We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it, but!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Liked it, but!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family stayed at this resort for ten days. Let me start with check in, which was a pleasant surprise. We got welcome drinks upon arrival and the reception staff (Wilson) was excellent. We arrived early but were able to enjoy everything that resort was offering right away. Our rooms were ready later on and met our expectation. If we had issues, the hotel was ready to offer us a different room right away. Overall the property is very well kept but a bit outdated. Pool area had plenty of chairs and umbrellas (they definitely need to be updated, lots of broken and cracked chairs and every second umbrella was missing holding pins so you had to be creative). The beach, right next to the pool was fantastic. Again plenty of chairs (much better than those around the pool) and there was no problem to find a spot under the palm trees. Service, hmmm. Our newlywed daughter and her husband came with us and the only thing the hotel was able to come up with for them was the fruit basket and a photocopied page with best wishes. We were very disappointed. I’m glad they spent their honeymoon in different resort which had much more to offer, just few weeks before. Service was friendly and prompt, but if you forgot to tip them you will saw a marked difference. Entertainment was so, so and poorly advertised. The only exception was a gentlemen playing violin at the lobby for couple nights: this was a real treat for everyone. On the other hand the program for kids (our younger daughter was with us) was a total disaster. For ten days every day was the same: same songs played in the same order, over and over every night. We have been in a few other resorts, and some of them even had a program almost comparable to Disney quality, so seeing the lack of effort and creativity in this children program was disappointing. Keep in mind that this place was built in 2006, so it definitely needs some updates after eight years of day to day business. Food was average and very salty. Sleep quality so, so. The fold out sofa bed was terrible. I would rate the resort quality at four stars at the most. Would I come back? Probably not.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    866
    427
    241
    179
See reviews for
678
1399
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of Riu's new hotels and it is very clean. The beach is stunning with all the palm tree's. We opted for the VIP area because we went without the kids for a wedding. The upgrade was worth it private bar and quiet. The food is typically for all inclusive buffets. It is repetitive with a occasional different item here and there. The sit down dinner'a require reservations and are very good. The hotel is extremely clean and offers the standard entertainment each night. If you have seen one show at a all inclusive hotel you have seen them all. I would recommend staying here very clean close to some small shopping and relaxing.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile


We are just back from our holiday.
Presiously we have read the reviews about the hotel here, and to admit we were a bit worried as read a lot of bad reviews.
To clarify it the hotel was brilliant , our room was nice and clean at all times, the staff was very helpful and we had a brilliant stay. :-)
Next year we definitely will be back to this hotel.
The food was nice, the main buffet restaurant (don manuel)was the best.
We did not visited the other restaurants, only the Italian one.
All in all those who wrote bad reviews complaining about the rooms, the food etc.... I dont even know what they expect, if this hotel was not good for them they should go to the Hard Rock Hotel that might be good enough for them but of course that will be 3x more expensive too!
Also there was a review about the minibar was not filled regularly, especially the alcohol part.
Lets be clear there are 4x 0.75l selection of spririts , also beer in the fridge among other soft drinks and water.
It is not enough "alcohol" only those who have serious issues !
Somebody said all the sprits gone on the first couple of days and nobody changed them- honesly speaking i would not have changed them too !!!!
All in all we recommend this hotel to everybody who wants to have lovely time with affordable cost! Please dont forget the tips for those hard working staff!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

4th time in Punta Cana since 3/2013. This hotel falls a little short on updates. I was surprised to get a key for both the room and safe. I haven't carried a traditional key in so long. I did not like that I had to put the cylinder in the safe. That is crazy!
The room was very nice, no complaints. When I called for extra towels, they were so fast!
Top name alcohol if that matters, and the food was great!
The best things were the beauty of the Palace, and the staff. Every person there aimed to please!
Animacion was fun, and night shows were amazing. Ray does a great job working with all of them.

Room Tip: Get a pool or beach room. Don't settle for less
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been to Punta Cana 4X since 3/2013. The Riu is beautiful, but falls a little sort in the modern updates. Room and safes need updated so you don't need to carry traditional keys. It would have been nice if the beach seaweed area was raked early in the morning so it was clean at some point. Just picking it up by hand, does not make it s nice as some of the other resorts I have been to.
The food and drinks are top of the line, we were vary happy with that. Shows and entertainment, all good.
Your staff is truly amazing. They go out of their way to smile, greet and really take care of everything. It's wonderful to go away and be treated so well. Your animacion team, so much fun! Ray does a great job pulling everything together.You should be very pleased with all of them!

Room Tip: Get a pool view. I did not have a view of anything but the trees ad side of another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just visited this beautiful resort. Check in was quick and we were in our room within minutes of arrival. While some people found fault with the food we certainly did not. The quality and variety was excellent. There was a different carving station each night. We went to the Italian restaurant and the service was extremely slow. One restaurant required both long pants and long sleeved shirts for men. The staff at the hotel was very engaging and their service was excellent. We especially wanted to mention Wilson who was everywhere and greeted everyone with a smile. The beach was beautiful, covered in Palm trees of various sizes. We could always find chairs under the shade of these trees. The water was clear with a little seaweed left over from a recent storm. The sand was white and always groomed. Our only complaint was roving groups of young boys with instruments who would send the youngest boy, often about six years old, onto the property to dance suggestively and then beg for tips. Since all of the groups were similar I assume that there were adults at the other end taking the money. It was sad to watch this about four times a day. The hotel does not try to sell you time shares or vacation clubs which was a nice change from other resorts we have stayed at. We spent little time at the pool but those who did could also get chairs and umbrellas. Our room was pretty and always clean and well stocked with drinks and towels. There were always activities for those who wanted them

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I stayed at the Riu Punta Cana during the last week in June 2014. We were greeted graciously by very friendly staff. We had a problem with our room and to thank us for our patience, the staff sent a bottle of champagne to our room that evening. For those that are chemically sensitive, we were not able to tolerate the cleaning solutions they used in the rooms. We asked that our room not be cleaned for the week, but to have it serviced with clean towels, mini fridge, etc. They complied and followed what we needed. The pool was a bit dated, but clean and charming. We used the pool bar every day and the service was always with a smile. Other reviews said to bring your own containers for the beach drink servers. We never got liquor at the beach, but we never needed our own containers for the pool bar. Their drinks were heavy on the serving of liquor in them and were delicious. Miss that pool very much!
Wonderful stay, price was right, food was out of this world and the staff was pleasant, English speaking and friendly. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard view room and it was a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;