We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
aylesbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“what a beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from this hotel, must have put on a stone in weight, all you can eat and drink for 2 weeks solid, Staff very friendly rooms spotless cleaned every day ,,themed resturants are great except for the Brazilian, went on one trip Snuba diving takes a while to get there as you pick up from every hotel but when you get there it is well worth it split into 3 groups one goes snuba diving one goes speedboating and the last lot go snorkelling then you take it in turns. Back to the hotel read before we went there were cockroaches didnt see one, Down at the beach you will here the constant Drinky drinky from the never ending boys from the bar who just keep plying you with drinks , fantastic. The sea was very calm and clear spent all 2 weeks on the beach didnt go in the pools, there are a few sellers on the beach but they are not in your face, if you want something they will sell you it, mostly jewelery and wooden sculptures, Saturdays on Fox tv you can watch premier football and Grand Prix for F1 fans. Sports bar normally geared up for Americans but worth a visit open 24hrs. pugs out there are the 2 straight edged type not round and some 240 volt things wont work not enough power Wi Fi is a bit hit and miss but you do get it all the time so not surprised, Well worth a visit not much to do there but if you need a break go get it, good luck and have a great trip

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are out the left hand side of the hotel as you enter the reception 3160 is top floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    915
    448
    244
    188
See reviews for
719
1,469
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I brought my wife to the Riu Palace Punta Cana for her birthday last December after having stayed at the Riu Bachata in Puerto Plata that July. We enjoyed the Bachata so much that I wanted to take her back to another Dominican Riu and a friend recommended the Palace Punta Cana as an upgraded experience and the staff and facilities did not disappoint us.

When we arrived the front desk as part of a large bus crowd we lined up at the front desk and their organization got us quickly checked into our room.

Throughout our stay the staff kept the room clean and well stocked with drinks, towels, etc.

Many people travel to Punta Cana for the white sand beaches and just looking at the professional and traveler photos on this site you can see why. The beaches are spectacular and you can walk along them for miles. So if you're looking for a resort with a fabulous beach you won't go wrong with the Riu Palace Punta Cana. The bar wait staff will even serve you on the beach and a $1 tip goes a long (long) way! We prefer sitting poolside, closer to the bar and the lunch buffet! :-)

We ate at the buffet for both breakfast and lunches each day and then at the a la carte restaurants for dinner. I love omelets and fruit for breakfast while my wife prefers a variety and the buffet never disappointed either of us. With respect to dinner we particularly enjoyed the Japanese restaurant (the Yokohama) and the steakhouse but we liked the food at all of the a la cartes. Like other Riu resorts the Palace Punta Cana allocates the limited dinner reservations on a first-come-first-served basis early in the morning (opening at 8am as I recall), however, (as I only found out the second last morning of our stay) they allow you to book for at least two days in advance (there's reason enough not to skip your orientation session when you arrive like we did!).

A couple of tips: We found the beach-hut therapeutic massage extremely relaxing and will ensure we build that into our budget for future trips. Bring along a stack of $1 bills for tipping. While the staff at the resorts provide EXCELLENT service regardless of tipping and we found they NEVER sought a tip, they also greatly appreciate the simple gesture of receiving a $1 for good service ... and remembered the gift later on.

Overall we have found the staff at the Riu resorts friendly and accommodating and the facilities up to their five star ratings. We enjoy the food both at the buffets and the a la carte restaurants. We very much look forward to returning for our next vacation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My sister and I have just returned from 14 nights at this hotel, and I have to say it was fantastic, better than we expected. The staff are friendly, courteous and helpful, our room was clean and lovely, the food was excellent, you would be hard pushed not to find something to eat here. The bar staff and restaurant staff were all excellent, special mention to Suero, Yahani and Marino, also special mention to Carlos the pool boy.We would definitely go back for a second visit. If there was one thing to mention, there are several tiles missing from the pool, which was a bit scary if you caught the edge of the tile, but it is beautifully clean, and kept so every day. Entertainment staff are very friendly, and will leave you alone if you don't want to join in.

Room Tip: Would probably avoid a room above the restaurants and entertainment area, also if you have problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I went on out honeymoon here and it was amazing to say the least. My luggage was lost and they did everything in their power and beyond to get it back for me. The food was ok, I have had better but I have also had a lot worse back in the states. There is soooooo much to do there or you can just sit on the beach all day. We went on a the Outback Safari, our guides name was Rudy and he is probably the best guide EVER!!!!!!!!! If you do end up going on the safari bring school supplies with you. I would love to go back and see all of our friends we made at the hotel again any day.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Punta Cana is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been and I would most definitely go back. However, I WILL NOT be staying at this hotel. My husband and I went to this hotel for our honeymoon at the end of August. This was our first experience with an all-inclusive because we had always gone on Carnival cruises in the past. I hope this info helps...

Food: Going to an all-inclusive hotel, I expected that we might put on a few pounds but we had quite the opposite experience. The food was so terrible that when we got to the airport and saw a Wendy's, I'm pretty sure tears of joy filled our eyes. This was some of the worst food I have ever had. The buffet was full of tasteless attempts of American food; I would have much rather had authentic Dominican food. We are not picky eaters so the fact that we were so disappointed is surprising. I lived off of rice, french fries and donuts (the chocolate donuts were actually amazing and I ate one every day). The specialty restaurants were ok. There was usually at least one part of the meal that was decent. Overall, we were hungry the majority of our stay.

Cleanliness: This is what I care about most when I travel. If the room is not clean, it makes it difficult to relax. We were not informed that there were no non-smoking rooms so our room smelled like smoke the entire time. You could see the residue from the cigarette smoke on the curtains and there were ash marks on the rugs. When we arrived it had not looked like our shower had even been cleaned. It seemed that throughout the hotel they just "surfaced cleaned" and the place really needed some deep cleaning. There was even crud (for lack of a better word) built up on the light switches in our room.

Rooms: At first glance, the room is very pretty and spacious. The bathroom was decent and not cramped. The bed and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. The bed was hard and the pillows were flat. The sheets were stiff and rough and that is all that you had to cover up with. We also did not get our sheets changed the ENTIRE week. Overall, it was not a very comfortable room.

Activities: The grounds were absolutely beautiful and it was nice to walk around, you could tell that the staff put a lot of effort into them. The entertainment in the evening was not very good (we are used to the shows on the cruise ships) but we had a great time laughing at some of the acts. The hotel had shops which were expensive but fun to look around in. There was a parade one night and that was a good time. The dance club was nice and even though we did not dance, they had entertainers dancing which were fun to watch. The casino was very small but it was nice and the workers were very friendly. The beach was beautiful and there was lots of seating.

Service: We were not very impressed with the service here. A few servers in the buffet area were good. Room service was very poor; it took forever to get anything from them, if we even got it at all. The servers on the beach were wonderful and friendly. This is not a complaint, just a helpful hint...many of the servers do not speak english so it is helpful to have some basic phrases or words in spanish mastered before you go.

Location: Punta Cana was amazing. We love to snorkel and this was the perfect place to do that. We went on a couple excursions that we really enjoyed. The Marinarium was an awesome time. The workers were so fun and helpful. This was worth every penny and we highly recommend it. We also did the Bavaro Splash which involved so many activities that it was worth the money. These activities are really worth looking into no matter which resort you stay at.

There was really nothing impressive at this hotel and if we could go back, we would definitely choose a different one. I had always heard good things about Riu resorts so this was very disappointing. We had a wonderful time on the island and fell in love with Punta Cana, just not this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel was the usual Riu Palace style but the food was not. The food was repetitive not just on a weekly basis but lunchtimes & evening meals were much of a muchness each day. The meat was often tough & still bloody.The Italian restaurant was the best of the restaurants. The weekends were overcrowded & the poor staff were struggling to cope.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Going home tomorrow a excellent holiday weather brilliant hotel was the best I have stayed at at the pool all day Samuel the pool waiter the best always kept you cool with drinks hard worker al a carte food excellent steaks great Krystal restaurant the best only downfall was the Thompson rep bit is a arthur Dailey does not like to disclose any freebies like free buses to shopping malls rooms very big clean staff brilliant beds nice tempura ones plenty of tv choice well done thanks riu

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??Ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???L. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.