We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach! Resort disappointing.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #54 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Leedey, Oklahoma
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach! Resort disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The resort is nothing special and we were treated rudely by all the staff over and over again. Every one of them acted like it was a chore to answer questions, take a drink or food order, or any other possible normal assistance a resort guest might ask for or about. And yes, we did tip the staff. After this experience our thoughts were if this is how resort staff treat guests in Punta Cana we won't be back. We have traveled to Cancun several times, Mayan Riviera several times and to Cozumel twice and have always received good, if not very good service. Since this trip in May 2014. we had family members talk us into traveling to Punta Cana again, March 2015. We stayed at the Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa and let me tell you, that staff knows how to treat their guests!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    981
    478
    256
    193
See reviews for
762
1,566
44
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited for 2 weeks in March .. Upon our arrival we were not greeted by a representative . We were promised a beverage upon entering . We were not given . When we finally received our key for the room we proceeded to the room where we saw on the hall wall our room number it was inside a short corridor with 2 doors on either side unmarked. I opened the door on the right there was clothes in the closet and men's shoes by the bed . The room was clearly occupied . I returned to reception and informed them what had happened . The reception informed me I was wrong that my key did not open a rented room . We went back and discovered we were in the "other" room in that short corridor now I was afraid because the key I had for my room opened the opposite room I believed that key for the "other" room would also open my door back down to reception . They argued with me that it was "impossible that my key would open both doors .
It was again tried by one of the bell boys where he confirmed that yes indeed my key opened both doors .. To my knowledge none of this was resolved.
We felt afraid and checked and double checked that our door was locked whenever we were in the room .
We were robbed right out of the safe .. Again we were told that this was impossible .. But clearly it was indeed possible since we were both cleaned out of cash from the locked safe ..
Management was uncooperative ..
We were the victims of robbery .. Yet made to feel like the offending parties because we suggested it may be someone who had access to keys to safes ..
I reported it to our rep he was just as uninterested ..
After the room key incident and the robbery safe I felt unsafe and marked.
These incidents dampened my view of any other possible positives regarding food , beach , etc ..
I'll never return . Nothing was spectacular .. The courtyard is beautiful but not enough to return and subject myself to these abuses.
My thoughts ....don't go .

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed at a a few resorts for vacation, but this place far exceeded my expectations. The people at the resort were very kind and generous with their time, smiles, and service. If you ever have an opportunity to visit the Dominican Republic, I recommend staying here.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My fiancé and I were looking for a adults only all- inclusive resort so we chose this property.
Pros: very clean grounds,
Mature but entertaining,
Great pool/ocean view suites,
Nice pool,
Nice separate pool for swim up bar,
Friendly / helpful staff,
Fast and pleasant check in/check out service,
Not too far from excursion destinations,
--------
Cons: can be too relaxed
Pool looks larger online also it closes early (no night/evening swim
Hotel and swim up bar has bottom shelf local wine spirits(was a little disappointed)
Must get oceanview... Our original booked room was facing the central air component,
FOOD!!!!! BIG DISAPPOINTMENT
THEY OFFER RESTAURANTS BUT YOU HAVE TO MAKE A RESERVATION 2 -3 DAYS IN ADVANCE.. And they still have a very very very limited menu.. Any other questions just ask

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtl
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Staff very pleasant and always willing to help
Junior suite superior was very clean, large balcony I had room 2066, view of the water fountain.
Best beach in bavaro
Entertainment was good and every night at the courtyard, enjoyed dancing and the live band ends around midnight. if looking for a quiet room best closer to the beach.
Service amazing
Waiters at beach
Food many variety for all types. Enjoyed Krystal and the steak house.
Travelled with husband and 2 kids age group 10 and 12.
Buffet breakfast pastry was good, coffee and mimosas.
Great family vacation, kids stayed with us, did not see or try kids club.


Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just got back from a great trip to the Riu Palace Punta Cana. Wasn't sure from reading some reviews but we really enjoyed it. Not sure what some people expect... Perhaps it helped that we had amazing weather all week. It was kept very clean and the grounds were immaculate. Agreed the rooms aren't brand new, but we enjoyed the great water pressure, lots of hot water and a nice balcony to have an evening drink on. Drinks were replenished daily! We kayaked out to the reef and sailed on the Hobie Cats (all included) in the amazing warm breeze. We enjoyed long walks along the beach. Other than walks and para-sailing, we didn't left the resort. The teenagers made lots of friends playing beach v-ball. They had dance lessons and fun games at the pool for all, but also quieter areas with palm trees where you could read a book and have a dip in the ocean to cool off or have a drink that the friendly waiters brought around the Palace beach all day. The food was really good with 5 restaurants, 2 buffets at lunch and room service. They had a barbeque one day and different themes. Wine was just OK for us as we like wine. The staff were great and the entertainment was really good with dancing in the square to live music and good shows after dinner in the theatre. Wifi in our room was good - downloaded paper onto tablet each day. After a day of unwinding after arrival I was really able to chill out and relax at the Palace.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What an amazing location, my wife refers to it as “Paradise”. From the moment you step foot in the French renaissance lobby, you can feel the difference. The staff are welcoming and no need to worry, they speak perfect English, they are helpful and understanding. The room we occupied was simply put, perfect. The bathroom was very clean, the bed was truly comfortable and the service quick and efficient. The outdoor facility, from the beach, swimming pool and bar were all very nice and the staff are quick to assist. The clients washroom are clean and well maintained. The pool was not overly chlorinated which is a nice change, especially since we attended during March Break and there was a lot of people. The hotel has multiple restaurant which will cater to almost any taste. The international restaurant has a variety of food, all of it very tasty and well prepared. The Japanese’s restaurant was phenomenal. The choices on the breakfast menu is such, that you will not get bored with the “same thing” every day. Snack bars and sport bar, offers a variety of choice late during the afternoon so save some room after lunch and you will not be disappointed. We strongly recommend this oasis of peace in the Dominican Republic.

Room Tip: A garden view is worth it. Guys, trousers are required for dinner and reservation are mandatory for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??Ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???L. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.