthy it was but we saw a truck with a huge pipe billowing out spray around 6 in the evening, didn't want to get caught in that.

Overall, it was a nice stay, perfect if you are looking to get away from everyone and just spend time with the people you go with. While the villas are stunning the pool at the property itself is very small, not right on the beach and at the foot of the Bamboo restaurant.

We are glad we went and tried it as with the majority of place you go there are tradeoffs. Here you get outstanding accommodations and service while I feel the tradeoff was an ok pool and beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Tinytee,


On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club & myself , thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience


Yours sincerely,



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Thank you for this amazing place on earth; my vacations were simply the best the good care and service were outstanding Alberto and Karina top class. Thank you very much!!!

Room Tip: Front Ocean view is awesome do not miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Sir,


On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “for one- of a- kind’’. Experience


Yours sincerely,



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This resort is pretty amazing.
It is very quiet and very relaxing.

There is no nightlife, so if you are looking for that...this is not the place.

The Spa was delightful. Go early in your stay, so that you can return for another treatment during your vacation, after you realize how delightful it is!

La Yola was our favorite restaurant. We ate there twice. Great atmosphere. Great food.

There is a grocery store at "the village". A very nice sized grocery store. The TB staff will drive you to the village and you call them to bring you back to the resort. We did this twice. However, both times we were there we found that there were almost no stores open (other than grocery store). Rather disappointing. So, don't plan for much time in the village, because there isn't much there.

The golf cart was so much fun to drive! And we drove it a lot!
The staff at TB are very well trained, and it shows in every area.

We had a 2 bedroom villa directly on the beach. It was quite heavenly. Beds are great. Bathrooms are luxurious. Be sure to use the bath gel, etc.... that they provide. Great products!!!

We went deep sea fishing through the resort one day. Caught a very large fish. It was a sailfish. The boat captain tried his best to release the fish, but he could tell that the fish was not going to make it, so we kept it. Brought it to the Bamboo Restaurant and they cooked it for us for dinner! It was SOOOOO good! The Chef did an excellent job!

Do not miss swimming in the fresh water springs!
It was one of the highlights of my week!
We brought our own snorkel equipment with us from home, and we snorkeled in the spring. Very cool water, which was very refreshing.

It rained only one time in the week. And only for a short while. It was lovely.
There are many palm trees and coconut trees on the property. They make an amazing sound when the wind is blowing the leaves!

There are 2 universities that have an extension on the property. Located across the main road, near the petting zoo. One is Cornell University. We ran into one of the Professors and his students at the Springs one day, and then again when we stumbled upon their university facility. (The bees are here)

The resort has bees and bottles its own honey. They sell it for $4.00. (This exact plastic jar of honey will sell for $12.00 at the airport) Folks, don't miss this honey! Makes a great souvenir for the folks back home. Bring gallon zip lock bags from home to pack the honey in your suitcase. The honey is also served at your table in the bamboo restaurant for breakfast. (possibly other meals too).

The petting zoo is very nice. We saw baby goats that were one week old. The man that worked there climbed into the pen and brought us a baby goat to hold. So very precious!

There was only one thing I could possibly "complain" about. For meals (other than breakfast) you had to pay for your water at the restaurants. For a family of four, we drank a lot of water. To the tune of a $40.00 water bill for dinner.
Water bottles in your villa are complementary. We asked our housekeeper to keep at least 12 bottles of water in our villa each day which they were very good about doing for us.

The beach staff will also bring you a bucket of ice filled with bottled water at the beach, at no cost.

Great opportunity to practice your spanish at this resort. We even told some of the staff to please speak to us in spanish only, because we were needing practice. They were always so very nice.

The Punta Cana hotel on the property has a little store, selling t-shirts, sun lotion, etc....
The sun lotion that we brought from home (we brought about 12 bottles for a family of 4) (one week vacation) was available at this store for $35.00 a bottle. Yikes. Be sure to bring plenty from home!!

Franco's is a pizza restaurant on the resort. Near the Punta Cana Hotel. Certainly recommend.

I don't feel the need to elaborate on the VIP service at the airport. Others have said plenty on the subject. It is a delight.

If you are heading to this resort, you are in for a great vacation.
Very, very quiet.
Very secluded.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Grace,

On behalf of Team Members & Vincenzo Calcerano, General Manager of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “Leading” Experience.

Yours sincerely,



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

From the moment you get off the airplane you will live a dream, the VIP life! I have to mention the incredible service from that moment til you board your plane back home. There is nothing that you can ask for that is not done for you. The golf car you have for your own use during your stay makes a big difference. Restaurants are very informal and good, not a WOW WOW. Very good breakfasts. Rooms are lovely, comfortable and very clean. Outstanding personnel. We will go back again for sure, especially with that VIP airport service.

Room Tip: Beachfront locations are great,beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

On behalf of the Tortuga bay family & myself .

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,




Vincenzo Calcerano
General l Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Tel (8090 959-8229 ext 7220
Cel.(829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Punta Cana | Altagracia, Higuey. Dominican Republic, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.