We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moaning people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“moaning people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

partner myself and another couple stayed here in nov last year we where supposed to go to the one nxt door but we got upgraded at no xtra cost bcause of building work going to start.i couldn't believe it,it was wonderful,palace by name and palace by nature.stunning you could of ate your food of the floor it was that clean,everything and everywhere about it,there was nothing wrong with the food or the other places to eat,people from the other hotels along the beach where coming along to ours specially through the day because they said was more lively,ideal for weddings saw 4 the 2wks we where there.the 24hr sports bar was quite fun and the guy that works there his name is elvis,he is a must,so friendly polite and clean everything and every1.my sister goes to ocean blue and sands bout 1hr and half away and we had people from there coming down to us . I would recommend this palace,but go as a couple or couple,very few children there.

Room Tip: anyroom will suit.but if you can get one looking down on to the seating area or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    870
    427
    241
    179
See reviews for
683
1,402
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had been at this hotel for a week with our family me my wife and two kids. We stood in one room room quite roomy and has a sofa bed which was quite useful. Free wi-fi was also a plus. Anyway hotel left a good impression. It big, roomy we did not need to struggle for beach spots or room at the pool. Beach is just perfect lots of palm trees, very wide and clean. This hotel won't make you to walk a lot to the beach restaurant or pool as some Punta Cana hotels do. Where you would need to take a golf cart to reach a beach or restaurant. Pool is quite big actually two pools so you can choose what fit you best. Intertaiment very good especially on Sartuday and Sunday nights. Food was good but only if you go to the buffet it was fresh good variety nice. If someone expecting and complaining that restaurants at the all inclusive hotel which cost roughly $100-120 a day per person which include food, drinks, room etc. would run a manhattan five star restaurant are quite wrong. Personally for me the main indicator of good food at this kind of resorts is buffet. I am not expecting that their sushi place some how match sushi place that I visiting in NY it just would not happen unless someone willing to shell out hefty sums. Anyway buffet at Riu was good
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking good time and fun

Room Tip: Try to Lowell level if you don't want to deal with slow elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

It has been said before, the food is subpar. It is now a week after my trip and I am still sick to my stomach and having constant diarrhea. I am thought to have giariasis. Of note, I did not use the tap water to brush my teeth but may have swallowed some in the shower.
That being said, 6 of us went for my best friend's bday. Had a BLAST! Spent time on the beautiful beach, at the pool, and did the snorkeling adventure recommended by Apple vacations. Couldn't have had a better time. Never had a problem with the front desk, making reservations, room service, etc. room was on third floor and saw no bugs ever. Grounds are beautiful; they are always cleaning!!
Would return regardless of how sick I am!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

First we arrived at 1:00 am after 14 hours of flying and hanging out in airports, and in the lobby we received the news that we did not have a room. The first hour the guy was not giving us any options, he panicked and he wasn't very helpful. Then he wanted to send us to another hotel. We complaint and after 3 hours they finally gave us a room, but obviously it wasn't the suite for which we paid. Other three families had the same issue as us. I felt very sorry for them because they were traveling with kids and imagine to be arguing with the reception guy for more than 3 hours. We were disappointed with the customer service in the reception. The hotel is beautiful, the beach is amazing but unfortunately I can not say the same thing with the customer service at the reception, the cleanliness in the buffet section and the room. I was ready to order an omelet in the restaurant Don Manuel, which is the buffet restaurant, but a lady in front of the line pointed at something coming outside from the set of plates that are "clean" and ready to be used by the guests. Then I saw two cockroaches coming from the inside of this set of plates, in front of all the food. This was really disgusting. One person behind me start singing the Mexican song "La cucaracha" (which was funny and sarcastic), and the waitresses just look at each other and they were like they did not care at all. They were just complaining that they need to fumigate, but they did not kill the cockroaches. The cockroaches went back from where they came out. The room was clean but you will also have some infestation of ants and of tinny spiders. In fact i brought some in my luggage, I guess as a souvenir. :( This hotel is beautiful but has some management problems. And YES is ALL INCLUSIVE, so don't be surprise if your food includes some of this little friends... Hahaha...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I just returned from Punta Cana 3 days ago. My group of approx. 30 people were there for 5 days and 4 nights. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly, and the beach was nice and relaxing. The negatives started upon arrival to our room 0053 (garden level). We noticed our bathroom was infested with ants. We could not unpack our toiletries because they were crawling all over the sinks, shower area, walls, and towels. The entire room and everything in it was damp and smelled like mildew. The most uncomfortable thing of all in the room was the damp bed linens. Bath towels were scarce. The cleaning crew never came to clean the room until after 3pm. The food was mediocre and unsanitary. Several people in my group including myself became sick. I had abdominal pain, nausea and diarrhea for the last three days of the vacation, and still don't feel quite like myself as of yet. The shopping area and gift shop was ridiculously over priced. I was forced to pay $15.00 for a box of imodium.

Room Tip: Avoid garden level rooms. Bring snacks and nausea and diarrhea medications.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The resort itself is beautiful and staff members were always cleaning something. The pool area with swim up bar is very nice as well. Beach area is gorgeous, probably my most favorite of the caribbean islands. The food left something to be desired. The presentation of the good was actually very nice and there was lots of it, but quality wise...not great. Everything tasted the same, over cooked, bland, etc.

The room was nice, however they need a better air conditioning system. Room was constantly "wet" making it smell very musty and nothing ever dried. In fact everything got wet in the room. Our swim wear never dried, paper work (plane tickets, etc) that I had in the room began to degrade from the humidity.

Overall, the staff were pretty good. Some excellent, some less. I think the resort has lots of potential, especially if they improve the food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Service excellente but be-arefull with personal items left in the rooms. I was in Riu Palace Punta Cana alog with my family and some of my daughter's clothes were stolen from my room. We were from July 15th to July 23th in room 2103 so if someone of the staff read my message please pay attention of who you hire to work in this kind of resort. I did not claim anything because I did not want to put in bad situation the cleaning lady but I realize they need to do something to avoid this matter again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.