We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor for a 5 Star Palace!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor for a 5 Star Palace!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Firstly we booked this holiday through Thomson...They were very good....Julian the Rep at the Hotel was very helpful he greeted us every day with a cheery smile...Most of the staff at the hotel were helpful an pleasant except the pool bar staff,who were more interested in chatting among themselves rather than serving customers..In particular SAUL was most unpleasant and rude...The pool itself was dirty with missing tiles and was too warm..In the buffet restaurant while we were having dinner,there was a questionaire given out to the guests.We noticed a manager pocket one so even then there must have been a problem when he done this...We found the food very repitive and not to the highest of quality for a 5 star hotel..

The bedrooms yes they are musty but you can expect this in the caribbean it was clean tidy an always plenty of linen no complaints there..The shop in the Hotel lobby is very expensive and the girls who work there are very UNFRIENDLY!!

The animacion team work none stop they all had big personalities an we thought they were BRILLIANT!!

The beach and sea were beautiful. And there were always plenty of sun loungers and shade if needed!!

After Stayin in the Riu Cancun Mexico we could not help but compare the two resorts.Mexico wins hands down!!

We did enjoy our stay there, but will probably not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    866
    426
    241
    179
See reviews for
678
1399
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is magnificent, by far the most luxurious I saw in that area. The food was good but could not find lobster in any restaurant.
The service was pretty good, the staff very nice and attent.
The rooms are very nice and renovated. All restaurants had very good food.
The beach was rough most of the time, maybe due to the season.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the center of the resort are better located and try to get one close to the pool or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The food was absolutely amazing, Had a great time, every night, they had a good show. Rooms were clean, no complaints there. Entertaining around the pool, was excellent. Sexy Coco, was crazy, and Spaguetti was crazy too. The bar guys were cool. I have never ever, had so much fun on a vacation.Only once used service room, because we were almost 24/7 out having fun. Walked to all the riu hotels, even went to the casino and won $50. Pool was big, a little cold, surprised, but from the second beer on, I didn't even noticed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Riu in Cancun & no complaints. I was looking forward to staying here. While first going into the room we noticed a musty smell. The bed & pillows are very hard. Then we noticed Roaches in the room. Our friends were staying in another room & had roaches & a musty smell as well. rooms are very old & dirty. Sheets have stains, walls in the rooms were dirty. The food was horrible. Plates were dirty. Had gotten 2 broken glasses at dinner. Drinks are so sweet & watered down. I was so so disappointed. I've stayed at the Paradisus & it was amazing. I was here for a group event so I had no say. & all the other resorts were booked. You couldn't pay me to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Don't know what people want from a holiday if they didn't enjoy this hotel the Caribbean tends to be musty due to humidity rooms could do with a freshen up but this hotel was absolutely fabulous always plenty of entertainment on during day and at night the animation staff work tirelessly to ensure a great holiday never usually bother with them but their friendliness and enthusiasm was so infectious you couldn't help but join in Mickey Mouse sexy Jonson and kelvin Brenda with her huge smile and of course coco loco gave us the best holiday we could have wished for food has plenty choice never struggled to find something the drinks were superb don't know why people think they were watered down rum was plentiful the bar staff continually replacing drinks when empty cheila and Patricia spot on with service rooms are always clean with plenty of towels and the pool area was beautiful also the fellow guests who were like us out to enjoy their holiday in breathtaking surroundings didn't hear anyone complain when we were there and thanks to the team who taught us how to salsa xxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

7 senior adults stayed at Riu Palace from Sept 4-11. Rooms were a little musty and ceilings starting to show some water damage, but did not detract greatly from our stay. Thought bed was very comfortable, but I like a firm bed. All buildings and grounds were well kept. Beach was beautiful and so was the aqua colored ocean water. Enjoyed our time in the surf. Tropical storm Gabrielle brought us some rain a couple of afternoons, but we were able to get some beach time each day. Lounge chairs were plentiful on the beach and at the pools. Never had a problem getting a beach towel any day. Food in buffets were plentiful and varied so always able to find something tasty to eat during the day. Breakfast offerings were really good. Ate in all the specialty restaurants and never had a problem getting a reservation. Food presentation and service was top notch, but food was of average quality....nothing to write home about. Never had a problem getting a timely response to any of our requests for a blanket, more towels, etc. etc. Can't comment much about the nighttime entertainment because us old folks had trouble staying out past 10 pm and shows did not start until 9:45-:) Still rate this property a 4 because the excellent service we received more than made up for any of the property's shortcomings. Almost forgot to mention that I felt the drinks were a little watered down and wine choices not the greatest, but after the first glass of red wine those that followed tasted better.

Room Tip: Not sure any room is better than any other. However, if you plan to retire early in the evening it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The RIU PALACE, PUNTA CANA is the worst hotel I have ever been. The pool is really small, dirty and full of people. The room are not clean and I found more the one COCKROACH , the sheets where dirty and. Also it was a noise from the air-condition that would not lets us sleep, we complain to the from desk through the week and they never fixed or offered us another room. The club is far from the hotel and you have to pay the drink they are super expensive. The food not good; in the buffet every day it was the same food and you have to make line to eat and sometimes you have to wait for the dishes because they were done. The shows were bad and the bar turn music early and not good music. I had really bad time and I will never visit any riu hotels..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.