We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Palace Punta Cana - Great Vacation Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $2000 Resort Credit
Ranked #53 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Ocean, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Riu Palace Punta Cana - Great Vacation Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace Punta Cana, for one week March into April, 2013. Overall I have to give this resort very good +. If you like clean this is the place for you. They are constantly cleaning everything in this resort and is maintained very well. The resort location is in the middle of Bavaro Beach and it is part of the Riu Resort Complex. If you like to take long walks on the beach or long walks between different Riu resorts they have a convenient beach walkway that connects them all. The individual restaurants are good but you need to make your reservations well in advance. The buffet was also very good and all the food is plentiful and of good quality. Rooms are mostly the same Junior Suites with variations of sleeping arrangements. The only thing I did not like was the fact the rooms used keys rather than cards. Also the room safe required a key instead of a combination. So you had to keep keys with you all day instead of a card in you pocket and combo in you mind.

Overall this was a great vacation location and I definitely will return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are not on ground level. So it helps with privacy and limiting some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,836 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,148
    850
    422
    239
    177
See reviews for
669
1382
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace Punta Cana in June 2012 when we were upgraded from a nearby hotel because of construction work and had an AMAZING holiday. This was only my second all inclusive holiday (my boyfriend has been on plenty) and we both rated this holiday as unforgettable. The hotel, the weather, the facilities and the staff are second to none. Wait staff and barmen are friendly and approachable and dont feel the need to hint that you should be tipping them - they know that their hard-working friendly vibe will earn them all the tips they could possibly want.

Our best bits (no particular order):
1) The restaurants (avoid the Steakhouse mind - we creased up at grown men having to roll up their sleeves to cut into the steak)
2) Pool bar (Pina Coladas are so drinkable- dont drink too many mind (!!) and beach environment
3) Mostly inclusive beach watersports
4) Day excursions

All round, an amazing holiday. Book it!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went Feb 22nd Thru March 1st 2013. Nice place, food is "JUST OK" as others have said. Water (78 degrees via temp gun) and beach are excellent with miles of beach to walk and shopping at the huts on the east end of the beach...haggle with them on price, it's fun. Visit the other properties the RIU has to offer, but if you eat there the food is the exact same thing as your getting at the Palace. Entertainment is very good, they work long hours and have alot of energy. Bartenders at the pool are VERY busy, but could be more freindly. Rest of the staff are freindly and nice. The people there like to play the towel game with the pool/beach chairs. The only thing I didn't care for was that they use the shower water for watering the bushes and grass in the center area of the resort until the ground is saturated, and if you have an RV or septic sytem at home you definitely know that smell. A few hours later the smell is gone. I don't think they have anywhere to go with the GREY water on the island at this point in time. Our freinds got married in the gazebo at the beach which turned out real nice. They are real accommodating and the wedding dinner we had was very good. We did the swimming with the stingrays and sharks which was fun. We also went to the museum/mall (very small)in town, which was something to do. Rooms are not smoke-free, we are not smokers, so our room had a LIGHT SMELL of cigarettes, which we didn't notice (or got use to) by the second day. Katie was our Apple Vacations representative, she is awesome and very upfront with you with what you need to know. Mama Juana is hit and miss, so if you find that you like it, stick with that bar for it.(we only had one bar it wasn't good at) All in all we had a good experience there. Use the room safe, it's free. We bought small TSA approved locks from Target $6ea. for our suitcases, because we didn't want to become a victim. Although 3 cheap plastic combs left in the bathroom managed to dissapear...one a day...weird. I just laughed and told the wife you'll probably find them in your suitcase when you get home...but she didn't. If you get a good price go fo it, the weather is great. It's as much fun as YOU make it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'm going to start by saying that the general staff here are very nice, sweet and accomidating. The managment on the other hand, is horrible. Do not book here unless you want to worry about getting a room or moved to a worse hotel. We booked a trip through the Riu website, we arrive at the Riu with friends, we are told that we were moved to the cheaper Riu Naiboa without any forewarning. We begged and pleaded with the hotel manager to let us stay with our friends. He said there was nothing he could do, the Riu overbooked, maybe we could call the head office in Mexico (WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?! ARE YOU SERIOUS?!) and just stared at us with a dumb look on his face. To top it all off, there were about 5 other couples the Riu did this to all the while we were fighting with the manager at the counter. We finally complied, and went to the Naiboa, found out the rooms were half the size and they gave us a room with an ant infestation. There are plenty of other resorts in Punta Cana, go somewhere else than Riu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a great family vacation. Went there for a week over spring break March 23-30. I think this statement I'm about to make is par for the course for all inclusive resorts. The food is very average. We didn't like the steak house at all but we went to the italian rest. one night and it was really good. The buffet was ok, we always managed to find something but it's a buffett. It got old after awhile. There were no other restaurants for dinner off the resort property you could just walk to. There was a burger joint off the property that was open during the day but we never went to it. We went on the Safari Tour that was an awesome excursion. It was a whole day affair and you got to see how the locals really lived. I highly recommend that tour. My husband and son went on the Piratte Catamaran Snorkeling excursion and they loved that so I highly recommend that too. The hotel itself was very nice, the pool was nice, the beach was great. Never had trouble finding chairs on the beach. The workers would find one for you in fact. Overall was a great trip. I just got tired of the food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here in 5/12 for a week and we had the most enjoyable time.Resort was clean,food was awsome although we ate every night at the buffet.The service was super.Beach was awsome.We will most likely return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Travelled to Riu Palace Punta Cana from Apr 8-15. Our check in was prompt, the front staff were very pleasant and helpful, we recieved a glass of juice upon arrival at the front desk. Our bags were brought up to our room by the front desk staff. We had two double beds in our room and called the front desk to request one king bed and they upgraded our room from the junior suite to superior junior suite within one hour,amazing service. The rooms were very clean and well maintained the whole week, mini fridge, water and towels replenished everyday. Staff at this resort work very hard and are very friendly. Drinks served around the pool and on the beach. They will even take your own drink mugs and refill them for you. They really appreciate a tip, but don't expect it. Entertainment was great at night, usually everyone would gather in the plaza after evening meal and a band would play and the entertainers would dance with the guests, we also went to all the Restaurants and they were excellent. Spent every day at the beach and it was wonderful, would stop by pool bar in the evening to have a drink and it was a great atmosphere. There is entertainment at the pool as well as the beach, played darts, horseshoes, volleyball,and dancing lessons. The grounds were kept very clean and maintained. The General Manager and management staff for all departments was present around the resort everyday and through the night and we were introduced to everyone of them during a presentation our first day on the beach. I would highly recommend this resort. It was a wonderful week for myself and my husband. Would definetly return.

Costellos', NF

Room Tip: We stayed in 3109 junior superior suite, no musty smell and overlooking courtyard and pools, very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.